We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel spoilt by young clubbers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
azuLine Hoteles Mar Amantis I & II
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We thought the hotel was good. Rooms were clean but basic. Food was good and there was good variety over the fortnight. Yes you had to queue at times for drinks at the bar but we had expected this. Pool area was good and no problem getting a lounger at 9am on a morning. The kids club was good for our children, aged 5 and 8, and there was entertainment every night, some nights were better than others.

We were sold this hotel as a family hotel by Thomas Cook. Unfortunately the hotel did not seem to take into account that families and young clubbers have different sleep patterns. We were woken up most morning between 4 and 5am by shouting and doors slamming. The hotel did little about this even when we complained. Hotel staff also did little to stop people drinking who had obviously had too much. This resulted in my children having to watch a young German man being assaulted by a drunk Brit.

We enjoyed the hotel but Thomas Cook needs to decide who it wants to sell the accommodation to.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kij1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (960)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 960 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Mar Amantis 2. We knew it was located in an area that would be busy, possibly rowdy at night due to bars and clubs, so expected some interrupted sleep. But this didn't happen at all. There were some groups of young people but quite a lot of families with young children too. I imagine there are times when the hotel can be full of clubbers just there to party all night and sleep all day on the beach. The ones we did see never caused any problems. They didn't hang around the hotel much, probably had something to do with the poor substitute for alcohol served at the bar.

We arrived in the evening and decided to go down to the bar and look around. The first thing we noticed was the long que! then we realised that as you could only get 2 drinks each at a time ( the hotel 'rules' stated that you could not order more until you had finished the first ones!! this was ignored by most) and with this limit in place guests would go straight to the back of the que again. It was outrageous and seemed to force people to drink more, not to mention drinks were served in small plastic cups (2 cups of lager was the equivalent of just over half a pint)! Families tended to stay in the hotel because the evening entertainment was geared towards children, everyone else got the hell out.

THE FOOD IS VERY POOR. Going across the road to eat was never a problem, there is someone on the door who scans a card you're given to get in, the feel of the 'eating area' is that of college canteen with staff collecting and scraping plates in a rushed, violent manner. At first it looks like there's a lot of variety but trays of lettuce or tomatos or cucumber don't really constitute variety. The dressed salads were always full of chopped processed ham/spam YUK! I think they have a a chef they absolutely love because they manage to reform all the food not eaten the previous day. My partner picked up some battered 'things' to try; turned out to be battered cauliflower?! Desserts were awful. Small clear plastic cups half filled with jelly!! or pots of what looked like angel delight but tasted overly sweet and grainy. On one occasion they served up a batch of cold custard with plain biscuits on top and sprinkled with cinnamon. Its all about cooking on the cheap.

Even when we slept-in and got up for lunch the maids would always make sure the room was cleaned, but only the basics, shelves in the bathroom not in use were left to collect dust. Towels would be changed every day but they didn't once change the bedding.

We avoided the pool because it was too busy and we're not into getting up at the crack of dawn to get sunbeds. We enjoyed the beaches along the main strip instead. the hotel accommodates more people than it can provide for. Again, making maximum money and keeping standards low. Afternoon snacks included burgers/hot-dogs and chips, clearly catering for a certain diet cheaply.

3* hotel but should be a 2*

We would definitely go back to the area but not this hotel

Room Tip: We booked late so didn't have a choice of room but it seems our room was on the quieter side at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 708Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

As a group of 3 young girls, Mar Amantis was a great place for us to stay for a week in Ibiza. We were in Mar Amantis 2 and had very few problems. The desk staff were a little unfriendly but they sorted any issues effectivley. The room itself was clean and big enough for the three of us to get ready and the air con was well-used. Noise was expected at night-time and we were often out until the early hours anyway, the only thing that bothered us was loud banging doors. The pool at number 2 was always busy and finding a sunbed was a bit of a mission - you have to get there early or wait until later on. The food at the hotel was better than expected, the nights were themed (Mexican on Thursday was our favourite!) and there was always something for everyone, we ate out once aswell. The snack bar is the best thing about the hotel, the woman who makes the food is lovely and the hot dogs and onion rings are ideal after a night out! The drinks are 2 per person, but they're very strong! The hotel's location was good for us as travelling is required to get to any of the superclubs and the water taxi (2.50euros) is great value for money and the last one over to San Antonio at midnight was great - especially when you got the one that played music and had flashing lights! I would recommend this hotel for groups of young people or even families as there was alot of entertainment for children - but i don't think the noise at night would be appreciated!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelling_senorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

I'm just back from staying in this hotel for a week. The hotel is lovely & staff very friendly. I enjoyed the food although it can be a bit repetative but there's plenty to choose from. We ate out twice, which was very reasonable. We were in amantis 2 and yes, it was noisy at night with people running up & down, banging on the doors etc. They seem to put all the Brits in together!! I had read the reviews before I went so I knew what to expect. The pool area at both hotels was great with the pool at 1 being the quieter one. The entertainers were lovely, very friendly. The shows at night were ok, The African Footprint Acrobats were fab, but the comedy show sucked!! All in all we had a good holiday & I have no real complaints about the hotel, just the anti social behaviour of some other guests!! I know that some others had made complaints to the hotel, and their responses weren't what you would hope for, particuarly as the hotel advertises for families.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fionaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We have just returned from an 11 night stay at the Mar Amantis Hotel. After 4 nights of interrupted sleep at the Mar Amantis II, due to the groups of party goers arriving back in the early hours making as much noise as they possibly could, I complained to reception, they commented that the younger people have no respect for those sleeping so they are well aware of the problems. It took them another 2 days, meaning another 2 nights of broken sleep, but eventually they moved us into the Mar Amantis I. It was much quieter in there, even though our new room was by the lift we managed to have unbroken sleep. Overall the hotel was clean and tidy, the food was repetitive so we ate out a couple of times and found the meals in the surrounding area to be good value for money. My daughter enjoyed the kids club but the evening entertainment could do with improvement. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall it was good value for money once we were moved into Mar Amantis I, in a good location.

Room Tip: Mar Amantis I for a better nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank H17TY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Daytime activities where great but the night time shows needed abit of work done to them.
The Kids Club Was great and the entertainment where very friendly i really injoyed the activitied they had different ones everyday. I really injoyed the Cocktail game and the Crazy mini golf and the Aqua gym.
I loved the entertainment team they were excellent and the Club dances where really fun to do

Room Tip: Try to go into mar amantis 1 if you are a family and groups in mar amantis 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Traveled with a group of four lads, wanting a holiday for a getting pissed. Hotel was decent enough for us. Did see couples and family's in the hotel, can't imagine they would have enjoyed it as the couple of nights we stayed in, there was non stop noise through the hotel. Impossible to sleep.

But if you wanna go for clubbing then i would recommend it, not too far to the west end, and easy enough to get transport to the big clubs.

Food wasn't anything special but we got the holiday for cheap so we didn't really care.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dazerzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Antoni de Portmany
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Remo
Hotel San Remo
#16 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
1,540 reviews
1 mi away
azuLine Hotel Pacific
azuLine Hotel Pacific
#55 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel S'Estanyol
Hotel S'Estanyol
#29 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alua Hawaii Ibiza
Alua Hawaii Ibiza
#5 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
2,134 reviews
15.4 mi away
azuLine Hotel Coral Beach
0.3 mi away
Sol House Ibiza by Melia
Sol House Ibiza by Melia
#1 of 7 in Port d'es Torrent
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to azuLine Hoteles Mar Amantis I & II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about azuLine Hoteles Mar Amantis I & II

Address: Carrer Cala de Bou S/N | Bahia de San Antonio, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range: $75 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — azuLine Hoteles Mar Amantis I & II 3*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Child friendly Hotel The azuLine Hotel Mar Amantis complex, made up of two separate buildings, is situated in San Antonio bay in Ibiza. One of the buildings is on the seafront and the other barely 100 m away, with a garden area and swimming pools. Both buildings provide all the services and comforts you need to enjoy a truly unforgettable holiday by the beach.There is a shopping centre nearby with a wide range of shops, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your azuLine Hoteles Mar Amantis I & II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azuline Hoteles Mar Amantis i & Ii Hotel Sant Antoni De Portmany
Azuline Hoteles Mar Amantis i And Ii
AzuLine Hoteles Mar Amantis I & II Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing