We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shame/Never again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Playasol Marco Polo I
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a shame/Never again.”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This was our third visit to the Hotel Marco Polo 1 & I can safely say we will NOT be returning. The hotel itself is lovely; polite & helpful staff & it's absolutely spotless. The rooms are cleaned & linen changed every day. Our previous visits were faultless, even to the point where the security guard rushed up to the third floor to ask us to be quiet on returning to our rooms, as people were sleeping. This year it's totally changed. Not the hotel but the clientele. Basically if you are a twenty-something lout who enjoys shouting loud obscenities, has no manners, cannot speak in anything less than full volume, is mindless of the fact that your choice of blaring music might not be to everyone's taste, leaving the pool area in a disgusting mess for someone else to clear up, yelling down corridors & banging loudly on random doors all night without any consideration for anyone else then this is the place for you. Don't get me wrong, I know this is Ibiza & yes we were clubbing with the best of them until sunrise, but I do need to sleep at some point. It's ridiculously noisy during the day, so no chance of catching up on sleep then, unless you go to the beach. Very unfair as we've all paid to enjoy the facilities, but felt that we couldn't.
Not good for couples or families. There should be security on each floor to keep the noise down, and more consideration from the hotel management for other guests who might not enjoy the above mentioned. It is such a shame that this hotel has gone downhill & decided to cater for the lager louts. Definitely NOT the same place as it used to be & they will not be getting our custom again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsP270712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    125
    82
    26
    41
See reviews for
23
111
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Had such a good holiday, hotel is a 3 star people much better than most hotels iv stayed I'm abroad like Malia magaluf, good pool free aircon best location just next to the big egg, you don't wanna piss the security guard off lol, but receptionist is ok they let you play music in ur room till 11pm which isn't to bad really powerful showers, going back next month for end season so deff staying her again :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prebble1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Have just got back from 2nd year running at this hotel. Have been to Ibiza 8 years and had some awful hotels over the years but this seems to tick the boxes. Great location, great pool and atmosphere, clean basic rooms but air con, balcony and safes all in rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for room along the first corridor pool facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy-or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here at the end of April last year (just before the season). It was basic but did the job. A fridge would have been nice. Decent chamber maid service.

I would stay here again and we did look for deals as we have just booked San Antonio for end of August.

One thing I would complain about was the beds are pathetic and look like they are hand-me-downs from an old army barracks. And we did get a complaint from a neighbour when we were playing music at about midnight but it wasn't even loud or late! (Come on dude, this is Ibiza!)

All-in-all it's a decent but basic hotel for groups or couples who want a nearby base for the bars and clubs nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas_Dizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Me and my cousin spent a week in the hotel. The receptionist on the night was very helpful, allowing us to print the voucher and was polite the whole time we was there, can be a bit strict due to him sticking to hotel rules but we understood.

The pool was really clean, relaxing and played music in the day. We ate in the hotel restaurant almost every day. Buffet style food which we enjoyed. Rooms basic, mini fridge, TV, cleaned nearly every day. Hotel quiet and not loud like other hotels weve experienced!

Cant see what all the bad reviews are about, what do people expect for three stars! For the price we paid, it was decent and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2013

me and 7 other lads stayed here and i think we got a good deal big basic room cleaned every day if your up to let the cleaner in bathroom could of done with a touch up but what do you expect?
pool was good, decent music around the pool can even play your own phone if its free, location is fantastic right next to eden no more then a 5 minute walk and no more then 10 minute walk to the west end from what others said i would stay away from the food but you are near a good selection of restaurants.
overall good 10 days stay would return only downside would be the Romanian security guy was abit of a d*ck

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Never seen anything like it , it was terrible food shocking but that said its ibiza. However security was lacking extreamly with weirdos knocking on doors all night.bath was painted chipped and yukk , over all pleasant service from staff. Rooms adequate minus bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Food F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
845AGomez, Gerente at Hotel Playasol Marco Polo I, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Food F .
Thank you for recent stay and for your valuable feedback.
We are currently implementing a new menu system that we hope will please our customers.
We are looking forward to hearing from you soon.
Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Antoni de Portmany
0.0 mi away
Hotel Playasol Marco Polo II
Hotel Playasol Marco Polo II
#75 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
338 reviews
1.5 mi away
Apartahotel San Marino
Apartahotel San Marino
#4 of 14 in Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartahotel Central City
Apartahotel Central City
#48 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel S'Estanyol
Hotel S'Estanyol
#28 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
603 reviews
1.4 mi away
Apartments Blue Star
Apartments Blue Star
#47 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
251 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Reco des Sol
Aparthotel Reco des Sol
#50 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playasol Marco Polo I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playasol Marco Polo I

Property: Hotel Playasol Marco Polo I
Address: Avenida Portmany s/n, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 99 Hotels in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playasol Marco Polo I 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: The hotel is located 300 m from the beach, at the heart of San Antonio, not far from the highly-visited West End area and the well-known Café del Mar, Mambo, and Savannah. The establishment is 15 km from the city of Ibiza and 21 km from the airport. Rooms: The hotel has single and double rooms, and they are equipped with a full bathroom, air conditioning, satellite TV, a free safe, and a balcony. All rooms in the establishment have new furniture. Facilities: The hotel has one pool for adults in a large green area with many trees, lounge chairs, umbrellas, and Balinese beds, as well as a snack bar open from 11:00 am to 7:30 pm. The hotel has a gaming area with arcade games, a ping pong table, a pool table, and porterage service. The breakfast buffet service takes place in the restaurant from 8:00 am to 11:00 am. Services: The reception desk is open 24 hours a day and offers the possibility of purchasing tickets for clubs, excursions, and sports activities. Check-in begins at 2:00 pm and check-out is at 11:00 am. Free Wi-Fi, both in the rooms and in the common areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Playasol Marco Polo I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo i Hotel
Hotel Playasol Marco Polo I Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing