We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel was good, but the sister hotel is awful and ruined the trip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fiesta Hotel Cala Gracio

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fiesta Hotel Cala Gracio
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hotel was good, but the sister hotel is awful and ruined the trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Can't fault the hotel fiesta, the hotel was newly refurbished and a walk away from the madness. The hotel itself was adult only and quite small so always space to eat with no hustle or bustle. Food and drinks was also good. The problems come with the 3 star sister hotel next door where the guests can use the pool area and completely fill up any bed space etc. there is also a 5 a side football area next to the supposedly adult area where as you can imagine balls are constantly thrown over and extremely loud. The staff from next door where you check in a zero helpful and really couldn't careless
I would return to the hotel if it was on its own but not in the way they work this as it just doesn't work. Shame really

Room Tip: Upstairs room with sea view you pay extra but worth it and travel out everyday the pool area is for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, Manager at Fiesta Hotel Cala Gracio, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
First of all, we would like to thank you for have spent your time to communicate us your experience.
Please accept our sincerest apologies if we were not able to satisfy your needs. Your opinion is very important for us because it helps us to improve our services.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

J.M. Quiroga
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    71
    27
    7
    2
See reviews for
7
119
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Pros

Small but nice rooms, which have recently been refurbished and are well decorated.

Really lovely waitresses and bar staff. Cleaning staff were also very nice and always said hello.

Nice beer and good all inclusive options.

No additional charges for use of the safe or air conditioning.

Good choice of food at the Tanit (the sister hotel that shares facilities with the Cala Gracio) and good breakfasts and lunch buffets at the Cala Gracio. The Tanit however has a lot more food and you can really pig out there. The quality of the food is also pretty good, though not exceptional.

If you go out for the day you can order a basic but very nice picnic which is made up for you.

2 nice adults pools with jacuzzi

Really close to 2 very lovely beaches

Close to San Antonio Bay, about a 20-30min walk, 5 minute bus ride or 15 minute ferry crossing.

Cons

We were greeted on arrival by the rude reception staff at the Tanit (which services both hotels as there’s no reception at the Cala Gracio), made up of unpleasant sweaty old men. Later, when I called reception due to a problem with our safe they just hung up on me, this happened twice and was by a younger man, so rudeness isn’t confined to just the older guys.

Most rooms lack a balcony and have poor views. The rooms with balconies seemed to face the mayhem of the Tanit and really didn’t seem worth the 20euro per night upgrade.

We had a broken hairdryer, which fell apart and exposed all the wires etc., made particulalrly unsafe as it was fixed above the sink - we reported it straight away but no one came to fix this.

The Tanit is a behemoth of a hotel and unavoidable, the guests of which seem to be entirely made up of the cast of Benidorm. I honestly didn’t think it was possible to see that many obese people in one place. Tanit guests are also able to use the Cala Gracio pool, which I think is a mistake as we paid an extra £200 per person to stay at the Cala Gracio, yet each day all the decent sun loungers had been taken by some selfish Tanit guests, who get there early, leave their towels on the sunbeds then either head back to the Tanit hotel bar or go out for the day. It should also be noted that the Tanit guests are all English.

The Cala Gracio is mainly made up of Germans and while I don’t like to judge nationalities as a whole German women seem to be nice and friendly, while German men come across as miserable and inpolite.

One of the Chefs at the Tanit was quite rude, even telling people off for helping themselves when there was no one around to carve the roasted meat, not that she carved it either - she just shouted at people and walked off leaving long queues of bemused people waiting for their food. It’s a buffet, I thought you were meant to help yourself!

The buffet at the Tanit is pure madness, with people rushing round to get to the food and even pushing people out of the way. It seemed to be full of people who hadn’t eaten for 20 mins, scared this could be their last meal and afraid the AI options would be revoked at at any time, determined to eat more at any cost.

Dinners at the Cala Gracio were a lot more pleasant and relaxed, though the food can get repetitive quickly. The food is well cooked but the a la carte menu is almost the same every day and is pretty dull.


Conclusion

We paid a lot of money to stay at the Cala Gracio and although this was all inclusive, considering the rudeness of the Tanit staff and the pool being taken over by Tanit guests it didn’t seem worth the extra money - though I wouldn't recommend staying at the Tanit as an alternative, not unless the TV show Benidorm is your idea of cracking holiday. If the hotel was one or two hundred pounds cheaper and Tanit guests were banned from using the Cala Gracio pool this hotel could be really something special.

Rude staff get your holiday off to a bad start but I do have to say if it wasn’t for the excellent waitresses and bar staff at the Cala Gracio I think our holiday would have been ruined, I can’t praise them highly enough. Overall we had a lovely holiday in Ibiza and it’s a fantastic place, I love the bay and Ibiza town, it’s only a few hours from the UK and the weather is amazing, but I was still glad to go home after the 7 days and to get away from the unavoidable Tanit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mindhavens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Fiesta Hotel Cala Gracio, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments and advice. With your help we can always improve our services. We have already passed your comments to the people in charge. We hope to see you again at one of our Fiesta Hotel Group hotel/resort in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

If I was to fault this hotel, I would be being picky! This is more suited for couples & the older crowd! If your looking for a crazy clubbing hotel then this is not for you. I went with my Boyf for one week all inc. we where looking for a few nights out and a relax too & we wernt Disapointed!

Located a minute from the lovely cala gracio beach. It's 10 mins from sunset strip. The west end is about 15 mins. The rooms were nice no issues here, with free air con & safe. The maid came every day.

Food not problems at all. We have been to 3* hotels before and received utter crap. Breakfast great choice. Lunch a great of choice from the buffet, soups, salad, veg, roast meat. plus a fresh main menu from the grill, meat or fish. Fresh fruit, ice cream and puddings. No complaints here & we enjoy good food. It may depend on the package but our drinks where all premium labels and they where not shy with the measures.

The staff were great, they really did the hotel proud. Nothing was too much effort! Great customer service from start to finish!

I believe the best measure of a hotel is if you would return and I certainly would return to this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pinkladyPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

When you arrive at the Cala Gracio you actually check in a the hotel next door, the Tanit. The Tanit is a large, fairly ugly affair full of the type of (generally British) holiday maker I try to avoid (lots of kids, lots of beer, lots of noise). Don't be put off. The beautiful, adult only, Cala Gracio is close by.

On checking in we we taken out of the Tanit, round the corner to the beautiful, quiet Cala Gracio. the room we beautiful, clearly recently improved, a good size with a jet bath that my girl friend adored. They were cleaned every day to a very good standard. There is a pool that is adults only that was a great size with lots of sunbeds around it (yes, there were towels on the beds at dawn but this is true of most hotels sadly) and also has a jacuzzi. There is also a beach that is 200m out of the back of the hotel that offered a great sunset view.

Location wise, the hotel is about a 20 minute walk from Sunset strip and 30 to the main town, close enough for a gentle stroll in the evening, far enough away that you feel you're in a bit of an oasis from the "fun and games" associated with the island. In my eyes, the location was perfect.

We stayed on an all inclusive basis and were blown away by the quality of the food and the service of the staff, both of which were of a very high standard. I was very impressed by this side of the hotel and do not have a bad word to say about it.

Overall I can think of nothing bad to say about the hotel and would go back without a moments hesitation.

Room Tip: There is a great walk along the coast to the Sunset Strip, follow signs to the ferry port and turn l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FluffP7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Me and my wife went first time to Ibiza, I was many times in Spain before.
This hotel is very close to a large hotel Fiesta with the capacity more than 500 people.
Fortunatelly this hotel with overcrowded swimmingpool does not disturb, even if it is very close.
Rooms are good quiet and generally clean, only mouldy sealing at the bath. Partly fixed on request.
A big layer of the dust on the ventilator. Fixed on request.

We had the premium all incl.
The staff was very friendly and good. The best one was "IRENE"
The big contrast are really very poor cooked meals. Majority is a disaster, minority edible.
What is misleading - everything is very good looking.
We tried grilled fish 10 times - disaster everytime. One cheap oil bad taste. The same for pork or beef, veal steak.
We have not enjoyed any cooked meal.
It is an absolute opposite to a great spanish cuisine.
The same is for desserts and sweets. Cheap good looking bad stuff.
The fruits, vegetables, salads are good. Some cheeses very good.
Breakfast menu is good. Very good fruitshakes.
Just the lowest quality of the black tea and coffee is from the machine.

The service at bar was excellent but only vino della casa. We had to pay for the average wine.
All other all incl. drinks were good and wide choice.

The beach is small, intimate atmosphere, good for children.

Recommendable only if the food is better.

Room Tip: the room should be as far as possible from the big hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarioNolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Are you the wrong side of 25 but still want to party in Ibiza? Do you want to go and see some world class DJs without stepping in vomit when you return to your hotel afterwards? Do you dislike people who shout 'oi oi!' down hotel corridors? Do you need that bit of extra time to sleep off your hangovers these days? Then hotel Cala Gracio is for you!

This small adults only (bliss) hotel, with its lovely adults only pool is just a few steps from the beautiful Cala Gracio beach (not adults only but surprisingly few screaming children). Watch The Wanted's 'Glad you came' video on YouTube and you'll see the beach. It's very small and busy yet somehow still relaxing; the water is shallow, calm and clear and cooling off in it is the best hangover cure ever! We went every day and didn't understand why other guests stayed by the pool - sunloungers are only 5 Euro and available all day, whereas at the main pool people were putting towels out on sunloungers at 1.50am (no joke - we witnessed this when returning to the hotel one night!).

The room was of a really good standard, it seemed fairly recently refurbished and my only complaint is that the grouting in the bathroom had got quite mouldy. Other than that it had lots of luxurious extras - a proper double bed (not two pushed together) air conditioning which worked well, really thick double curtains which make the room incredibly dark so you can sleep in, lots of hangers and a decent sized terrace outside (we had a ground floor room). Many rooms don't have balconies and I believe there may be an extra charge for one. We didn't pay any extra for our terrace so ground floor rooms facing the back are probably the best as you do get a generous amount of outdoor space.

The food is good though we skipped dinner. I love going to restaurants and eating in the hotel dining room just isn't the same. Having said that the choice is good and there's lots of tasty stuff with some dishes cooked to order. It's just not as nice as sitting watching the sunset and the wine is horrible.

The best thing about this hotel, for me, is the location. We stayed at the Tanit, the large hotel which shares the site and is also owned by Fiesta, a few years ago and we loved the location but the Tanit is really for families, there are screaming kids EVERYWHERE and some of the English guests are quite embarrassing. The walls are also the thinnest of any hotel I've ever stayed in, to the point that you can hear every bodily function coming from the room next door. You still have to use the reception at the Tanit and but apart from that you have separate facilities. You are away from the beer boys and chaos of San Antonio but you can walk to the sunset bars in 15 minutes, but don't walk along the main road as this takes twice as long. Walk up the main road to San An for about 5 minutes until you get to the Sol Bahia apartments, take a right here and you can walk along the coast and will arrive at the quieter strip of sunset bars in no time. Have a cocktail at the Sun Sea Bar if you want somewhere romantic.

The best thing about this hotel was that it was so quiet - a million miles away from the chaos of the Tanit even though it's just next door. We were never woken up by maids or other guests and as I've said the room is very dark. It just proves that you can experience the fun of San Antonio and get some sleep, all it takes is a little respect towards other guests. It's a shame that this hotel is not available on any package holidays in the Uk which made it quite expensive. At the same time this probably keep some of the riff raff away!

If you stay here you MUST: go to Ushuaia for SHM or David Guetta - 30 Euros in a taxi and unlike anything I've ever experienced; watch the sun setting at Mambo's; have dinner at Villa Mercedes and a drink in their divine chillout area afterwards; swim round from Cala Gracio to Cala Gracionetta, a smaller and even more lovely beach; have a bottle of wine and some Tapas at El Chiringuito on Cala Gracionetta beach...will have to stop now I want to go back!

Room Tip: A ground floor room facing the back of the hotel will be quiet and you'll get some outside space
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Louc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
132 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This adults only hotel is well deserving of it's 3*'s, with a little push I am sure this could achieve more. Overall the Hotel was super clean and staff (particulary bar staff and restaurant staff were very polite and attentive. (Bathroom could have been cleaner right in the nooks and crannys).

Pool was great, being an adults only, so quiet and relaxed.

Food was fine, breakfast was not particulary to my taste, but fresh bread and eggs were satisfying with fresh juice every day. Lunch was fine, pasta, fish, chicken and the option to have food cooked freshly (choice of about 5 dishes at lunch and dinner) as well as from the buffet - which always seemed fresh. There was always something to choose from and I am a fairly fussy eater, pasta, fish, pork, stews, curry's etc. Evening meal was much the same as lunch (however, different each meal time) with the addition of a roast meat, roast potatoes and also a lovely gravy / sauce.

Drinks choice available good, Smirnoff Vodka and fresh juice suited me, also the Cava and fresh orange (Mimosa / Bucks Fizz) is lovely and refreshing.

Now, onto the other hotel - Tanit. As you are staying at the Cala Cracio you can also use the Tanit facilities / restaurant. Snack bar was ok, not great. This hotel is a lot more lively that the Gracio, with familys, groups and children. Large pool and evening entertainment would be fine if you had kids with you. Tip - on the last day, you can use the 'courtesy room' at the Tanit, you can book at reception for 30 mins for a quick shower and freshen up. While it's not a great room, it's a great idea and suited us well as we flew around 18:00.

Another good thing about this Hotel is they don't take your band off you on the last day. I've stayed at a 5* where the band was removed as soon as you check out.

Finally, this hotel is in a great location, lovely little beach next door. And is only a ten / twenty minute walk into San Antonio, Sunset Strip, Ibiza Rocks.

Room 123 was a little noisy during the morning - we think this was becuase it was next to the kitchen, this was a little annoying, but didn't spoil the holiday, it might be worth asking for a sea view or room on second floor as they seemed to have a balcony and we didn't.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view / second floor room. 123 quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmajaneMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Antoni de Portmany
0.7 mi away
Blau Park Aparthotel
Blau Park Aparthotel
#28 of 106 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bellamar Hotel
Bellamar Hotel
#5 of 106 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
9.7 mi away
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
#4 of 35 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
#2 of 106 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palladium Hotel Palmyra
Palladium Hotel Palmyra
#3 of 106 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fiesta Hotel Tanit
Fiesta Hotel Tanit
#7 of 106 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiesta Hotel Cala Gracio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiesta Hotel Cala Gracio

Property: Fiesta Hotel Cala Gracio
Address: Carrera Cala Gracio s/n, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fiesta Hotel Cala Gracio 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiesta Hotel Cala Gració is the ideal place to spend a fabulous holiday with your couple. The common areas, bar and restaurant have been completely refurbished to offer top quality facilities and comfort for adults. It features two freshwater pools with a Jacuzzi in an area designated for adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fiesta Hotel Cala Gracio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Gracio Ibiza
Fiesta Hotel Cala Gracio Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing