We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff of dreams”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The staff of dreams”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Who ever does the recruitment and training at the Dream Place Gran Castillo is a paragon of their trade. Every member of the team we encountered from the minute we walked into reception and were served a glass of bubbly through to our early morning departure created a wonderful impression of the place. Many are multi-lingual and all are highly personable. This, coupled with the hotel’s excellent facilities and plentiful, varied and sumptuous food made our week-long stay a memorable experience. The food caters for the predominantly northern European clientele, but there are some Canarian elements available. Tables are allocated for dinner, but for breakfast and lunch you can choose to eat in a covered outdoor area next to one of the pools. This is sometimes infiltrated by the local birdlife. The hotel is not far from the eastern extremity of Playa Blanca’s built-up area. Beyond is some rough terrain with tracks providing access to the secluded Papagayos beaches. Heading west is a much easier walk to the marina, town and port along a paved coast path. This takes a good half hour but a taxi from a nearby rank will whisk you into town in a few minutes for just short of four Euros. However, it’s tempting not to leave the hotel because it’s so good. Entertainment from the resident team ranges from mildly slapstick cocktail production by the poolside bar in the afternoon to accomplished, mimed productions of famous musicals in the theatre at night. This is augmented by guest appearances from visiting acts. Our spotless room, a “superior” double fully justified its title with large beds, sitting area, fully equipped bathroom, dressing room and balcony overlooking the pool and sea. The all-inclusive tariff for two from December 10-17 was just over £700 – outstanding value for a hotel fully justifying its five-star rating.

Room Tip: Specify a superior room with pool or sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,962
    1,717
    699
    214
    101
See reviews for
2,891
1,976
26
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I have to agree with Kevin - new tricks here. We went away the week before Christmas, got back on Christmas eve and boy we were glad to get back! maybe I'm being a bit harsh as there were some parts of the holiday we enjoyed. The entertainment team were defiantly entertaining! The 1st night we saw them I have to admit I did think "omg what a load of codswallop" but honestly as the week went on and we got to know them in the day time on the various activities that they did, we really warmed to them and realized just how hard they all work to keep us entertained, so hats off to them. The food was ok too, not fantastic but not bad either! the Italian and Chinese aren't great but ok if you just fancy something different! we ate at the chinese place twice while we were there and the difference in the food on the 2nd night to the 1st was shocking! the first night was fab but the second night was appalling! my partner couldn't eat the lamb it was so bad and believe me hes not a fussy eater! the worst part of my holiday was having my phone stolen out of my bag! we are 100% sure that it was taken by a member of staff but the hotel manageress was not very helpful at all! in fact we were made to feel like we were just trouble makers it took a lot of persuading to get her to ring housekeeping to see who was on duty when it went missing but this was a waste of time too, all she kept saying was we need to go report it to the police station in the middle of town (what in the middle of my hols, no thanks) we had to go reception a few time while we were there for a number of reasons, sofa bed really uncomfortable (we had a extra blanket delivered to us to help - although I asked for two only one turned up) and other bits and bobs and everytime we were there there were other people there complaining that stuff had gone missing! so word of warning, put everything in the safe! other complaints include no iron, you could get the hotel to launder your stuff for you but for 5euro a shirt we didn't bother also the kids club was useless it was only for the little one so our 11 year old was not very happy and neither were we! will we be going back! no chance! sorry peeps :-(

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank natty19792013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear natty19792013,
Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor.
We would like to apologize for the fact that your phone was stolen. We can assure you for Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* the quality and the professionalism of our entire team are important factors and we will make sure a situation like this will not occur again. We are sorry that you didn’t like the food on the second night in our Oriental restaurant so much. In the three different restaurants we offer many different dishes each night, which our guests can try and savor. We would also like to apologize for the other inconveniences during your stay, we can assure you our staff is working really hard to provide a pleasant holiday for our guests. The opinion, suggestions and problems of our guests are very important to us and we appreciate you mentioning your problems to the management. For safety reasons it is not permitted to put irons in the rooms for our guests, which is why we offer a laundry service. Our animation works really hard so our guests are entertained during their stay. They offer many different activities during the day and at night they put on a great show. We hope you will give us a second chance so we can assure you of our great quality and standard.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The hotel location is fine if you are happy walking or taking the local bus to town. The all inclusive dining facilities are generally very busy which makes eating a little uncomfortable. Don't expect luxury but it is OK for a winter break

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank eamontbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you very much for writing a comment about our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* on Tripadvisor.
The location of our hotel in the area of Playa Blanca is perfect for those who want to spend a relaxing holiday, as it is only a few walking minutes away from the marina and the nice shops there. We are sorry that you thought our restaurant was busy, therefore we have two different dinner turns, so our guests can enjoy their dinner without the restaurant being overcrowded. Our hotel is very spacious and offers everything our guests may need during their stay. There are three different restaurants where our guests can enjoy the delicious meals each night. We hope you will give us a second chance, so we can assure you of our 5* rating.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Spent our second Christmas here, loved the relaxing atmosphere. All staff work very hard. Especially the entertainment team, they look after the kids all day then provide the hilarious shows at night. Special mention to HECTOR you made us laugh every night. We met some old, and some very nice new friends this year. Have recommended this place to many and will always to many more. We will certainly be back again. Rooms, food, and service excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We have just returned from our second visit to the Gran Castillo and we loved it. We stayed for 10 nights from 12th to 22nd December 2013 myself, husband and 2 children.

I emailed ahead to say we were returning and could we have the same room as last years visit as the room was lovely. The reply said they would do their best to accommodate. On arrival, we were made a fuss of by the very friendly reception staff, offered a glass of cava and the porter escorted us to our room. I was delighted to find that we were given the room we requested! Also there was a bottle of cava and champagne flutes with a welcome back message in our room. We also had robes and slippers and chocolates! I felt like a V.I.P. ha ha!!

The hotel is beautifully maintained and has a lovely feel to it. Most pools are warm, even in December. There has been a few improvements too since our last visit. The sports bar has been extended considerably, and the pool bar now remains open until midnight. The food available at the main pool bar in the daytime had improved from last year too.

The food available in the main restaurant was great, good choice of everything you could think of! 2 sittings for dinner of an evening. If you have children go for the earlier sitting. We were put on the later sitting to begin with but were missing the kids disco at 8.30pm. We asked to move to the earlier sitting and were quickly accommodated. A tip if you like peace and ambience whilst you eat is ask for a table outside There are heaters outside so you are warm and it is just a nicer place to eat. The Italian restaurant is good too. We also visited the Chinese which was ok. The drinks on the all inclusive includes labelled spirits and Pepsi. The Pina Coladas were my favourite though!!

The entertainment team are OUTSTANDING!! Marcio, Mandy, Hector, Mathilda, we love you!!!! All the team work very long hours with such enthusiasm. I don't know where they get their energy from!! There is a kids club open near the rear pool where the kids can be entertained whilst you have a bit of peace.

The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the Rubicon Marina and 20 minutes walk from Dorada Beach. We also walked to Papagayo beach which took about 15 minutes and is beautiful. Playa Blanca is a couple of minutes taxi ride away (or a 30 minute walk for the energetic) and is very charming.

We made some lovely friends while at the Castillo. The people who visit this hotel are very nice and friendly. It was good to see lots of people returning from last year too. We will back again next year. Can't wait!!! Well done Castillo!!!! xxx

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

we arrived on the 12th December and stayed until the 26th Dec. we had a fantastic stay the 2 kids 8 and 4 loved the kids club and there staff, which started at 10.30 - 13.00 hrs and again from 15.00 -17.00 the staff at the resort where fantastic........from Paco and Zelda in the main bar at the big pool always greet you with a smile and nothing is to much trouble for them...
the rooms are huge, however we where in the kids section by the Italian restaurant, which was perfect for them as they have 2 sections of pools to play with slides which are heated. if you have no children get the sea view room......they put you away from the families and the rooms are amazing.
the food was very good and they arrange 2 sittings 18.30 - 19.15 then 20.30 -22.00 which works perfect you dont have millions of people in the same place at the same time, then you are allocated your own table. Winner.
the atmosphere in the resort was great again you have the animation staff playing a few games of a day keeping the atmosphere alive.( Marcio hectar Amaru, and mandy you get a welcome glass of cava on arrival and if you want you can drink Cava all day smirnof vodka and bottles of local beer Dorrada.
you can walk right in to player Blanca from the front of the hotel which is a beautiful walk or take a cab for 5 euro's, after the large amounts of food you can eat such as Fillet steak, fresh fish, pork and turkey almost every night its good to walk it off and have a nice cold beer when you arrive in the town center.

i loved it the wife and kids loved it.

we will be back for more.

John n Suzi Ava Sonny

thanks for the memories

Room Tip: Read reviews before you book a room sea view is a winner but all rooms are really big and spacious c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnwest68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I cannot fault the staff generally at the property as they were helpful and professional but we found the October half-term to be too busy and too many queues at the bars throughout the day and evening. The main restaurant is fine in terms of service although the food slightly repetitive but the Italian restaurant is awful despite having to book separately to go to it. It is like a brightly-lit cafe with no intimate or Italian atmosphere at all - tables cramped closely together and the staff manage the feat of terribly slow service combined with a surly and flustered attitude - not recommended.
The property itself is tiered upon itself which gives a cramped feel as you continually walk up and down from level to level. Good location if you hire bicycles which we did - lovely ride along the paths to the shops on the sea-front. The communal play areas were shabby - especially the table-tennis area which offered 2 tables with chips and litter strewn everywhere. Overall an overrated 5 star in need of modernisation as becoming shabby round the edges and too small for the number of beds it offers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Mark M,
Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor.
We would like to apologize for the queues at the bars, unfortunately when there are many guests in our hotel it is hard for us to serve ever guest right away, but we certainly do our best. There are three different restaurants in our hotel, where our guests can try the many different dishes. We are sorry that you didn’t like the Italian restaurant so much. The quality and the professionalism of our entire team are very important factors to Dreamplace Hotels & Resorts and we will make sure situations like this will not occur again. Our hotel is very spacious so our guests can find a quiet place, even if there are many guests in our hotel. It is great that you mention those matters to us, so we can take care of them. Our hotel is located in the area of Playa Blanca and our guests can discover the nice shops in the area nearby. Our entire staff does their absolute best so our guests can spend a great holiday in our hotel. We hope you will return to our hotel again, so we can show you our high quality and standard.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,790 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#12 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,204 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
19.7 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#15 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca

Property: Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Address: Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Dream Gran Castillo Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a grand castle which majestically dominates the seascape of the AtlanticOcean and its islands, the magnificent GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO is erected in the charming area of Playa Blanca, in the south of the volcanic isle par excellence: Lanzarote. With the conviction that elegance and comfort should come naturally, this Hotel is a tribute to 16th century Canary history and colonial architecture, inspired by the "Castle of San José" and the typical landscape of the island, blending in with the environment. The building is divided into different zones which maintain their colonial style, where the white facades and volcanic stone contrast with the backdrop of the deep blue ocean. A charming interior courtyard of Arab inspiration bathes the reception area with light, and the contemporary décor and pale colours create a warm and very elegant atmosphere. GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO pampers every detail of the rooms and suites, which have breathtaking views of the sea and surrounding scenery. They are decorated in a contemporary style, with marine touches, light-coloured wood and pale colours, creating a pleasant atmosphere full of light. The discerning selection of restaurants and cuisines serve Canary, national and international specialities. There are conference rooms featuring spearhead technology, and various outdoor zones for events of different kinds. The "Vitanova SPA" thalassotherapy centre provides the benefits of thermal seawater, and specific treatments for the body and soul. The Hotel features a wide range of facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Dreamplace Hotels & Resorts SL, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Gran Castillo Hotel Playa Blanca
Dream Castillo Papagayo Lanzarote
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing