We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A really nice family holiday”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The Phillips family (Anthony, Carol and 18 yr old Nicola) arrived at the hotel on sunday 22nd July 2012 for two weeks.
A lovely welcome with a cool glass of cava handed to us and our cases taken to our room which was so nice.
ALL staff we came into contact with were courteous and very helpful.
Our room was beautiful, clean, spacious with a brilliant shower and bath. We had a view of the pools and the sea. (3107)
The food was lovely with lots to choose from, the chef serving freshly prepared hot food who we christined "Enjoy" as he said this to every person he served, what an absolute delight and we fell in love with our waiter Tony who made sure we never went short of a drink, he always had a smile for us whenever he saw us.
We did at times find the dining room a bit manic due to the number of people congregating in the one restaurant. The hotel has now changed from two hotels to one, leaving one main restaurant and one main entertainment club I feel this is why at times they both felt packed.This we felt was a disadvantage.
During some evenings we had a drink outside whilst we were being entertained by a beautiful singer and a male saxaphone player at other times.
We agree with the comments some have wrote about the sunbeds, people were reserving them, including beds for very young children who hardly used them.
We liked to sit away from the pool as some children were running about and splashing the people trying to relax. We found our perfect spot and settled quite happily, but we did have to get up early to reserve them. I am not against sharing my holiday with children but as I work in a primary school I do like to have time to myself when away, so for me, I would like the hotel to have SOME separate areas for adults who fancy a bit of peace and quite, I noticed a pool at the top end of the hotel where I do believe the second hotel used to be, this had slides for the children but hardly any children were there, perhaps because it was so far away. That's where I went wrong, I should have gone there myself.
The animation children were brilliant with the children, but one in particular was extremely annoying getting people to watch cocktail making and then pouring the finished product down peoples throats whilst hollering at the top of her voice this went on most afternoons. (Felt like an 18/30's holiday)
Some of the evening shows were really good with the animation team giving their all.
A couple of niggles but overall a really lovely holiday, we have arrived home relaxed and happy. A big thank you to all the team at Gran Castillo.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,946
    1,700
    690
    211
    100
See reviews for
2,855
1,971
26
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancs
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just returned from a great two weeks at a great hotel. We had seen the hotel last year and decided to book for this year. We weren't disappointed Cava on arrival, luggage taken to our room and friendly reception staff got our holiday off to a great start.
We had a superior room which was spacious and clean, it had partition doors which was great for our 14 yr daughter to have privacy. We asked for a quiet location and got one.
Ample sunbeds around the pool we used and even saw more being put out still had the issue of people reserving large number of beds as early as 6:30am but we still got beds and there were spare. Could do with a few more umbrellas though but when asked the pool staff found us one. The grounds were kept very clean and tidy as were the pool areas.
Bar service was good with brands available, Sipping cocktails from the outside bar on the terrace with the seaview in the evening is a must.
Food was excellent "one or two, enjoy". Tried all the restaurants liked the Chinese but found the choice in the main buffet with a reserved table was great for us. We never ate out!!
The animation team was the best we have ever come across. Don't really get involved but they made you want to because of the way they organised things and their easy going approach. Splash dance is a great way to finish off your day sunbathing.
Entertainment at night was either an act or the hard working animation team who put on shows including the young children and then a show themselves.
We went into Playa Blanca on a couple of occasions. I would recommend walking in and getting a taxi back cost 4-5 Euors. I would highly recommend this hotel for families with children of all ages as well as couples, look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xqb38i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This was our first trip abroad with our two daughters (6 and 8) and we were a little nervous but the hotel was totally amazing! They were very friendly on arrival, the rooms were exceptionally clean and the beds were comfy!
Lots of choices of pools, there could be a few more loungers although the one day we couldn't find one we asked a staff member and he went and found 2 for us.
Food was very good, lots of choice available and 2 choices of fish and 2 of meat cooked fresh in front of you every day!
We didn't have any problems with long queues at the bar to wait for service although the waiter service in the evening was sometimes slow due to the number of guests.
Shows were entertaining, the girls both loved the Queen - We Will Rock You show.
The animation team were brilliant, the kids loved them, they got to know your name and were always happy to talk and see if you wanted to join in with any of the activities.
Can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed here the week before the UK schools broke up for summer for 9 nights and it was me, my husband and our 5 year old son.

The room was spacious, well designed and clean and the bed was so comfortable I slept really well from night 1 - we should have requested a sea view though as our view was of the children's pool - which our 5 year old son loved, but I much prefer gazing out on to the horizon across the sea!

The fridge wasn't cooling and there were no tea or coffee making facilities...not a huge deal but I know lots of people that rely on such things!

The food was very good, couldn't fault it - but along with a sea view, what makes a holiday for me is trying different restaurants and lots of local food. This obviously caters more for the international market and did so very well. The Italian restaurant was pretty good and much smaller than the main one so nice for a bit of peace and quiet!

The pools were plentiful and clean with different vibes from the noisy sports pool next to the kids club to the one between the two main parts of the hotel which was very chilled. There are no two ways about it - there IS a sunbed problem and with all the Spanish families taking long siestas in the afternoon it was a little bit frustrating watching families taking up enough beds to accommodate every member of their crew, including their 2/4/6 year olds and then leaving them empty for hours on end, when we always made sure we only used two for us two and our son as he's only little and was in the pool half the time!

The staff were trying to monitor this, but took it a little too far and 'told off' a family sitting next to us for one of them going off to get a drink and taking too long - she'd only been gone for 15 minutes and her husband and teenage daughter were still using the two other beds. They just need to get a balance - and enough beds!

They did bring some new beds in with very comfy stripy pads after a few days, but then each night they took the pads in but wouldn't give them back out until at least 10am which for those with young children who like to be out in the earlier part of the day made things a bit uncomfortable!

With regards to entertainment, the kids' club was great and staff obviously genuinely love working with children - our son used it twice and would have liked to have gone more. The singer they had outside on the bar terrace on a couple of evenings was far from your usual club singer and I was very impressed with her.

Our son didn't want to take part in the mini-disco but again, I can't fault the team leading it getting most of the children involved. I can't comment on the evening shows but I understand they were again done with complete gusto by the team. I only ever really observed them chatting to others before water aerobics etc and they were incredibly professional, friendly and enthusiastic.

So, when my husband and I chatted about the Dream Gran Castillo and whether we'd return - it would only be if we had the funds to hire a car for the whole stay, eat out most of the time and just use the restaurants as a back up and to have breakfast.

On that note - it was pretty cheap to hire a car just for a few days, which we did in the end as Lanzarote is such a stunning island it is worth getting out in to the mountains and it takes no time at all to get from one end to the other. Our tips (from other visits to Lanzarote too) would be going to Teguise in the middle of the island, Famara beach, Papagayo beaches and anything that Cesar Manrique had a hand in!

There's nothing actually wrong at all with the Dream Gran Castillo, everything they do, they do very well. It's just we now know it's not our preferred style of holiday - despite me very much getting the break that I needed.

We'll be back to the remote finca in the foothills next year!

Room Tip: Check where your room is going to be as it's such a huge hotel there is a vast array of 'vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ZilB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Fantastic family holiday - travelled 14th-28th August. Travelled with other half and 13 year old son. Got a private taxi transfer from airport approx 35 mins would recommed this option we were told it's the last drop off if transfer by coach that takes approx 1-2 hours. Rooms spacious and well equiped, great bathroom with seperated shower and toilet and a bath with additional shower, cleaned daily sometimes it was about 3pm so if you like a siesta in the afternoon be aware!! We were in room 2120 on the ground floor looked out towards the terrace near the sports bar, once we closed the patio door we were not disturbed by any noise at night, had a fab sea view too. Excellent variety of food, show cooking breakfast, lunch and dinner - enjoy!! Chinese and itallian worth a visit, snacks and drinks in the day self service we found a better choice at the bottom pool near kids club, more choice. Restaraunt got very busy in our second week - ques for meat, fish and pasta (show cooking) took a bit longer to get served. Bar service in the evening could sometimes take a while so we just got 2 drinks each, got branded shorts and local beer was good. Animation team are amazing the guys work sooo hard and long hours, the mini club guys did an amazing job involving all the kids - they put on shows that the included the kids Peter Pan & Aladin the mini disco starts at 8:30 and progresses to the main show at 10pm but they are child friendly and worth watching - Got to say the entertainment/animation from morning through till midinight was excellent (your on holiday it's not west end standards but well worth staying up for). Hats off to Dodi, Gabby, Benfica (Marcio), Lara and the rest of the guys - you made Jack and his new friends feel special. The porters did an amazing job ferrying everyone around on their golf buggys. Now to sunbeds - there was a little issue that i spoke to the management team about (I believe i have had a mention in someone elses review) it was more about what had been said to us (maybe a language misunderstanding) but it did get sorted. There are sunbeds available after 7am we are early risers and would be out and about by 8ish and i think its a great idea that if there are towels reserving sunbeds and no one comes to the bed for a couple of hours that they are removed if someone asks the pool guys if there are any spare beds. The spa is great save your ticket and use the spa to have a power shower on your last day and book the free room to get the kids ready. Overall a great holiday fab weather and made some great new friends - Moira, Alan, Fraser & Scott from Scotland helped make our holiday we never saw the boys for the 2 weeks they even went off to have lunch on their own and all threw themselves into the kids club shows Fraser was Aladin - what a star !!!! Would go back without question had a great time

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank HenCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matlock
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Spent 4 weeks here in January and 2 weeks in July,so feel fully qualified to give a completely objective opinion.
The staff are incredible........so pleasant and helpful, One of the great things here are that you do have a choice of english channels....quite important when you're staying here for a considerable time.And they are a decent size.
The rooms are spacious and incorporate a lounge area,all have a fridge and safe,at no extra cost.The only gripe here is that sometimes the cleaner didn't turn up untill late afternoon.
Pool areas are immaculate and there are plenty of sunbeds.
Food is varied and on the whole was excellent,the outside dining room was a particular favourite of ours.
The waiters are efficient and friendly......decent house wines are on offer,we were all inclusive and could have got blotto at each meal.
The entertainers try hard but don't expect Sunday Night at the London Palladium!
One of the downsides was that if you wanted a coffee or drink during the day,you had to use the pool bar and these were served in paper or plastic cups.........not really 5 star.
The policy of no shorts in the dining room at night was rigorously enforced.....and so it should be.
Generally the bar service was excellent.......bar shuts at midnight,but you could always stockpile the odd one or two!
Wi fi is free in public areas but signal was a bit hit and miss.
There's plenty of parking outside and near the hotel and the hotel does have it's own underground car park.
There are 2 other restaurants in the complex...an Asian and an Italian.....not brilliant but make a change.
It's about an hours stroll into Playa Blanca from the Gran,the walk way is well maintained but beware of the cyclists!
In our opinion Playa Blanca is the nicest resort on the Island.
The market at Rubicon is well worth a visit......Rubicon is situated roughly half way between the Gran and Playa Blanca......there are one or 2 supermarkets near the hotel but don't expect Sainsburys.
Fresh milk is available at the Co-op in Rubicon.
Overall this hotel offers exceptional value for money but 5 Star it is not.
I would rate it a 4 star plus,just the odd few niggles.

Room Tip: pay extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 646johns646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Harling, Norfolk, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Two weeks at Gran Dream Castillo. Rooms are huge as are the bathrooms. Very clean everywhere, food very good with massive choice and chefs will cook to order. Table is assigned to you for the entire holiday for evening meals and can eat at the Portofina Italian restaurant if you book at reception. Towels are supplied. Water is included with meal along with everything else champayne, wines etc.

Plenty of pools to use with one heated which is the one we used right by the Papagayo restaurant.

The negatives - there were not enough bars and had to queue and not enough bar staff. The show each evening only lasted about an hour and repeated every week.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bev F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.3 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,761 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,134 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,480 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca

Property: Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Address: Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Dream Gran Castillo Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a grand castle which majestically dominates the seascape of the AtlanticOcean and its islands, the magnificent GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO is erected in the charming area of Playa Blanca, in the south of the volcanic isle par excellence: Lanzarote. With the conviction that elegance and comfort should come naturally, this Hotel is a tribute to 16th century Canary history and colonial architecture, inspired by the "Castle of San José" and the typical landscape of the island, blending in with the environment. The building is divided into different zones which maintain their colonial style, where the white facades and volcanic stone contrast with the backdrop of the deep blue ocean. A charming interior courtyard of Arab inspiration bathes the reception area with light, and the contemporary décor and pale colours create a warm and very elegant atmosphere. GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO pampers every detail of the rooms and suites, which have breathtaking views of the sea and surrounding scenery. They are decorated in a contemporary style, with marine touches, light-coloured wood and pale colours, creating a pleasant atmosphere full of light. The discerning selection of restaurants and cuisines serve Canary, national and international specialities. There are conference rooms featuring spearhead technology, and various outdoor zones for events of different kinds. The "Vitanova SPA" thalassotherapy centre provides the benefits of thermal seawater, and specific treatments for the body and soul. The Hotel features a wide range of facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Gran Castillo Hotel Playa Blanca
Dream Castillo Papagayo Lanzarote
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing