We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a great place, it made our holiday.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Valencia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Such a great place, it made our holiday.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Having read all the reviews we were sure we had chosen the right place and our arrival and welcome soon proved this right. Fernando and his family go out of their way to make you welcome and look after you as best they can.
Our room was just what we needed, the air conditioning worked when needed, the balcony was a boon for relaxing and the pool was quiet and clean. The beds are comfortable and the rooms cleaned daily. Breakfast and lunch snacks are available until about 1530hrs, the selection of breakfast is very good, I'd recommend the muesli and fruit at least once during your stay. The food can be eaten inside, on the quiet front terrace or by the pool which ever suits you everything is reasonably priced. Alcohol and soft drinks are also well priced.
The hotel is five minutes from the main town in a fairly quiet area, especially at night, and the guests are normally fairly quiet and unobtrusive. We were never really bothered by any late or early morning arrivals although on a couple of occasions there had been some slight noise (which we never heard) and received apologies for.
We came to Ibiza to visit our daughter who was working there and at the end of our stay Fernando's daughter told our daughter she could pop in any time to use to pool while she was in Ibiza. We had a late flight and after checking out Fernando let us stay around the hotel until it was time, sadly, to leave. What a wonderful family run hotel, I'm sure this is the best in Ibiza and we wish you all the best for the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    42
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
109
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had booked our 2 night stay here through booking.com and upon our arrival we had no problems checking in. It is a family owned place, and their english is not the best, but they were very eager to help and make sure we had everything we needed, including wifi and hair dryers in all the rooms. It was very relaxing, and was within walking distance to the beach, the bars and several restaurants. The rooms were minimalistic but had everything you needed. For the price, an excellent place to stay while in Ibiza!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nisha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Having come from staying a week at Osiris (see my other review) where we were traumatized by the terrible menu and poor service we were certainly very appreciative of a wonderful experience that Hostal Valencia has to offer.
This cute little family-run “hostal” is the kind you see in the romantic comedies and the kind hard to find in the era of Marriot and Holliday Inn. You really do feel at home the moment you step in. The reception is cheery and inviting and the pool area has an amazingly relaxing feel to it (just like everyone else said, plenty of sun beds and no need to get up before dawn to get one). But my favorite place was the garden patio where breakfast and lunch are served – I just wanted to sit there forever! The rooms are unassuming, but equally well maintained and tastefully decorated. Housekeeping was done ninja-style – in a blink of an eye your room went from “vacation chaos” to “rustic chill.” Breakfast and lunch are available for purchase. The menu is simple, but all the items are very well done and beautifully presented. I tried the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon sandwich on the first day and just kept ordering it every morning for the rest of my stay - why mess with perfection?? My sister ordered cereal with a side of fruit plate and – well, you can see the fruit plate on the pic attached. Fernando and Maria Antonia are wonderful hosts, friendly, attentive and patient at all times. Despite being a two-star “hostal,” their reception is open 24 hours a day and you know that in Ibiza this might make a lot of difference! On the last day of our stay we all sat around the pool only half-jokingly brainstorm for ideas that would allow us to move in the Hostal full time. So, yes, I think it would be fair to say that we will be back – hopefully very soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuliaVB29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed here in Summer 2012 with my sister for 10 days and had a lovely relaxing stay. We were worried about the '18-30' type hotels you hear about and definitely didn't want to stay somewhere like that so were really happy when we rocked up at Hostal Valencia. It is a reasonably small hotel run by friendly owners who will go out of their way to help you with anything you need. The room was adequate - clean and not too cramped, with a nice balcony to sit out on in the evenings. The pool was never very busy so you can just chill out round that in the daytime without worrying about anything at all! The bar is always open for drinks/snacks as well. It is a very short walk down to the harbour (10 mins-ish) and a little bit further to Cafe del Mar. A lovely spot to spend a week or so relaxing :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pow17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We booked this hotel after reading many of the good reviews this hotel received on here and I must say we weren't disappointed. My husband and I booked a long weekend break away (which kinda also doubled up as a mini honeymoon/anniversary holiday). The price for a 4 night/5day stay was very reasonable and including our flights with BA came to just under £450 each. Transfer time from the airport by taxi was reasonably quick too and upon arrival found the hotel to be very well maintained, clean with a pretty patio garden to the front (which is lovely to sit out on in the morning for breakfast, or even for a spot of lunch) as it is well shaded by the surrounding bushes to include lots of pretty potted plants dotted about the place. Inside there are quite a few personal touches too. The room we were allocated was nice, cleaned daily and very well maintained (we had a room overlooking the pool) and it was also quite too, both during the day and in the evening so you could get a good nights rest. The only down side I would say about our room was the smell on very first arrival and that as non-smokers, you do noticed when a room has had previous smokers occupying it however after a while (and allowing air to circulate) you didn't actually notice the smell.
The hotel itself is located within walking distance (about 8-10 minutes) to the main San Antonio beach / bars and restaurants, and Sunset Strip etc but far away enough from all the hustle and bustle of the bigger, noisier younger filled hotels. So a great little hotel if you are looking for a bit of relaxation too and not having to fight over the sunbeds. There is food available at an additional cost plus the hosts do allow you to run a little tab for the duration of your stay giving you one less thing to worry about in having to pay every time you want a drink or some nibbles etc (this is paid on your day of departure). The hosts (or should I say the family) are exceptional friendly providing service with a smile as well as advice and direction to places if needed. They recommend a fabulous little Spanish Tapas restaurant (after we enquired about somewhere nice to eat that served traditional Spanish Fair) — and during our visit to this little restaurant bumped into the hosts daughter 'Sheila' who arrived at the same tapas place with visiting friends and family. So that indicated to us if the locals use this place it must be good - which it was. WIFI is available free of charge although we couldn't get much of a signal up on the 3rd floor or on the far side of the pool but in the main reception and out front in the garden patio the signal was good. Its also not far from the Bus station either so visiting other parts of Ibiza such as Ibiza Town was handy (and cheap (2Euros) compared to using cabs) plus at a cost of only 4 Euros direct to the airport, a definite bargain.
Overall the family who run this place (Fernando, Shiela (i forget her name in spanish) and Fernando's wife) make you feel so welcome, almost a home from home. A lovely little hidden gem of a place. If we get the chance in the future, will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curleypussycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

not sure if i want to tell people about this little gem- keep it a secret :) just returned from a week here with my boyfriend.

we were too early to check in but that wasnt a problem, bags kept safe- got some really good value for money lunch in the hostal, then able to check in about 12.
think about 4 floors - lift available

pros:
very friendly staff (even when we were returning at 7-8am post night at the clubs)
pool nice and chillled during the day, always available sun loungers (no one putting down towels at 8am)
rooms cleaned every day to a high standard and clean towels
free safe/ air con/tv/ hair dryer and wifi
good snacks and beer prices
plenty of information about island/ club tickets sales
no groups of young lads/ girls shouting at all hours of the morning
location: walk outside turn right- keep going staight for about 6-7 mins = west end. 5-6 mins other direction= sunset strip, beaches. supermaket 1 min walk.
we had street view (only way to get a balcony) - nice to sit out in the evening and watch world go by.
good price for size of room (bigger than some hotel rooms we have had previously in ibiza), plenty of hot water, good water pressure in shower
always felt very safe here

cons:
the doors are abit on the thin side so you can hear the cleaner going around in the morning and other guests opening and closing doors.
probably a bit stupid but i didnt like the pillows, bit hard

Room Tip: for balcony- pick street view, other wise no balcony for pool view. ask for away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dublingirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The title explains it all. First of all i would like to thank the wonderful host "Fernando" and his lovely Daughter - Sorry i missed her name...

If it's your first time to Ibiza - This family run boutique hotel must be your stop. More than the Hotel the people managing the small beautiful property go beyond call of duty to help their guests.

Right from pre-arrival information and queries to guiding the best possible ways to enjoy your vacation in super Ibiza ...they do it all for you and more importantly with a big Smile ...:)

Now let me come to the Hostal - It actually is better maintained then many hotels. ultra clean and very soothing. specially for noisy ..fun Ibiza ...this brings serenity this brings calm to you.

Pros -
1) Located 7-8 mins by walk to St Antoni Bus Stop - Ideal way to reach out to 50+ beaches Ibiza has to offer

2) Very Clean Rooms

3) Rooms have pool view and street view. i requested for pool view but was lucky to get Street view - you get pool everywhere but the greenery that they maintain in premises is superb and sitting in balcony on street side is extremely peaceful - specially on first floor

4) Hosts are exceptional - provides breakfast for an additonal fee but can bet no one can give you better value for money deal for your stay.

5) The sunset Strip is also 10 mins walk and hence this gives you no nonsense sleep if you need in night :) very very peaceful

6) Can buy disco tickets from hotel at discount - though this may be available at all hotels given Ibiza runs on tourism and party

Cons -

Walls are bit thin - so in night you can hear other guests - but this isnt an issue as guys you are going to IBIZA ...sleeping in night ...? try Mallorca then :))


All in all i can thank the Hostal Valencia for making our trip memorable and in our entire trip it proved to be cheapest but the best hotel to stay ...

Room Tip: Go for Street view - first floor for greenery else pool view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SameerBansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sant Antoni de Portmany hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza
Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza
#1 of 106 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Tarba
Hostal Tarba
#11 of 106 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ses Savines Hotel
Ses Savines Hotel
#8 of 106 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal Mari
Hostal Mari
#26 of 106 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Puchet
Hotel Puchet
#6 of 106 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Orosol Hotel
Orosol Hotel
#14 of 106 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Valencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Valencia

Property: Hostal Valencia
Address: Calle Valencia 23, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Valencia 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hostal Valencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Valencia Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing