We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better for self catering”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Apartamentos Sol Bay
Pudsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Could be better for self catering”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just got back from six nights here with my friend. We chose it as we need self catering due to being vegans, and food for us is always difficult to come by in Spain! The apartments were OK in terms of cleanliness and facilities, with the exception of cooking stuff. There were a couple of pans, a fridge and a hob basically, so we lived on noodles/pasta dishes. I would have liked an oven, toaster and kettle ideally but these were not provided. Another man who was staying asked for a toaster and kettle at reception but I don't know how successful he was as they said they'd see what they could do. The pool area was nice with lots of sunbeds all day and we had a nice balcony with a view of the lively street the apartments are on. I liked this, but if you want peace and quiet this is neither the hotel nor the resort for you! The beach is nearby and you can walk along it to San Antonio in about 45 minutes, or get the boat across which costs 3 euros. The staff were generally nice and helpful and we got to keep our room on for another day for 15 euros (due to not leaving until 23.30 and check out time being 11!). I would recommend Sol Bay for a cheap break, but not in you want to cook a lot!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director H, Gerente at Hotel Apartamentos Sol Bay, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

The management of SOL BAY APARTMENTS would like to thank you for taking time to comment your stay in our establishment.

We would like to transmit that we will do everything possible to improve our services on kitchen utilities.

Thank you for choosing us to enjoy your holidays.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    24
    28
    9
    39
See reviews for
12
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We got put here by the playa group and it was DISGUSTING, room was dirty with mouldy food still in cupboard!!, filthy balcony and broken patio table, nice big tree in our balcony, hallway to room was dark and dingy with very dirty carpets decorated with fag ends....... we DID get moved. DO NOT GO HERE!!!!!!!

Room Tip: stay at the calais de ibiza, not here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triz1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director H, Gerente at Hotel Apartamentos Sol Bay, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we apologize for any inconvenience that you had to deal on the arrival.

We will consider your comments and do whatever is necessary to improve the service for customers. We hope we made every effort for you to pass the rest of your holiday with no problems.

Hope you have in mind the effort made by staff for all hosted customers for them to enjoy their stay on the island.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sant Antoni de Portmany hotels

England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and found the apartments to be spotlessly clean; in a great location with friendly staff. We even had a sea view! What more could we ask for? I would happily stay here again and would encourage others to ignore the negative reviews.

Room Tip: Some people have mentioned the apartments are difficult to locate. We street viewed before arriving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cattyharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director H, Gerente at Hotel Apartamentos Sol Bay, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the PLAYA SOL HOTEL GROUP as your holiday accommodation to stay in Ibiza.

We are glad to hear you were satisfied in SOL BAY APARTMENTS. We try to improve our services day by day and this is a huge motivation for us to read the comments like yours.

Once again thank you for your time to write a comment and we hope we can see you again in our establishment.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights over the bank holiday, and we found it fine after reading some bad reviews about the place. It's cheap and cheerful and you get what you pay for. For us it was just somewhere to rest our heads and lie round the pool. It did exactly what it said on the tin.

There are two apartment blocks. We were lucky and got a room on the second floor of the main block which has reception in it, and over looked the pool. The daytime receptionist - Maria - is very friendly and helpful. She even booked us some restaurants and was always happy to answer any question. The other apartment block didn't seem as nice. It sounded like those people who arrive late at night/very early in the morning are placed in the second apartment block, along with some noisy clubbers.

The rooms are very basic, but cleaned every day, with new towels every now and again. 2 single beds, a sofa bed, a balcony, air con, a fridge, safey deposit box and a basic bathroom. You leave the room key at reception (24 hours), so there is no danger of losing your key. Safety deposit box is 4 euros a day and available from reception.

There were always subeds available and the pool gets the sun all day. No reviews on here mentioned the pool party that struck up in the hotel next door from about 2pm onwards though. Apart from that, it's a fairly relaxing pool.

The main apartment block is right opposite Relish - delicious place to eat from about 12.30pm, and the road has a lot of bars and restaurants along it. I only found a Tabacs on the last day though (supermarkets don't sell cigarettes), which is out of reception, on to the main road and turn left. You'll see a Tabacs sign about 500 yards down on your right hand side, just past a fairground. Stock up before Sunday as most are closed!

There are several bus stops on the road outside the apartment serviced by good buses to beaches further round the coast (Cala Bassa is a lovely option for a day) and an airport bus on the hour for 4 euors each (a bargain compared to a 25 euro taxi ride).

The water taxi to San Antonio is 2 mins walk away, but it's only about 10 euros in a taxi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gravynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director H, Gerente at Hotel Apartamentos Sol Bay, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you that you have chosen us to spend your holidays in Ibiza, and you have taken time to write your comments.

We appreciate your comments to improve our service day by day and we would like to see you again in SOL BAY APARTMENTS

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and was great. Rooms were very clean, fresh towels everyday and had a lovely view.
Pool was nice and had the sun all day :)
The hotel is a bit far from west end you can get the water ferry for 3 euros which takes no longer than 10 minutes.

Close to some nice restaurants and bars.

Overall the hotel and staff are fantastic would defiantly return :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleen_1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director H, Gerente at Hotel Apartamentos Sol Bay, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

The management of SOL BAY APARTMENTS would like to thank you for all your comments to keep on improving our services.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your holidays in Ibiza and we hope to see you again this season in our establishment.

King regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We arrived at apartmentos sol bay to be placed in the second building a little father down the road from the main reception. All was fine basic room, as we expected. Day in the air con started leaking through a hole in the ceiling and fridge also leaked.. went down to reception and a man kindly came up and fixed it which we were happy with. About 5 days into the holiday me and my boyfriend had fallen asleep with the balcony door open when we was awoken to a man in our room leaning into our possessions who had unbolted the door from the inside ready to run and legged it down the stairs. Our balcony had been placed just under the old taverns roof therefore this man had seen an opportunity and taken it the hotel moved us the next day into the main building two floors up so over all the hotel were very good just writing to inform about our experience so others know not to trust there balcony door open if on the first floor of old tavern (even if you are in the room) the thieve luckily only got away with 50 euros but he could have been anyone and the night could have ended a lot worse.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Does not deserve the bad reviews in my opinion, stayed here in August 2013 for 5 days. Friendly staff, clean basic rooms, you get what you pay for. It is a good base if you are there to party however there is probably better places to stay for families, nevertheless it was not rowdy or too loud at any point during the day or night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sant Antoni de Portmany hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Monterrey
Hotel Apartamentos Monterrey
#58 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
1.4 mi away
Residencia Horizonte
Residencia Horizonte
#68 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aparthotel Club La Sirena
Aparthotel Club La Sirena
#37 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Red Hotel by Ibiza Feeling
The Red Hotel by Ibiza Feeling
#47 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hostal Ferrer
Hostal Ferrer
#85 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Blue Apartments by Ibiza Feeling
The Blue Apartments by Ibiza Fee...
#72 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apartamentos Sol Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamentos Sol Bay

Property: Hotel Apartamentos Sol Bay
Address: C/Las Palmas 9 | Travesia Portugal, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 100 Hotels in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Apartamentos Sol Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol Bay Apartments are situated in the center of the Bay of San Antonio, close to the shopping area, restaurants, pubs and only 50 m from the beach Xinxó. Near the hotel you can find wide variety of leisure and sports, especially water sports like windsurfing, parasailing, waterskiing and catamaran sailing, besides being a perfect starting point to visit the main sights and interest of Ibiza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Apartamentos Sol Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Bay Hotel
Hotel Apartamentos Sol Bay Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing