We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Gran Castillo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hotel Gran Castillo”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My family and i had a first class stay at this hotel. Our room was extremely spacious, i especially liked the bathroom with it's seperate shower and his and her's sinks. The bed was very comfortable and there were a variety of English tv channels to choose. The buffet food each night was cooked to a very high standard, fresh meat and fish cooked on a griddle in front of you. Lots of lovely salads etc, the kids always had plenty to choose from. My two children loved the kids club and the staff working there were fun and enthusiastic. The views of the ocean were beautiful to wake up to and there is a really nice beach walk you can go on from the hotel which i'd recommend. There is free wifi in the hotel reception area but you have to pay a small charge in your room. The pools do get extremely busy and people were putting the towels out on sunbeds first thing in the morning which is a bit annoying and it's a shame the hotel cannot police this better. I would definitely recommend this hotel and we would all like to return next year
Well done Dreams

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive comment about your holiday in our Resort on Tripadvisor.
We are glad that you enjoyed the time in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5*. We offered our guests three restaurants for a large variety of food; we have our main buffet restaurant an Italian and Oriental restaurant it is nice to hear that your family liked our meals. Also we are glad that you liked our rooms with the beautiful view.
We will show our animation team your comment they will be happy about it. We apologize for the reservation of our sunbeds, this is a point which is not easy to handling with we hope for your next stay with us this point is no more mentionable.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in our Resort.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,895
    1,657
    673
    209
    99
See reviews for
2,762
1,955
26
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Date of travel 8th to 18th April 2013.
We chose this hotel on the power of its Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. As a family of 2 adults, 2 kids (5 yr old, 9 month old) the hotel was our first all inclusive experience. Our room was spacious and spotless. Sky tv with kids channels (Tiny Pop etc). The hotel staff were extremely helpful (especially Antonio & co on the reception desk). It was my eldest daughters birthday during our stay. The hotel put a bottle of champagne in our room, and arranged for a birthday cake to be made which we used in the Italian restaurant the night of her birthday. A lovely gesture. The animation team (big thank you to Lisa !) were engaging, enthusiastic and extremely hard working. Our eldest loved the kids club and mini disco. The nightly Mini-Disco was the highlight for all the younger kids who were staying at the hotel.
The food was lovely, with plenty of choice and enough options and 2 pre-bookable restaurants to maintain variety. The pools are great, there are quieter pools for the adults and kids pools with slides. There was also a bouncy castle for the kids when they were bored of the pool and mini-club.
Playa Blanca is a short taxi ride away (4 euros) or 25 mins walk along the sea front. I would recommend the walk but take buggies for the kids. Also there is a supermarket right next door, don't bring two weeks worth of wet ones, nappies etc, you can get it at the supermarket for the same price as back home!
I would certainly recommend this hotel and I hope to book again next Easter.

Room Tip: If you have kids ask for a room on the other side of the complex nearer to the kids pool and mini cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mclojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the time in our Resort. We will show your positive comment our staff they will be happy about it. Our staff is interesting in to make every holiday to a special one. Thank you for your positive impression about our food and animation, etc. We offer a special repeater discount of 5% for guests who book directly with us.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was our second trip to the hotel as our first trip at the same time last year was super - april. Pools are great, rooms are spacious and airy, service great and food was fresh and varied.

We have young kids of 5 and 3 and lead busy lives so we require guaranteed rest and relaxation from our holiday and Dreams delivers that. High quality, good service and no nasty surprises. We noticed little valuable improvements from our last visit so it was nice to see Dreams are still on their toes and not resting on their laurels.

Ultimately the kids loved it, so we did.

Keep up the good work Dreams and we'll be booking again for October 2013.

Ps. but please heat all the pools!!

Room Tip: Family rooms are spacious and light. Rooms over by the Italian restaurant are quiet and close to kid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdarkBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive comment on Tripadvisor and for your second stay in our Resort. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed the time again with us. We always improve our service and Resort; it is nice to hear from a repeater that it is not unseen.
We hope to see you soon in the future in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5*.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Myself and my partner just returned from this hotel on our first holiday away together. First impressions were excellent, drink on arrival and they'd provided a cold buffet for us despite it being very late. Our cases were (very heavy) and carried to our room and once there the staff member showed us how to work everything and how room service worked etc. Our room was fantastic! Pool view as requested , very large bathroom, living area and bedroom. Plus a walk-in wardrobe. Everything was immaculate and actually worked! Breakfast was fantastic, only went to lunch a couple of times and i'm a very fussy eater but there was always something that I liked at dinner. Only bad thing was you often found flies crawling over some dishes , I understand it can't be controlled fully but it got very off putting at times. Also a couple of times I went to pick a plate up and I'd put my hand on sauce and even had a bit of fish fall on my foot at one point! but thats the downside to using dishwashers i suppose. I never had a problem with the service , never queued for anything or waited longer then a minute or two. Didn't understand how people said they had to queue for dinner every night as once you have your table number you walk right through. The entertainment outside of the sports bar was very good, and there was often a violinist at breakfast which was a nice touch.. The entertainment from the animation team was good for kids but a bit too holiday camp for me, so we did tend to go elsewhere. There was one night the entertainment was exceptional , Motown & Michael Jackson tribute. People did reserve sun beds which is against the hotels rules, but even so, no matter what time of day it was I always managed to find free beds. There is a couple of small suggestions I would make to the hotel, I think they should give the option to guests to hire an iron as they only provide an ironing service which you have to pay for per item. There's a shopping centre on the doorstep of the hotel but its a bit of a ghost town, it would be fantastic if the hotel or anyone for that matter could make some use of the space. If you're a family i'd say this hotel is perfect, but if you're a couple looking for a getaway where you won't need to leave the complex you might want to reconsider. That said, there was a survey for guests on the last night which implied they may be looking at making some significant changes. Overall though very good and I would return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeeeeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Leane,
In the name of Dream Gran Castillo Resort we want to say thank you for your stay in our Resort on Lanzarote. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. For a good start in the holiday we gave our best that our guests can relax; because of this we have our Concierge and a special drink.
We want to inform you that we got an award for the best rooms at the Playa Blanca we are happy that you have the same opinion about our rooms.
We apologize for the plates we want to say that it is not our standard that our guests get dirty plates for the meals please say directly something so that we can change it at the moment. In our Location with this climate it is normal that there are some flights, but we do everything to keep them away from our restaurants, we are sorry that for some times there are some inside.
Thank you very much for your positive comment about our breakfast and restaurant service. We are glad that you enjoyed our entertainment program. We also want to say thank you for your suggestions for improvement, like to hire an iron or our shopping center, etc. with this critical comments we can improve our Resort for the perfect holiday.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5*.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here last week on an all inclusive basis in a superior room in the "castle" overlooking gardens. This was just perfect - the room was very spacious with a seating area and large balcony, huge bathroom and walk-in wardrobe. There are views of the sea from all main parts of the hotel and pool and bar areas, so no problem with a non-sea view room! The buffet restaurant serves excellent food; good quality, quantity, variety, and choices of freshly-cooked fish and meat at all meals. The staff are almost without exception quick, pleasant and thoughtful - they will spot if you need something almost before you ask. The inside of the buffet restaurant is a little lacking in ambience but outside is lovely. The beer and wines on offer are very good too and the local spirits are fine; try ronmiel (rum with honey) after a meal! We tried both the Chinese and Italian restaurants too; the Chinese is average but a pleasant change from the buffet if you need one. The Italian was excellent and we went there twice. Don't be put off by the proximity to the Italian of the pools; by later in the evening it's very quiet. The hotel feels like it's split into two: the spacious part nearest reception and the other bit through the tunnel which feels a bit tighter for space, the rooms surrounding the two pools, one with slides, which is much more children orientated. If you have children this is the bit to be in but we were glad we were in the first part, as it was a bit less obviously family filled. The only thing that stops this being a fully fledged luxury 5 star holiday for couples/people without children is the very family friendly nature of the hotel; having said that we went after the Easter holiday so most of the children were very young and delightful. We would certainly go back with our grandchildren - but probably opt not to stay through the tunnel. Never having done all-inclusive before we were very pleased with it. Just 10 minutes walk over the headland is the beautiful and unspoiled Papagayo beach, and 10 minutes in the other direction along the coast path is the Marina with a Wednesday and Saturday market. The sports bar is lovely as the sun goes down; not sure about later on as some people say it's noisy. Try to go on a day trip round Lanzarote - easy way to see the best bits and saves hiring a car. All in all, really enjoyed this holiday.

Room Tip: Good view of the sea from all over the hotel, so maybe you don't need a sea view room. Cheaper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We travelled as 6 adults and 4 children, aged 1 to 4.

Between us we pretty much saw each type of room in the hotel apart from the suites. The family duplex was huge, the size of a flat. The family room with sliding door was a decent size but a bit cramped for 4. The superior room was huge. All of those in the family part of the hotel though don't have sea views, they all face inland with views of the pools. The rooms seemed a little bit dirty - your feet would get filthy walking around bear feet. The family rooms are also a decent walk from the main part of the hotel - not great when you have a tired 3 year old. Its not particularly pram friendly either with quite a few steps.

The food was fine but certainly nowhere near 5 star. Buffet choices were ok so long as you liked freshly grilled meat or fish. The chinese restaurant was good. The Italian was a bit hit and miss. You can book these as often s you liked. The pool bar food was rubbish - poor burgers or hotdogs which was a shame as 3/4 year olds need some lunch around 12.00 but the buffet didn't open until 1pm.

Wine was poor. Just about drinkable. Other drinks on offer were good.

The pools were good. A bit cold but the kids loved them and spent a lot of the day in them - particularly the one with waterslides. For adults there are a couple of quiet options.

The gym was really dated and old. Treadmill was broken with no sign of it being repaired - not what you would expect from a 5 star hotel.

The kids club was great and our kids really enjoyed it. The attached playground is a little small and nothing in there for younger chidlren. The kids all loved the minidisco as well although starting at 8.30pm was a little late we thought.

The entertainment was ok but again certainly not 5 star. Again most stuff started late - 10pm.

The location is good overall and there is a 20 min walk to the marina or a 15 min walk over some hills to get to the beautiful papagayo beach.

Overall I would say that this is a 4 star hotel at best and to be fair it is priced as such.

Room Tip: The sea view room are great but you need to be in the adult part of the hotel. family duplex are hug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikefeely70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
First of all we want to say thank you for your comment about your holiday on Tripadvisor.
We want to inform you that it is not the standard of our Resort, that the rooms are not correctly clean, if you had say something on your holiday we could change it directly.
From our Pools are 3 heated all over the year, they are located at the terrace and Jacuzzi in the area Castillo and the main pool is in the Portofino Zone we are glad that your children enjoyed the time in the pools.
We apologize that you not enjoyed our food and wine, we always try to cook something for everyone because of this we offer 3 restaurants.
Our Resort will be renovated from time to time, we apologize that the gym was not on the standard you expected from us.
Thank you very much for your impression about our entertainment, with these critical comments we can improve our Resort in the right departments.
We are really interesting in why you would give us only 4 stars and not the 5 stars; maybe you can change your opinion with a second stay in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The hotel is ideal for families , as a family of 2 adults and 3 children we always find it difficult find a good quality hotel that can accommodate us as a family.The staff very helpful, and the hotel very clean, would have no problems going back to this hotel in the future

Room Tip: All the rooms seem very good from what we saw
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stephen_crewdson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
In the name of Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* we want to say thank you for your stay in our Resort on Lanzarote.
Thank you very much for your positive impression about our staff and the cleanness in our Resort. We have special Family Premium rooms for more than 4 People in a family. These rooms have 2 bedrooms and one more sofabed. We are glad that you wish to repeat to our Resort. We have a special 5 % repeater discount for clients who book directly with us.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.3 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,645 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,956 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 95 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,324 reviews
1.3 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca

Property: Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Address: Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Dream Gran Castillo Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a grand castle which majestically dominates the seascape of the AtlanticOcean and its islands, the magnificent GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO is erected in the charming area of Playa Blanca, in the south of the volcanic isle par excellence: Lanzarote. With the conviction that elegance and comfort should come naturally, this Hotel is a tribute to 16th century Canary history and colonial architecture, inspired by the "Castle of San José" and the typical landscape of the island, blending in with the environment. The building is divided into different zones which maintain their colonial style, where the white facades and volcanic stone contrast with the backdrop of the deep blue ocean. A charming interior courtyard of Arab inspiration bathes the reception area with light, and the contemporary décor and pale colours create a warm and very elegant atmosphere. GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO pampers every detail of the rooms and suites, which have breathtaking views of the sea and surrounding scenery. They are decorated in a contemporary style, with marine touches, light-coloured wood and pale colours, creating a pleasant atmosphere full of light. The discerning selection of restaurants and cuisines serve Canary, national and international specialities. There are conference rooms featuring spearhead technology, and various outdoor zones for events of different kinds. The "Vitanova SPA" thalassotherapy centre provides the benefits of thermal seawater, and specific treatments for the body and soul. The Hotel features a wide range of facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Gran Castillo Hotel Playa Blanca
Dream Castillo Papagayo Lanzarote
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing