We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go there”
Review of Hotel Torralbenc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Torralbenc
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Alaior
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

It's more a retreat than a hotel really. The idyllic ambience of the place is conducive to not going anywhere else on the island without dragging oneself away. After experiencing the more "touristy" parts of the island I felt glad to be able to return to the welcoming peace of the place. Whoever designed this place has sensitivity and heart in what they do; from the overall interior and external design to the quality of the fittings, the lighting design and horticulture. The restaurant provided one of the best dishes I have ever experienced (the Tomato Starter), everything uses fresh ingredients and the Maitre, Ana Panera, deserves a special mention for her professionalism. We had no issues at all with the service in any area, and were pleasantly surprised by how helpful the staff were, e.g. coming to meet us in the car park with umbrellas when it was raining. We also received a free room upgrade without requesting it. Just go there! :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 226 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

Could be first class but not yet.
Arrived for dinner asked for pre dinner drinks waited in darkness at table for 10 mins till waiter
bought our drinks, then lit a candle. There was a mix up with the starters after we pointed out what we wanted on the menu,(there were only two of us). The wrong starter was removed and we were told the replacement would be a while. So I ate mine on my own while my husband waited for his.
The main courses came but the lamb was very disappointing. We decided against dessert, and just had coffee. Then asked for the bill, which when came was wrong.
Maybe we will give it a few years before we next visit.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mária A, Manager at Hotel Torralbenc, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Mrs. Carolyn,

First of all, I want to thank you for taking your time to write about your experience in Torralbenc’s Restaurant. Reviews are always welcome as they give us an opportunity to detect errors and improve on them.

We apologize for all these inconveniences caused during your dinner in Torralbenc.

All of our staff should be dedicating 100% of their efforts to meet your expectations as a customer and we clearly failed to do so.

I will check personally the lighting of our terraces and I will take the necessary measures to ensure that incidences like those that you encountered remain an isolated case and will never ocurr again. We pride ourselves on the fantastic feedback and reviews we have had from our guests and customers during our first year and we want to ensure that you are part of those very satisfied guests.

We sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to demonstrate to you that our sole objective is to offer our restaurant clients an unforgettable dining experience.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Everything you want from a hotel. Fabulous food (try the degustation menu). Fabulous staff and service. Fabulous views right down to the ocean. Fabulous infinity pool. Fabulous bedrooms. I am going back soon as I can...

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Helena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Probably the best Hotel in Menorca.

Ok it's not cheap, but what you get for your money it's more than you expected.

The Hotel is a renew of an old vineyard. The architecture details are beautiful and the felling is from a small boutique design hotel!

The suits are amazing, the Restaurant it's very good and the pool it's perfect.
The staff, and cleanliness are 5 star quality.

Th breakfast is table served with everything made from scratch, great natural juices, yoghurt and eggs.

Great Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MConceicao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were lucky enough to have a pool cottage, which meant we were totally self contained, and had our own little plunge pool. Total privacy was ours, so it was like having a country house-with staff. Who are great, very pleasant and obliging. The surrounding countryside is lovely, and the distant sea views a welcome bonus. Really quiet as well. Can´t fault the hotel,and it goes straight into top 5 in the world.....

Room Tip: the pool cottage was gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teech99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Probably one of the best hotels in the island. I went with my wife and toddler the second week of September and stayed for a week. The setting of the hotel is incredible, surrounded by vineyards and the typical mediterranean forest. We stayed in a room with sea view (24) which was amazing. The staff was at all times super helpful, which is very important when you travel with a toddler. They serve breakfast in the room with no extra charges, which allowed us to enjoy the view and the spacious terrace. Menorca is a small island so it was easy to access all points of interest form the hotel. Also, I would like to mention the incredible pool they have, which is in itself a good reason to stay there. We will surely be back there soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed at Torrlbenc for a week beginning of September 2013. The hotel complex is lovely, very calm and quiet with good attention to detail regarding the rennovation, architecture and layout.

Positive points - pool is fab, rooms are big, decor modern and everywhere very clean. The grounds are peaceful and very well maintained. I doubt that there is anywhere else of this standard on the island.

Not so positive points - and these are very minor, but key I think to the hotel improving over time - The service was a little sporadic and inconsistent. On the day of arrival the receptionist seemed a little confused, asking if we were part of another party, asking if we had booked two rooms, telling us the room was not ready - oh then it was ready - not giving us a guided tour... Reception is also very small, and not at all private if you are discussing any issues in front of others.

As another reviewer has pointed out the housekeeping staff were also a little inconsistent, sometimes we had our glasses cleaned and replaced, sometimes not, sometimes we had fresh towels, sometimes not, some evenings we had sweet treats and a weather report, sometimes not. We had also eaten some of the salted almonds provided on the Monday evening, these were not replaced all week? The shower in our room (23) had a stale damp smell after use, a shame in such a new and nice room.

The food was very good overall, however, again, the service was a little inconsistent at times. Service was slow when busy and often we had to ask a few times for items ordered, at our final breakfast we did not even receive the cold meats cheese and fresh fruit, with no explanation at all. Another tiny gripe would be that many of the component parts provided for breakfast were actually items available on the main menu, all at a much higher cost, this was a little frustrating, and became repetative over the course of a whole week.

The staff were friendly and helpful, but some did appear to be quite tense at times, as if they were trying too hard to create the perfect atmosphere, I wished that they could just relax a little more and enjoy themselves and allow their personalities to shine through, I think that this would make a big difference.

Only once during the week were we offered a fresh drink by the pool as it was a hot day, it might be nice to offer some cold water every day, without having to ask, as other hotels of this level offer as standard.

Upon checking out, we were not thanked or asked if we had enjoyed our stay; I also felt that the staff member could have asked if we had any reccommendations for them at all, being a new hotel, but no, I left feeling that they had presumed that they are better than they are, this attitude could slip them up if they are not careful.

We have stayed at two of the other hotels in this chain, Iturregi and Viura, where does Torralbenc come in comparison - third - and we feel that Torralbenc could learn a lot from the other hotels, but with some tiny tweaks it really could be amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alaior
16.3 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,354 reviews
16.5 mi away
La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa
6.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Jardi de ses Bruixes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
6.1 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,361 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torralbenc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torralbenc

Address: Ctra. Mao-Cala'n Porter, Km.10, 07730, Alaior, Menorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Alaior
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Alaior
Price Range: $186 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torralbenc 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Torralbenc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Torralbenc Menorca/Alaior, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing