We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic but just what you need!”
Review of Hostal Tarba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Tarba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Me and my best friend stayed in hostal tarba for a week in July. It was our second time in ibiza (first time we stayed here though) We were very sceptical as we got off the bus from the airport cus the back didn't look too pretty.. But out the front it's completely fine.
I think all the rooms had balconies, but if you have trouble sleeping with noise try and request a room out the back as there are loads of drunk people/mopeds all night on the front road. But it wasn't an issue for us the few nights we weren't out ;)
Rooms are basic... No fridge unfortunately but great air con (for free, you get the deposit back) and a safe.. also a massive balcony!
LOCATION is amazing. 1 minute walk from the west end and 5 minutes to Eden/Es Paradis/the beach!! Also close to ibiza rocks. The hotel is right in front of the bus station which is great for access to the disco bus to pacha/space/privilege etc.
Breakfast consists of rolls and ham or cereal unless you want to pay for a big breakfast. There are loads of cheap restaurants near the west end anyway though.
Everything was always clean and the maids were lovely.

Overall, a really cheap, safe, close to everything place to stay with comfy beds and a balcony. What more do you need?

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Tarba
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 414 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

After reading the majority of reviews for this hotel/hostel, i prefer to former due to the film, I feel like repeating other reviews for this place. I stayed here for 5 nights and found like many the rooms basic but livable. The air-con was on the noisy side but we couldn't have did without it. The maids only serviced our once during our stay and lack of fresh towels was a minor near the end of our stay. The biggest plus-point is the staff they all friendly and helpful especially the night porter. I dined in the restaurant on one occasion and found it was to a good standard. If your a pool person get down early to get a sun-lounger as they're aren't many due to the size of the place. On reflection I would recommend this hotel (smiley face).

Room Tip: The rooms with bigger doors are; (hence bigger).
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benny204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This 'hostel' is fab, basic rooms but very clean. Had clean bed linen and plenty of towels. We had 3 single beds in the room and had enough room to move about. Air con wasn't the best but as we werent in room too long it didn't bother us too much. The location of the Tarba is amazing, next to bus station, 5 mins from west end and marina. The pool is small but we could always get a bed, staff are lovely and the bar was quite cheap considering we were in Ibiza. Food tasty too, lovely thin based pizzas. We stayed as a group of girls and would defo recommend for any1 staying for a few nights of partying. A must in Ibiza is Ushuaia, it's in playa den bossa and is AWESOME!!!! Fab holiday will defo go back and stay in the Tarba.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leafleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed here for 5days, there were 6 of us and we got here at about 2am!! perfect distance to the beach and to west end!!! not far from ibiza rocks too!!! was VERY clean and spacious!! Aircon was marvellous!
Putside pool area is good, not very large so not too many sunbeds but pool is a good size. Could spend more time at the beach thou as its just a 2min walk to the bottom of the street. Shops are near by too!! Food was good, would definitely recommend the pizza or a toastie!!!

Also we left our iPod when we left!!! panicked a little, but called the hotel and after confirming the room details etc, the maid had handed it in and it was sent back to me in the UK within a week it was received back!!! Dont get that everywhere you stay!!

Would definitely go back here!!! Perfect place to stay and a great price!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Arrived at about 4am, greeted at reception by and old ish guy, who we foudn out is the night time receptionist (and security guard) every night!) Got a room on the 1st floor with a street view which ended up being the best, rather than a pool view, can people watch on the street! Very clean and just what we needed. Shower was pretty decent too!! Our room had a massive wardrobe which was handy for 2 girls with loads of clothes, was like a walk-in wardrobe! Got a safe which was in wardrobe, and aircon was 10euros for the week, and you got the 10euros back at the end of your stay... Don't need to hire a fridge if you want it for keeping alcohol cool, jsut fill up your tiny bath with cold water and throw it all in there!

Pool area nice but not many sunbeds, still this wasn't ever too much of a problem!

Literally 2 minutes to the water fountains so 5 mins from west end, perfect location, you won't find a better hotel in a better location, especially for the price. Wips 247 supermarket at the end of the street, so that's pretty convenient! Eden & Ed Paradis not even a 5 min walk away.. Cafe mambo about 10 mins...

Maid service good, think our towels were changed every 2 days. Drinks reasonably prices at the bar, never ate there so can't comment on food! So many places close by to eat though!

Pedro quite strict on a night time.. Will threaten to call police if music is on or your in someone elses room! Don't expect any of your friends from other hotels to be allowed in at all!

Overall, was spot on and exactly what we wanted! Already booked to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unitedaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

we couldnt have asked for better service.

When we checked in we had two rooms but as the hotel was fully booked we where on different floors within 48 hours we where moved to next door rooms.

While there is no fridge the hotel hired a fridge for us for the week this request was made before arrival.

The rooms where spotless and the staff where friendly and polite

We had tickets for David Guetta at Pasha and a "free bus" but this was mis-sold to us and we couldnt get on the bus we had within an hour to get to the club and the Q at the taxi rank was huge

We made it back to the hotel and the kind man at reception organised with the local taxi company to collect us from the hotel taxis normally dont answer the phone on busy nights but he contacted someone he knew and went beyond the call of duty for us and we had an amazing night thanks to his kindness.

For the money we paid i think it is excellent value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue8686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed here 3/7/12 until 7/4/12. I booked this because of the good reviews and the fact that it stated that the bar/restaurant is popular with the spanish people. Usually a good sign. Hostal spotlessly clean, basic and very friendly with a really nice atmosphere. It was right in the centre of San Antonio - 2 mins to sea/ west end and right next to the bus station where there are frequent buses around the Island. We initially booked for 32 people then added a 3rd person. A 4th peron then decided to come so we just turned up at reception asking if a room for 4 was possible. Pedro at reception was very helpful and accommodated our request. Pedro (I think the hotel manager) was extremely friendly throughout our stay, and the bar staff were also really friendly. Drinks and food very reasonably priced although did not eat there, but the food that was being served to others looked really nice. Pool area small but adequate. Security into the hotel was good. A little too good really, my friend who had added into the room had difficulty getting into the hotel at night, but at least you felt secure in your room. I will definetely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We did not have a balcony but would have been nice to have one so ask for one.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liverpoolkizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Antoni de Portmany
0.8 mi away
Bellamar Hotel
Bellamar Hotel
#4 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
916 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gran Sol
Hotel Gran Sol
#1 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
1,549 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sol House Ibiza Mixed by Ibiza Rocks
Sol House Ibiza Mixed by Ibiza R...
#1 of 7 in Port d'es Torrent
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibiza Rocks Hotel
Ibiza Rocks Hotel
#18 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
1,437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartahotel Central City
Apartahotel Central City
#51 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Florencio Hostal
Florencio Hostal
#41 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Tarba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Tarba

Address: Calle Ramon y Cajal 20, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range: $40 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Tarba 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostal Tarba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Tarba Hotel Sant Antoni De Portmany
Hostal Tarba Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing