We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Hotel Tropical

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tropical
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights, room 105 very small room and bathroom and no balcony. hard for girls getting ready for a night out, but the air con was great. our friend was in 234 and they had a bigger room and balcony so its probs depends when u book it. breakfast was good, pool looked great tho we didn't get a chance to use it. 5 mins from west end.no problems with hotel, would stay again.

Room Tip: 234 seemed to be a good room good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    179
    108
    27
    30
See reviews for
19
126
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Hotel was fantastic, rooms were nice and clean. Free wi-fi in the hotel which is very handy for not running up massive data costs on your mobile. All rooms are also air conditioned which really helps. The only down side of the hotel was that the food was not very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Hotel Tropical is tucked away on a relatively quiet street in San Antoni. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the busier parts of town, and there are a few shops nearby for your convenience. The pool is the main attraction here, as it's a nice place to hang during the day.

When we stayed in mid-July the crowd was mainly Brits out of school. Not surprising as the room prices are very reasonable. Everybody was well-behaved here, and that's partly due to the hotel's low-noise policy. A lot of people do complain about the strictness, but i prefer it this way as opposed to places like Ibiza Rocks where people are rowdy 24/7 and staff have given up on maintaining the venue.

There are a few nitpicks though. The main attractions of San Antoni are at least a few blocks away, you need to pay to use the room safe, and you're not guaranteed a balcony overlooking the pool. Only half the rooms have one of those (luckily we got one).

On the bright side the rooms are clean, breakfast is included, there's free wi-fi and even a small gym too. The rooms look like they may have been refurbished recently, as everything is in good condition.

All in all, Hotel Tropical is great value and definitely worth staying at if the crowd suits you. The staff are very friendly, and there's generally a nice vibe here. If you're certain, book early for a discount and give yourself some extra cash to play with on your trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward_Xavier_Han
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed at this hotel through club 18-30 for a week at the end of August. We were quite dubious before we left as we had read previous reviews on trip advisor and knew there were certain things to look out for, however as we were spending upwards of £400 each for a week, this was the priciest hotel that 18-30 offered so we thought we would be staying somewhere reasonably nice.

We were Certainly not expecting the ritz or anything close but many aspects of the hotel did let us down. We requested a balcony room and it said we had one on our itinerary, but when we arrived we simply had a room that had ceiling to floor windows across two of the walls (so 2 separate hotels on either side could see straight into our room). We found out afterwards that only groups of 3 or more can have balcony rooms so perhaps this is something that should be better publicised.

You are not allowed to even take across a small bottle of water to the pool because it is deemed 'disrespectful' and although the bar prices are not as expensive as many places in San Antonio, it is still annoying having to fork out for unnecessary extras.

The security guard also told us off several times for talking and playing our music too loud at 10pm because guests were trying to sleep... The walls are paper thin however as found out by hearing a couple in the room next to us at 3pm.. And again at 5am. Others had it worse off the security guard though and we heard from other guests how he physically threatened them although how much of this is down to guests being a bit too drunk could be debated.

On the plus side excellent location, close to the west end if that's what you like even though the club and bar reps are incredibly persistent and irritating... Even better though is being just round the corner from Ibiza Rocks hotel which was an amazing night out.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have just come back from this hotel today after staying a week. I had a very good experience despite what the terrible reviews say. We NEVER had any problems with th security guards at all, the breakfast was edible and the location was EXCELLENT. It was literally a 30 second walk from the strip. The only regret was booking it through 18-30 and DO NOT GO HERE OF YOU LIKE SLEEP. The hotel can get very noisy after hours however you are in central San Antonio what more do you expect with a bunch of party goers staying in the hotel. The rooms me and my party stayed in were very clean and basic, one of the better cheap hotels on the island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is very nice and location is good.. Its near residential area.. Crowd coming in the hotel is also good..
the rooms are very comfortable.. it provides free wifi and whole night travellers keep coming in and out..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prateekjain2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here twice and going back again in October. Its a great hotel in San Antonio. On the outskirts of the action, a few blocks behind the strip on the west end, perfect location because you can get a sleep but you are still pretty much in the heart of it all. Putting it into perspective, I'm 21 and I go to Ibiza to party, not for luxurious hotels (I'll save that for when I'm a bit older...) so for me its affordable, clean, friendly (the staff are so welcoming) and importantly - safe!! I leave my stuff in the safety box and not once have I had an issue. Also, they don't let anyone in who does not have a wristband, bonus! Compared to some of the stinker hotels you see when you are over there this place is a little beauty and everyone we meet is jealous that we stay there!! Oh and aircon. Aw I just love it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sant Antoni de Portmany hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playasol Marco Polo I
Hotel Playasol Marco Polo I
#54 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
371 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Puchet
Hotel Puchet
#8 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
719 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibiza Rocks Hotel
Ibiza Rocks Hotel
#12 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Red Hotel by Ibiza Feeling
The Red Hotel by Ibiza Feeling
#42 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orosol Hotel
Orosol Hotel
#19 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
346 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aparthotel Reco des Sol
Aparthotel Reco des Sol
#47 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropical

Property: Hotel Tropical
Address: Calle Cervantes 28, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 99 Hotels in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropical 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience, good value for money, as well as a professional and friendly customer service ensure that the Hotel Tropical is your best choice. We have been offering our services for more than 40 years, and benefit from a privileged location in the heart of San Antonio, only 5 minutes away from the main amenities. One of the most beautiful spectacles that nature can offer is also just a few steps away, our famous sunset. Check-in is after 12.00 o'clock midday and check-out is before 11.00 a.m. . All our guests will have access to a luggage room where they can leave their baggage up until the moment they leave, as well as two courtesy rooms with showers available 24 hours a day so you can enjoy your stay in Ibiza up until the very last minute. Our restaurant situated on the ground floor offers a buffet breakfast (English and continental) served from 08.00 o'clock to 11.30 in the morning and a buffet dinner (drinks not included in the price). Our thematic dinners offer you the chance to enjoy our cuisine and experience different menus such as Italian dinners or Mexican food depending on the day of the week. On the ground floor you can also find a large lounge with internet connection, free WIFI area, and satellite T.V. Opposite the hotel you will find our leisure area with, amongst other things, a large swimming-pool surrounded by gardens and terraces, as well as a games room, a gym and our pool snack bar with food service surrounded by a lively and friendly atmosphere where you can enjoy our wide range of cocktails and chilling your souls listening to the best tunes under the wonderful Ibiza sun. As well as all the above mentioned services, the Hotel Tropical is open to any type of requests to make you feel at home and ensure that you enjoy your stay with us. This hotel is specially recommended to young people, couples and groups. Not recommended for families ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel
Hotel Tropical Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing