We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base to hit the town!”
Review of Hostal Tarba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Tarba
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great base to hit the town!”
Reviewed July 2, 2009

For the price we paid we were not expecting much, and so were very surpised to find a nice basic, clean hotel. We had a triple room, just about big enough for us girls with all our clothes! Basic bathroom, but really what do you need??? Change of towels/cleaning every day, which I thought was brilliant. Basic breakfast of toast, cheese, ham, cereal, but decent restaurants at cheap prices a couple of minutes round the corner - full english brekkie for €4 - bargain!

Spent a couple of days round the pool, which was good fun meeting other guests, had music, but not loads of sunbeds. We just used our towels on the floor - same job! A supermarket is within a couple of mins walk to buy all your booze for watching the sunset, and then you are right in the centre next to the 'plastic egg' of Ibiza! West End about 5 mins away and Eden / Es Paradise about 5 mins in the opposite direction. Would definitely go and stay there again as it was clean, friendly, good service at the bar and a brilliant location to get to the all important bars and restaurants. Have fun at Hostal Tarba!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    128
    37
    10
    8
See reviews for
17
133
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

This hotel is ideally located right in the centre of San Antonio. Incredibly good value for money. Single room cost me 18 pounds per night b&b!! Rooms basic but clean. Staff very friendly and attentive. Great typical spanish bar in hotel where locals also come for a drink. Serves excellent food. I went off peak and San Antonio was probably v different to how it is in the height of summer. Off peak is nice and relaxing. Parked the car at back of hotel in bus station. Had no problems parking. Free. Not sure how easy would be in summer but quite a few quietish roads to back of hotel so might not be a problem.
Noise from street can be quite loud due to passing traffic but for the price something has to give. Otherwise, excellent place to stay. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILOVEHOLSUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2008

Just come back from a weeks stay at the Tarba.

Essentially this is a good value, well run, friendly hotel in a great location in San Antonio. It is within walking distance to the West End as well as the beach and clubs.

On arrival, my friend and I were put in a room that was far too small. Without hesitation, the hotel staff moved us to a bigger room.....First rate service.

The problem with the hotel is the 'suroundings'. The hotel is on a road that is the last turn for all traffic coming off the roundabout into San An. This means that the single file road may as well be a motorway with the noise. Secondly, if you're unlucky enough to get a room at the front of the hotel (which most of them are), you will be in touching distance of a Spanish work site. For hours at a time, there was banging and shouting from the construction workers....

I would reccomend this hotel for a short stay but a week is too long in this noisey hotel.

Cheers.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — NOISE NOISE NOISE
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluZulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2008

Stayed in this hostal for 2 nights and i would DEFFO reccomend it to anyone :]

in short it is basic but clean , the staff are extremely helpfull!!!

*the room gets cleaned every other day

*the pool area is lovely, there are two pools which are clean but very cold! i can image in high season there would be a shortage of beds but when we were there this was not an issue.

*the breakfast is continental but still furfilling ..be warned you are not allowed to take anything out of there not even a biscuit!

* the drinks are fairly priced...both alcoholic and soft drinks

* i did not try the food avaliable from the bar/resteraunt but it looked nice and the pizzas were apprently the best in san antino!

*great location right by the west end/beach/eden etc but in a quiet side street so you could get some sleep [ good after getting into bed at 7am after eden haha!!!]

* tv in room for lazy afternoons when the sun gets too strong.

overall i would 100 % reccomend this hotel to anyone it is well worth the money ...not a five star but hey you get what you pay for and this is great budget accomadation :) i stayed in a few places whilst in ibiza for 8 weeks and can say this was one of my favourites...

for any questions on ibiza get in touch i will try my best to answer :)

  • Liked — the fact it was clean, fun, worth the money!!!!
  • Disliked — nothing at all.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LuciePop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Me and my friend stayed at the Tarba at the end of August 2008. To be honest for the price we were not expecting anything fantastic. You do get what you pay for. The accomodation is ok, and we weren't in the room for that long anyway, we were in Ibiza after all!!

The room was small and basic, but we found it to be reletaively clean. The cleaners do come everyday and change the towels etc. but the bedding wasn't changed all week.

The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to help you which was good. The reception is also open 24 hours which is helpful when you want to pick your key up when you come in at 6am.

The breakfast wasn't much to be desired, i only got up for breakfast once and didn't bother for the rest of the week! It consists of toast, cheese, ham and cornflakes.

The pool was clean, and very nice and cool. The sunbathing area is quiet small but to be honest most people are in bed until the afternoon so not too much of a problem.

The only thing was our balcony overlooked the road which at 9/10 am is very noisy with all the traffic and when you are trying to sleep was a bit of a nightmare, but that can't really be helped!!

All in all, you do get what you pay for, it was cheap and cheerful and i don't really have any complaints as a whole.

  • Liked — Great location for the nightlife
  • Disliked — No air con!!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nic_h18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

In my opinion, Hostal Tarba is a great place to stay. You get what you pay for really, a pretty basic room, but the room is a good size and clean and in Ibiza, you don't really spend that much time in it anyway.

The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast isn't great, basically toast, cheese, jam etc, but it's ok to start you off in the morning. The pool area is quite pleasant as well with lots of shady areas if you want to escape the sun. I didn't experience much noise, but we weren't usually back until after 7am every morning, so maybe that was why.

It's an ideal location, right near the new bus station - handy for the disco bus. It's also about 5min walk from Bar M, Itaca, Orange Corner and about 5 min walk the other way to the west end. There's a great supermarket at the end of the road that stays open for 22 hours and sells cheap drink and most other things that you might need. I've stayed here twice before and I'm going back again this September.

  • Liked — The staff, location and parrot in the bar
  • Disliked — the shower could have been a bit more powerful
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cfrancis24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2008

It was a dump, the staff were rude and very unhelpful. The food was awful and i would not recomend it to any body.

  • Liked — going home
  • Disliked — arriving
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank partytim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sant Antoni de Portmany hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Mari
Hostal Mari
#23 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Puchet
Hotel Puchet
#6 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gran Sol
Hotel Gran Sol
#1 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Florencio Hostal
Florencio Hostal
#40 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Hotel by Ibiza Feeling
The Red Hotel by Ibiza Feeling
#47 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ses Savines Hotel
Ses Savines Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Tarba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Tarba

Property: Hostal Tarba
Address: Calle Ramon y Cajal 20, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Tarba 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Tarba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Tarba Hotel Sant Antoni De Portmany
Hostal Tarba Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing