We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A heaven of treasures”
Review of Son Mercadal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Son Mercadal
England
1 review
“A heaven of treasures”
Reviewed September 22, 2008

Everyone made our stay so special. This was our first time at Son Mercadal.
We ate like kings on the best mallorcan food and been made welcome like family.
This finca is very special but it is made extra special by the family who live + work there. We thank them for sharing their beautiful house in its idyllic setting.

  • Liked — setting and food
  • Disliked — too short holiday
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank elenatromer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    11
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
40
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2008

Peaceful and far removed from the hustle&bustle of those horrible "resorts". We just came back from this special charming place. We loved the way the decoration has brought history into the present. We felt very comfortable and would like to go back next year for longer. Excellent dinners and breakfasts. September 2008.

  • Liked — all
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MooreOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2008

Our stay here could not have been better. We first heard about the hotel in Special Places to Stay in Spain by Alastair Sawday and this really is a special place. Tony and his familiy were as helpful as can be from the minute we arrived. The hotel is set in a lovely rural setting that really helps you forget about the hectic life back home! The room was beautifully presented and very clean. It was great to eat home cooked Spanish food in the courtyard in the Evenings and enjoy a glass of wine or two! I will be reccomending Son Mercadal to my friends and familiy and i will definitely be returning.

  • Liked — The hotel setting and very helpful staff
  • Disliked — Can't fault it at all
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank steve5680uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2008

My stay in Son Mercadal for 2 weeks was delightful. The finca is charming and set in stunning counrtyside. Tony and his family made the holiday special, the food is excellent. From the moment you arrive in Son Mercadal, you are treated to a truely magical holiday expereince. I shall be back next year.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank JonesBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oundle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2008

We booked this finca on the strength of comments and pictures in Alastair Sawday's book 'Special places to stay' Spain. Big mistake.

We never even unpacked. The welcome was non existent. We had to carry our bags up to a room that was dark, gloomy, hot and smelt damp. The 'bathroom' was like a cupboard, with no bath and a shower that looked pathetic.There was a very steep step up to the 'bathroom' and the light switch was so high that a short person wouldn't have reached it. A single tablet of soap, dirty glasses and 2 millipedes greeted us upon which we promptly turned around and left.

We would never recommend this places to our worst enemy.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dobby4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2006

This restored 19th century finca is a home of great charm and warmth - a place to unwind and relax in the countryside. It is a working farm with horses, tractors and puppies chasing chickens in the adjacent barnyard, but the inn itself is lush with gardens and walkways and a sparkling, quiet pool. A perfect place to experience Mallorcan culture without the tourist crowds, and a short drive to beaches and historic hill towns.

  • Liked — Charm+Unique Character+ Local Flavor (non-tourist) +Relaxing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Arrange ahead of time for Pepe to make his famous Paella
  • Stayed October 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porreres
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rural Sa Bassa Rotja
12.8 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
3.7 mi away
Son Cosmet
Son Cosmet
#3 of 3 in Campos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Finca Son Jorbo
Finca Son Jorbo
#1 of 1 in Porreres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
3.7 mi away
Finca Son Roig
Finca Son Roig
#1 of 5 in Porreres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
3.7 mi away
Finca Es Torrent
Finca Es Torrent
#6 of 12 in Campos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Son Mercadal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Son Mercadal

Property: Son Mercadal
Address: Camino Son Pau s/n, 07260 Porreres, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Porreres
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Porreres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Son Mercadal 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rural hotel in the centre-south region of Mallorca. 15 minutes away from the best beaches in the Island. Enjoy our mallorcan traditions through the best mallorcan cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Son Mercadal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Mercadal Porreres, Spain - Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing