We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great apartments with great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Estudios Tropicana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Estudios Tropicana
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great apartments with great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Just returned from a one week stay here and although a little bit out the way these apartments are fantastic for the price, I've stayed in so called "better apartments" that are not nearly as good as these. The staff are so helpful and take the time to recognise you and say hello at all times. Rooms although basic are immaculate, free air con and the bedding and towels changed every second day. Fantastic pool area with plenty of sunbeds to go round and pool cleaned daily, as was the rest of the apartments including the surrounding grounds, if your looking for somewhere safe clean and affordable and do not mind walking to the main strip then these are the apartments for you, all the staff were great and José in particular was very helpful in his recommendations of where's best to go, best restaurants to eat in, how to get there etc. If I'm ever back in Ibiza then these I would not hesitate to return here again. We were in room C14, right in the centre and over looking the pool area - Stuart & Diane

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    72
    11
    2
    10
See reviews for
23
78
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Please don't listen to the negative reviews on this accommodation. The apartments were some of the cleanest I have ever been in. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location is about 15 minutes walk from the main nightlife of San Antonio bay, but that's what we wanted, near enough to walk to but far enough to get a good nights sleep. The local beach is disappointing, but the apartments have a large pool. There are local shops in the vicinity, that are good value to stock up on supplies. These studios would be great for as singles, couples or families. Though it has no lifts so those with mobility problems maybe should stay clear. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Ibiza.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank little187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARISA D, Director General at Hotel Estudios Tropicana, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear guest:
Thank you for your review. We are really glad to know you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Cleaning and making the guest feel as if they were at home are some of our first objectives.
We do the best we can to reach them, so for us is very stimulating to know our guests can aprreciate it.
We wish you the best and hope to see you again

Kind regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The rooms are clean, spacious and have air conditioning. The only negative is the beds aren't great but this wasn't a problem after nights in the superclubs. Supermarkets, bars/restaurants and beaches are all nearby and it's only 7 minutes on the bus to San Antonio if you want to go across the island. All the staff were excellent and helpful (check-in was fast and friendly, nothing was ever a problem). Food and drink at the bar was also very good value too. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank russdunkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Me and my daughter returned on Friday 13/09 from a weeklong stay at Hotel Estudios Tropicana, San Antonio Bay. We arrived late the previous Friday and were greeted by a lovely lady who welcomed us and offered all the relevant information we needed regarding the hotel. The room was clean and spacious with all essentials we needed for our stay. When I booked the hotel I asked for a poolside room but was given a room at the back of the hotel. We were initially disappointed but in fact we were so please as it turned out we had great views of San Antonia in the distance, peace & quiet at night time but during the day we had the great music from a neighbouring hotel. Hotel staff were polite and helpful and the room was regularly cleaned with fresh towels every 2 days. We had a TV but only had BBC & Sky 24/7 news, it would have been nice to have basic English stations. The pool area was clean and there were plenty of loungers. There were some other young party goers in the hotel who were very noisy one night and one lad being sick over the balcony, let's say that the hotel staff were very angry with them as there is a no noise policy after midnight. There was a local shop, turn left out of the hotel and left again, where we got all our food essentials and it was cheap. The local San Antonio Bay strip was a very short walk down the street, where there are plenty of shops, pubs and restaurants. There were also loads of "Happy Happy men" selling sun glasses & head phones etc, they were a pain at times but if you said "no thanks" then they walked away. There is a great beach about a 10 minute walk from the hotel; turn right from the hotel, then turn left at the bottom of the road and when at the end of the road on the left walk down an alley and you will come out at the beach where it's got a great little restaurant where we had great food & drinks. You could even hire boats, jet ski's and go on a banana boat if you wanted. Don't miss the sunset as it is stunning and take the boat taxis to San Antonia and watch it from Mambos, it's also a nice walk pass the port where there were loads of luxury boats. My 19yr old daughter had come for the "Strip" in San Antonia where she met up with friends who worked in the area. She ordered taxis from the hotel reception which cost 10 Euros each way or caught the boat taxis for 3 Euros. We went on a day long boat trip to Formentera, which was fantastic and the little island and has the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen; tip; get the early boat and make the most of the beaches, it cost 37 Euros per person but well worth it. Overall we had a fantastic holiday at Hotel Estudios Tropicana, San Antonio Bay and will be returning there next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Just returned back for a weeks stay at these apartments. Due to our flight times we arrived two hours before we could check in. This wasn't a problem as the hotel staff arranged for cleaners to prepare our room, within 30 minutes it was ready.
The rooms are clean and spacious, with all essentials provide but the balcony are only big enough for two people but this wasn't a problem as the pool area was clean and there was plenty of loungers.
The walk into San Antonio takes around 50 minutes but there is a bus every half an hour costing 1.65 and a taxi cost about 10 euros.
Due to the popularity of San Antonio it seems as though more money is invested into the area unlike San Antonio Bay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aking2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed a couple of weeks ago here with our two children aged 5 and 4 for one week. The apartment was neat and clean, although they really are designed just for 3people (the kids had to share the sofa bed which they were not best pleased about!). Free air con which was great! We had no trouble getting loungers by the pool, even at midday and most of the time we almost had the pool to ourselves. Just 5 minutes walk away is a strip with a variety of eateries and bars which had enough to keep the children entertained; we didn't have one bad meal in our entire stay. Got the water taxi one night into San Antonio which was a good price. We had no issue with any of the 'clubbers' - we were not woken by noise in our hotel and no trouble around the pool during the day. I would recommend hiring a car - we did that for 2 days and saw the rest of the island which is beautiful, We also ventured into Ibiza town one evening and it was stunning, a must-see. All in all, a good place to stay and value for money. We would definitely stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RSO123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have just returned from a week at the Tropicana Studio’s in San Antonio bay Ibiza.
I can highly recommend these self-catering apartments.

I have stayed in many hotels in Ibiza over the years and the Tropicana is excellent value for money when compared to many other hotels in Ibiza.

The studio apartments were spacious, airy, well equipped and very clean and tidy. The hotel staff were very friendly and they were also very security conscious. For example on our second day they stopped us when we entered the hotel to check our identity. As far as I’m concerned this is a good policy of the hotel in that they don't just let any tom dick or harry walk in off the street. Also they have a rule that says you can’t bring anyone back to the hotel who is not a registered guest, so if you the kind of person who is likely to be bringing a different person back to the hotel each night then this maybe isn’t the hotel for you. So maybe it’s better suited for couples and families as the hotel rules appear to have the effect of cutting down rowdy yobbish behaviour. If rowdy and loud is your kind of holiday you want then you should probably stay in San Antionio Central rather that the Bay.
The apartments have a flat screen TV with its own table, a dressing table with mirror, a dining table and four chairs, 1 bed side table, microwave oven, 2 ring hob, pans, plates, cutlery, fridge freezer, outside table with 2 chairs.
The bathroom was exceptionally clean for Ibiza, (no grotty tiles and not a sign of mildew) the shower was powerful however it did tend to fluctuate in temperature while in use but it’s no big deal just a challenge when you have a bit of sun burn.

The beds were very comfortable and the sheets and towels were changed every 2 days when the maid came. The air con was free of charge and often so good that we had to turn it off as we were cold.

We didn’t hear much noise from our neighbours so I would suggest that the walls appeared to be well insulated so you can be assured of a good night’s sleep. So often in Ibiza the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything next door so it was refreshing to stay in apartments that were well constructed.

The location of the apartment’s is at the far end of San Antonio Bay, this means it’s a 5-10 min walk to the beach or to the water taxi. There are plenty of local bars ,restaurants and supermarkets in the immediate area. I can recommend a visit to Kumharas to take in the sunset, its about a 10 min walk, however we were on the third floor and so we also had a great view of the sunset each evening. I can also recommend taking the water taxi to a beach called Calla Bassa Beach Club, it costs 6 euros return trip and takes 20 mins to get there. Get the water taxi from near the Fiesta Milord hotel. The beach is picture perfect, the warer taxi that runs to Calla Bassa goes three times a day, we caught the 10am water taxi and returned at 6pm. If however you want to book one of the premium sun loungers at the beach club you must call in advance and make a reservation however there is nothing to stop you just using your towels on the beach for free however it does get very busy. There are however cheaper sunbeds available to book on the day further down the beach.

There are several other beaches near to the apartments however the better beaches are further down toward San Antonio. It’s approx. 15-20 mins walk or 3 euro’s on the water taxi to San Antonio. The water taxi goes every 30 mins until midnight.

The pool area was clean and tidy with cheap drinks and snacks and it was easy to get a lounger however we are beach people so we didn’t make much use of the pool.

In summary I can highly recommend the Tropicana Studios as a very safe, clean, friendly hotel where you can be assured of a good night’s sleep in comfort and at a reasonable price. I will be making a return to the Tropicana studios next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MikeBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Antoni de Portmany
0.9 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Monterrey
Hotel Apartamentos Monterrey
#60 of 106 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
3.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartments Blue Star
Apartments Blue Star
#45 of 106 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Club Maritim
Hotel Apartamentos Club Maritim
#4 of 6 in Port d'es Torrent
3.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aparthotel Reco des Sol
Aparthotel Reco des Sol
#51 of 106 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Red Hotel by Ibiza Feeling
The Red Hotel by Ibiza Feeling
#49 of 106 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Palace by Intercorp Hotel Group
Marina Palace by Intercorp Hotel...
#2 of 6 in Port d'es Torrent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estudios Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estudios Tropicana

Property: Hotel Estudios Tropicana
Address: Calle Madrid 25 | Baleares, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Estudios Tropicana 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartaments suitable for couples, familys and people who want enjoy a quiet and relaxing holidays.Far away from the noisy area but close to shops and leisure locals.Two minutes from the airport bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Estudios Tropicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Estudios Tropicana Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing