We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we were there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Just returned from a great holiday. Excellent room and a super choice of food. Really enjoyed the chinese and Italian restaurants. Too many pools and lots of lovely sunbeds, umberellas and towels. The staff were always very helpful. Our room was at the far side of the hotel but the bellhops were always available to give us a buggy ride to the Portofino in their Ferrari!

Room Tip: A big hotel, rooms near the Portofino Italian restaurant are quiet but quite a walk from the main ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosieBStoke_on_Trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Rosie,
Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor.
As you mentioned our rooms are excellent and provide everything our guests need during their stay. There are 11 pools, so even if there are many guests in our hotel, there is plenty of space and the pools don’t seem overcrowded. We are very happy to hear you spent a great holiday in our hotel. Our guests have plenty of meals to choose from each night in our three different restaurants. It is wonderful for us that you mention how helpful our staff is, we want to provide a perfect holiday for our guests and therefore we do our absolute best. We hope you will choose us for your next stay again on Lanzarote. If you book directly with us, you will receive a special 5% discount for loyal guests.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,846)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,384 - 2,390 of 5,846 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

Disappointed no tea/coffee making facilities in the room so if you wanted a cuppa you have to walk all the way down to the 'Poolside bar' outside of dining room hours. We asked if we could get a drink in the beautiful bar near Reception but it isn't manned? Why do hotels have such hard beds - you would almost be more comfortable sleeping on the floor - it's a myth that a hard bed is good for your back, it isn't ! We did complain and it was going to be sorted, but wasn't. Staff absolutely excellent (apart from the 'hard bed' incident not being sorted when they said it would be!). Cleanliness was 5 Star but hotel is only, in our opinion, a 4 Star.

Room Tip: We were room 6330 which was a bit away from the main Reception area but it was very quiet. We could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antibes4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear antibes4me,
Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor.
We are sorry that you were disappointed that there were no tea and coffee making facilities, if you require such, please contact our reception and they will be able to help you. The bar close to our reception is not open during this time so the guests who arrive in our hotel after a long journey can enjoy a quiet atmosphere. We apologize for the inconveniences with the hard beds and that the staff was not able to help you. The quality and the professionalism of our entire team are very important features to Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* and we will make sure situations like this will not occur again. Our entire staff works really hard every day and we appreciate you mentioning how excellent they are. We always make sure our hotel is kept very clean and we hope you will give us a second chance so we can assure you of our high quality and standard.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

On the scale of good hotels this would be up there with the best. From the moment we arrived the staff looked after our every need. Large nicely decorated room, even my fifteen yr old loved it. A choice of pools, garden area to walk through and a lovely area to sit outside if you like the cool night air. The food every day was freshly served although there was sometimes a wait in line to get served. The quality of the lovely staff shines through and they are there when you need anything. We really had a great time, would think nothing of telling all my friends to come here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Stella P,
From the entire team at Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* we would like to thank you for sharing your amazing experience with us on Tripadvisor.
It is really great for us to hear that you think our hotel is one of the best hotels. Nothing is too much trouble for our staff, to provide our guests with a perfect holiday. Our rooms offer enough space to spread out and completely feel at home and we are glad you liked the decoration so much. In our hotel there are 11 pools and some of them are heated so our guests can go for a swim during the winter. We are sorry that there were sometimes lines at dinner to get served, but it is great that you liked the fresh food and big choice in our three restaurants. Our staff does everything so our guests are left without wishes during their stay and it is fantastic for us that you mention it in your comment. Thank you very much for recommending us and it would be a pleasure for us to have you as our guests again in the near future. We offer a special 5% discount to loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

great time for us as a couple - out of season few children - great hotel with lovely staff facilities and food. The hotel staff -especially room maids and actually everyone - were really were polite helpful fun and did an excellent job. The new pool bar area was wonderful much larger seating area and lovely pool views. The problems with serving drinks seemed completely sorted and there were no 'queues' ...ask for specific drinks and you get them not just local varieties .......the food was once again of a high standard and a wide variety and plentiful.....there really isn't anything that this hotel does not provide if you want a chilled well catered for holiday....sun sea (the beach next door is well worth your little bit of exercise) pools and a walk into the marina make it well worth booking - a week of Autumn or Spring sun perfection thanks again to all the staff x

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
3  Thank MrandMrsRVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear MrandMrsRVB,
Thank you very much to share your experience whit us on Tripadvisor.
We at Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel with us on Tripadvisor.
Like you said our staff is excellent and since we want to provide our guests with a wonderful stay, nothing is too much trouble for them. Each night our guests can enjoy dishes from different parts of the world in our three restaurants and we are very happy that you thought our food was of high standard, because it is. Our hotel is very spacious and there are a lot of nice places where our guests can enjoy their stay for example in one of the three different bars, where we offer mostly leading brands and in some cases local brands. It is great that you had no problems with your drinks being served. The location of our hotel is perfect for those who want to spend a relaxing holiday within a few minutes walking distance our guests can find some nice shops along the marina. We hope you will return to our hotel again soon for another holiday. Loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us, receive a special 5% discount.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We spent 10 wonderful days at this place from 11th - 21st Nov. Everything you have read from other positive posts is true, the reception staff cannot do enough, always ready with helpful attitude, and they are indeed very well informed to help you to make the most of your stay. The restaurant staff are cheerful and very courteous and professional. The animation team are particularly hard-working and whilst not all the evening entertainment was to our taste, they worked hard then and throughout the day to keep everyone amused and in several languages, a Swedish person we met had a child in the kidz club and she loved them! The ones we spent the most time with were Noelia - excellent aqua aerobics, Sylvia - brilliant bingo caller and lots of people across the bars and restaurants including Mohammed, Marina, and of course Isabel and Franz - who made us laugh and kept us well supplied with all inclusive drinks. The mock Baileys is fine as well as many other local and named spirits and they clearly want to ensure you get your money's worth! The spa complementary pass was lovely, next time I might also try and get a treatment, this time it wasn't to be, although I don't know anything about the quality of the massages. We spent more money then we intended on the in-room wifi access, which is totally optional as the wifi in the lounge area is adequate and some would say isn't what you need on holiday, but apart from that, it was faultless! I would love to go back and stay here again and see some more of the island.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 5320 corridor can be a bit noisy when people are taking their cases with them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmmaRDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Our 3rd visit to this hotel, and what fabulous service. Large well appointed room (fab seaview) all amenities you could want. The staff are excellent, always smiling. Food is very good, lots of variety. Really not sure what makes people moan about the food ( I have eaten in some good places) I was not disappointed. Try the Italian very good authentic main courses. Really super value hotel. Main pool is heated.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SukiNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Gran Castillo is a well-designed and pleasing set of buildings. The architecture evokes a varied collection of old buildings apparently jumbled around a Moorish castle. In fact it is modern and designed by very clever architects. The design, combined with efforts of the hard-working and uniformly pleasant and helpful staff, successfully avoids the impression of being the large budget holiday factory that it is. There are endless nooks and corners to explore and different areas from the noisy to the peaceful. A sea view room gives a southerly aspect and a mountain view may be preferable for the shade of a northern aspect in the high season.

Both the themed restaurants are included in the package with no menu items that attracted a supplement. The regular buffet was varied and extensive and represented excellent value for money given that (at least in the off-season week that we chose in November) the cost of the holiday was very low for such a well organised, scrupulously clean and pleasant resort.

Our room was a superior sea view and was spacious, clean and well-serviced. Pleasing neutral decor.

The clientele when we visited (end-November) included a wide range of Europeans, albeit with a majority of Brits without feeling Brit-dominated. Our November term-time visit meant a predictable demographic with couples with adult children off-hand like us and young couples with pre-school children forming the vast majority.

Any cynicism about all-inclusive packages is misplaced here. We struggled to find anything that required additional payment - certainly nothing that stood in the way of having a good holiday. Our final checkout bill was 3.28 euros for some UK landline calls from the room, which at 0.19 euros per minute were substantially cheaper than using our UK mobiles.

My only hesitation in doing a review was that occupancy was (apparently - it didn't feel like it) 97% and I was rather hoping to keep it secret for our subsequent trips. Well done BA for finding this hotel and flight package! The only reason for scoring average on location is that the Canaries are not specially pretty, but that's not what visitors go there for. Given the nature of Canary Island scenery, I can't imagine it could be improved on.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BrianTrAdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,010 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,362 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
11.8 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca

Address: Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Dream Gran Castillo Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $156 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a grand castle which majestically dominates the seascape of the AtlanticOcean and its islands, the magnificent GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO is erected in the charming area of Playa Blanca, in the south of the volcanic isle par excellence: Lanzarote. With the conviction that elegance and comfort should come naturally, this Hotel is a tribute to 16th century Canary history and colonial architecture, inspired by the "Castle of San José" and the typical landscape of the island, blending in with the environment. The building is divided into different zones which maintain their colonial style, where the white facades and volcanic stone contrast with the backdrop of the deep blue ocean. A charming interior courtyard of Arab inspiration bathes the reception area with light, and the contemporary décor and pale colours create a warm and very elegant atmosphere. GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO pampers every detail of the rooms and suites, which have breathtaking views of the sea and surrounding scenery. They are decorated in a contemporary style, with marine touches, light-coloured wood and pale colours, creating a pleasant atmosphere full of light. The discerning selection of restaurants and cuisines serve Canary, national and international specialities. There are conference rooms featuring spearhead technology, and various outdoor zones for events of different kinds. The "Vitanova SPA" thalassotherapy centre provides the benefits of thermal seawater, and specific treatments for the body and soul. The Hotel features a wide range of facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Dreamplace Hotels & Resorts SL, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Gran Castillo Hotel Playa Blanca
Dream Castillo Papagayo Lanzarote
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing