We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
Nearby Hotels
$196
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
H10 Rubicon Palace(Playa Blanca)
$253
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
THe Mirador Papagayo(Playa Blanca)(Great Value!)
$177
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$146
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$189
$168
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$186
$180
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$181
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (6,098)
Filter reviews
6,098 results
Traveler rating
3,153
1,847
748
235
115
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,153
1,847
748
235
115
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssports baritalian restaurantmain restaurantbali bedswalk in wardrobeanimation teamkids clubadult only areasdressing roomsea viewadult poolhuge bathroommain poolseparate showerfillet steakgreat holidayschool holidays
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,774 - 2,779 of 6,098 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Don't be fooled by the pics you will find online. There are only 4 pools of any note, each surrounded by too many sun beds although not enough for the number of guests! The resort space is not big enough for the hotel! The food was of an ok standard with plenty of variety but the dining experience on the whole was very uninspiring. Most of the staff were very pleasant and hard working, unfortunately there just are not enough of them and service was slow at times. Although the hotel manager is always on site and very approachable, he seemed frustrated with his staff at all times which we found quite off-putting and only highlighted the complete lack of organisation. The entertainment team work extremely hard and always had time for everyone, they should be proud of themselves. Although our stay was not an unpleasant one we would not hurry back to this hotel. We heard other guests have returned year after year and have already booked up for next year. We feel we must be in the same parallel universe as as previous reviewer as to have the same holiday again would be soul destroying!

Room Tip: Choose one in the Princess Yaiza
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Notamonkey0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamplacehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

First of all we would like to thank you on the behalf of our hotel Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* for trusting in us to provide you a wonderful holiday and for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor.
We have one pool next to the restaurant “Los Colorados”, two surrounding the bar “La Cascada”, two Jacuzzi pools, two for children, one for babies, two main pools and one in the spa zone. For which you can see that we do have 11 pools. We are sorry for any inconveniences you suffered during your stay. We are sure our hotel manager wasn’t frustrated with our staff members; since our staff is one of the resources we appreciate the most of our hotel. We are trying to expand our staff, our main goal always is that our clients are satisfied at every moment of their entire stay. Indeed our animation team work very hard to keep all our clients entertained and smiling throughout their stay, we sure are proud of them as they are as well of themselves.

We hope you trust in us once again so that we can prove you that our hotel Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* is better than the expected. Visit our webpage and book through us directly to receive a discount on your next stay with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We returned from a lovely family holiday at this hotel on 12/08.

On arriving at the hotel, we found the staff to be very helpful, polite and efficient, checking in was quick and we were given all the info we needed for our 1st few days.

The room we had was great, just away from the main pool with a lovely unspoilt view of the beach and beyond, although the room was opposite one of the smaller bars it was not too noisy. The room had a very spacious living area, dressing room, electronic safe (no charge to use this), bath room with separate shower room, toilet, bath and 2 sinks (ideal if there are 4 of you). The room was cleaned well every day and we had a turn down service everyday and chocs left on the pillow.

The hotel is a decent size, with good facilities although there are some areas that could do with a little touching up and maintenance. The pools were great, there were a lot of kids about but it was the main school holidays, what can you expect. The pools were cleaned daily and the hotel has a policy of no food or glasses anywhere near the pool, so it's safe for the children. Sunbeds were in short supply and the hotel tried to manage it as best they could be removing towels that were reserving beds for hours upon end.

The restaurants were large and had seating inside and out, the food in the main buffet restaurant was very good, with a wide choice of dishes, and a roasted meat section, grill, salads, pasta and even a gluten free section. The 2 a la carte restaurants were great, the food was fantastic with great choice. The Italian restaurant offered buffet starters and desert which was good, however the service could be a little slow at times. The Chinese restaurant is all a la carte, with a great choice of dishes, the staff were very polite, friendly and attentive. On the Friday they had a BBQ on the terrace, unfortunately this had not been planned very well and did not work, I'm sure they will improve this for next time.

The bars were the main area where improvements cold be made. Service could be very slow at times with only 3 - 4 waiters serving 60 tables, also in the sunset bar there was only 1 bar man who had to serve drinks and collect and clean glasses, however all the bar staff were friendly, they didn't get flustered and did the best they could under the circumstances. I found it remarkable that some people were complaining about poor service and lack of glasses in certain bars but they found it beyond them to pick their glasses up and take them to the bar when ordering more drinks. After saying this the drinks they served were branded spirits (a lot of 5* hotels only serve local brands) and there were soft drink dispensers for the kids so they did not have to cue up.

Finally the hotel offers free WIFI in the reception, which is useful but it does mean that it tends to be a hangout for the teens during the evening. We paid €25 for wifi access throughout the hotel, which was good except the signal was terrible in our room.

The hotel is situated approx 45mins walk from Playa Blanca centre, however it is a lovely walk along a wide promenade along the coast line, about halfway is the Rubicon Marina with bars, restaurants, boutiques and supermarkets, on a Wednesday and Saturday they have a small market (worth a visit).

Overall this is a very good hotel, clean, safe, friendly staff, great food and drinks in a great location. The staff work long hours and work very hard but stay efficient and friendly. I think the hotel could take on more staff to lift the level of service.

We had a great stay, our kids loved every moment and we would definitely book to come back again.

If you don't like too many kids in the pool enjoying theirselves, don't book your stay during the main school holidays
If you don't like a busy buffet style restaurant don't book an all inclusive holiday.
Remember the a la carte restaurants are not meant to be Michelin star quality, but still offer great food.
If you find the hotel repetitive, get out and see the sites, hire a car, jump on a bus or hire a bike. It's a beautiful country, you cant experience it by just sitting by the pool sipping cocktails.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Darrylfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamplacehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Darrylfern,
To begin with, we would like to thank you on behalf of our hotel Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* for trusting in us to provide you a wonderful holiday and for sharing with us your experience on Tripadvisor.
We would like to let you know that recently we won a prize for having the best rooms in the area of Playa Blanca; our rooms are big and spacious offering everything necessary to our guests during their stay.
Our cleaning staff cleans and tidies every area on a daily basis. Our hotel has a policy of not allowing guests to reserve sunbeds at all, which we hope that the clients follow. We are grateful for your suggestions since these help us to improve in our service for Friday BBQ as well as by taking care of the issue for the bar service and the Wifi connection.
We appreciate that you are pleased with the service received and thank you for understanding us.
We look forward to you trusting in us once again and giving us the chance to serve you even better every time you come to our hotel Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5*, please visit our website and book through us directly for a discount on your next stay.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is our third time to Playa Blanca and our fifth to Lanzarote. I really like the island and this resort in particular. I have read a lot of varied comments on this hotel and would like to give my honest view which I hope will help others.
We have stayed at two four star hotels in this resort, H10 Lanzarote Princess and H10 Rubicon Palace. Both of these are very good hotels but the Gran Castillo is much better. The room quality is superb, we were located quite near the main building not much of a view as we had a tree in the way but the room itself is the best I have stayed in in a beach holiday. The staff were pleasant to me and my family at all times, especially the waiter Juan in the restaurant, but I did witness holiday makers being rude to members of staff then complaining that they were not attentive - "hello" what do you expect if you are rude to some one!!!! Whilst there the sunbed situation did get a little out of hand and the management did act on this. A note was given when exchanging towels, a note was put under my hotel room door and there was a note on the table at dinner clearly stating that any towels and belongings left on sunbeds would be removed. There was no excuse for people not to understand this. However the next morning you could hear a rather rude Scottish man bellowing at the pool attendant not to move his items - he was extremely rude and quite honestly an embarrassment to the British Nationality. I personally did not have a problem with waiting until after my breakfast to put out a towel and neither did most other guests, but then some people like nothing better than to moan!! The food is good quality in this hotel. Yes some meat is served rare but if you don't want it - don't eat it there was plenty of other options to choose from including the freshly cooked area. I notice a lot of people said the restaurant felt like a canteen. To be honest it felt like any other hotel restaurant to me but with a better choice of food.

The entertainment was ok, not great but its hotel entertainment. Whilst the animation team were very good and worked very hard, I don't think they made clear what they were doing for entertainment around the main pool area. We didn't notice the notice board had different pool areas indicated on it and as such my son and husband missed quite a few. It would have been nice if there was a little more encouragement around the main pool area. We didn't even know there was other pools at first!

I agree that more staff would be helpful at some of the bar areas, but I did not wait excessive amount of times like others have indicated.

Overall a nice holiday and I would recommend this hotel.

Only real criticism is that I agree that the hotel room floors could have been cleaned better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LangdonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamplacehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Langdon,
Behalf of our hotel Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* we would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate that your trust in us hasn’t changed from the first time you visited us, we would like to let you know that recently we have won a prize for having the best hotel rooms in the area of Playa Blanca.
We value our staff members the most in our hotel and they in return value our guests a lot as well, for which, they treat each and everyone with a lot of attention and care. We hope that our guests take in attention the issue related to the sunbeds, we are trying what we can but we also need our guests to put from their side.
There are 3 different restaurants with different cuisines, two a la carté and one buffet, for those who would like to have a change sometimes. Our animation team work really hard to keep everyone entertained, we once again thank you for your suggestions, they helps us to improve in our service.
We look forward to having you back at our hotel Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* for the fourth time, please visit our website for a discount on your next stay if you book directly through us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Will try to go again, but we always like to go to different places. If I was to stay there again, that would be no problem!

The staff are brilliant, for instance, we forgot our towels we had rented, and left out the towels out on the last day so they would have got collected by a staff member once the pool closed. However they did not charge us for this mistake! So that was good.

The food is excellent, we went to the Italian and the main restaurant mainly. We are not massive drinkers, so the fact that the bar was hard to get a drink right away didn't bother us. You can get a drink at meal times easily. But when u got to the evening bar afterwards, you have to wait for a waiter/tress to come round usually at busy times, and he/she will bring your drink to your table, so there is no standing at a busy bar to be done which is good. If you wanted drink service during the day that was no problem at all, and a free soft drinks dispenser machine was available so you can get a soft drink whenever you want.

The pools were great, at times cold, but really nice when the sun is on you. Its Lanzarote at the end of the day, it will mostly be a hot holiday and the pools are nice to cool off in.

We went for a pool view room, but we could see the sea too! So, got the best of both! The rooms were so nice. I love things to be clean, which the rooms were! And the air con wasn't working at first, but a handy man came round, and it was fixed by the time we got back!

So for us, this was a great holiday, and defiantly would go again!

Room Tip: We didn't want to risk getting a bad view, so paid the extra for a pool view, and we could see the sea too!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamplacehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

ear Anna,
First of all we would like to thank you for trusting in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* and for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor.
Our staff members are very kind and considerate with all our guests. We offer 3 different restaurants with different cuisines, in case our client wishes to have a different option and it is nice to hear that you enjoyed that a lot. As you mentioned our staff always works hard in every department to enable you an amazing stay on Lanzarote. They repaired you air con very quickly and kept your room very clean. Or if you have any problem, like the issue with your towels, or request or wish, just talk to our staff and they will understand and help you. We have 5 different bars in our hotel, where you can enjoy your time and relax with an excellent service. We are happy that you liked your room and the cleanliness of our hotel.
We are glad that you appreciate each and every facility our hotel has offered you, we hope to see you back soon at Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5*.
Book through us directly from our webpage and own a discount on your next stay with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I realise I am 12 months late in writing but having read recent reviews on this hotel I feel I need to say what my partner and I have been telling friends and Colleagues since our return from a second break here.
We first stayed at the Dream Gran Castillo in August 2010. It was a superb holiday with wonderful staff, plentiful food and excellent choice. The bars were very well run and manned all night so queues were kept to a minimum. The entertainment was excellent and the children were very well catered for.
After a disappointing break in Tenerife in 2011 we decided to try the Gran Castillo again last year. We have no complaint about the room we were allocated but the standards have certainly dropped - drastically.
The food was repetitive and of a very poor standard with very little choice. The tables at breakfast, if you choose a lie in and attend late on were disgusting and not cleared to reflect the volume of guests queuing. Areas around the pool were, at times unhygienic and unsafe. The kids pool over the other side of the complex was not supervised by a member of staff. Bars in the evening were poorly run and it was not uncommon to queue for 20 minutes for drinks.
Thank goodness for the introduction of the Italian and Oriental restaurants where excellent food and service were enjoyed.
This year we are off to Andalucia in a self catering villa to enjoy home comforts and avoid queues. Maybe it's our own fault for visiting a hotel for the second time and expecting the same quality holiday, or maybe the Dream resorts should seriously consider these reviews of this hotel. The standards have reduced drastically, the price we pay to stay here has not.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view suite.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Zia L,
First of all we want to thank for choosing our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* for your vacation and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We wish that this comment would have been posted one year ago, as we always note each and every of your suggestions for improvement. Unfortunately the hotel is changed and most of these matters you mentioned have already been modified. We appreciate every comment and every opinion on this page, because this gives us the chance to look through clients’ eyes and improve our Hotel more and more. We feel very sorry that you and your family did not enjoy your stay on Lanzarote like in August 2010, when you had a superb holiday without any complaints. There are two restaurants where you can enjoy your breakfast. We can assure you that our cleaning staff clean our whole installations very well every day, but when our hotel is very occupied, it is more complicated to keep it in perfect conditions. During the day, when the pool is opened for our clients, there is always a life guard watching the clients. Because of security reasons you should not use the pool, when it is closed and there is no life guard. We apologize for the long queues at the bar.It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the excellent food and service in our Italian and Oriental restaurants. We hope there will be another opportunity to demonstrate you the high quality of our hotel, like we did at you first visit in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5*.

Best regards,
Miriam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews