We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We cannot wait to return again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to Gran Castillo, and have booked a further holiday here for September
Our room was lovely, clean and spacious. Our housekeeping lady was very nice and friendly.
Bar staff are great, all work hard and clearly enjoy their work
Food is out of this world. There is something for everyone.
All the staff are very smart in their dress and friendly. We cannot wait to return again in the autumn.
It is nice to see David (the director) mingling with the guests. He is very nice and very approachable.
The gardens are kept inpectable, reception staff cannot do enough for you. All in all a great holiday. You can walk to town from the hotel along the coastline. Nice beaches and fairly quiet. We are well travelled and rate Gran Castillo as 5 star and fantastic
Mr and Mrs Nolan

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsBouquets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you very much for your really good comment on tripadvisor and your trust in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5*. We are happy that you enjoyed your room so much and also the service of the housekeeping lady. We appreciate a lot that you mentioned that our staff are really great and that they are doing a good job. They love to work in our hotel in every department and to make your stay unforgettable. It is nice to hear that you liked the high quality and the variety of our food. We are glad that you also used the gardens in our hotel. We are really looking forward to seeing you again in September in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5*.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,903)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,773 - 2,779 of 5,903 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic week away , food is lovely ,great choice on the drinks as well , very child friendly , it is a bit out from playa blanca but there is so much to do around the hotel you won't want to leave trust me , will defo return here

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Migs38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you very much for you good comment on tripadvisor. We are really happy to hear that you had a fantastic holiday in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5*. It is nice to hear that you really enjoyed the high quality and variety of the food and the drinks. You walk around 15 minutes to the Playa Papagayo and 40 minutes to the Playa Blanca; quite nice distances for a relaxing and refreshing walk to the beach and back. We are glad that your children also enjoyed the stay and the treatment with children there. We are looking forward to seeing you in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* again.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was a return visit to this really splendid hotel.
Staff are professional, friendly and service with a smile.
From the minute you check in, they make you feel really welcome.
Rooms in hotel are of a very good standard.
The complex is clean and tidy.
Food is good quality and plenty of choice.
Location is good. Lovely walk to Marina.
Disappointing beach in front of hotel though.
Will return in September.
Well done once again to the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear FB,
In the name of Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* we want to say thank you for your lovely comment about your holiday with us. Our management appreciate lot that you enjoyed your holiday in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* and that you will return in September. We are happy to hear that you liked the room and the whole complex and the high quality and variety of the food very much. It is nice to hear that you appreciate the professional and friendly service of our staff. Close to our hotel is the Playa Blanco, one of the best beaches on Lanzarote; 40 minutes by walk. We are looking forward to seeing you in September in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5*. We also offer a special 5% discount for repeaters who book directly with us.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

having read some of the reviews it is hard to believe we stayed at the same hotel from start to finish it was lovely.we arrived early on the Sunday morning our original room was not ready not a problem we were given an alternative (better )room beautiful sea view the room was large with separate power shower no cheap shower over the bath.the room was clean and spacious with large balcony with sun beds.The staff could not do enough for you .....watch out for the pool bar staff they mix their own cocktails ....lethal.The food was of a good quality some of the reviews were critical of the lack of english food every day there were roasts and atleast 5 types of fresh fish and meat the rice dishes were very nice I don't eat red meat but was spoiled with choice the dining room was clean and bight,you are allocated a time slot and table so no wandering about looking for a table,the waiters get to know you and have your drinks waiting for you.Plenty of sun loungers no reserving beds so there was no rush to get to the pool.We walked into the marina took about 15 minutes at a slow pace not really worth it as most of the shops were closed nice market on a wednesday and a saturday but remember it was very very hot not advisable to walk about in during the day.The reception area was quiet and had free wifi it was nice to sit there at night.the entertainment was typical sometimes poor other times passable,not top rate but then it has to appeal to different nationalities and ages.the entertainment staff were great totally manic full of energy Go out of season if you don't like children as I think it could become very noisy.Overall I would rate this highly request a room starting with a 4 they are close to the main building have lovely views and are far enough away from the night time entertainment give this hotel a try you will be surprised at the standard,TIP.book at taxi from the airport its about 30minutes away and the taxis are very cheap return to airport 50 euros taxi to the marina 3 euros....enjoy

Room Tip: Pick the rooms starting with a 4 we had 4267 it was lovely beautiful sea view and sun from 7 to late
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you very much for your good comment on tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you had such a lovely holiday in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5*. It is really nice to hear that you liked your large and clean room with the large balcony and that you appreciate the professional and friendly service of our staff. They hard work to enable you an amazing stay in our hotel. We are also happy that you liked the good quality and variety of our food and the staff in the restaurant and that you did not have problems with the sun loungers at the pool. Close to our hotel is the Playa Blanca, one of the best beaches on Lanzarote; 40 minutes by walk. We feel sorry that you did not like the entertainment in our hotel. It is not always easy to meat everyone’s taste, but the animation team works really hard to amuse all our clients. We hope we will welcome you back to our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* again.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

It is hard for me to write a review here without sounding snobby or overly crticial so I will list the positives and negatives and you can judge for yourself:-

Positives:

1. Beautiful rooms - large walk in wardrobe, huge bathroom, lovely bed and living area. TV had some English channels.
2. Staff - attentive, polite and friendly
3. Food - the English rubbish was available but also a big selection of healthy, tasty food on offer. TIP: go for the Spanish pork belly and rice dishes, really good quality.
4. Pools - A variety to choose from, we found a quiet pool away from hundreds of screaming kids.
5. Weather - not in the hotel's control but perfect sun and cool breaze from 9am - 7pm. Perfect for sunbathing.

Negatives:-

1. Guests - im afraid to say that there were quite a few English ppl letting the side down ( think tattoos and football shirts).
2. Too many kids, great if you are taking your family but not for couples.
3. Lacking finnesse - the hotel was not 5* unfortunately, the finer details just didnt stack up i.e. bad quality wine and cocktails, no tea making facilities in the room, some of the food was poor quality.
4. Tacky entertainment - amateur 'musicals', a man on an electronic keyboard (need I say more)?
5. No beach - we regularly made the 4 mile round trip to get to the nearest one (which is actually a pleasant costal walk).

All in all, if you want a cheap family holiday in a good standard of hotel then this is for you. If you want something more exclusive and luxurious, do not visit Lanzarote.

Overall a good 7/10.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kas25Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you very much for your comment on tripadvisor. We are really happy that you liked our beautiful rooms with large walk in wardrobe, huge bathroom, lovely bed and living area and also the variety of the food. In total there are 11 pools in our hotel, we are glad that you could take advantage of it. You are right, we cannot control the weather, but we also do not control which kind of persons want to visit our hotel. Everyone is invited to spend their time with us. We feel sorry that you did not like the entertainment in our hotel that much. It is not always easy to meat everyone’s taste, but the animation team works really hard to amuse all our clients. You walk around 15 minutes to the Playa Papagayo and 40 minutes to the Playa Blanca; quite nice distances for a relaxing and refreshing walk to the beach and back. We hope we will see you again in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5*.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Gran Castillo for a week in early May. Having stayed at the Dream Tacande Hotel in Tenerife we were expecting similar, however they are different hotels in some respects. Gran Castillo is more family orientated and is much bigger and dareI say it, the quality and attention to detail is not quite 5-star! However I think it would be fair to say it is a good 4-star.

ROOMS
We booked a family room and as per usual we were allocated one with a duff view. However we asked to be moved and were given a pool view room. Rooms are large, comfortable and tastefully furnished. Bathrooms have two sinks and separate shower and toilet cubicles with a separate bath/shower also. TV has loads of channels, only a handful of English speaking (BBC World, Sky News). Use of the safe is free, however for wi-fi you have to go to reception for the free wi-fi or pay €25 per week (which is quite steep). Air-con is good.

RESTAURANT
As most reviews have said, the quality of the food is good. As with all Spanish hotels they have "show cooking", which is basically the chef throwing a piece of meat/fish on a griddle! Presentation was good, wasn't fancy but it didn't need to be. Good choice and something for all tastes. Desserts were a bit ropey, but they are in most hotels to be fair. Biggest criticism is that they are understaffed in terms of waiter.s The waiters work really hard, however there are not enough, meaning tables are not always cleared promptly. Hotel has two theme restaurants, an Italian and an Oriental. Neither was particularly good and we opted the remainder of the week for the buffet which in our view was much better.

ALL-INCLUSIVE DRINKS
What did impress me was that all-inclusive included Smirnoff, Ballantines, Jim Beam and a few other branded spirits. Sometimes cocktains were pre-mixed, other times they were made fresh. They would ad extra spritis if you asked nicely! The red & white wines were quite good, plus you could have cava also. At mealtimes, wine was served by the bottle as were beers. At other places it's help yourself from a dispenser, but here drinks were served properly. As other reviews have noted, they could do with some more bar staff! Some bar staff were more friendly than others! One criticism is that you if you want water for your room you have to refill the bottle you get on the first day at the poor bar. Once it closes at 6.30pm you've had it, unless you stump up €2.30 for another bottel!

POOL AREA
There are several pools, one of which is heated. The heated pool has limited swimming space, it's mainly for kids and folk who enjoy bobbing around in the water. Again it was fine for us, but might not suit everyone. No problem finding sun-loungers.

LOCATION
This hotel is away from the centre of Playa Blanca and is a fair trek, a €4 taxi into the centre. One small restaurant/ba5 5mins walk from the hotel but it looked fairly dead whenever we passed it.

PARKING
Secure parking in an underground garage, use your room swipe card to exit/enter. Hotel has car hire, however compared to the likes of AutoReisen (who are at the airport) their car hire is overpriced.

ENTERTAINMENT
Usual type of stuff, Abba night, grease night, latino music night etc etc. All standard Spanish hotel entertainment. There are also daytime activites for kids and adults. The entertainment team do work hard!

In conclusion, a good hotel worth staying at which is part of a small chain of hotels. It's not up there with the Gran Tacande as the attention to detail is missing. Having said that, there are many plus points.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chief270974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you very much for your detailed comment on tripadvisor. It is really nice to hear that you found our rooms are large, comfortable and tastefully furnished. If you are not happy with your room, just talk with the reception about that matter and they will immediately take care of it, like they did in your case. We are glad that you liked the good quality and variety of our food and the all inclusive drinks and that you appreciate our hard working and friendly staff, although you think there should be more of them. In total there are 11 different pools and 3 of them are heated. You can reach the Playa Blanca in only 40 minutes by walk, and in only 15 minutes by walk you there is the Playa Papagayo. We cannot influence the prices of renting a car, but you can park for free at our hotel. It is nice to hear that you were satisfied with our entertainment. The animation team work really hard to amuse all our clients. We appreciate your opinion a lot and we hope to see you again in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5*.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Staff welcoming, professional, knowledgeable and friendly
Hotel spotlessly clean, including gardens, pool area and bedrooms
Food, excellent quality and great choice even for those of us who eat little or no meat
Location quiet with pleasant walk to lovely marina with market on Wednesday and Saturday
Good free wifi in reception area
All inclusive deal very good value
Have already recommended to several friends and family
Thanks to all staff for making our break memorable

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LED52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you very much for your really good comment on tripadvisor. Our management appreciate a lot that you recommend our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* so much and that you had a very good stay there. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the spotlessly clean hotel, including gardens, pool area and bedrooms and the food of excellent quality and great choice. You walk around 15 minutes to the Playa Papagayo and 40 minutes to the Playa Blanca; quite nice distances for a relaxing and refreshing walk to wonderful beaches. We hope we will welcome you back in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5*.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#15 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,433 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,841 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun

Address: Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Dream Gran Castillo Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $165 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a grand castle which majestically dominates the seascape of the AtlanticOcean and its islands, the magnificent GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO is erected in the charming area of Playa Blanca, in the south of the volcanic isle par excellence: Lanzarote. With the conviction that elegance and comfort should come naturally, this Hotel is a tribute to 16th century Canary history and colonial architecture, inspired by the "Castle of San José" and the typical landscape of the island, blending in with the environment. The building is divided into different zones which maintain their colonial style, where the white facades and volcanic stone contrast with the backdrop of the deep blue ocean. A charming interior courtyard of Arab inspiration bathes the reception area with light, and the contemporary décor and pale colours create a warm and very elegant atmosphere. GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO pampers every detail of the rooms and suites, which have breathtaking views of the sea and surrounding scenery. They are decorated in a contemporary style, with marine touches, light-coloured wood and pale colours, creating a pleasant atmosphere full of light. The discerning selection of restaurants and cuisines serve Canary, national and international specialities. There are conference rooms featuring spearhead technology, and various outdoor zones for events of different kinds. The "Vitanova SPA" thalassotherapy centre provides the benefits of thermal seawater, and specific treatments for the body and soul. The Hotel features a wide range of facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Dreamplace Hotels & Resorts SL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Gran Castillo Hotel Playa Blanca
Dream Castillo Papagayo Lanzarote
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing