We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms and staff are excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The hotel is classed as 5 star and lives up to this from several points of view. All staff members, in all departments, are a credit to the company. Nothing is too much trouble and there is certainly no hankering after gratuity. It is as though their dearest wish in life is to see to every guest requirement, and this is done in a friendly and helpful manner. We are currently in the middle of our stay, and I hope that the management read this, and possibly comment, before we leave the hotel in a few days. Just one or two slight niggles. I would very much appreciate more Spanish cuisine, c/f Parador Hotels. I realise that this is dificult as the food has to appeal to a wide range of tastes, but good Spanish cuisine is unparalleled. More use of tapas could be made instead of the afternoon burger thing which, I suppose that I know, sadly appeals to a wide audience. Not once have we been offered gaspacho, or the famous garlic soup, oxtail, roast sucling pig or Segovian lamb. My other niggle is that, as a confirmed lover of Spanish brandy, only a very cheap, and not altogether appealing, brandy is available as the inclusive option. There are excellent Spanish varieties including Fundador, 103, Carlos, Veterano, Soberano, need I go on, all of which are available as very reasonably priced alternatives to The Old, which seems to be the only one on offer. Never mind all this, we have had a lovely stay in a first class, 5 star bedroom which is a standard room with no extra charge. Go and stay there. You will have a lovely time!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Oystereater A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your fantastic comment about our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* on Tripadvisor.
In our three restaurants we offer our guests the possibility to try many dishes from different parts of the world and thank you for mentioning the matter to us, so we can take care of it. Your comment about our stay being a credit to our company is really important to us and we appreciate it since they all do their absolute best, so our guests can spend a wonderful holiday in our hotel. In our bars we offer mostly leading brands and in some cases local brands to our guests. Thank you very much for your pointer the opinion of our guests is very important to us. We hope you will enjoy the rest of your stay just as much and return to our hotel for another visit in the near future.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,897)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,447 - 2,453 of 5,897 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

I leave the hotel tomorrow after a week with my two kids Iñigo and Julia ( 4 and 2 years old) and the experience has been very good. We have not been very lucky with the weather but this is the risk in November.... The room was fine, big and had two separated areas (with two sliding doors) one for us and the other for the kids which was very suitable. We did not have the best views but our room was placed very near the mini club which was very convenient.
All the staff in general was just amazing, so polite and proactive to help. I have to thank all the staff in the mini club as they were great with the kids: thank you Szandra Mafalda and Silvia for everything, you really made us and the kids enjoy our time in the hotel.
The activities in the miniclub were nice and the space ok. I would only highlight the fact that the ballpark pool, which the kids love is a bit dirty and full of broken balls which I think is dangerous if they go with barefoot (as they usually do) and it is too close to the swings area.
The kids loved all the swimming pools althought it was a pitty that they could not use the big one with the slides so much as it was a bit cold for us (we are from Spain.. But i have to say that kids from another nationalities were enjoying it
every day...)
Special comment for Eva, the woman responsible for the snack bar. She is fantastic, nice and always alert for anything we may need.
The food is fine. I would say the italian restaurant is very nice... We went twice, but I Had bigger expectations with the asian one.it is Just a plain chinese restaurant I would say.
The spectacles that i watched were nice. The Lion king was especially interesting, Much much better that I expected. Lovely costumes and the masks were very nice, the kids loved it. They were talking about it for days.
The cleaning ladies very nice. One has just knocked on my door to give me a box of chocolates.. The room as been nicely cleaned and arranged.
It was the secind time I was in this hotel. The first one was when the hotel had just opened and I will return again if I have the chance.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Laidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Laidon,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
We are sorry the weather wasn’t the best during your stay, but we are very glad that you still had an amazing time in our hotel and that you liked your room. Our entire staff wants to provide our guests with a perfect holiday and we appreciate you mentioning how great they all are especially the miniclub team. Thank you for mentioning the matter of the pool to us, so we can take care of it. In our hotel there are 11 pools, so all our guests can choose their favorite one or discover them all. The three restaurants in our hotel all offer different types of cuisines so our guests can savor new dishes and we are sorry you didn’t like the Chinese restaurant so much. During the day our guests can participate in one of the many activities organized by our animation team and at night they can enjoy a great show and finish the day with a smile on their faces. We are really happy to hear you liked the chocolates and the cleaning of our cleaning ladies so much. We hope you will stay with us again soon. For our loyal guests we offer a special 5% discount, if they book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed for 7 days in September 13, we chose a Superior double room, we both agreed it was probably the best holiday we had been on and we travel alot!

Intially we were placed in a room on the bottom floor overlooking a carpark, after asking to be moved to another room we were moved to the top floor which had views of the sea, mountains and resport itself. Superior double has a nice balcony, Bath, Shower and double sink also a sofa, small fridge and a walking wardrobe, satellite tv was available but not many english channels.

We stayed all inclusive and the food and drink was great ( try the mojo sauce ), issues we had on some days the queues were long and the restaurant was very busy, definitely visit the spa onsite especially after a long walk, you get one free visit and then it costs 10 euros per visit afterwards. The pools are nice although sometimes a battle to get a sunbed.

The Gran Castillo is so large you could almost stay their without leaving, the market is 10 minutes walk along the promenade and a large shopping centre is two minutes from the resort.

Worth walking to the marina to see the fish and have a drink, all in all could of stayed there for a month, loved it!

P.s we had to wait for an hour or two at check in before our room was ready.

Room Tip: High floor recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear p.s,
Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* would like to thank you for posting a comment about our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We would like to apologize for the waiting time at you check in, unfortunately it is sometimes hard for our team to attend every guest right away, but we most certainly do so as fast as possible. Like you said our rooms have nice balconies and fully equipped bathrooms everything our guests need during their stay. We are glad you we able to change your room and liked it so much, if you have any problems during your stay, please contact our reception and they will be happy to be of help. In our three restaurants our guests can enjoy different types of meals. There are two different seating times in our main restaurant so our guests can enjoy their meals without the restaurants being overcrowded, but unfortunately if there are many guests in our hotel it can take a while and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience. It is great that you enjoyed the one free entrance to the Spa and that you had a lovely time there. We have a special sun bed policy in our hotel where the pool man removes the towels from sun beds which are not being used for a longer time. If you have any trouble finding a sun bed, please contact our pool man and he will help you, since we want all our guests to have the chance of spending a relaxing day in the sun on a sun bed. Our hotel is located in the area of Playa Blanca, one of the most beautiful beaches on Lanzarote, where our guests can find some really nice shops. We hope you will return to our hotel again in the near future. We offer a special 5% discount to loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My friend and i stayed here mid Oct 2013. we did alot of research before choosing this hotel, it was the first time either of us had been to Lanzarote. The hotel was nice and clean and the rooms are very spacious. We arrived around 2.30pm, wasnt even offered a welcome drink but we were told our room wasnt ready yet and were told to go for a walk round for an hour....after being up since 4.30am and still in our clothes we travelled in, to be honest all we wanted to do was freshen up & get our shorts on as it was around 27 degs. but we did as asked and went back at 3.30pm. Reception still wasnt sure if our room was ready so we hung around for another 10mins whilst he treied to track the cleaner down to check. Not bad to say you are supposed to be out of your rooms by 12 latest so not really sure why our room wasnt ready upon arrival, this wasnt a last min booking after all. Eventually we were taken to our room. Problem was it a double bed, we ordered twins. As 2 friends and we even emailed the hotel a few weeks prior arrival to ensure a twin room was allocated to us despite our booking clealry stating twin. So back to reception we go. eventually we are taken to another room, which was twin this time. we dumped our bags, got changed and went for a wander. we soon realised the room we were given was right about the bar where the evening entertainment was....we stayed there one night to be kept awake with the thump thump thump below until midnight. If we'd got a last min cheapie i suppose this would be part of the expectations, but we paid alot of money for this holiday and booked it 9 months in advance, so the following morning we asked to move. The lady receptionist was extremely rude, she said the room problems were all our fault and we should have booked a twin ! we showed her our booking form where it clearly said twin room! we were told to leave our bags and theyd find somewhere. later that day we were taken to another room. Now dont get me wrong, we arnt one of these holidaymakers that seek perfection but when booking a 5* hotel with a twin room thats not too much to ask in my opinion. This 3rd attempt of our room was much better, all the rooms are spacious, clean and have the most fab showers. beds were comfy and the air con was pretty quiet.
The pools were clean and the bar staff friendly, especially Irene, she worked not stop and always smiled depite being on her feet for hours. The bars are extremely under staffed, there was one towel guy that seemed to get a kick out of having a moan at holidaymakers each day, telling kids off, he even had a go at one kid saying he couldnt use this water gun in the pool, he'd bought it from the hotel shop, so why sell them if you cant use them! he took peoples towels off their loungers but lost some of their belongings. he tried to whisk 3 kids off to reception because they were wondering around and he asked wheres your parents, they thought they were in trouble so said i dont know so he told them to follow him.....erm what happened to kids dont go off with strangers hmmm. The sunloungers each morning was problem. you couldnt get one. This hotel clearly has more folk staying than they can cater for, hence the very busy bars and there not being enough sunbeds for everyone. The evening meal at the buffet restaurant is absolutely ridiculous. they have breakfast and lunch when you can go whenever you want and they seem to manage fine but for some reason in the evening you are given a table number and can either go at 7.30pm or 9pm only. so obviously folk with kids tried to get into the 7.30 sitting which was fair enough but even that was too late for those with very young kids, we ended up with the 9pm sitting and there were screaming kids because they were hungry and tired. most evenings we had half our cutlery missing, empty salt and pepper pots and so did the tables next to us. the foods was the same all week with just a couple of changes, to be honest we had paid for all inclusive but got so bored with the food we walked down into the center half way through the hol for a change of food. i was glad we were only here a week i couldnt have eaten there for 2 weeks. whilst this is a lovely clean hotel and putting the room cock up aside the food sitting situation caused so many people problems im surprised the management havent addressed this as we read alot of reviews warning of this problem. the sunbed situation needs sorting too. based on the food & sunbeds i wouldnt return to this hotel, especially as friend and family have stayed at 4* hotels and have paid less than we did and not had those sort of experiences. Id definately go back to Lanzarote though, we have stayed at 5* hotels in Egypt etc and this isnt 5* im afraid.

Room Tip: ask for a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Iorna,
We from Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* would like to thank you for your comment about our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We would like to apologize for the inconveniences during your check in, unfortunately it is hard for us to have every room ready when our clients arrive, but we can assure you we certainly do our best. We are sorry you didn’t like the first two rooms so much, but if you have any problem during your stay, please contact our reception and they will be happy to be of help. The quality and professionalism of our entire team is very important to Dream Gran Castillo Resort and therefore we will make sure a situation like those you mentioned do not occur again. It is really nice to hear you liked your last clean and spacious room with the fabulous shower and comfortable bed so much. Our entire staff is working really hard for our guests to have a wonderful stay in our hotel and we appreciate you liked our bar staff so much. The special sun bed policy in our hotel states, that the pool man is allowed to remove the towels from sun beds between 9am and 10am, if they have not been used for a longer time. If you have any trouble finding a sun bed please contact our pool man and he will help you find some. There are two different seating times during dinner, so our guests can enjoy their meal without the restaurant being overcrowded. In our three restaurants we offer many different dishes for our guests to try and enjoy. Thank you for mentioning those matter to us, so we can take care of them. We hope you will give us a second chance, so we can assure you of our 5* rating and high quality.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed here over halloween with family for a 1 week break. Hotel is pretty good but not a 5 star in the true sense. A 4 star at best with some operating issues they need to resolve. Generally the place is huge so its a decent walk from one end to the other. Wifi not free. We paid for the week and it was functional for email just.

1) Staff - very good, friendly, efficient. Queues extremely long at reception for anything from check in to just a query. We just avoided them because of this and got by.

2) Food - mainly good. Better than any other HB or all inclusive we've been on but we ate out 2 nights just for variety - in the marina nearby (€5 taxi fare). The italian and Chinese restaurants are very busy so we only got 1 night booked in these because you need to reserve days in advance.

3) Room - stayed in a family duplex room. Good space (although the online photos mislead). TV was broken but was repaired within hours of reporting it. Robes and slippers (for 2) but no kettle or irons.

4) Pools - we stayed around the family pool and the kids had a ball. Good activities and kids club.

5) Location - its a bit on its own. If you want to go out its a 30 minute walk into the marina which is really nice. But you could spend the week at the hotel. We hired a car and the hotel had parking which was useful. Its about 40 minutes form the airport.

Family show on each night which the kids loved. No beach access nearby, very rocky. Best beach is a 5 minute drive away.

All in all a good holiday. There is another hotel closer to the marina (Vulcan i believe) which we would stay in if visiting again - looks nice and better location.

Room Tip: rooms near the main pool/reception area are noisy at night with the late bar etc. So if you want qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fosfo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

myself and the g/f, stayed for a week 09 nov. we both well traveled. we gotta say how fab this hotel is, its well maintained and clean. the rooms truely are beautiful, its huge. the food is devine. plenty of places for R/R. we were well looked after and spoilted.
ok... now for the down side, all the staff work very very hard always willing to please however, they need 2 more people in the bars, with a smile... thats it.. i would definality stay here again and would happly tell friends and family to stay here.. BUT PLEASE CASTILLO MORE PEOPLE WORKING THE BARS WITH A SMILE... ENJOY A PEACE OF HEAVEN ON LANZAROTE..

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheep177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel between the 7th and 14th November. Firstly I would say that if you are looking for a luxurious five star hotel DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL. I have stayed in better 4 star hotels. Many areas of the hotel looked tired and in need of re-painting/updating. We were firstly placed in a room at the far end of the hotel looking out onto the children's pool area and Italian restaurant. Yes the rooms are very spacious but again could do with a lick of paint and an update. A couple of days into the holiday I found a cockroach in my shoe which was in the wardrobe. We threw it out on the balcony and thought no more about it. On the Sunday evening we went back to the hotel room and upon opening the door we were greeted by a family of cockroaches scurrying along the floor (One large one and three smaller ones). I phoned reception and they said they would send someone straight away. After waiting for about half an hour and phoning reception two more times I decided to go and speak to them face to face. They told me that they had only one room free in the whole of the hotel and we could pack our things up and move to this room for the night (which was one of the large suites with a living room, two bedrooms and two bathrooms). I returned to our room and two of the cleaners had arrived with a can of insecticide spray. I told them they were not spraying that in the room as my two year old daughter was asleep in there. They left and I began to remove my items from the wardrobe when one enormous cockroach flew out and landed on my shoulder. I screamed and the cleaners came running down the corridor (probably thinking I was being murdered!). We quickly packed our things together and left the room. The next day we were told to return to reception as we would need to move rooms again. We did this and was spoken to by the hotel manager who stated this situation was highly unusual however what did we expect as these creatures do live in hot countries?!?!?!? We then moved to another room and fortunately did not see another cockroach for the rest of the holiday. We were also offered a free spa treatment as compensation. After this experience we were obviously put off this hotel and would definitely not stay here again. The good points to the hotel we found were the animation team and the mini disco at night which our daughter loved. They make a real effort to include all the children and talk to the guests. The bad points are obviously the nest of cockroaches which were in our wardrobe, the size of the hotel and the fact it is like a maze (it took us about a week to get used to where everything was and to find the hidden lifts which are not signposted). The fact that there are two sittings for your evening meal is also inconvenient. You either have to have the early slot which starts at 6.30pm however the restaurant closes at 8pm and then re-opens again at 8.30pm for the second sitting. We had the earlier slot as we traveled with our young daughter and found that when it got to about 7.30pm they stopped replenishing the food and a lot of things where no longer available so we missed out on a lot of desserts, etc that had all been eaten and not replenished. There was also no kids section in the restaurant (no pizza, spag bol, etc) and the food was extremely repetitive with the only change being different meats on different days. Also the waiter service is very poor with cutlery/glasses, etc sometimes missing and having to go and help yourself to more cutlery/glasses/drinks, etc. We did not give a tip so maybe that was the reason. There is also nothing much around the hotel and the marina is a good 20-30 minute walk away with the town being a further 15-20 minute walk on from the marina. I would not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 5462 as this is where the nest of cockroaches where.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Smalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,428 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,827 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun

Address: Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Dream Gran Castillo Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $163 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a grand castle which majestically dominates the seascape of the AtlanticOcean and its islands, the magnificent GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO is erected in the charming area of Playa Blanca, in the south of the volcanic isle par excellence: Lanzarote. With the conviction that elegance and comfort should come naturally, this Hotel is a tribute to 16th century Canary history and colonial architecture, inspired by the "Castle of San José" and the typical landscape of the island, blending in with the environment. The building is divided into different zones which maintain their colonial style, where the white facades and volcanic stone contrast with the backdrop of the deep blue ocean. A charming interior courtyard of Arab inspiration bathes the reception area with light, and the contemporary décor and pale colours create a warm and very elegant atmosphere. GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO pampers every detail of the rooms and suites, which have breathtaking views of the sea and surrounding scenery. They are decorated in a contemporary style, with marine touches, light-coloured wood and pale colours, creating a pleasant atmosphere full of light. The discerning selection of restaurants and cuisines serve Canary, national and international specialities. There are conference rooms featuring spearhead technology, and various outdoor zones for events of different kinds. The "Vitanova SPA" thalassotherapy centre provides the benefits of thermal seawater, and specific treatments for the body and soul. The Hotel features a wide range of facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Dreamplace Hotels & Resorts SL, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Gran Castillo Hotel Playa Blanca
Dream Castillo Papagayo Lanzarote
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing