We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nothing fancy but good place to crash out!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Playasol Marco Polo I
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great location, nothing fancy but good place to crash out!”
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

You get what you pay for with this hotel! It isn't fancy & there are no nice extras but the rooms are clean, most of the staff are quite nice & if you do have a problem then the staff are quite happy to help! All you need to do is ask!

The location is great if you want to stay in San Antonio. It's less than a minute walk from Eden & Es Paradis & 5 mins to the West End, restaurants & shops. There are some good bars just down the road (come out of the hotel & turn left then left again, next to the egg roundabout) including the Hed Kandi bar which does amazing cocktails! The sunset strip (Cafe Mambo, Savannah etc) is a 10 min walk.

The West End is a good place to pre-drink before a club, you can get some good deals; most nights we got 4 shots of tequila, a cocktail pitcher, 2 Bacardi mixers & 2 Corona for €10! (for 2 people). The clubs are obviously a lot more expensive, expect to pay €15 for a vodka mixer & a whopping €9 for a very small bottle of water!

The beach is about 3 minutes away but it isn't very nice. If you want a fantastic location with a great party atmosphere then stay in Playa den Bossa, the beach is gorgeous & it's a lot closer to the 'better' clubs, Pacha, Amnesia, Space, DC10 etc. This is about 20-25 mins away from Marco Polo & can cost up to €35 for the journey.

Overall, the hotel is quite good but there are NO SELF CATERING ROOMS so I that's what you want then do not stay here. They are room only! We asked as soon as we got there to be changed to a self catering room & the best they could do was give us a room with a fridge (that wasn't even cold!) so that was pretty much my only grumble!

2 females, both 20

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeTrotterCDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    124
    80
    25
    41
See reviews for
22
109
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

After reading many negative reviews about the hotel, we (6 girls) were apprehensive about our weeks stay here to say the least. However we were pleasantly suprised at how good the hotel actually was! Although when we got there, there was a mix up of rooms, the next day it was all sorted.

The hotel staff are really friendly except the young bloke "Stephan" on the front desk late at nights, watch out for him as if you lock yourself out of your room or have a problem, he really will not help. Maids will come and clean your room every other day, some are pleasant, others are not.

We had half board and again expected the food to be really poor, however it was actually really good! Being the fussiest eater and a vegatarian, I wasn't expecting a lot, but there was a huge buffet which changed every night consisting of meats, pasta, chips, salads, fruit, cakes and a huge breakfast range of fry up, cereal, fruit, cakes, bread etc. Breakfast is from 7.30am-10am and dinner from 7.30pm-9.30pm (as far as i can remember)

The location is perfect:
West End=5mins
Boat Party=5mins
Beach=3mins
Cafes, Bars, Restaurants=5mins
Shops=1min
Eden + Es Paradis=1min
Cafe Mambo & del mare=10min walk

If you want to go to the bigger clubs eg.Space, Amnesia, Privilege, Pacca, or doing the zoo project it's about a 15-25 min taxi journey which will cost you about €25-30. The is also a disco bus to the clubs and back you can get from midnight onwards which runs until 6.30am and will cost you €3 each way. The taxi rank is a 5min walk as is the discobus stop.

The rooms in the hotel are basic but all you need with a mini fridge and a good sized wardrobe and bathroom. Air con €10 deposit, KEEP THE RECIEPT! Safe €4 a day again KEEP RECIEPT or you won't get your money back. The noise level was fine barely heard anything considering Eden and Es Paradise are literally next door. Internet in the hotel 50c for 5mins, €1 for 15mins or €2 for 40mins.

Good sized pool but tip is to get there before 10am and dump your towels if you want a sunbed as it gets super busy towards 11am, music blares from around 11am but it's not a huge disturbance, there is also a pool side bar selling snacks and drinks which are bit pricey but it's Ibiza so everything is pricey!

Another tip is to not pre buy tickets for big events before you go as we found out, you can normally get a better deal from the PR's out there (who will constantly hound you) and to drink before you go into big clubs as you will have to pay anything up to €15 for a bottle of water or up to €30 for an alcoholic drink!

Hotel is around 20min journey from the airport aswell so if you muck up your transfer it's not too far or pricey.

Negatives about this hotel are that our windows and balcony didn't lock which we were bit wary of and there were 2 incidents of theft while we stayed (one due to a girl bringing a boy back to her room and him raiding it so not hotels fault) aswell as some unhelpful members of staff, however most were pleasant and left us all to it.

Overall a good, basic hotel for the 18-30 age group if you're looking for fun and not frills. Should not have as many negative reviews as it does!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jess b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We arrived using resort hoppy and got dropped at the end of the street, when we arrived at reception we were told to go to the hotel next door to book in (marco polo 2) , we did this then got told to go back to marco polo 1 we were given room 303 , we asked where to go and the man said didn't understand English (surprising as 95% of inmates were English) we used the lifts to the second floor then had to walk down a corridor that resembled a scene from THE SHINING! Up some more stairs and down another corridor to our room. The room was small but clean , it had air con and a tv in the room but no way of turning them on, in the bathroom the louvre in the corner allowed you to hear and SMELL everything from the rooms next door and the 4 rooms below, this really wasn't pleasant , as we had a night flight we wanted to get our heads down to be refreshed in the morning... At this point we thought we were on an 18-30 holiday, the walls are wafer thin and the doors have gaps at top and bottoms allowing you to hear anything in the full block. The constant coming and going of Arron and his room mates next door with music and shouting from 8am until 5am was really appreciated NOT!
The air con and tv are controlled by remotes which you have to get from reception we found out on day 2 as we were not informed when we checked in. The pool has enough room at the side of its for 5 beds and there's a terrace area which has plenty of sun beds, we asked the life guard for a umbrella to be told they did not have any!!!!!!!
The average age of guests in this hotel must have been 18 - 20 and the attitude was definitely drink as much as you can and make as much noise as you can for as long as you can.
The night clubs Eden and es paradis sit within 50 metres of the hotel and you hear everything from them as well.On our second night we thought we would drink ourselves to sleep , even with alcohol we were kept awake all night , and to top it off the remains of the Malibu mysteriously disappeared when our room was cleaned but the empty bottle was left, needless to say we topped this bottle up with water and a "secret ingredient" and left for the cleaners to finish off again, I do hope they enjoyed it.........
I have never been so relieved to leave a hotel , in short San Antonio was what we expected but not what we had hoped for
Marco Polo was more like a prison than a hotel and I can say that I would not return if I was paid to do so.

Room Tip: Avoid this hostel at all costs. I would not return if paid to
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1680, Gerente at Hotel Playasol Marco Polo I, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Mr. Steve,

I understand your booking was for Marco Polo 2 and you stayed in Marco Polo 2, not Marco Polo 1.
We are truly regretting your holiday wasn't what you expected for and we want to appologize for all the inconviniences you found during your holiday.
We appreciate your sincer feedback and we will try to improve and to give a better service to our clients.
Anyway, about the Malibu bottle I assure you the girls don't take anything from the rooms. Still, we will investigate this mysterious case.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sant Antoni de Portmany hotels

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Just back from a 5 day stay at the Marco Polo I. I'm surprised by some of the poor reviews which the hotel has been given on Trip Advisor - i honestly don't know what some people expect from somewhere which has clearly been advertised as a 2* hotel!

The rooms were relatively spacious and the air conditioning was a blessing as was the mini fridge. The rooms were cleaned daily and fresh bed linen and towels provided.

The reception was decent enough and the staff all friendly and didn't give us any hassle at all during the stay. I expect they are used to groups in the party mood given the location.

The pool was clean and the outdoor bar was great for snacks and ice cream etc. The crowd at the hotel seemed to all fit into the mid 20s-mid 30s age group which was perfect for us - no school kids on summer holidays etc.

We didn't take the half board option although from what i've heard the food was fairly average. A decent breakfast can easily be had if you take a short walk to the nearby pubs and cafes.

One note of caution though: do not mistake the Marco Polo I for its sister hotel the Marco Polo II which is of a much lower standard and by all accounts a bit of a dump. Worse still the Pisces Park across the road which seemed like something out of cold war Beirut - we heard from another group staying there that every room on a whole floor had been broken into.

In summary - decent hotel, great for groups looking for fun, don't expect the Ritz and you won't be too disappointed.

Room Tip: go for a high room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

me and my friend transferred here after a disasterous stay in the hotel we had originally booked for.the staff were lovely, and always made us feel very welcoming, and sorted any problems other people had straight away. the food was lovely, and there was such a big choice it would have been impossible for people not to like it. it is in a very good position, just a 5min walk to es paradis and eden. the beach is also a couple of minutes walk away and there are a lot of food places located around also. the rooms were very basic, but clean and we had fresh towels everyday. overall i would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasmyn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Having been to Ibiza for debauchery as well lower key holidays I found the Marco Polo 1 an excellent place to stay if you are going to erase yourself for a few days.
The accommodation is winning no awards for ground breaking architecture, However it is clean, you have a comfy enough bed if you intend on just crashing out for several hours.
The bathrooms are as you would expect, Sink, toilet, shower/bath and plenty of towels the rooms also come with a adequate fridge enough space to hold water bottles.
The pool and pool area are clean and there is a friendly atmosphere, the bar staff are more than helpful and allow the use of Ipods on the communal speakers so you can cut some shapes in the pool,( and they also have huge foam sunbeds).
We never ate in the hotel restaurant but you should expect to pay 3 Euros for a Corona and the hot-dogs are nice.
The location is perfect you could spit at Eden and Es-Pardis and there is a subway on the far side of Eden and the West End is close enough and so is the beach.
All in all a good pace to stay for Ravers and Savers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElectroDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

After reading some reviews was obviously nervous about staying,but on arrival was not as bad as what we thought!checked in withing 5 minutes,which was after 10pm so shower and out!rooms cleaned every day unless you put do not disturb on door!5 mins from bars,Eden and es paradise next door!beach 5 mins away to!top tips would be to get the air con for 10 euros which get returned to you if you keep receipt,and a safety deposit box!other than that hotel needs updating but it did the job!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie1wong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Antoni de Portmany
0.0 mi away
Hotel Playasol Marco Polo II
Hotel Playasol Marco Polo II
#81 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
333 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos San Marino
Hotel Apartamentos San Marino
#3 of 14 in Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Central City
Apartamentos Central City
#45 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Apartments Blue Star
Apartments Blue Star
#46 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Red Hotel by Ibiza Feeling
The Red Hotel by Ibiza Feeling
#42 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
azuLine Hotel Pacific
azuLine Hotel Pacific
#52 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playasol Marco Polo I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playasol Marco Polo I

Property: Hotel Playasol Marco Polo I
Address: Avenida Portmany s/n, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 99 Hotels in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playasol Marco Polo I 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: The hotel is located 300 m from the beach, at the heart of San Antonio, not far from the highly-visited West End area and the well-known Café del Mar, Mambo, and Savannah. The establishment is 15 km from the city of Ibiza and 21 km from the airport. Rooms: The hotel has single and double rooms, and they are equipped with a full bathroom, air conditioning, satellite TV, a free safe, and a balcony. All rooms in the establishment have new furniture. Facilities: The hotel has one pool for adults in a large green area with many trees, lounge chairs, umbrellas, and Balinese beds, as well as a snack bar open from 11:00 am to 7:30 pm. The hotel has a gaming area with arcade games, a ping pong table, a pool table, and porterage service. The breakfast buffet service takes place in the restaurant from 8:00 am to 11:00 am. Services: The reception desk is open 24 hours a day and offers the possibility of purchasing tickets for clubs, excursions, and sports activities. Check-in begins at 2:00 pm and check-out is at 11:00 am. Free Wi-Fi, both in the rooms and in the common areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, HRS, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Playasol Marco Polo I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo i Hotel
Hotel Playasol Marco Polo I Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing