We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picked the perfect place for our stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marina Playa Hotel & Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My first impression was veronica and the staff!!! veronica was amazing and couldnt do enough to help us with advice on everything!!!! Next was how amazing the view was from the pool area. Our room was close to the reception and pool area, so my two teenage girls couldn't moan about stairs with their cases!!!! We didn't get a chance to eat downstairs so cant comment but we did eat breakfast directly on the beach opposite and it was nice. Good food, cheap and spanishy!! We only ate their because the kids knew they liked the food and didn't want to try anywhere else local. It was in an amazing location. Especially for the gorgeous beach opposite which wasn't too packed. Not far from the supermarket and a decent walk to the west end which is the main area for bars etc etc!!! The rooms were cleaned every couple of days and had everything you needed in the room!!! Fridge in particular!!! I couldn't have picked a more perfect place in the right spot. That was because I read the good reviews!!!! Most of the people who stayed there were really friendly and ranged from families to all boy or all girl groups and mixed!!! Something for everyone. I would definately recommend it!!!! I'm already looking forward to going back but I hope they are not making too many changes!!! It doesn't need it!!!

Room Tip: I had a studio room for 3 people and it was fine. Not sea view but I was either sitting round the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sashajoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 605 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Where do I start?! This is our 3rd year on the run for my husband, two boys and myself to what we have said the best hotel we have visited in the many years of coming to Ibiza, so much to bring our family and friends with us to show them a great hotel BUT! After our 1st day the hotel started bringing new white furniture, Kabana beds which we thought to be a nice touch, until they brought a new pool bar and new prices to go along with it and now being rather expensive, which after a couple of days lead us to spending very little time there now and spending our refreshment money at the Marina Playa restaurant below, where we were greeted by the friendly manager Paco and Laura and the rest of the staff with extremely reasonable priced excellent food and refreshments too.
The reason my title review is SHAME is this used to be a fantastic family orientated hotel with brilliant management, staff and prices too.
I strongly have to point out the new manager Javier I found could be quite patronising towards his staff in front of the customers, also not very friendly towards the customers so much to even get a smile let alone a hello!
BUT PLEASE let me express the excellent staff from Johan who greeted us on arrival to Veronica to Carmen who are on during the day, to the lovely Juan and the beautiful Elle and last but certainly not least the true manager our friend Sergio, we miss you already and very sad to say that it is highly unlikely we will return to what we called our 2nd home, due to the cost and management.
It seems to me they want a different clientele and not the usual family friendly who can afford to stay here anymore even with our loyal discount voucher.
We are all very sad and going to miss the hotel and staff so much. :(
P.S The newly refurbished rooms are lovely though but now an ideal hotel for clubbers who also want to chill out with lots of money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaServitur, Director Comercial at Marina Playa Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

First of all , we would like to express our gratitude for choosing again Marina Playa as an option to enjoy your holidays in Ibiza, as well as giving your opinions in such an important website like this one.

We regret that you haven't enjoyed and gotten the best out of the hotel. However our intention is to make the customer come back again, making them feel like at home.
Our main intention, in our property (which is the same that we have been doing in the last 30 years) is to give a better service, take care of those customers who want an extended offer of the bar menu and to add more furniture to the terrace so there is more space and everyone can enjoy the fantastic views from the terrace.

We do apologize if you found the prices to be too expensive. The reason of our prices is that we have extended the bar menu with a variety of different drink selections, to adapt to all type of customers, from economic drinks to more elaborate ones and therefore our prices have risen. However our prices are lower than other hotels, we invite you to try other places and compare prices.

We do appreciate that you liked Marina Playa restaurant, as it´s part of the property. We are working on the prices so they are the same in restaurant and terrace.

On the other hand, during the months of July and August there is a lot of work on site and sometimes the staff is stressed, so we would like to express our apology if you found that our General manager was stress, but sometimes these things happen as we are all human.

Sergio has been with us long time, he is another key person in the hotel and now he is supporting an idea of building with the help of other employees a chill out terrace for our clients, so we can expand our offers of food and drinks and our customers can enjoy this space.

In conclusion, the hotel property is working hard every year, to improve and achieve that our customers feel comfortable, improving our facilities and services. We are doing a great effort and we appreciate the comments that we have so it helps us to keep improving and to change those negative opinions into positive ones, and decide to come back.

As we have already mention, we apply a discount to our clients who come back. We have no intention of changing our loyal customers or be an accommodation only for "clubbers", as our aim, is to have customer who want to enjoy and relax at our property.

We are glad of your good comments of our employees Johan, Verónica, Carmen, Juan, Eli and Sergio and we will keep working hard as our aim is to make you feel as if it was your second house.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

So many things can be said, it was all about the room for us. We booked our holiday without a hotel which we won't be doing again although we were very lucky to come across this hotel. Juan on the reception in the night was amazing and also the manager and daytime staff we're equally helpful!

The room was fresh, clean.. although the we're minor things we would change like the mattress the beds were huge and all hotels have the same mattresses I believe!

Definitely heading there again!

Room Tip: Studio apartment front facing gives you a view of the bay at san antonio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Very conveniently placed. We rested for seven days. The view from window was nice and calm. The staff was friendly. The pool was nice, plenty of sunbeds, excellent service at the bar. Nice room, large balcony. Bath is not large, the water pressure is very strange, sharp hot and cold at once sharp, every three seconds. This is terrible. The kitchen is arranged very silly. Cleaning room bad. Bed linen is not smoother. Plenty of space for free parking.
Near the hotel, there is beach and promenade for walking and playing sports.
Great and fun holiday town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank doberoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a four night stay at Marina Playa. This was our second time at the hotel. We throughly enjoyed our stay but were a little sad to hear of the changes the new owners are making.
We have returned this year thinking we had found a little gem last year. The rooms are very nice but in places could still do with modernising. The floors were chipped in our apartment and the groat in the bathroom was dirty. In all we didnt find the apartments to be as clean as last year.
Whilst there we saw the new bar area being formed. It looks lovely with kabana beds and white sofa's. It was made quite clear to us by the owners that they were looking to attract people who could would pay 100 euros for champagne and 80 euros to lie on a kabana bed. This totally spoils the hotel. We are in our 30's, a group of girls but still want somewhere quiet by day which is what attracted us to the hotel.
We were also told it would be adults only next year and were told by other guests who regularly go a lot more expensive.
In my opinion the Marina Playa is an excellent hotel but if they are want to attract the type of clientel they appear to they need to improve the spec of the rooms and communal areas. Such a shame. Not sure we will be returning for a third year.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hendlesmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

* The area: Being so close to the beach and the pubs, we were happily surprised to find out we did not hear any noise at night. The street right in front and behind the hotel is a quiet residential area with nice houses and that probably encourages people to maintain a low level of noise
The beach is just across the street from the hotel; it is not one of the best beaches in Ibiza but it is a good option to go for a swim after a day out. It is cleaned up very early in the morning so you don´t get to see all the rubbish after the partying at night
* The hotel staff: REALLY nice and helpful ( ALL OF THEM)
* The room: VERY comfortable beds; nice balcony with a table and a couple of chairs to enjoy the lovely view of the bay; useful air-conditioning when the sun warms the room.
The wi-fi doesn´t work well in the rooms but it works fine in the hotel lobby

* Getting to know the island: We had our car and we went on four island tours, following the suggestions in these links, which I thoroughly recommend:
North:http://www.ibiza-spotlight.com/guide/island_tours_01_i.htm
West:http://www.ibiza-spotlight.com/guide/island_tours_02_i.htm
South-West:http://www.ibiza-spotlight.com/guide/island_tours_03_i.htm
South of Sant Antoni:http://www.ibiza-spotlight.com/guide/island_tours_04_i.htm

Room Tip: "Studio with sea view" is a very good choice for a couple (the higher the floor, the bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosaperezparapar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at the Marina Playa for a week, arriving in the wee hours of Saturday morning. Johan, who was at the desk at the time, couldn't be more helpful. He offered to lock our luggage while we went for a wander into the "interesting" part of San Antonio, and on our return, we were given the sofas in the relaxing room and offered blankets/pillows. When we woke up several hours later, we were greeted by Carmen who'd instructed colleagues to go about their business quietly and to not play music. On top of that, they pulled out all the stops to get our room ready for check-in several hours before the official time.

We were given a lovely studio on the ground floor, which had its own kitchenette and balcony, plus all the mod-cons we needed. When booking, we decided not to pay for the sea view, and we think we were better off as we were in a quieter part of the hotel. Nevertheless, we still had our earplugs on standby, knowing the reputation of this part of the island!

The beds were very comfortable and were changed every couple of days, along with the towels.
The restaurant below the hotel served amazing, humongous pizzas, as well as the biggest English breakfast, all for reasonable prices. These kept us going all day!
The pool wasn't busy the times we were there, and although overlooked the street/beach, it still felt private.

We thought this hotel was very well placed - far enough away from the San Antonio chaos, but near enough to enjoy it on our terms, with plenty of shops and restaurants to visit. The beach in front of the hotel is very nice and easily accessible, as are the other beaches down the road. We hired a car for part of the week and visited plenty of beaches, and can conclude that ours was one of the best ones around. However, BEWARE - my bag was stolen while my hubby was lying down next to it. Luckily, we took notice of the warnings given to us by the hotel staff and didn't have any valuables in the bag, so the only things taken were sun cream and other small items. An annoying inconvenience more than anything. Make sure you hold on to your bag at all times, and don't have anything of value in it!

All in all, this was one of the best hotels I've stayed in. It's small (intimate), clean, modern and in a really good location. Moreover, the staff were fantastic, making us feel like valued guests. Thanks to Johan, Carmen and Veronica. I must also extend my thanks to Juan who was extremely helpful on our last day, you know what you did!

Room Tip: The room we had didn't have the sea view - perhaps it was a bit quieter?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Antoni de Portmany
0.1 mi away
Bellamar Hotel
Bellamar Hotel
#4 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
927 reviews
0.1 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
#5 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
2,108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol House Ibiza by Melia
Sol House Ibiza by Melia
#1 of 7 in Port d'es Torrent
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Gran Sol
Hotel Gran Sol
#1 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
1,578 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#1 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,398 reviews
12.9 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#2 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Playa Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Playa Hotel & Apartments

Address: Calle Sol Sortint s/n, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range: $63 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Playa Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Apartments Marina Playa is part of Typic Hotels Group. It is located in front of a beautiful beach. Es Puetó in San Antonio Bay. It is an adults only 4 stars hotel where you can rest and enjoy the sun and spectacular sunsets at its Aperture Terrace. It has every day music sessions by DJ Masyga, our resident DJ. Most of our studios have been refurnished during 2016 winter. We have redecorated the studios in an easy going and Mediterranean style. A trendy hotel where you can reconnect to things you like most. A place where our guests become friends and they enjoy their holidays getting to know themselves again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Playa Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Playa Apartments Hotel Sant Antoni De Portmany
Marina Playa Hotel & Apartments Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing