We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth visit to this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just returned from another fab holiday at the Dream Gran Castillo. Ten days this time. Ideal location, great weather in September, wonderful staff, fabulous food, excellent accommodation great all inclusive drinks, including some international brands. 15 minute walk to marina, 40 minute walk into Playa Blanca. We hire bikes for so many days as there is a good cycle path around the outskirts of the town from Papagayo all the way to the light house. Reasons for repeat visits? Each time we see improvements have been made. Management take on board comments from guests and try to implement suggested improvements, Last year, the bar area had been extended, the food choice/quality improves with each visit. The level of service from all members of staff is exceptional. A great mix of nationalities. Could there be further improvements? Maybe an adult only bar/nightclub after 12 for those of us who travel with friends. Wouldn't even mind paying for our drinks. Entertainment in the evenings is a little limited for adult only groups. But hey, it won't stop me booking again either way. Thank you for another wonderful holiday

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms in this hotel. Four visits and four spacious rooms with lovely views
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidayperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamplacehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your great comment about our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5*.
We are very happy to hear you found our staff wonderful, the food fabulous, the accommodation excellent and enjoyed our all inclusive package. Our hotel is located in the area of Playa Blanca, one of the most beautiful beaches on Lanzarote. We appreciate that you can find new improvements every time you stay in our hotel, we want our guests to have a wonderful stay in our hotel, which is why we never stop improving our hotel. Our staff is working really hard for you to be able to completely enjoy your holiday. We hope to welcome you back soon in our hotel, if you book directly with us, you will receive a special 5% discount.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,785)
There are newer reviews for Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,490 - 2,496 of 5,785 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

we stayed at the Dream Gran Castillo from 1st sept. for 14 days. We arrived to a chaotic pool area, scrum of a pool bar and a typhoon hit restaurant but by Tuesday the rabble had left and we were heading for the most chilled, relaxing holiday experience ever. The hotel is a four star but could be 5 star if people treated it like a 5 star. The staff from the start in reception were really helpful and hospitable. This place is so comfortable. The rooms are palatial and very spacious, especially the bathrooms. The bed was the best we've ever slept in, we wanted to bring it home.
The food was excellent but we felt it was never what we fancied so a couple of nights at the Italian and one meal at the Chinese worked fine. The up side was Mbumarek (one of the many friendly waiters) for his cheeky smile and his charm. The down side was no adult evening entertainment. The location of our room 4122 was right on the end of the building with a beautiful view up the hill and the sea but it was over the laundry room so the fumes and noise kept us from sitting on the balcony.
Special thanks to Paulo on reception for sorting 'crotches' for my husband when his knee locked and she found the local international clinic (by Burger King) who sold us some crutches.
We will return to this hotel with knowledge we'll be assured of a good holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellyPap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamplacehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
We are glad that after a chaotic beginning you had a wonderfully relaxing stay in our hotel. Our entire staff is always working really hard to make your holiday unforgettable. Like you said our rooms are very spacious with big bathrooms and we are very happy to hear that you slept so well in our comfortable beds. In our four restaurants we offer a wide variety of dishes for our guests to try and enjoy. If you have any questions or problems don’t hesitate to ask our staff everyone will be happy to be of help. We hope we will be able to welcome you back soon in our hotel, if you book directly with us, you will receive a special 5% discount.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just returned from a two week holiday at this hotel with sister. We had a fabulous time, enjoyed every minute. Genuinely welcoming and friendly staff who could not do enough for you. The rooms were spotless and spacious. Food was plentiful and of excellent quality (I am a very fussy eater but but there was so much choice it was hard to choose). Benny and is entertainment team were brilliant, I had a very soft spot for the gorgeous Marcio, his dancing was amazing. All in all this hotel certainly lived up to its 5 star rating. I have read the odd bad comment but some people are just born to complain!! Thank you Gran Castillo for a brilliant holiday x

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 366pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamplacehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your great comment about our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* on Tripadvisor.
We are glad you had such a fabulous time in our hotel. All of our staff is working really hard to make your holiday as wonderful and unforgettable as it can be and we appreciate you found our rooms so spacious and clean. In our four restaurants we offer a wide variety of dishes for our guests to enjoy and try. In the evening our animation team puts on a great show to entertain our guests. We hope you will choose our hotel again soon for your next holiday.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

we have just returned from this hotel , having not been on holiday for two years we were looking forward to it. we were not disappointed, I researched for months and followed comments on this site, the hotel is lovely, clean and we have never had such a big room, two sinks, bath and shower!. the food is very good and always lots of choice, especially seafood, the Italian and Chinese were a nice change from the busy restaurant, the tiramisu was to die for! at times I was overwhelmed with the choice and wondered around the restaurant aimlessly, by the end of the week I just wanted a ham sandwich on soft bread, all the bread was crusty! the very best bread was in the Italian, soft! and contained ham or olives. entertainment was brilliant, they performed shows in the evening,but it appeared they had a limited budget by some of the props they used, hector was exceptional, hope the management appreciate what a good team they have, the bar staff were always friendly and the maids left the room smelling fresh and clean, we have stayed in the rubicon and sandos papagayo in the past and would say this hotel is on par with them, although cant be beaten on room size!! would recommend and would like to go again,

Room Tip: rooms on level 2 are central to ameneties
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank melanie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your comment about our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy to hear you found our hotel lovely, clean and our rooms so spacious. In our four restaurants we offer a wide variety of dishes for our guests to try and enjoy. Our staff is very professional and always doing their best, so the guests at our hotel have a very special and wonderful holiday. The animation team offers activities during the day to entertain our guests and at night we have great show acts to finish of the day with a smile on our guests face. The rooms are always kept clean and smell fresh, so our guests can feel completely comfortable. We hope we can welcome you back soon, if you book directly with us, there is a special 5% discount for returners.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed at the gran Castillo sept 2012 .first class hotel worth the 5 stars.Rooms very large and clean.Walk in wardrobe and free safe .Bottle of wine in room on arrival ,nice touch .Bathrobes and slippers in room on arrival also little chops on bed every night.would definitely recommend Gran Castillo for a relaxing holiday

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamplacehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your great comment about our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate that you found our hotel excellent and our rooms very large and clean. Our entire staff is working really hard for our guest to have a wonderful stay in our hotel. Thank you very much for recommending us and we hope to welcome you back soon in our hotel, if you book directly with us, there is a special 5% discount.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at the Dream Grand Castillo for the first time at the start of September.
Our room was fantastic with a huge bed, seating area with flat screen TV, dressing room and wonderful bathroom with shower, bath and double sinks. We had a great view from our balcony and the room was cleaned daily to a high standard.
The food was great. There is so much choice and even for unadventurous eaters like me, I still found something different to eat each day. We only went to the Italian, which was also good.
We found all the staff to be polite and helpful.
The spa was fantastic and in my view, it's great to have somewhere on the complex that you could 'visit' to mix it up a bit!
As we had a late flight, rather than pay 25 euros to keep our room until 3pm, we paid 30 euros to go back the spa (we used our free visit earlier in the week) until 4pm before getting our transfer.
We also took advantage of ordering a picnic lunch on a couple of days when we went to the beach. (sandwich, fruit juice, bottle of water, biscuit and fruit) - you just have to order them by 8.30pm the night before you want them.

There is a great choice of swimming pools.We tended to go to the one next to the spa which was much quieter than the others as that's what we were after.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting lanzarote.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessica m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We travelled as three couples and returned on the 17th September. It is a lovely hotel and all our rooms were fantastic with beautiful seaviews. The staff are indeed friendly and work very hard which leaves them little time for conversation with guests. Everywhere was spotless and with 'no eating' around the pool, there was a noticeable lack of creepy crawlies. As adults travelling without children, we did feel that the hotel lacked appropriate evening entertainment for adults. There was a couple of nights where a singer/saxaphone player entertained who was brilliant but due to the fixed dining, we only captured one hour on each occasion. If you have children, this hotel seems to offer it all and the animation team are very good. The evening disco took place in the theatre after the evening show and consisted of children dancing in front of the stage. We believe the hotel was missing a trick for there was a lovely bar area in the theatre which could have been used for dancing had they wanted to set the scene. We cannot fault the food for the choice was extensive and very good. We also booked two nights in the Chinese restaurant and two nights in the Italian. Once again the food was great but there was no atmosphere at all in the Italian. All it needed was a few candles, some soft background music and the lights lowered to be perfect. One tip, if you go to the Chinese restaurant you may select as many dishes as you want although this is unclear on the first visit. The above comments are made with positive intent for we all felt the hotel was a high 4 star bordering 5 star. The walk to the nearby Marina is great for walking off the food and is an easy walk and does not take long at all. There are some great shops as well. Finally, Lanzarote would not be my first choice for a holiday but I would have no hesitation in going back to stay at this resort again .

Room Tip: If you do not have children, you should request a sea view room as near to the restaurant and main p...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,928 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,300 reviews
19.7 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#14 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca

Address: Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Dream Gran Castillo Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $164 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a grand castle which majestically dominates the seascape of the AtlanticOcean and its islands, the magnificent GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO is erected in the charming area of Playa Blanca, in the south of the volcanic isle par excellence: Lanzarote. With the conviction that elegance and comfort should come naturally, this Hotel is a tribute to 16th century Canary history and colonial architecture, inspired by the "Castle of San José" and the typical landscape of the island, blending in with the environment. The building is divided into different zones which maintain their colonial style, where the white facades and volcanic stone contrast with the backdrop of the deep blue ocean. A charming interior courtyard of Arab inspiration bathes the reception area with light, and the contemporary décor and pale colours create a warm and very elegant atmosphere. GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO pampers every detail of the rooms and suites, which have breathtaking views of the sea and surrounding scenery. They are decorated in a contemporary style, with marine touches, light-coloured wood and pale colours, creating a pleasant atmosphere full of light. The discerning selection of restaurants and cuisines serve Canary, national and international specialities. There are conference rooms featuring spearhead technology, and various outdoor zones for events of different kinds. The "Vitanova SPA" thalassotherapy centre provides the benefits of thermal seawater, and specific treatments for the body and soul. The Hotel features a wide range of facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Dreamplace Hotels & Resorts SL, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Gran Castillo Hotel Playa Blanca
Dream Castillo Papagayo Lanzarote
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing