We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Came as guests and left as friends"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Gran Castillo for 10 nights, from the 6th-16th September 2013. We arrived at the hotel just after 10pm and our first impression of the hotel was good. The reception area was very nice and we were greeted by very pleasant staff who offered us a glass of cava whilst promptly checking us in to our rooms.

We stayed in a junior suite (room 3253) which was large, very nicely furnished, had a sea view and a pleasant patio area with a marbled mosaic table and sturdy metal chairs. The safe was free of charge and the fridge was initially stocked with a large bottle of water and soft drinks. The hotel policy is that you once you have consumed the water you have to refill the bottle yourself, which we did by the pool bar.

The hotel is set out like a small village, the gardens are lovely and the grounds are well maintained. We were given a map to familiarise ourselves with the hotel layout and enable us to find amenities such as the restaurants, bars and pool areas. There is a well equipped gymnasium and the hotel provides a free day pass for you to try the spa, sauna and wellness centre.

The hotel food is of a very good standard, the choice plentiful with offerings of steak, fish, lamb, a variety of roast meats for lunch and dinner, and fresh fruit, crepes, omelettes and English style sausages for breakfast. There are also 2 “speciality” restaurants - Italian and Chinese, which have to be pre-booked 24 hrs in advance and not limited to 1 visit each per stay. Each have a relaxed atmosphere, are quieter and less busy than the main restaurant and should be visited whilst there. I was looking forward to having garlic bread at the Italian, but was very surprised when it wasn’t even on the menu!

The main pool bar menu was a let down and very limited, with hot dogs, hamburgers, ham toasties and chips as the usual fare. Getting a drink at the pool bar was a problem occasionally as there was only 1 person serving behind the bar at times.

All inclusive drinks are served until midnight (including some branded spirits which you must specifically ask for) and there are a choice of cocktails. The drinks menu identifies any additional costs you might incur depending on your requirements.

The entertainment was provided by the animation team, who also performed most of the evening entertainment, which for me personally was a let down – and I’m not criticising the animation team. They worked their socks off night and day to keep people amused, but in my opinion the hotel should have brought in better variety acts, especially for the hotel rating given.

There are several pools and children’s areas, and towels can be hired (which saves on luggage weight) for 25 euro’s, which is a credit card agreement with the hotel. No transactions are done unless you fail to return or lose the towels, as they are your responsibility to look after them.

The main pool area leads directly onto the sea front and can be accessed by the leaving at the rear gate. Outside is a small bay which hardly has any sand, and not really fit for sunbathing, but has lots of rock pools and opportunities for children to net small fish.

Papayago beach can be found by leaving the front of the hotel, turning right and strolling for about 20 minutes, but I wouldn’t recommend the walk to anyone with mobility problems due to the hills and terrain encountered. The beach is lovely and has a few nice coves which can be accessed by walking around the edge of the sea, or by the cliff tops.

Rubicon Marina is 1km away and Playa Blanca town 3km away. Both can be reached by leaving from the rear entry of the hotel, turning right and walking along the promenade. There is a steep hill to contend with as you begin the walk but after that it is pretty much flat. A taxi into Playa Blanca town costs around 3 euro's so it isn’t worthwhile waiting for a bus.
The marina has an array of yachts and boats, is well maintained, very clean looking and modern with a few nice shops and restaurants. Market days by the marina are on Wednesday and Saturday whilst Playa Blanca town is busy, vibrant, and has many shops bars and restaurants.

Overall the hotel was very nice, the staff were kind and polite and our holiday was great. We came as guests, met some great people (especially John and Doris) and left as friends.

Room Tip: Room 3253. A junior suite with sea views.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyEntwistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,778)
There are newer reviews for Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,465 - 2,471 of 5,778 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from our third visit here in one year. Before we left we booked another holiday at the Gran Castillo for March 2014.
It was just wonderful. The director David will mingle with guests and gave us a warm welcome. I do feel that he "hand picks" his staff, as they are all very good, so approachable, and cannot do enough for you.
Our room was perfect, and kept to a good standard throughout our two week stay.
Food was excellent. We visited the Italian and Chinese restaurants. They made a change of scene to the main buffet hall ( which was also very good, lots of quality choices)
The Chinese was particularly good indeed. Service and food was great.
The gardens are very well maintained and look lovely.
The pool bar is now open in the evening which is good as it enables guests to "spread out" and. have more space
There is now a new chef (Christian). What a nice chap! A wonderful cook, and if he is able to will have a chat with you.
The bar and reception staff are all very hard working and certainly deserve a mention
We cannot wait to return again in the new year. We are well travelled and absolutely love it here. Thank you Mr and Mrs Nolan x

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsBouquets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Dream Gran Castillo. This was our 4th stay (2nd for grandchildren) and again we had a fabulous holiday. We were looked after by all the staff with no exceptions. We ate in the Italian and Chinese restaurants the food and service was very good. The buffet was a bit chaotic because most people wanted to eat early and preferred outside but the staff worked hard to get everybody seated. The children loved the pools and yes we were allowed to use small inflatables. I must make mention to Israel he was a really lovely chap he looked after the pool area and nothing was too much trouble for him we had several chats with him. We are looking forward to our next stay, well done Gran Castillo.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dudleyf665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamplacehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you very much for your great comment about our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy to hear you had a fabulous stay in our hotel and that you enjoyed the attention of our staff so much. In our four restaurants we offer a wide variety of delicious dishes for our guests to enjoy and we appreciate you found our service really good. There are 11 pools in our hotel for our guests to choose their favorite one or to discover them all. Our entire staff is working really hard for our guests to have a wonderful time during their stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon. There is a special 5% discount for loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

What can I say . This is a fantastic place spotlessly clean great room superb service fantastic food and drinks including some branded items in all inclusive tariff. Others have sung its praises and some people complained . Yes people mainly Brits I am embarrassed to admit just have to hog the sun beds but we always got a bed the pool guy did read the riot act when we arrived which I found off putting when he was not so brave at tackling the problem when it happened . I would get to the pool area about 9am it was fine. Someone else c/o of not having the same table- well table allocation is for dinner only and yes there is always someone who can't abide by the rules which does upset things but personally we had no problems . I would not hesitate for a moment in recommending this hotel to all. One thing I will say is if you want late night s go to playa Blanca it's quiet here by midnight at the latest. But there is entertainment and a disco but this old fogey s disco days are over!!!! Do go its wonderful here

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor near the main pool area or if you have children get one up by the children...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamplacehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your fantastic experience in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
We are glad you found your room spotless clean, the service superb and that you enjoyed the food and drinks so much. In our four restaurants we offer a wide variety of dishes for our guests to savor. We have a special sun bed policy in our hotel, between 9am and 10am the pool man removes the towels from the sun beds, which are not being used, so every guest has the change of enjoying the sun on a sun bed. All of our staff is working really hard for our guests to have a wonderful stay. Our hotel is located in the area around Playa Blanca, one of the most beautiful beaches on Lanzarote. Thank you very much for recommending us and we hope you will stay with us again soon. There is a special 5% discount for loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

There are so many positives about this hotel I do not know where to start. From arrival to departure it exceeded expectations on every level. Check in was faultless. We were dealt with quickly and offered a glass of fizz while the receptionist took us through the check-in procedure. The room was extremely spacious with a dressing room, double shower, double sinks and masses of complimentary toiletries etc., robes and slippers. It was spotlessy clean and the maid was extremely helpful and friendly. Every restaurant we visited, whether it was the Chinese, Italian, buffet or even around the pool for snacks was scrupulously clean, as was the whole of the complex. The food was excellent in all restaurants and the hard working staff could not do enough to assist us. Everything about this hotel from the friendly hardworking staff to the ambiance of the whole experience was amazing. I have no doubt that we will return to this hotel again and again. It is a very special place to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marion r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamplacehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you very much for your amazing comment about our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy to hear we exceeded your expectations on every level. All of our staff is doing their absolute best for our guests to have a wonderful time in our hotel and we appreciate you mentioning it. Like you said our rooms are very spacious and very clean so our guests can feel completely comfortable. In our restaurants we offer a wide variety of delicious dishes for our guests to try and savor. We hope you will stay with us again soon. Loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us, receive a special 5% discount.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Me and my family have just arrived home from a week in the gran dream Castillo, we have twin baby girls who are 10 months old the staff here couldn't do enough to help us and meet r needs, I couldn't fault any part of this hotel, the food was amazing the service was amazing the rooms were unbelievable, I was truly gutted to leave.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamplacehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you very much for your fantastic comment about our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy to hear you thought our staff was amazingly helpful, we can assure you our entire staff is doing their absolute best for our guests to have an unforgettable holiday. Like you said our rooms are very spacious for our guests to feel completely comfortable during their holiday. We hope you will be staying with us again soon. For loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us, there is a special 5% discount.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We booked this after reading reviews. Simply put, we had a great time.
The booking was trouble free, and being greeted at reception with a cold glass of cava was a nice touch. Our romm was massive, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. We had one small problem with the shower, which was immediately fixed when we reported it.
The staff were very helpful and seemed happy in their work, theer were no hands out for tips at any point. The only issue we had was the table reservation system in the main restaurant, which doesn't work, however the food was at worst good, and at best fabulous. One point worth noting is that there is (for men) a no shorts rule in the restaurant for dinner only. Some people were unaware of this rule and were ill equipped.
Nice location, Lovely Hotel, Great Holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Plumit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamplacehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
We are glad you had a great time in our hotel and that you enjoyed our welcome drink so much. Like you said our rooms are very spacious and have a fully equipped bathroom, for our guests to relax in. We apologize for the problems with the table assignment, but are very happy to hear you thought our staff was very helpful and helpful; they all do their absolute best for our guests to have a wonderful time during their holiday. In our restaurants we offer a wide variety of delicious dishes for our guests to try and savor. In a 5* hotel it is normal, that men have to wear long trousers. The hotel is located in the area around Playa Blanca, one of the most beautiful beaches on Lanzarote, with nice shops for our guests to discover.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,920 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,292 reviews
19.7 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#14 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca

Address: Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Dream Gran Castillo Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $163 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a grand castle which majestically dominates the seascape of the AtlanticOcean and its islands, the magnificent GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO is erected in the charming area of Playa Blanca, in the south of the volcanic isle par excellence: Lanzarote. With the conviction that elegance and comfort should come naturally, this Hotel is a tribute to 16th century Canary history and colonial architecture, inspired by the "Castle of San José" and the typical landscape of the island, blending in with the environment. The building is divided into different zones which maintain their colonial style, where the white facades and volcanic stone contrast with the backdrop of the deep blue ocean. A charming interior courtyard of Arab inspiration bathes the reception area with light, and the contemporary décor and pale colours create a warm and very elegant atmosphere. GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO pampers every detail of the rooms and suites, which have breathtaking views of the sea and surrounding scenery. They are decorated in a contemporary style, with marine touches, light-coloured wood and pale colours, creating a pleasant atmosphere full of light. The discerning selection of restaurants and cuisines serve Canary, national and international specialities. There are conference rooms featuring spearhead technology, and various outdoor zones for events of different kinds. The "Vitanova SPA" thalassotherapy centre provides the benefits of thermal seawater, and specific treatments for the body and soul. The Hotel features a wide range of facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Dreamplace Hotels & Resorts SL, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Gran Castillo Hotel Playa Blanca
Dream Castillo Papagayo Lanzarote
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing