We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a nice,friendly hotel....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apartahotel Monterrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“what a nice,friendly hotel....”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

just got back on Saturday after having a great week at Monterey!!i holidayed on my own and after reading most of reviews on here wasn't expecting much.the rooms were spotless,cleaned everyday along with fresh towels daily.all the staff were incredibly friendly and very helpful.pool area was large and cleaned daily and didn't have to put towels on sun beds at 7am!!location was ok for me as wanted somewhere quiet,but close enough to night life which was only a 15 minute walk away.have to agree about "pint pot"bar was excellent and reasonable prices for a beach bar,also liked "winches "about 200 yards away all in all a great holiday and hotel is well worth the money!!"""!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N19669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, directora at Apartahotel Monterrey, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your nice review. Do not hesitate that I will forward your comments, which are our best help to improve our services, to all the staff.

We are looking forward to welcome you again.

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    110
    71
    55
    54
See reviews for
62
120
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I have just returned from a weeks holidy in the monterrey,after reading the reviews before i arrived i was dreading it!I can honestly say was pleasently surprised,we arrived at 3am and were greeted by reception staff who had our room key ready and were extremely friendly,on arriving at our room it was basic but one of the cleanest i have stayed in,rooms were cleaned every day towels and bedding changed.The pool area is fantastic the pool is spotless there is no rush for sunloungers,has a pool bar and snack bar,selling hot food,ice creams etc,was quiet and relaxing and have not got a abd word to say about the place,the only small issue is its location it is about a 10min wqalk to the beach wich is fine going down but coming back is uphillso would defo get a taxi which costs around 5euros.Outside of the hotel there are so many places to sit and eat or drink there is a small pub/restaurant called winch's just on the corner i personally wouldnt recommend it,though the fod was nice the staff were arrogant and didnt make you feel welcome esp with children,however at the bottom of the rd there is a beach pub calle "the pint pot" its location is stunning the staff are the nicest iv'e met can not do enoughfor you,and the food is gorgeous and very reasonably priced,i would defo recommend paying a visit.All in all i had a fantastic holiday and plan on returning next year,if your looking for a value for money hotel this is for you, if your looking for a 5star hotel at 2star price look somewhere else!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, directora at Apartahotel Monterrey, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for your nice comments! It Is a pleasure for us to read that you had a nice holidays with us. Do not hesitate that I will forward your review to all the staff. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my partner. When booking we were told this hotel was a 3 star hotel so we wasn't expecting anything luxurious. On arrival our hotel was situated very far from the main town about a 15-Min walk. The hotel looked quite nice upon arrival with fountains and a welcoming reception area. Our room was disgusting although we had a pool view inside the furniture was very dated. there was a small cooker and cupboards which we never used as they were extremely dirty and not cleaned properly from previous guests. The bathroom was average again quite dated.Our first night was awful the bed sheets were not clean and we also got woken up by a mouse which was in our bin underneath the sink. I was really not impressed and had to complain to reception to move room. We got a new room no longer with a pool view same standards with no mouse but instead we had a broken shower. The food was very basic we had the same thing for breakfast and dinner. We tended to eat out anyway I was put off by the mouse and the cleanliness of the hotel. The pool area was quite spacious and quiet. We found some insects floating about so I assumed that the pool did not get cleaned regularly. I wouldn't recommend this hotel at all. I would definitely say this was a 2 star hotel at the most.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sant Antoni de Portmany hotels

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The hotel rooms are spacious very clean. The staff are friendly and helpful I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I would certainly be going back this will be my 6th time at the hotel now and what is defo worth a mention is a lovely bar around the corner from the hotel named winches where the food is the best I have tasted on the island the staff are very friendly and service top notch a nice family feel about the place and you are made very welcome by staff get yourself there and try the piri piri prawns best on the island

Yours benno

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Benn01980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We arrived at our resort a bit tired but excited, after looking at the reviews we didnt expect much of the hotel and rooms but didn't mind as we only paid £260pp in august!! The rooms weren't bad, two beds and a sofa bed, a balcony (which unfortunately overlooked a bombsite with stray dogs barking quite a lot - not the nice view in the brochure). Bathroom was clean, shower quite trickley (so give yourself a good 15minutes to wash the shampoo off ladies). The night staff are lovely and funny.

When we woke up in the morning we were eager to get down to the pool as it was hot and we were extremely pale still. We went to Euroski - €7 in a taxi - (A VERY CHEAP supermarket) and spent about €100 on a weeks worth of food for 3 of us!! When we got back to the hotel we looked in the cupboards of our little kitchenette to see that there was 1 glass, 2 bowles, 2 plates and some cutlery - No saucepans, frying pans, no tin opener, no cookin utensils or lighter/matches for the gass hob. We told reception and ended up having cereal for breakfast instead. They told us we would have some when we came back in the afternoon. We got back from the pool late afternoon more of a reddish colour to find we still had none of the above in our kitchen but our bedding had been changed :/ . . We borrowed some things off of our french neighbours and bought a lighter from a shop round the corner. We told reception again 5 or 6 times throughout the week and by the end gave up with just a frying pan the cleaners had thoughtfully left. You also have to pay extra for a safety deposit box, microwave, kettle, toaster and aircon!! All of which is around €15 and above for the week. Aircon is €100 for the week.

When the description of the hotel says 'close to the beach' it means a 15minute walk to the quiet side, if you want the lively side, close to the water sports, bars (such as the well known 'Ibiza Rocks Bar) and clubs its a 35minute walk or €10 in a taxi, if we'd known this when booking, we'd have paid an extra €70 each and stayed in a closer hotel, saving lots of money on taxis as it was way to hot to walk for that long.

The pool in the hotel is cold and surprisingly full of the spanish, we didn't see any English whilst we were there.

Good things about the holiday - You can buy tickets for clubs at the hotel, they are all roughly €50 - €80 entry depending on what time you go, drink as much water as you can before you go in as water in €10 for a dinky bottle in any club!! I recommend Amnesia and Ushuia! AMAZING! And things closer in town, west end - bar reps will do anything to get you in so take advantage of the cheapest drinks and haggle it down. Es paradise (on the beach) is a great night too!!. Hope this helps anyone!! :D

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Christie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

.stayed at the Monterrey on a last minute deal we were told it wasn't far from the sea (joke) luckly we had a car because my husband is disabled it was a good 20min walk and up hill coming back. upon arrival we were given a room overlooking a tip, the girls on the reception were lovely and was happy to change our room to over looking the pool which was lovely. we couldn't understand why it was so quiet until we were told that we would be their last guests and they were shutting the day we were to leave which was 3rd Oct. when we went for a shower we had no hot water, meal times were minimul as to what they had we were half board, no soup and food limited and cold. after 3 days we still had no hot water and was told that it would not be fixed because it was shutting, after 3 days of complaining we were finally moved to another of their hotels La Sirena which was all inclusive, which was thank god better although they were also shutting aswell. they were running out of different things and not replacing i.s no wine. It was a bit noisier because it had more younger people and it was the end of season club parties and all the sun beds around the pool were broken if you wanted one you had to put a blow up bed on top. staff were lovely and the cleanliness of the hotel was excellent but i wouldn't return to either of them again.

Room Tip: "Dont go end of season"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BillandSueManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I have to say after reading all the reviews on here I was dreading the hotel but I was pleasantly surprised as it was really clean, the maid cleaned our rooms, made the beds and gave us clean towels everyday. The air con was great, the pool was clean - I saw someone cleaning the pool almost everyday. Its a 2 or 3 star cheap hotel so I wasn't expecting it to be amazing - but it was everything we wanted for the price. The food wasn't great but it wasn't terrible either, it seemed a lot better on the weekends when there were spanish staying. The breakfast was good, always lots of fresh bread, croissaints, cereals, spreads, yoghurt, fruit but the egg & bacon etc was too greasy and there were chips on offer with everything! Evening meals - salads were nice but a lot of the food was greasy although there was always plenty of variety and foods that you could eat - pasta etc.
One thing that surprised us was that the hotel doesnt have any double beds (you have to push the single beds together). Also we asked for a pool view but didn't get one, the view we had wasnt amazing, it was of farm land, but we had the sun on our balcony all afternoon and late evening so it turned out to be a good thing.
The worst thing about the hotel were the staff, a couple of them were lovely but majority were rude, never smiled and quite abrupt - I dont think they were very keen on the english. One member of staff tried to stop me taking a small bottle of water in to the dining room for my one year old son.
The hotel wasn't too noisy at night, my 1 year old slept fine - the staff dont tolerate noise or music after 11pm, its noisier on the weekends.
The beach is an easy 10 min walk away and I wouldn't have said the hotel was on a hill, its on a slight gradiant but nothing major, Its a short 5/10 min walk to the main pubs/restaurants but enough of distance so the hotel is not affected by any loud nightlife. The hotel isn't isolated there are residential homes next door/near by and Winchs pub a minute away. The walk to the town at night itsn't pitch black at all, there are street lights. The kids pool was fine my son loved playing in there with all the other kids.
We got the boat taxi from the beach area to san antonio a few times and it was 2.50 euros each one way and about 5 mins journey. A taxi back is about 9 euros. We also walke to san antonio along the coast - it was about a 25min walk but really lovely, there alre restaurants/bars along the way.
Great value for money and not as bad as some of these reviews make out, its a cheap hotel so dont expect too much.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibizatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Antoni de Portmany
1.0 mi away
Apartahotel Maritim
Apartahotel Maritim
#3 of 5 in Port d'es Torrent
433 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apartahotel La Sirena
Apartahotel La Sirena
#35 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
295 reviews
1.2 mi away
Apartahotel Central City
Apartahotel Central City
#48 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Apartments Blue Star
Apartments Blue Star
#47 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
251 reviews
1.5 mi away
Apartamentos Formentera I
Apartamentos Formentera I
#49 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
190 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Playasol Marco Polo II
Hotel Playasol Marco Polo II
#75 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartahotel Monterrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartahotel Monterrey

Property: Apartahotel Monterrey
Address: Carrer de Sabadell, 10, 07829 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain (Formerly Hotel Apartamentos Monterrey)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartahotel Monterrey 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel’s privileged location is close to all the leisure activities available on the bay, but is also in a serene area. The centre of San Antonio is only 4 km away. Rooms: The studios and apartments are equipped with a full bathroom, air conditioning, kitchen, refrigerator, satellite TV, free safe, and balcony. Facilities: The complex is equipped with one pool for adults and one pool for children in a comfortable and large area with grass and lounge chairs. The hotel also has a sports centre to play football, tennis, or basketball. The continental breakfast service takes place in the hotel bar from 9:30 am to 11:30 am. The hotel has a snack bar open from 9:30 am to 5:30 pm. Services: The reception desk is open 24 hours a day and offers the possibility of purchasing tickets for clubs, excursions, and sports activities. Check-in begins at 2:00 pm and check-out is at 11:00 am. Athletic equipment, such as racquets and balls, can be picked up at the reception desk to be used in the sports centre. Free Wi-Fi, both in the rooms and in the common areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartahotel Monterrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Monterrey Hotel
Apartahotel Monterrey Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing