We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap & Cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apartahotel Del Mar
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cheap & Cheerful”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed here for 3 weeks this year as a base to look for a permanent apartment for the summer. The rooms have a fridge, table & chairs, cutlery and 2 hobs. Would recommend for young people during the peak season. It's a five minute walk from the west end but you don't get all the noise from out side. The rooms are cleaned daily but they don't seem to change the bed sheets unless you ask them too. Twice I was left without hot water to have a shower during the day but you can't really blame the hotel for that. There have been many reviews about theft at this hotel. Apart from having my balcony table nicked by a drunk German tourist (which I took back) I had no problems but it was very early in the season. I just suggest you lock your valuables up and you will be fine. The only down side is when I booked online I was told the hotel had a gym. This is not the case & the pool is freezing and wasn't cleaned until mid may time but I'm assuming that was because the hotel wasn't busy.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room because you get the few over San Antonio's beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pod1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    52
    31
    9
    49
See reviews for
8
54
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

The del mar is basic but you can't expect a palace for what you pay here! It's perfect for a base if you just want to party as its literally 5mins from the west end and not far from the sunset strip- cafe del mar, mambos etc. We went for the closing parties and it was a little quiet so probably wouldn't stop in September but definitely in peak season. The Only thing I could fault is you can't have your music on as the receptionist comes banging on your door telling you to turn it off! Staff where fine and the maids where great they gave us towels every day and cleaned our rooms when we needed it. We paid about £50 each for the full week so I am certainly not complaining I think some people have been a little harsh with their reviews! Overall good holiday don't be put off!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren-ashley-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penmaenmawr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Me and my friend stayed in this hotel for 1 week, for a 1 star you get what you pay for. Basic room but got cleaned everyday, pool was very clean but very basic also. The only thing I could fault with this hotel is the staff, they were useless and very unfriendly. We made a group of friends whilst staying there and one of their rooms did get broken into one night, but this is no fault of the hotels its just pure bad luck, so if you're leaving any valuables when you go out you should definitely get a safety deposit box. Also, if you are getting a remote for the air con and TV and you leave a deposit make sure you have proof that you have made a payment or you wont be getting it back. Best thing about the hotel is the location, west end is just around the corner, the beach across the road and endless amounts of really nice bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Me and a friend stayed here for 9 days at first all seemed fine, we only got one mirror just very basic room, the second night i came home to our main light being on an all my stuff had been raided nothing was taken thank god.

When reporting it they already seemed to no our room number which was weird so we just carried on with our holiday. a day or two before leaving my friend went back with a male mate an the security guy took her to our room to open the door he told our male friend to go as he wasn't staying there .

He left an went an hid outside to call me that something was up to mins after my friend was let in our room some1 knocked on the door she thought was our friend coming back but has she got up to get the door it opened an to men came in an well i dont need to explain what happened its was horrific she came out to the streets crying here eyes out an as i was going to go in an pack our cases an get the hell outta there the security guy would only let one male friends up with me so was bit dodgy from the start Never recommend this hotel to any1 it ruined our holiday :(

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sant Antoni de Portmany hotels

Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

right to start off...
hotel on first impressions:
nice hotel cheap but fairly well maintained. 24hr reception all staff friendly (bar one(spanish night receptionist))
rooms fair size with end rooms big balconies :-)
To summarize the hotel is spot on for the price!!

Right now the bad points and how to combat the bad points!
Number 1 : Trust nobody!!
3 days into my holiday my room was 'broken' into.
2 phones €610 and 2 watches were taken. I admit it was my own fault for leaving them in the room after reading some of the reviews. Bear in mind that all the items were in a locked suitcase under the bed except the two watches which my friend had left on the side.
We reported this to reception when we got back from the beach and realised we'd been robbed. (19:00) the receptionist although couldn't speak english used google translate and pointed us towards the (wrong) police station. telling us a taxi was needed, when actually it is less than a 5 minute walk from main doors of hotel! anyway once this was done we returned to the hotel and placed everything of any value into the safe and carried on which is all you can do.

the night after I returned to the hotel from the west end (5 min walk away) three times for numerous reasons, all 3 times the receptionist (the aforementioned spanish bloke) got up said hello and went into the back office, on all 3 occasions i bumped into the same two people walking down the stairs! the third time I returned I sprinted through the reception and up the stairs, bumping into the same two people again but as my friend was in the room i ran past and to the room to make sure all was ok. the room next to mine's door was wide open as i had obviously interrupted them (the people next door was in bed asleep and as i found out the morning after had locked their door from the inside before sleeping) I ran back downstairs looking for the two lads i had seen all 3 times that night. nowhere to be seen. so i confronted the receptionist and miraculously he could speak perfect english when accused of being a thief!! Please note the day after we came back from a meal (we had been gone for 1 hour and 10 minutes) to find our room door wide open! nothing was taken as they had already taken everything valuable! (all incidents happened on saturday/sunday and same receptionist monday but maybe it was because he knew we were onto him?) anyway back to the review...
essentially if your staying here please get a safe and please put anything valuable in their. be aware of anybody looking suspicious and don't be afraid to call police as they will all try n stop you by telling you they won't come and give you wrong numbers. phone the national police and not local! :) like I said this hotel is really nice if you can get past people being in your room. pool is nice, the views are nice, the staff are nice just please be careful. I would recommend the poniente player hotel as an alternative! Please also note that my brother was staying in the room next door to mine and not once did anyone go into his room as his mobile was on the side every night and never taken (Iphone 4)

Take Caution please!
Anything you need to know please contact me

Room Tip: Pool View and for a big balcony take the end rooms! first floor is below pool so views aren't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Platts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Okay! So my boyfriend and I have just returned from a week long holiday staying in the Del Mar Hotel (18th-25th August 2012). I read the reviews a couple of days before and I was terrified that we would get all of our belongings stolen so we tried to change hotels at the last minute. Obviously this didn't happen so we just had to take the risk. We have stayed everywhere from the Ritz to 1* hostels so we have a wide range of opinion!!
We arrived at 8PM and the lovely little man on reception (who didn't speak English but we communicated on google translate!!) gave us our room key and the air conditioning remote (for a €10 deposit) We didn't like our room as it didn't have a balcony or a view so he moved us to the 4th floor with no problems whatsoever.

Our room was VERY basic but everything was clean and the balcony doors and windows locked. We had clean towels and a clean room. Every time we left the room we locked our stuff in the suitcase and put the suitcase under the bed. It only took 2 minutes to do it but it was worth it so we didn't spend the night worrying!

The balconies were safe and there was NO WAY anyone could get over them from one to another and although the cleaners came in, our stuff was locked away anyway so they couldn't have taken anything if they tried.

The pool was clean and every morning there were 2 people down there cleaning it and a lifeguard on duty from 10AM until 6PM. The pool got busy around 4PM and became very noisy with silly boys doing dive bombs and throwing sun loungers in the pool but overall it was fine!

The hotel is literally 2 minutes away from the West End with all the bars and it is definitely a Lads/Girlie holiday hotel so don't expect much peace and quiet.

But overall, this hotel was awesome and if you are CAREFUL and make sure your stuff is locked away (no one wants their ipad/iphone/passport stolen!!) then you will have a blast.

For the price we paid (£396 for 2 people for a week) we had an awesome time and i would DEFINITELY stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at del mar in July 2010, a bit late but after reading reviews not a lot has changed. My second visit to Ibiza, wasn't realy expecting much of the hotel as we didn't pay much. we arrived at hotel at 3 in the morning, so was quite tired and the 3 of us slept. Woke up around 8 am and mine and my friends handbags containing £500, which was on the bedside table in between us had disappeared. No sign of forced entry at all. Went to reception tryed to explain lady said 'no understand' and had no time for us at all. Whilst standing there guests also staying at the hotel had had there wallets, phones and iPods stolen. Went to police station and they couldnt be bothered either. Every day was the same, every morning at reception people who'd been robbed and nothing was being done and everyone we spoke to had had things stolen or seen simeone trying to get in the rooms. Spent the whole holiday baracading ourselves in the room and scared the whole time we was there. Two years later I read reviews and much the same......how can a hotel be allowed to run in this way it's disgusting.....should at least feel safe anywhere you pay to stay No matter what......you couldn't pay me to stay here again thank you!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnysut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sant Antoni de Portmany hotels
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Central City
Apartamentos Central City
#44 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Pepe
Hotel Don Pepe
#53 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartahotel La Sirena
Apartahotel La Sirena
#33 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Apartahotel Monterrey
Apartahotel Monterrey
#62 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Formentera I
Apartamentos Formentera I
#48 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playasol Marco Polo II
Hotel Playasol Marco Polo II
#81 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartahotel Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartahotel Del Mar

Property: Apartahotel Del Mar
Address: Calle del Mar 1, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 99 Hotels in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartahotel Del Mar 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DEL MAR apartments is situated 50 m away from the "Paseo Marítimo" of San Antonio, nearby the West End area with its lively atmosphere, restaurants and bars. Only 450 m from the sandy beach of San Antonio. In the complex you will find a pool with a big terrace and sun beds. There is a snack-bar with pool table and satellite TV. All studios are equipped with air conditioning, full bathroom, satellite TV, kitchenette, mini-fridge and balcony. Not all rooms have balconies. Not all rooms have sea view overlooking downtown San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Apartahotel Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apart Hotel Del Mar
Apartahotel Del Mar Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing