We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, Very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, Very impressed”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Went in a group of 5 girls, rooms were large and clean, good sized bathroom with separate shower, towels changed daily. only downfall no tea/coffee facilitties in the room. Staff were very friendly and willing to accomodate our needs as we had one member of the party who was unwell and needed to use a wheelchair.
Wheelchair access was excellent.
Food was buffet style with wide variety,also the Italian restaurant had just been refurbished and was satisfactory.
All staff from managers to cleaners were friendly and could not do enough to assist us.
I would definitely go again and recommend it to friends.
Also used the Spa whilst there, which was very good and again staff very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindylou1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,969
    1,721
    704
    214
    101
See reviews for
2,905
1,977
26
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We visited this hotel again after a fabulous stay last February. The staff, a lot of familiar faces from last year, were as friendly and attentive as ever. There have been some changes, such as the pool bar area being extended and outside snack area, which are an improvement. The food in the restaurant is varied and good quality. The Chinese restaurant is particularly good. For the price you can't fault this hotel, we'll definitely be back again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just come back from the lovely Dream Gran Castillo, and its as good as ever.
Me and my girlfriend have been here 3 times now an despite the spa being closed for refurb, this was probably the best time.

Small but significant changes have been made such as the new pool bar and grill (much better than the cramped square one), also glass of champagne on arrival and a bottle in the room with a note from the management are great touches.

Main restaurant is a buffet style, its good with some really nice bits such as caviar for breakfast .
Two other restaurants are on site both waited rather than buffet, the Chinese is the better of the two but the Italian goes down well also.

Staff are very friendly service is always with a smile, the entertainment team are very enthusiast but the night time shows are laughable.

The hotel is in good location 20-25 minute walk to the marina along a seawall with some spectacular photo opportunities. In the marina there are some really nice restaurants and a market on Wednesday and Saturdays.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We went to this hotel for my 50 th birthday , when we were shown to our room and the door was opened I said WOW. It was fantastic, dressing room huge bathroom fantastic sleeping area and sitting area, the staff are lovely, the manager came and introduced himself, which was very nice, the Italian restaurant was nice, the ribs at the Chinese restaurant were lovely, I would go back tomorrow , we ad a fantastic holiday met some lovely poeple , thanks to all concerned xxx

1 bad point the bed was rock hard

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank julieanddave_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Fantastic hotel, rooms spotless and huge! Staff very friendly, Italian theme restaurant a joke, same for the Chinese, both look like film sets and food to match (horrible) Buffet, very average with the standard combination of warm food which do not marry up with anything else. Amazing restaurant in harbour called little Italy which serve a fantastic fillet steak! Location is fine if you don’t want to be in the heart of the resort.. if you are looking for a clean well looked after hotel with friendly staff this place is ideal. If you are looking for good food, forget it. Entertainment team are excellent and very engaging with everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lanzerote08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

It's a long way from the town with the shops and restaurant ..I knew this when I booked I thought It would be worth it to have views of the sea ....when we got there we asked for a nice view the receptionist smiled said yes and then oh no not with the company I had booked with . Room 3306 did not even have a view of the volcano just looking across to other rooms .
The thing that really spoilt it was the bed they were so hard my husband has arthritis he was in a lot of pain because of it and did not get much sleep ..we did ask for mattress topper but they just put another blanket on the bed under the sheet .
There were no views of the sea from most of the pool area or the restaurant .. There were lovely views from the terrace out side reception ..but no bar open so no one sat there during the day ..
If you used one of the other pool areas there was a long walk to get a drink ...
The rooms were lovely huge bathroom ...the food and drink was also good ( except the red wine ). Having said that I have stayed at 3 and 4 star hotels in Lanzerotte and have been happy with the food there.
There was a dangerous plug socket in our room a ripped bed over and naff paintwork in the bathroom ..remember this is a 5 star hotel ...the spa I went to boom there was no one there after 10 mins I left a note ..when we went to use it us and another couple had to wait 25 mins before some one came ...The staff were lovely no problem getting drinks..the main pool was warm enough and I could always get a sun bed ..the hotel was only half full though ..that annoyed me they could have given me a nicer room ...

It cost about £5 each way for a taxi into town

We booked a wake up call when we left ..but they did not call us we saw the girl write it down the the night receptionist had a different peace of paper ...

It was my first stay at a 5 star I expected to be wowed ..I wasn't I will stick to the ones I normally go to where I can walk into town in 10 mins ...

Room Tip: If you want a good room be prepared o pay the extra and it's not cheap .I had pushed the budget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Went to the Dream Gran Castillo for a quick Jan break. The place is fab. Our room was excellent
loads of space, nice view, great bathroom... everything you need. The staff are without exception friendly, helpful but never pushy. Just there when you need them. Food was lovely, loads of choice daily. Great walks nearby too, leading to the little marina & further along to Playa Blanca.
The animation team at the hotel all work very hard & are full of energy. Especial thanks to Claudio but they were all lovely. The only one thing lacking when we were there was a lively bar to go to when the beach bar closes. The sports bar is souless, & the other bar was mainly if you were watching the show. It would be good just to have a friendly bar where you could just chill & chat. All in all, a great holiday. Thanks to everyone at Gran Castillo. x

Room Tip: Ours was a standard room, but it was fab, so if you book superior, I'm sure it will be amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,796 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#12 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,222 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
19.7 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#15 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca

Property: Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Address: Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Dream Gran Castillo Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a grand castle which majestically dominates the seascape of the AtlanticOcean and its islands, the magnificent GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO is erected in the charming area of Playa Blanca, in the south of the volcanic isle par excellence: Lanzarote. With the conviction that elegance and comfort should come naturally, this Hotel is a tribute to 16th century Canary history and colonial architecture, inspired by the "Castle of San José" and the typical landscape of the island, blending in with the environment. The building is divided into different zones which maintain their colonial style, where the white facades and volcanic stone contrast with the backdrop of the deep blue ocean. A charming interior courtyard of Arab inspiration bathes the reception area with light, and the contemporary décor and pale colours create a warm and very elegant atmosphere. GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO pampers every detail of the rooms and suites, which have breathtaking views of the sea and surrounding scenery. They are decorated in a contemporary style, with marine touches, light-coloured wood and pale colours, creating a pleasant atmosphere full of light. The discerning selection of restaurants and cuisines serve Canary, national and international specialities. There are conference rooms featuring spearhead technology, and various outdoor zones for events of different kinds. The "Vitanova SPA" thalassotherapy centre provides the benefits of thermal seawater, and specific treatments for the body and soul. The Hotel features a wide range of facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Dreamplace Hotels & Resorts SL, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Gran Castillo Hotel Playa Blanca
Dream Castillo Papagayo Lanzarote
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing