We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”
Review of Hotel Marco Polo I

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Marco Polo I
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great value”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the beginning of September so it was a little quieter but the location was great. Rooms quite basic but cleaned every day. Reception and corredors were spotless. Small pool for the size of the hotel but your near the beach. If I was to go back to Ibiza I would stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    123
    79
    25
    40
See reviews for
22
107
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed from Aug 28th to 4th Sept. Hotel its self is in perfect location. Come out of Es Paradise or Eden and your hotel is right there! and a short walk to the local bus station, bars and the beach.
The Hotel we found really quiet and had no trouble sleeping and the rooms where huge! big double wardrobes. Also it didn't matter what time we left during the day we always came back to fresh towels and the rooms cleaned and the maids where really friendly. Had Tv with lots of channels. Most German but you might find the odd program in English (we didn't go out on the last night) plus there was a fridge, no more warm water and warm alcohol. Big bonus!

Bad points... The shower had broke so it was like a hose coming down and the bath was badly damaged so had no choice but to have a shower. Plus my bed was broken so the mattress was falling out under the bed. Didn't bother me sleeping but noticed it half way through the holiday.
But the main thing was the food. Eating times are weird. Dinner is 8pm till 9.30pm we were the only people in there most nights apart from the staff. Not a lot of choice and very very basic. I would suggest self catering and go out for dinner, not bad prices eating out.There is a lidl's just up the road and they are cheap:-)
Also there was only 2 plug sockets.one for tv and one for fridge and far away from the mirror tucked in a corner so if your a group of girls take a couple of extension leads as you will need them.

Some good tips are...don't get taxi's anywhere they charge alot. Go down the road towards the egg and turn right and there is a bus station that has buses running 24hrs a day that take you everywhere! most you will pay is 6 euros. The disco buses take you to all the clubs. We had a lot of fun and met a lot of people on them disco buses.

Don't go to san Antonio for the beach as its a bit run down. Get a bus 15mins away to Cala Tarida or a bit further is Cala Llonga. The beaches there are amazing.

All in all was pleased with the price, only minor problems but if your looking for perfect then book a more expensive hotel.

Room Tip: If you want quiet then the end rooms are the best and the views are best overlooking the pool on flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzyg1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This was our third visit to the Hotel Marco Polo 1 & I can safely say we will NOT be returning. The hotel itself is lovely; polite & helpful staff & it's absolutely spotless. The rooms are cleaned & linen changed every day. Our previous visits were faultless, even to the point where the security guard rushed up to the third floor to ask us to be quiet on returning to our rooms, as people were sleeping. This year it's totally changed. Not the hotel but the clientele. Basically if you are a twenty-something lout who enjoys shouting loud obscenities, has no manners, cannot speak in anything less than full volume, is mindless of the fact that your choice of blaring music might not be to everyone's taste, leaving the pool area in a disgusting mess for someone else to clear up, yelling down corridors & banging loudly on random doors all night without any consideration for anyone else then this is the place for you. Don't get me wrong, I know this is Ibiza & yes we were clubbing with the best of them until sunrise, but I do need to sleep at some point. It's ridiculously noisy during the day, so no chance of catching up on sleep then, unless you go to the beach. Very unfair as we've all paid to enjoy the facilities, but felt that we couldn't.
Not good for couples or families. There should be security on each floor to keep the noise down, and more consideration from the hotel management for other guests who might not enjoy the above mentioned. It is such a shame that this hotel has gone downhill & decided to cater for the lager louts. Definitely NOT the same place as it used to be & they will not be getting our custom again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsP270712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sant Antoni de Portmany hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Had such a good holiday, hotel is a 3 star people much better than most hotels iv stayed I'm abroad like Malia magaluf, good pool free aircon best location just next to the big egg, you don't wanna piss the security guard off lol, but receptionist is ok they let you play music in ur room till 11pm which isn't to bad really powerful showers, going back next month for end season so deff staying her again :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prebble1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Have just got back from 2nd year running at this hotel. Have been to Ibiza 8 years and had some awful hotels over the years but this seems to tick the boxes. Great location, great pool and atmosphere, clean basic rooms but air con, balcony and safes all in rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for room along the first corridor pool facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy-or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here at the end of April last year (just before the season). It was basic but did the job. A fridge would have been nice. Decent chamber maid service.

I would stay here again and we did look for deals as we have just booked San Antonio for end of August.

One thing I would complain about was the beds are pathetic and look like they are hand-me-downs from an old army barracks. And we did get a complaint from a neighbour when we were playing music at about midnight but it wasn't even loud or late! (Come on dude, this is Ibiza!)

All-in-all it's a decent but basic hotel for groups or couples who want a nearby base for the bars and clubs nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas_Dizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Me and my cousin spent a week in the hotel. The receptionist on the night was very helpful, allowing us to print the voucher and was polite the whole time we was there, can be a bit strict due to him sticking to hotel rules but we understood.

The pool was really clean, relaxing and played music in the day. We ate in the hotel restaurant almost every day. Buffet style food which we enjoyed. Rooms basic, mini fridge, TV, cleaned nearly every day. Hotel quiet and not loud like other hotels weve experienced!

Cant see what all the bad reviews are about, what do people expect for three stars! For the price we paid, it was decent and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sant Antoni de Portmany hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marco Polo II
Hotel Marco Polo II
#73 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
3.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.1 mi away
azuLine Hotel Pacific
azuLine Hotel Pacific
#53 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tropical
Hotel Tropical
#30 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Red Hotel by Ibiza Feeling
The Red Hotel by Ibiza Feeling
#47 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invisa Hotel Es Pla
Invisa Hotel Es Pla
#17 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos del Mar
Apartamentos del Mar
#56 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
3.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marco Polo I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marco Polo I

Property: Hotel Marco Polo I
Address: Avenida Portmany s/n, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 100 Hotels in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marco Polo I 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel MARCO POLO is situated at 100 m from the main beach of San Antonio and 200 m from the centre, surrounded by an area of restaurants, bars and other attractions. All the rooms have air conditioning, complete bathroom, satellite TV, mini-fridge, telephone, safe, music and balcony. There is a fresh-water swimming-pool on a spacious terrace with sunbeds and sunshades, a ping-pong table and a garden with lawn. The air-conditioned dining-room offers a rich international buffet, in generous variety. Lobby Bar offering drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Grupo Playa Sol, HRS, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Marco Polo I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo i Hotel
Hotel Marco Polo I Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing