We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant value and great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bellamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bellamar Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, Co. Down
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant value and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Just back from a week in the Bellamar and some more points to add to what everyone else has already said below - I'd read most of the reviews on here before we booked so I was deliberately looking for extra information to help everyone else!
If you want to get a good space by the pool you need to be there by about 9.30 each day. We were out and about a lot so we didn't use it apart from one morning. If you head for the part of the seating area furthest away from the bar area (looking straight ahead), it gets the sun all day.
For those looking to pack light, toiletries are provided in the form of the following: 50ml shampoo, 50ml shower gel, small sachet of conditioner (so you would probably need to bring that with you), 50ml body milk, shower cap, packet of about 4 tissues and a small comb. We were there half board and went direct from Belfast with Thomas Cook so using their toiletries instead might be handy if you want to stick to your 15kg luggage limit. As someone else mentioned on here, there are coin-operated electronic luggage scales in reception for 1 euro.
We also paid to use the safe - it uses a small key which stays inside the safe and you put in your own electronic combination, so I found it really handy not having to bring the plane tickets etc out with us and also not having to bring an actual safe key out. It was 3 euros a day plus another 6 euro deposit. I would gladly pay this just for peace of mind.
TV gets English channels of sky news and BBC1, not a problem for us as we are usually out all the time on hols, but might annoy some people.
The rooms are exceptionally clean and we found it very quiet at night.
There is a shop just outside open 9am-9pm (no siesta) which sells toiletries, bread, fruit, all kinds of drink etc, but if you're buying any beach type equipment I would probably look elsewhere, particularly in the shops up near the Es Pueto beach bar (walking left, away from San Antonio direction). Example, mask & snorkel in local shop 26 euros, elsewhere 16 euros.

Hotel buffet food was good quality, very good selection which changes every night. I agree with other reviewers who have mentioned that the staff in the restaurant aren't overly smiley, but it's probably because they are working so hard - same staff on at breakfast from 8 as at 10pm previous night.
Reception staff are very efficient and helpful, especially if you can attempt some Spanish and make a bit of an effort. I had to laugh when we sat in reception one night to use the wifi on our phone and overheard "Where's the sunset?". Is it any wonder staff may be slightly jaded when dealing with clientele who can't even look out a window?
Overall, this is a very quiet, clean hotel in a great location. If you miss breakfast there are plenty of cheap places within 50 metres. Takes about 20 mins walk into San Antonio where the main action is, but there are a couple of nice chill out bars on the way round (Tulp is one of them).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BangorJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    277
    69
    19
    10
See reviews for
93
465
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Nice hotel, well located, good breakfast.Their own description of their spa and Turkish bath is a bit overhyped for what amounts to a small indoor pool, sauna and steam room and they expect you to pay 12 euros to use it, and it doesn`t open till 3pm ( and the steam room doesn`t work )
However nobody supervises the area so just feel free to use it ( I did )

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arbroath55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

We have just returned from spending 8 nights at the Bellamar and can only say would very much enjoy a return visit. This hotel is for visitors that love Ibiza but value some peace and quiet, good food, comfortable rooms , excellent service and a wonderful view of San Antonio Bay from many of the higher floor rooms. It's position is great for beach lovers, it's right across the road and the sea is so safe and shallow. Our standard room was very spacious and a large balcony to sit and view the sunsets. Aircon excellent and much needed as it sure was hot when we arrived! Our room was cleaned by a very cheerful and obliging young lady who did a great job. Good choice of food for breakfast always cooked and continental selection, fruit and cereals,juices etc. The pastry section is very tempting. There was a good choice of meats, fish salads pasta and always show cooking in the evening. My husband and I rarely eat the sweet selection on holiday but at the Bellamar it couldn't be resisted. There was always something delicious to choose from. Wine is from €8 to €10 a bottlle upwards & water €1. 80 a bottle to have with meals.
Entertainment was very low key but that suited us but not for families with bored kids used to kids clubs and noisy disco shows. The swimming pool was v cold as the sun doesn't get to heat it up till later in the day . In fact that's the only problem with this hotel--- lots of shade round the pool first thing so big rush by some for sun beds to nab sunny place with a parasol (which are in short supply) luckily the pool area does not open till after it's cleaned and made ready for "action" at 9 am, so no uncivilised early morning sorties to lay claim to YOUR SPOT!!!
I've read some reviews from guests that think the staff were rude. I have to say we just found them polite and accommodating to our requests( which were were few) this is a family owned hotel and they could be seen every day round the hotel. We looked at the spa but didn't use it so can't comment. Some good treatments on offer in brochure but no prices which put me off going. I think the recent make over of the hotel missed out a few areas so there's the chrome bits and the older seating in some areas but it' s still a very comfortable place to stay in one of the best positions in the bay area in our opinion

Room Tip: Ask for room on 4th or 5th floor for view, worth it for the unforgettable sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Drummermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Being our first time to one of the Balearic islands....we opted to book into a four star for a nine nights stay. Being frequent travellers to the far east, states and to Dubai, we expected the same or similar standards of a four star hotel. This is when it went sort of down hill in expectations....rooms were an adequate size, it was spotlessly cleaned how ever bathroom products were never replaced, we had to pay for the in room safe...(please as a hotelier you add these services to the over all cost of the rack rate of the room)..no Wifi connection on the floors. the rooms were outdated....pool was tiny, a floating plaster put me off the pool the first day and finding the same on the second day was enough for me to go to the great beach across and renting a car to do the rest of the gorgeous beaches....On a positive note, the hotel is at a great location, good shop next door, good restaurants near by, the promenade starts by the hotel, great location to walk to the clubs and bars....the in house restaurant was good, the choice was all right, the serving staff was excellent, the chap who was in charge of the cash till was par excellent host.....would I stay again at the hotel...'yes'...but please do not expect the same sort of international level of a four star... eg in Thailand, Singapore or Dubai....its far behind and lacking of those hotels.....and the reception staff should learn or visit those hotels to learn what customer service is. Because in this day and age, customer feed back and a repeat of customers is more important.

Room Tip: even though trying to choose a room with sea views are great, we had a room facing the side street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sidath d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darlington, UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

I expected a lot better from this hotel after reading peoples reviews.
Rooms were a decent size. Old tv, no wifi. Rooms were cleaned every day but it was random if they cleaned the balcony or replaced empty bathroom products.
Pool area wasnt up to a 4 star hote standard. Broken sunbeds, not enough umbrellas to go around. Half the sun area was shaded by the hotel for half the day so everyone was up early to put towels down on sunbeds in the small area which got the sun all day.
Food was good for a hotel buffet. Large selection for breakfast and dinner.
Great location. Beach across the road. Shop next door. Nice 20min walk along the sea front to the center/ mambo's etc.
We found some of the staff to be rude and ignorant when asked questions.
Would try other hotels before stopping here again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funkrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

this was my first time in san antonio and couldnt have picked a better hotel. the location is spot on. turn left you have a nice stroll along the bay, turn right you have got the promanade which takes you into the town brilliant.
the hotel itself is excellent from the rooms to the staff and the food. i found the staff were not always the most friendly but they were efficient and polite even when they were busy. the rooms were of a decent size and very clean, found the cleaning staff always asking if everything was ok in the room and did we need anything and hoped that we were enjoying our stay.
the food in the restraunt top class. every night you had a varied choice. there was always at least 1 beef, pork, chicken, lamb and fish dish every night and then there was the speciallity of the night also WOW. dont get me started on the puddings Yum...Pana Cota, chocolate tart, rice pudding, profitaroles an chocolate fountain. normally when the restraunt is buffet style i like to eat out a least once in the week for a proper 'sit down' meal but the food was so good here that i didnt want to go.
the pool and sunbathing area were also great very clean and never overcrowded, could always get a sunlounger. the pool was good for me because it was not a deep pool and never busy (i cant swim) great for cooling off.

all in all i think this has been the best hotel i have stayed in and i will definately be back. dont understand what people complaining about. some people pay for bronze and expect to get gold.

as far as i am concerned the bellamar is platinum. 4 star plus

Room Tip: if you can afford pay extra for sea view. worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cabayrshire123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Have just returned from a ten day stay at the Bellamar. This hotel totally lived up to my expectations, it was very clean in all the public areas and also in the bedrooms. The food was good, nice and hot and quite a good selection available.
My only negatives were that as it was so very hot there were not enough umbrella's around the pool and when I asked the bar staff was told "go and take a one from someone who has not got there's up" It also appeared that non-residents were also using the pool area, beds etc which didnt help! Not so good when you are paying for a 4 star hotel and 2 star people from across the road using the facillities!
The staff were not the friendliest I have ever seen and perhaps a smile or even a hello would not go a miss!

All in all a good holiday, location of this hotel is really good and I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northumberians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Antoni de Portmany
0.1 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
#2 of 106 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza
Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza
#1 of 106 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
14.3 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#5 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puchet
Hotel Puchet
#6 of 106 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#2 of 35 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
#3 of 35 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellamar Hotel

Property: Bellamar Hotel
Address: Calle Retir 1 | Playa de Es Pouet, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#4 Family Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Ibiza with all the commodities In the Bay of San Antonio, in front of Es Pouet beach and the seafront promenade, one of the most modern hotels in Ibiza awaits you: Hotel Bellamar. Swimming pool, Spa, gym, jacuzzi, restaurant... you have it all to spend a unique holiday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Bellamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bellamar
Bellamar Hotel Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing