We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant really fault them - excellent accomodation & very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apartments Blue Star
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Cant really fault them - excellent accomodation & very clean”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just back from a weeks stay at the Blue Star apartments and must say we are pleasantly surprised. Considering we paid buttons for this holiday, we were overall really happy with the place. You need to base your opinion on it fairly, based on what you have booked - a 3 star self catering apartment in Ibiza. If you want something nicer then pay for it! Budget accommodation is available to allow people to go on holiday at lower costs and still have a good time without the frills so its worth baring that in mind when reading some negative reviews from people who are happy to complain and whinge yet aren't prepared to pay for anything better.

We travelled in a group of 7, all in our mid / late 20s for the opening week of Ibiza. We weren't looking for anything to crazy and were pleased to find these apartments somewhat quiet and unpopulated. We spent days at the pool with little disturbance and the music was fine. Occasionally we played out own ipods too. The mix of people here was quite good, can see why its suitable for a variety of folks, families, couples, and groups of friends although there weren't any kids while we were there. Absolutely no problems getting sunbeds at any times of the day but may not be the case in July / August as holiday season kicks off. During our visit the temperature was early to mid 20s and everyone got good tans.

The pool bar is brilliant - a cocktail menu and quite extensive food menu with usual bar snacks aswell as sit down meal type food. Salads were good, as were the pizzas. But the huge credit goes to the young barmaid Dagmar, a pretty Czech blonde with a huge smile on her face that never failed to chat away and seem pleased to see you! Some days she would come over to the sun loungers to take food & drink orders then deliver to you, you didn't even need to go inside or to a table to eat. Again she might be a bit rushed off her feet to do this in peak season though! Cheff clearly did a great job too as the breakfasts were brill, all well priced too.

We had 2 x two bedroom apartments which were all great sized and had large balconies, the rooms were fine, beds comfortable enough with good aircon system. Good powerful shower & toilet / beadie was all in working order, huge sink & mirror. Its a pity it was the only mirror though! Considering these rooms sleep upto 6, one mirror in the bathroom wasn't really sufficient, there was 4 of us, 2 females 2 males and we had to battle to get the mirror when getting ready! If someone is showering then nobody else can put their make up on or do their hair. So bring your own portable mirror! A full length mirror would have been good also, perhaps on a cupboard door in the bedrooms.

Kitchen modern enough, plenty forks knives spoons, and cooking hob. Microwave, kettle & glasses. Also another good point was lots of plug sockets - handy for charging phones, straighteners, music deck etc. One other hitch other than mirrors was the fact that they only gave you one keycard per room. Now there was 4 of us so this meant constant tab keeping on who had the card, and if we were out we had to try and coordinate getting home with the person who had it, bit of a nightmare especially if there was 6 of you in the one apartment. They do let you in when you come back from a night out but no electricity or lights without card as we found out one night where we sat in darkness for 2 hours waiting for our friend to come home from the bars!

The area itself if good, the apartments are located on the main strip so you have a supermarket a few yards left and a few yards right not to mention fast food takeaways, bars and places to eat out at. The water taxi to take you to san Antonio isn't too far either and only 3 euro, its every half an hour. To be honest we preferred staying in the bay itself rather than san Antonio town, the shops are just as good too souvenir wise. Went to a couple of the 'big nights' at clubs but struggled to justify 20 euro a drink and 60 euro entry... Plus taxi travel to some of these places outwith San Antonio.

I would recommend the Blue Star apartments for location, a good value for money break and for families as well as groups of friends or couples.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RubyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    85
    46
    12
    18
See reviews for
45
44
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had 6 people in our party we turned up to a room with only 5 beds. When we asked for another room the man on reception dissappearred and returned with a shoddy camp bed. The staff were very unhelpful!

Overall clenliness of the hotel was poor.

I recommend this hotel if you just want somewhere cheap to lay your head other than a doorway. You may want to get drunk so not to notice the decor and clenliness.

The only good thing is the hotel location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great hotel, only 5 mins away from the boat which takes you straight to the strip, lots of food places near for a pre sesh meal recomend Johnnies (i think) for breakfast, cheap as chips!! Its about a 40 min walk to the strip but taxis are cheap. Nice location in the bay away from the noise and trouble. Most of the sun beds were broken but we were out most of the time living it up!!
Great Place, Great Hotel, Great Holiday!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We all enjoyed staying at the Blue Star apartments such a warm welcoming atmosphere, so clean and modern. All the staff go that extra mile to help or assist when necessary. We enjoyed our stay there so much we stay in these apartments whenever we go to lovely Ibiza.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

stayed here 4 times now and will always stay here when i go to Ibiza :) the staff are out of this world helpful & have become very good friends of mine! Blue Star feels like my second home i love every second i spend here! The rooms are a delight to stay in, very comfortable and clean. Thank you to all the Blue Star staff for making my stays fabulous. I recommend staying here to anyone, its great for families, friends, business trips and solo travellers. Te Quiero Blue Star xxx

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kirsty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here 3 weeks ago and had a wonderful time! As a couple in our twenties the hotel had the perfect mix of young people/couples who were all really nice. Having only booked this hotel on the day (due to a mix up with our holiday company) we were told that we could either have their best room or, as they were full take all inclusive down the road. We decided to take the room at the blue star, which was HUGE, had its own bedroom, double balcony etc! Whilst staying there we incurred no noise from other guests at all, so personally cannot understand these apartments having any bad reviews! All in all from the moment we arrived there the staff went out of their way for us and we will be staying here again next year.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 106 which was massive and had plenty of room if there was four of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannas84_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Just returned from a week stay here after booking this hotel after reading all the positive reviews. As far as the staff go, We don't have a bad word to say, they were really friendly and helpful. Pool area and bar are also great. However, this is not a three star hotel as advertised. As a group in our early twenties on a cheap holiday, we weren't at all fussy about the hotel, however, we expected more than we encountered. The room was a complete let down after being told it was freshly cleaned, with dirty floors and unclean WC. We like others, were also shocked to find that there wasn't a bed but two sofas with pull out beds underneath. This was fine, but it was not acceptable to find our "clean" sheets were spattered with blood stains and makeup marks, we even found a fake eyelash stuck to one sheet. A test for even us. It was a big shame, considering the hotel itself is actually quite pleasant and clean, just be wary of the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bedroom and check it has been cleaned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Antoni de Portmany
1.3 mi away
Aparthotel Reco des Sol
Aparthotel Reco des Sol
#50 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hostal Mari
Hostal Mari
#23 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Puchet
Hotel Puchet
#6 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tagomago
Hotel Tagomago
#33 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
4.9 mi away
Puerto Cala Vadella
Puerto Cala Vadella
#6 of 13 in Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Estudios Tropicana
Hotel Estudios Tropicana
#45 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Blue Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Blue Star

Property: Apartments Blue Star
Address: Avda. Es Calo 64-70 | Bahía de San Antonio, Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartments Blue Star 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 50 m of the beach the Apartments BLUE STAR are found in the Bay of San Antonio, in a privileged situation, surrounded by commercial establishments of leisure and so much diversion for children as for adults. To the centre of San Antonio there are approximately 2,5 km. In the terrace-solarium 2 pools for adults are found and one for children. Also it has a playgorund for children, a table of ping pong, billiards, mini-market and private park garage for clients. Also there is a room with satellite TV pan and snack bar next to the pool. The establishment has studios and apartments of one or two dormitories completely equipped with kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, satellite TV, safety box (with charge), telephone, complete bath and a great terrace. The studios have sofa-beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Grupo Playa Sol, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Apartments Blue Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Blue Star Hotel Sant Antoni De Portmany
Blue Star Apartments Ibiza
Apartments Blue Star Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing