We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel has excellent food.It is plentiful and varied.Half lobsters were served on new years eve.The choice is superb.Staff are very friendly and hard working.Reception are polite and helpful.The rooms are spacious and clean.We would not recommend this for couples at new year due to families with pre-school children.The restaurants are not romantic.The lighting in these and the bar is low energy and practical.Outside the main restaurant was the nearest we could find for candle lit atmosphere.The staff in the chinese restaurant were too busy to clear any of the tables around us during our meal.We were surrounded by dirty glasses and crockery.The nightly entertainment the night club is disappointing/direThe hotel would do well to invest in professional entertainment in this area as it lets the hotel down.Apart from that the lone saxophonist outside the bar and the violinist at breakfast not to mention the tenors on the balcony at new year were very good.If you can scale a rubbly hill and walk for 30 minutes the local beaches are large and golden.In the opposite direction the walk through the marina to Playa Blanca is very pleasant.All in all this is a good hotel for families.Our version of a four star.

Room Tip: Rooms above the first floor in the main block are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carole123567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,973 - 2,979 of 5,922 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just returned from 10 lovely days here. I'll cut to the chase : If you book this expecting 5* then you will be dissapointed (how often do you get real 5* AI at these prices??). So some of the comparisons with other 5* hotels seems a little harsh! But what you DO get is a good AI package, good facilities, fantastic staff, large room and decent enough food (buffet).
A very memorable holiday with plenty of sun, I'd recommend it to anyone! : )

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grifflad76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Had a short break at this Hotel just recently and wasn`t really that impressed by my experience. The rooms are probally the best thing about this place, they are modern spacious suites that are what you would expect from a 5 Star rated Hotel. The rest im afraid was a bit of a let down, the staff are friendly enough but I just felt you never quite got "5" Star service in any of the Bars or Restaurants. Being an all inclusive you know that people are going to be queuing up to get served and thats exactly what I found, the level of staff or service was just not that good. The pool areas felt very congested with Sunbeds literally cramped into an area like sardines, you never felt that feeling of "5" star luxury or space that should come with such a rating. Having stayed in the 5 Star Hotel Volcan around the bay there is just no comparison, the Volcan may cost more but assure you its a better all round experience. When you leave the rear of the Hotel onto the beach promenade there was a dustbin that was overflowing with filthy rubbish for 4 days that looked disgusting! I told the Hotel Reception about this and eventually on day 5 it was cleared. The Food in the Hotel is fair in my opinion and dining service was pleasant. If you want to stay here don`t be completely put off because it would make a decent 4 star hotel & with the all inclusive package seems fair value at the price, but it certainly does not live up to the high standards that go with that "5" Star tag.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just returned to the snow covered UK from this lovely hotel. Travelled with Monarch who flew us there and back without delays. No mean feat considering the weather.

Although this Hotel ticks most of the boxes, as previous reviewers have said, it is the staff and the exemplary service they deliver which gives this hotel the extra edge. Sabrina (Reception). Jesus (Bellhop), Mandy (Animation) and Jonathon (Waiter) to name but a few, showed a skill in customer care most companies would like to harness. All credit to them and the strong management presence, which clearly pays dividends.

The hotel is large, clean and comfortable. It deserves the positive reviews because it delivers on almost all counts. It represents good value, especially if travelling out of season and you can find a 'deal'.

There is room for improvement in the areas of evening entertainment. Though there is plenty of enthusiasm, the limitation of acts brought in from outside presumably relates to cuts in budget. However, those professional acts were in the main good.

I do understand the feeling of those guests who had been holidaying at busier times and complained the staff had been stretched. We usually holiday 'out of season', so our experience may have been rosier. We never had a problem securing a sunbed or waiting any time for drinks, towels etc.

All in all an excellent week. Would I recommend to friends : most certainly !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chris_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel. I would rate this hotel as a very good 4* hotel. The staff are very polite and attentive. The room was very spacious and comfortable which was cleaned daily. Our 8 year old daughter enjoyed the miniclub and the activities provided. The food was really good, a wide variety of international dishes and at the snack bar the food was also cooked to order for you. All in all, we found absolutely nothing wrong with this hotel and would certainly stop here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MSP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife and I have just returned 19th, January, from our fourth visit to this hotel. The rooms are excellent, spacious and well appointed, the food is exceptional, plenty of fresh fruit, a great selection of starters for dinner and an excellent selection of fish and meats, many cooked to order. Starting the day, breakfast is an experience, a complete selection of everything you can dream of, for me the american pancakes with maple syrup and steaky bacon hits the spot It is first class food and quality wines.
The staff are friendly and always on hand to help. The pool area is great, all spotlessly clean at all times.. Adventure out only a short distance and you have Papagyo beaches only a 10 minutes drive.Perfect for all ages, we are in our 60`s but also excellent for couples and young families. We will be returning and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Just returned to the snow from a 5 day break at Dream Castillo with boyfriend and parents.We had a great time,lovely hotel in a nice location.All the staff were very helpful,always smiling and everyone said hello.Loved the room ,very spacious and comfortable,clean & fresh and an amazing bathroom !Sadly not impressed with food ,could have been so much better.good selection but not always well cooked and only warm.plenty of fresh salad & fruit if needing a healthy eating holiday but wine very plentiful which helped.Pool area very nice ,plenty of beds and fresh towels available everyday.Applause for animation team who worked very hard to make sure everyone had lots of fun day and evening.Good memories and lashings of sunshine made it an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Room safe is free.all suite rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,461 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,864 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun

Address: Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Dream Gran Castillo Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $171 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a grand castle which majestically dominates the seascape of the AtlanticOcean and its islands, the magnificent GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO is erected in the charming area of Playa Blanca, in the south of the volcanic isle par excellence: Lanzarote. With the conviction that elegance and comfort should come naturally, this Hotel is a tribute to 16th century Canary history and colonial architecture, inspired by the "Castle of San José" and the typical landscape of the island, blending in with the environment. The building is divided into different zones which maintain their colonial style, where the white facades and volcanic stone contrast with the backdrop of the deep blue ocean. A charming interior courtyard of Arab inspiration bathes the reception area with light, and the contemporary décor and pale colours create a warm and very elegant atmosphere. GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO pampers every detail of the rooms and suites, which have breathtaking views of the sea and surrounding scenery. They are decorated in a contemporary style, with marine touches, light-coloured wood and pale colours, creating a pleasant atmosphere full of light. The discerning selection of restaurants and cuisines serve Canary, national and international specialities. There are conference rooms featuring spearhead technology, and various outdoor zones for events of different kinds. The "Vitanova SPA" thalassotherapy centre provides the benefits of thermal seawater, and specific treatments for the body and soul. The Hotel features a wide range of facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Dreamplace Hotels & Resorts SL, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Gran Castillo Hotel Playa Blanca
Dream Castillo Papagayo Lanzarote
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing