We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Hotel Tagomago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tagomago
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Me and two friends stayed here for a week in early September and had no complaints at all. Reading a few of the less positive reviews before we left we were wondering what the fuss was about as we found the hotel comfortable, quiet and the staff friendly and helpful.
Situated on San Antonio Bay down a quiet lane off the main road it was ideal for us who do like a drink and to go clubbing but now we're in our 30's we would rather be quiet and chilled during the day. Next to the hotel is a beautiful little beach that was never crowded and also had a small restaurant next to it called Sa Flama which had a really good, cheap menu. Sunbeds on the beach are 4 euros for the day off the guys at Sa Flama. However we very rarely ate outside the Tagomago as they had everything you could wish for staying half-board with the breakfast and evening meal. I genuinely thought this the best selection of food I've ever experienced on this type of holiday. Breakfasts had literally everything from cereals, toasts, fruits, pastries, traditional english and all types of drinks and the evening meal again had a massive selection of salads, fruit and veg, different meat and fish dishes every night and big dessert table to choose from. Massive kudos there to the chef and staff who were all extremely friendly and very helpful. This attitude of the staff pervaded throughout the hotel as the maids were also genuinely nice people and after reading some comments on Luis the manager you'd expect some kind of tyrant but he seemed like a nice bloke who was rightly proud of his hotel to me.
We had a triple room on the top floor that had a balcony with a fantastic view across the bay to San Antonio town and the surrounding hills. The room was clean and basic with TV and a spacious bathroom with all the usual amenities inside. Our room also had an A/C unit and a ceiling fan.
As for San Antonio it's about a 20 minute walk if that from the hotel but as you never leave an area full of bars and shops I couldn't really tell where the town actually ended and I would never imagine getting a taxi or anything like that as it's just not that far. The resort itself is all about personal choice. Personally I'm not a big fan and prefer Playa d'en Bossa which is a bit more European and about the music and a bit less about the club 18-30 crowd wandering around trying to outdo each other all the time. The bar strip known as the west side took me back ten years to Faliraki with people throwing up in the street and people hassling you every step to go in bars and I just didn't like the place. The bars on the sea front promenade were more appealing especially the Ibiza Rocks bar where Judge Jules and Ferry Corsten DJ'd for free one night. My advice would be if you are 18-30 and English you'll love San Antonio but if you are from anywhere but the UK and are over 30 go to another resort.
Tips for Ibiza virgins looking to party are do not buy drinks in the famous clubs as beer is usually around 15 euros and mixers anything up to 23 euros but supermarket beer is cheap and most of the bars offer cheap drinks just to get you through the doors. Also booking tickets for clubs in advance works for me as you hardly have to queue and they're usually cheaper.

Room Tip: When booking add you'd like a sea-view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcodimero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tagomago
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 609 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

We've just got back from a stay at the Hotel Tagomago & I'd like to share our experience with others. OK, let's get the bad bits out of the way first. The hotel is beginning to show it's age & it could do with refurbishing. The bathrooms could certainly do with updating, as ours was very reminiscent of the 1960's. The room walls are quite thin, & we enjoyed sharing our neighbours TV sound. The bed is simply two singles pushed together, & one of ours was really squeaky. It also didn't help that we had a baby elephant staying upstairs with stillettos on re-arranging furniture at all hours of the night, very noisy. The first impression of the hotel entrance was a bit disappointing, with a hand painted sign, & hand drawn pictures in the bar. If you are a young clubber, I really think that you would not enjoy the quietness of this hotel, & would prefer something closer to the west end.
That's it for the negative parts, all fairly minor, & when we chatted to the staff, they told us that they were aware of the condition of the hotel, but a refurbishment was planned.
Now for the good bits. The hotel is situated down a lane, next to a beach, so it is away from the road where the majority of clubbers make their way to & from the west end, so there is very little noise, apart from some minor background music from Jesters, an 'English' bar on the junction.
After staying at other places in San Antonio to visit our daughter who lives there, we were very pleasantly surprised at how nice the Tagomago is. We are a couple in our fifties & really don't want a 24 hour clubbers paradise, & this hotel fitted the bill perfectly. The selection of food is really very good, with breakfast consisting of a good variety of choices from the buffet. The evening meals are a little bit limited, but there is always a good selection of salads & a variety of hot choices. There is a nice, clean pool, & the surrounding area is well provided with sun loungers ( no problem with towels being draped over at 05-30!). Our room was supplied with air conditioning & a ceiling fan, so it was very comfortable in the heat. The room was basic, but clean & tidy, & of an overall pleasing condition.
As everyone has said, the staff are lovely, particularly Raquel at reception, who was so helpful in booking taxis, sorting problems & confirming bookings etc, she is a very professional girl with very good people skills. All of the staff are friendly, & are happy to help with any enquiry.
The two beaches closest to the hotel are great, the nearest has a small bar & cafe, & the other has the water taxi departure point, you can walk out for ages before the water gets deep, so it's really nice for families.
All in all the Hotel Tagomago is ideal for older guests, families with children, but, I really think that younger people or those wanting a place with a bit of life in it would do better going nearer to the town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobandmarieDevon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

A great staff & chilled out atmosphere that can be hard to find in San Antonio - still not far from bars/clubs/restaurants, 10 minutes walk along the promenade. Taxi to Playa D'en Bossa €26, airport €28. Reggae Beach not far from the hotel, 10 minute walk and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lollypocket12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here for 4 days with my daughter and had a fantastic time,the staff where so friendly and helpfull the location was amazing with two beaches on the doorstep and lots of different bars and restuarants to choose from. The busier part of San Antonio is a 5 min boat taxi ride away but far enough away to avoid any noise. I am hoping to go back here again,the only down side was that when we tried to get the bus back to the airport it was full and just drove by us. Then the hotel came to the rescue as they had a shuttle bus that got us to the airport in time. Had the beakfast one morning which was a buffet and it was fine

Room Tip: The room we had was small and did not have any outlook worth asking for a balcony with a seas view
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

First stay in Ibiza and I was anticipating a lot of noise and bustle. However, Hotel Tagomago is further along the bay from the main town of Sant Antoni and benefits from being away from most of this, with the exception of the live music from the Irish bar across the street, which can be drowned-out by closing the windows. The town is reached by a 15 minute walk along the bay or by a ferry from the beach. Our room was close to the main road but still enjoyed views of the sea and town from the spacious balcony. It was simply appointed but clean, tidy and had excellent air conditioning. The staff were friendly and helpful with a sense of humour. There was a good selection of food on offer during mealtimes and the bar served hot and cold drinks at a reasonable price all day on the terrace by the pool, which is where we spent most of our days and many evenings. The pool itself is surprisingly deep at one end for its size but the water was lovely and warm and a mere stone's throw from the beach.

I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to anyone who wants some distance from the hardened partygoers. We heard no noise from fellow guests during our stay. One minor complaint is that the free wi-fi doesn't reach much further than the lobby. Other than that, a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kfleming78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed here (previously stayed here too) for a couple of nights on full board. Its a lovely hotel and no problems from other guests even though it was high season. The hotel is right on the beach 2 minutes from Buccaneros bar open till 6am and near shops for food/ drink top up and restaurants. There is a bus stop 1 minute from the reception to which is helpful :-)

I would recommend this hotel for all groups of visitors with a pool and easy beach access. Food is also available and a full buffet layout at breakfast and dinner

i had a single room which was enough for one person with a single bed

Room Tip: Sea view is the best :-)
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UvulaRoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Hotel Tagomago is definitely one which I would return to. First stay in Ibiza, visiting with a friend, both of us aren't quite teenagers anymore but we are also far from being over the hill!! And I have to say we couldn't have wanted for a better location. Close enough to the lively nightlife but just far enough away that there was no vomit on the doorstep and revellers did not disturb our sleep (on the rate occasions that we went to bed before dawn anyway!)
Very friendly, kind and funny staff. Felt very welcome.
There was a nice international mix of guests staying at the hotel with us, so it seemed to avoid the 'Brits abroad' feeling, thank goodness.
The pool area where we whiled away most of our days was very nice and has a nice relaxed atmosphere. Avoids the cost of getting sunbeds on the beach and the annoying issue of sand!
However the beach is right there, and is perfectly pleasant for those who are less 'nambie pambie' about getting sand everywhere!
Lovely hotel, would recommend it to any of my friends, colleagues or general acquaintances, who might be thinking about going to this part of the White Isle.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherrySundaeTattoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sant Antoni de Portmany hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel S'Estanyol
Hotel S'Estanyol
#31 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Remo
Hotel San Remo
#19 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
1,500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Reco des Sol
Aparthotel Reco des Sol
#54 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Apartahotel Central City
Apartahotel Central City
#51 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellamar Hotel
Bellamar Hotel
#4 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
916 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apartments Blue Star
Apartments Blue Star
#49 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tagomago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tagomago

Address: Playa de S'Estanyol, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range: $56 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Tagomago 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly by the sea in the beautiful bay , set in a shady garden with palm trees ; is ideally situated near shops , bar , mini-golf , restaurants , bus stop , watersports , ferry boats . There are 94 twins o double beds , 10 family rooms and 10 singles rooms spread out , extremely generously over 3 floors . Large terraces and balconies with chairs and table look out over the sea or garden view .All rooms complete with telephone sat TV , ceiling fan ,some with air condition , complete bathroom . The friendly attention of the staff will soon make you feel at home , to make your stay unforgetable . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tagomago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tagomago
Hotel Tagomago Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing