We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would I return - most definately YES”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Just got back from a lovely 7 days at the Gran Castillo. Firstly lest get this star rating system out of the way - the whole system is flawed all over the world, so lets not get too concerned about if it is 5* quality or not.

To put things into perspective I worked out that it has just cost me £60 a night to stay here. That's for all drinks and food. I can think of many occasion that I have paid more than that for some grotty B&B in the UK.

So what of the hotel. I could compare it with its close neighbour the Sandos Papagayo which i stayed at earlier on this year. Both are very similar, for me the Gran Castillo has the better facilities and accomodation but I thought that the variety of food at the Sandos was slightly better. But that isn't to say that the food at the Gran Castillo isn't bad at all.

I will summarise my plus and nit picks:

Plus's

General standard of quality of the place - well maintained
Size and quality of the room - huge with even a walk in wardrobe
Food - very good quality
Staff - couldn't so enough fro you

Nit picks:

WiFi - free in reception area bit slow when others using it (have to pay for wifi in your room)
Food - maybe could have had a bit more to choose from
Drink - here's a tip. if you like spirits you have to ask for the named brands such as Smirnoff and Gordons
Drink - beer. Ok probably me being fussy about it but there's only a local beer available. No bottles of Coronita, Budweisser etc,
Spa - you get one free pass for a day. Don't think it's worth the upgrade.

I can't comment on the entertainment as I hate anything like that wherever I go so never ventured to see it.

But my main complaint is something the hotel cannot do anything about - some of it clients. Why, at feeding time, does it resemble a stampede at a local watering hole. Crazy. There's all this lovely food being presented to you spend half the time having to move out of people way pushing in to ensure they get their feed.

Would I go back - yes. Certainly at £60 a night. Would I go back at £160 a night, ermm not sure. That's the way I look at it. But there's a cut off point at most hotels isn't there.

p.s. I found a cockroach which, after purposely not telling the wife and hearing a screams when she was sat the toilet and noticed it, was quickly despatched down the pot. It's a warm climate, you get them!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank heyhoUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,847)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,402 - 2,408 of 5,848 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

Hotel located on a lovely site looking out to sea.
Rooms very large.
The outstanding feature for me of this hotel was the staff and their willingness to look after you.
Food was good with great choice

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank CharlesX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Just got back from a week here. Hotel vey spread out so if it rains you will get wet going to and fro restaurants. Italian very good and also ate here for breakfast as much quieter. Cleaners seem to be thin on the ground particularly in public areas table not wiped and glasses left out behind the lobby bar for days.

Main moan no quiet bar to have a drink inside and as I had not taken a winter coat we had to walk up and down from the bar with hot coffees and drinks to sit in reception and a bit of a health and safety issue. I would expect a 5 star hotel to have made this clear on booking not everyone wants to sit outside in the rain or in the entertainments room - we will not be returning for this reason who wants to sit outside in the cold in the rain????There is a bar in the lobby which is never open a pay bar so if you are prepared to pay you can sit inside .. I did notice certain people tipping for the privilidge of being served in doors.

Food was ok a bit samey but acceptable for a week.

Transfer half an hour booked taxi was better than coach from what I have read on here.

Room Tip: very spacious superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jell033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Jell033,
Thank you very much for your comment about our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* on Tripadvisor.
We would like to apologize for inconveniences due to the bad weather during you stay, unfortunately during november it can happen that it rains on Lanzarote.
It would have been absolutely no problem for you to sit inside the Bar Hall, the waiters would have attended you as well. In fact, the weather has changed, but it is still cold at night and we are serving the clients at the Lobby (indoor). The Bar Hall is closed, because we want to welcome our guests after at least six hours trip, a nice and quiet atmosphere at our Lobby. Like you said, our hotel is very spacious so every guest can find a quiet place to spend their holiday. We can assure you we keep our hotel very clean, In fact, during high season or high ocupation, we do a bigger effort to keep the Hotel clean because having so many all inclusive adults and kids, it is harder to keep th Hotel clean and tidy. In our three restaurants our guests can enjoy different meals each night and we are very happy to hear you liked the Italian restaurant so much. We are sorry you were cold during your stay and that you didn’t enjoy the bar so much because you had to sit outside. There are four different bars with differents atmospheres as well, where our guests can spend their evenings and enjoy our branded drinks. In our Bar Castillo, which is open 8 hours per day, our guests can sit down and there is no entertainment from 17:00 till 20:30 and from 23:00 till 01:00. We hope you will give us a second chance, so we can assure you of our high quality and standard.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

beautiful complex,rooms excellent. we requested a lower floor because of my husbands mobility problem,could not have picked a better room.just a few yards from restuarant and poolside bar.requested a kettle and got one right away.All the staff were really hard working efficent and fliendly.we even had chocolates put in our room every night.The animation team were excellent and did their best to entertain.On the downside I do not think this complex is suitable for anyone with disability issues.The complex is very widespread and isolated.No handrails on steps or slopes,not good for elderly or disabled.Although the animation team did their best the entertaiinment was rubbish,apart from the 3tenors,and the Michael Jackson show.Expected better in a 5star.Have had better entertinment in a 3star.Ordered a picnic one day,was not impressed,very poor.Breakfast menu excellant,pleny of choice,but dit not rate lunch and dinner unless you wish to eat salad every day.Food very repetativeTwo sittings for dinner and allocated a table.We were allocated 8.30pm dinner.To late for us,on reflection we should have requested 7 30pm dinner.Waiting on staff excellent,but the wine left a lot to be desired.Another issue was sunbeds,although i must admit there were plenty of them when we went.Guests putting towels out at 7am.and some leaving them until the afternoon.Poolside bar got extremely busy after dinner but did get better once the rush was over.Must give praise to Franz the barmen,he was excellent,All said and done we did have a relaxing value for money holiday,but would not return mainly because of isolation,no decent entertainment and not impressed with food Not very impressed with Italian or chinese resturants.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 390patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear Patricia,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy to hear that you liked your room and the complex so much and that your room was great for your husband as it was close to the restaurants and to the poolside. Our entire staff does their absolute best so our guests can spend a great holiday in our hotel and we are glad you liked the chocolates on the pillow. The Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* is a certified hotel for disabled guests, the entire hotel is accessible via ramps. During the day our guests can join into the activities and at night they can enjoy the great show, unfortunately it is hard for us to meet the taste of every guest and we are sorry you didn’t like the entertainment except for some acts. We apologize for the fact that you didn’t like the food so much. We offer our guests a lot of different meals in our three restaurants, so there should be something for everyone. There are two different seating times for dinner so our guests can enjoy their meal without the restaurant being overcrowded. We can assure you our waiters serve you as soon as possible, unfortunately when there are many guests in our hotel it may take a little while. We have a special sun bed policy in our hotel where the pool man removes between 9am and 10am the towels from sun beds, which are not being used for a long time. If you have any trouble finding a sun bed, please contact our pool man and he will help you find some, since we want every guest to have the chance of spending a relaxing day on a comfortable sun bed. We are sorry that you didn’t like our theme restaurants that much and we hope you will give us a second chance so we can assure you of our 5* rating.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had a lovely relaxing stay at this hotel. The staff were helpful and explained in great detail about the hotel when we arrived. They were all happy on their work and were always willing to help if there were any problems. The food was plentiful at all times and was a good standard in the main restaurant. We booked the two other restaurants but were disappointed in the quality of the food and the lack of ambiance. The rooms are spotless and large - I personally would like coffee and tea making facilities in the room but not too much of a problem as it is readily available elsewhere in the hotel. The alcohol measures were generous but the all inclusive cocktails were limited and not very pleasant!
The hotel is in a lovely area - a short walk to the Marina and shops. It has a village feel as it is situated close to shops and bars.
The entertainment is of a good standard and is enjoyable.
We were only here for a long weekend but wished we could have stayed for at least a week to explore both the hotel and Playa Blanca.
The only downside is the transfer to and from the airport - it takes forever! We definitely would book a private taxi to save time and energy!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FleetNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear FleetNikki,
We from Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* would like to thank you for sharing your great experience in our hotel with us on Tripadvisor.
We would like to apologize that you were disappointed by our Italian and Chinese restaurant and for the inconveniences during your transfer to our hotel. In the three restaurants in our hotel we offer many different types of cuisines for our guests to try and savor and we are very happy to hear you liked the main restaurant so much. Like you said our staff is great and since they want to provide a perfect holiday for our guests nothing is too much trouble for them. We are glad your liked you large and spotless room. We are sorry you didn’t like the cocktails so much, but in the four different bars we serve our guests many different types of drinks, so there is something for everyone. Our hotel is located in the area of Playa Blanca one of the most beautiful beaches on Lanzarote with some very nice shops and the marina within a few minutes walking distance from the hotel. At night our guests can enjoy the great entertainment from our animation team and finish the day with a smile. We hope you will stay in our hotel again soon and then for a week so you can discover everything. Loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us, receive a special 5% discount.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Just returned from a week of bliss at the Dream Gran Castillo.
I am a harsh critic and found this hotel hard to fault, this is mainly due to the excellent staff they employ, if I could bottle what they give them to keep them all so happy I certainly would have a winning formulae!
Although the hotel is busy, we never felt like we were in a large crowded place, always got a sun lounger however we did prefer the quietness of the pool by the Spa even though this was the pool that was not heated.
Rooms were spacious, exceptionally clean and well serviced. Chocs on pillow and little mat for feet by side of bed was a great touch.
Food was the best I have had on all inclusive, great choice of fish freshly cooked for you every day, steak, lamb, prawns , etc. The Finish/Swedish Chef was a real character. We ate several times at The Italian and chose to eat breakfast here for the majority of our stay as we found it cosier, again the choice was vast and if you couldn't find anything you would have had to be very fussy.
My only criticism would be the length of time we had to que to be appointed our table number on the first night, although the team at the restaurant were great, this is not an effective way of doing things, took far too long.
Met some fantastic people from many different countries.
Close to Marina which was a lovely walk, and had great fun feeding fish from floating jetty near by. Beach was rocky and not really used except by walkers but great for kids to hunt around the rock pools for sea life.
The island itself is now my favourite of the Canary Islands, stunning scenery and great people. Will we return....absolutely!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sweetie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

From the entire team of Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* we would like to thank you for your comment about our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We would like to apologize for the long waiting period on your first night to be allocated a table, unfortunately when our hotel is really busy it can take a while until our guests can be served, but we most certainly do so as fast as possible.
It is wonderful for us to hear that you spent a week of bliss in our hotel. Our entire staff works really hard so our guests can spend a great holiday and it is really nice of you to mention how amazing they are. There are 11 pools in our hotel so every guest can find a quiet one during their stay. We have a special sun bed policy where the pool man removes the towels from sun beds between 9am an 10am, which are not being used for a longer time. Like you said our rooms are very spacious, exceptionally clean and well serviced and we are happy you enjoyed the turn down service so much. Our guests can eat in three different restaurants where they can find plenty of choice each day, so there is enough for everybody. The location of our hotel close to Playa Blanca is ideal for going on excursions and discovering the islands attractions and we are happy you loved the island so much. We offer a special 5% discount to loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Food ... Excellent. Rooms ... Beautiful. Italian restaurant ... Try the medium fillet steak ... Perfect. Pool bar ... Great relaxation. Staff .... Delightful. Overall hotel .. Impressive, airy, spotless. The drinks were a combo of local and known brands including Tanquerey gin ... Our favourite. 20 mins walk to the marina and another 20 to playa blanca .... What more can I say to show how good our stay was. The only two downsides were the pillows are very uncomfortable so consider this and NO KETTLE. We heard sooooooooo many people complain around the pool bar .... No kettle. We went and bought one for 14.5 euros in playa blanca .... Like others we ended up waiting so long for a coach we took the taxi there and back. Well do that next time. So when we book to go again we will take vacuum packed pillows and our kettle. To sit on the balcony with a great cuppa first thing in the morning was heaven....

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peethomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Peethomas,
We would like to thank you for sharing your fantastic experience in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
We are sorry you found the pillows uncomfortable and that you did not have a kettle in you room, if you have any problems during your stay, please do not hesitate and contact our reception, there you can get a kettle as well as a different pillow. Our hotel is located in the area of Playa Blanca, where our guests can find many nice shops to buy some souvenirs or they can go for a stroll along the marina. We are very happy to hear that you thought our hotel is impressive, airy as well as spotless and that you enjoyed everything so much. The rooms in our hotel are very spacious and very clean so our guests can spend a comfortable stay. There is plenty of choice for our guests offered each night in our three restaurants and you can always try something new. In our four bars we offer mostly known brands to our guests and in some cases local brands. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you had with the coach to our hotel. We hope you will stay in our hotel again in the near future. There is a special 5% discount for loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,011 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,367 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
11.8 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca

Address: Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Dream Gran Castillo Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $157 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a grand castle which majestically dominates the seascape of the AtlanticOcean and its islands, the magnificent GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO is erected in the charming area of Playa Blanca, in the south of the volcanic isle par excellence: Lanzarote. With the conviction that elegance and comfort should come naturally, this Hotel is a tribute to 16th century Canary history and colonial architecture, inspired by the "Castle of San José" and the typical landscape of the island, blending in with the environment. The building is divided into different zones which maintain their colonial style, where the white facades and volcanic stone contrast with the backdrop of the deep blue ocean. A charming interior courtyard of Arab inspiration bathes the reception area with light, and the contemporary décor and pale colours create a warm and very elegant atmosphere. GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO pampers every detail of the rooms and suites, which have breathtaking views of the sea and surrounding scenery. They are decorated in a contemporary style, with marine touches, light-coloured wood and pale colours, creating a pleasant atmosphere full of light. The discerning selection of restaurants and cuisines serve Canary, national and international specialities. There are conference rooms featuring spearhead technology, and various outdoor zones for events of different kinds. The "Vitanova SPA" thalassotherapy centre provides the benefits of thermal seawater, and specific treatments for the body and soul. The Hotel features a wide range of facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Dreamplace Hotels & Resorts SL, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Gran Castillo Hotel Playa Blanca
Dream Castillo Papagayo Lanzarote
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing