We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, but definitely not 5 star, the main issue I found was rude staff and the no explanation about the rules of the ho”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, but definitely not 5 star, the main issue I found was rude staff and the no explanation about the rules of the ho”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

When you book a 5 star holiday, you expect everything to be perfect and amazing (that's what I have experienced before at 5 star hotels), not just the hotel itself, but the food, the staff, the pre-arrival checks, but this was not so. I provide a list of the good things and bad things:

GOOD
- Style and size of rooms are amazing.
- Staff were able to change our two separate booked rooms for a family room with interconnecting door.
- Spa is amazing
- Italian restaurant was nice

BAD
- Unhelpful and rude reception staff. They seem to have a chip on their shoulder. The strange rules of the hotel were not explained to us. When asking about the Acqualava park in Playa Blanca, the answer was they did not have a flyer. They did not even think about phoning the park up. When gasping for some water after 6.30pm on the first day, even though being all inclusive, I was told that I could not get a bottle of water to take to my room. WHAT????? After much argument, they provided me with another bottle of water. So much unnecessary exchange of words!
-Seems to be staff shortage in the whole hotel apart from the reception. You can feel the stress of the workers and you do not want that on your holiday. They seriously need to address this
- Strange rules of the hotel
1. You get one bottle of water and can only fill this up between 10.30am and 6.30pm. So say you forget or run out of water after 6.30pm, you can only get a glass of water from the bar.
2. Queuing for dinner to get a table.
- Main restaurant does not have capacity for the hotel. Most 4 star hotels I go to have an amazingly large restaurant, but this restaurant clearly has issues with space, probably that is why you have this ludicrous 1st and 2nd sitting mandated and aldo you have to queue to be assigned a table which you must always sit at for your whole holiday. Also you will note that there does not seem to be that many food areas, only one grill, and consequently large queues to get food and on more than one occasion was given raw fish and chicken. Tables not remade after being used.
- Staff need training as they are quite rude.
Incident 1: Wanted to just get some free icecream from the icecream kiosk and someone was replenishing it and she took exception at me getting some icecream for my children until she finished her job.
Incident 2: Trying to help the restaurant staff out by getting my own cutlery and napkins and waiter took exception to this. We had been waiting for ages to get the table made and the response was "well there are other people who have requests also".
Incident 3: German receptionist who had to argue with me about water bottle.
Room issues.
1. Shower was always too hot or too cold. Never stayed at a constant warm temperature. Engineers came twice, still could fix the issue. Issue seems more related to the hotel water system. Needs to be addressed.
2. The kids room smelt of sewerage on arrival. Had to get the staff to perform a spring clean. The smell was coming from the toilet.
3. B-day lid broken in the toilet
4. On second night, it rained hard and we had a small flood as water came into the room. Doors not insulated well.
- Lack of amenities in the room. No tea and coffee in room. No tissue box.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkaura1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,964
    1,719
    702
    214
    101
See reviews for
2,898
1,976
26
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chrispy village chania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

just rtd from this hotel, room was wonderful, everything very clean and spacious, staff hardworking and always smiling, entertainment was better than some hotels, only fault food was never hot, sometimes cold, only other complaint was cld have been more draws in walk in wardrobe, good job we were only there for a week, will probably return again.

Room Tip: if you want to be central we had room 2121
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank repetitive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coulsdon
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just arrived back from this absolutely amazing resort...with beautiful views...Me & the other half decided to take a 7 day break, we really enjoyed ourselves...Staff were always willing to help, very friendly, working long hours with always a smile on there faces!
We booked it with last minute.com & it was a bit pricey but for all inclusive for 7 nights was well worth it! Flew with easy jet flight was fine only 4 hours...we got a free upgrade & are room was amazing...we were on the 6th floor no 6321...with a pool view (the quiet pool.) clean room everyday the cleaners were very nice & friendly. Food was very good quality, they cater for everybody. They also have an Chinese & Italian restaurant that is free for all inclusive...I preferred the Italian as they had everything, a buffet for starter & dessert. The chinese was ok...it wasnt that bad but i wasnt that impressed with it. the buffet was brilliant like i said before they cater for EVERYBODY!!! from chicken to salad chips to fish...breakfast you could have pancakes, a full english or cheese, ham or croissants...lunch was chicken chips salad & more as the same as the evening. the drinks were lovely, the other half loves a whiskey & we were surprised they had Jim Bean so that went down well & the cocktails are free for all inclusive, if you was still hungry after food there was snacks for you aswell. entertainment was good for the children, they even did the lion king & had a mini disco every night for them & even a reptile show...We dont have children but thought it was lovely for families. The spa was lovely & got a free voucher, I had the pleasure of having reflexology for 25 mins which was 35euros which isnt bad. I cant really thought this resort as we had a lovely time...the only thing was a curtain pole nearly fell on my head the 2nd day we was there but they came to fix it asap...the staff dont expect tips & we had a very helpful bell boy called Jesus (no joke that was his name.) Id say this is for more families or middle aged couples...I'm 28 & my partner he is 30 so at first we fell out of place but as the days went on we meet a few younger couples...I would recommend this to anybody. deff worth the money x

Room Tip: ask for no 6321 x
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bekkaboo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was our first time at Dream Castillo. It was truly superb. You could quietly relax around a pool or get involved in activities arranged by the animations team. Our room was upgraded to a superior room, due to the type of booking we found, and it was perfect. Clean, spacious, comfortable. We were given a room right next to the pool so couldnt have asked for more. The rooms were serviced twice a day, chocolates left on the pillows. The food was fantastic. There was so much choice for every palet, even tricky children! There was a chef cooking fresh meat / fish at each meal time. Nearly all the food and drink were covered in the all inclusive option which was excellent. The staff were extremely friendly and we felt our children were very safe when wandering off out of site. The shop on site offered everything we needed including english newspapers. We hired a bike from the local shopping centre which was great to have a quick ride round to the local beaches. There is a small childrens play area at the shopping centre too which was quite nice. There were 7 pools at the hotel. All of which were cleaned regularly. One pool had childrens slides which was very hard to drag them away from and a bouncy castle for them to use at the side. This was a wonderful pool area as the children were mostly in the shade while we could enjoy the sun. There were plenty of sun beds to use but you do have to put your towels out before half 8! The wheelchair access was also very good having lifts to every floor. There was varied entertainment each night to watch. We tried all of the restuarants and even though we didnt enjoy the food in the Italian we spoke to many people who did. The chinese was superb. Overall an amazing holiday and we will be sure to book the same hotel again. The people we spoke to on our trip we frequent hotel guests and had been coming to the same hotel for years. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allabroad1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had a very nice holiday. Special thank you to Tony from the restaurant terraza who made our stay extra special with extra care and attention to details!!
A thank you as well goes to the Rolando and a special one to the gentleman from Lanzarote that works on the 'a la plancha' section.

Room Tip: Whe had a junior suit and even though it was big it was too cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lili G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great if you have kids or if you dont. We took my niece; we didnt put her in the kids club but we could clearly see that the animation team were excellent with the kids! In fact the animation team are excellent and all very friendly; they work very long hours and do an excellent job! Very fun bunch and very valuable assets to the hotel.

Food we had no problem with; a good choice/variety; we had a couple of meals out but thats because we love indian food and missed it.

All staff are friendly and seem to work really hard.

Excellent facilities; some pools were heated! The room we stayed in was excellent had a slight pool and sea view. Enjoyed the Spa.

Only a couple of slight frustration's; I didnt feel there was enough staff to cope with demand for drinks at the entertainment bar sometimes and you were often waiting for a bit and had to be quite vocal to be served as staff couldn't possibly know who was next to be served.

The pool bar next to the restaurant also had a slow service I felt; snacks were supposed to be available from 10:30; twice we had to stand about waiting when we missed out on breakfast for someone to be available to serve us with a snack.


I feel bad for my slight frustrations because the hotel is excellent; I would recommend it to anyone; dont hesitate book it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was our first visit to Gran Castillo Hotel. We loved it! The hotel is definately 5*, the rooms being big and luxurious. I was impressed by the service, the rooms were cleaned twice a day and all the staff were very helpful and pleasant. The food in the main eating area was amazing - so much choice - we didn't know where to start....really fantastic food. We tried out the 'Italian' and 'Oriental' restaurants also and the pizas are a must in the Italian - we visited this twice! The Oriental restaurant had quality food but the menu wasn't as comprehensive as I would have liked (no seaweed or peaking duck), but what we did eat was really lovely. The pool area was great with a bar providing food when the main restaurant was closed. I cannot fault the food at this hotel it was truly amazing! The beds were great to sleep on - so comfortable. Overall, if you like clean, luxurious food/accommodation this is the hotel for you. Thank you for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raybentley6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,792 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#12 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,213 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
19.7 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#15 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca

Property: Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Address: Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Dream Gran Castillo Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a grand castle which majestically dominates the seascape of the AtlanticOcean and its islands, the magnificent GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO is erected in the charming area of Playa Blanca, in the south of the volcanic isle par excellence: Lanzarote. With the conviction that elegance and comfort should come naturally, this Hotel is a tribute to 16th century Canary history and colonial architecture, inspired by the "Castle of San José" and the typical landscape of the island, blending in with the environment. The building is divided into different zones which maintain their colonial style, where the white facades and volcanic stone contrast with the backdrop of the deep blue ocean. A charming interior courtyard of Arab inspiration bathes the reception area with light, and the contemporary décor and pale colours create a warm and very elegant atmosphere. GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO pampers every detail of the rooms and suites, which have breathtaking views of the sea and surrounding scenery. They are decorated in a contemporary style, with marine touches, light-coloured wood and pale colours, creating a pleasant atmosphere full of light. The discerning selection of restaurants and cuisines serve Canary, national and international specialities. There are conference rooms featuring spearhead technology, and various outdoor zones for events of different kinds. The "Vitanova SPA" thalassotherapy centre provides the benefits of thermal seawater, and specific treatments for the body and soul. The Hotel features a wide range of facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Dreamplace Hotels & Resorts SL, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Gran Castillo Hotel Playa Blanca
Dream Castillo Papagayo Lanzarote
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing