We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect if you don't like talking past 10pm!”
Review of Hotel Tropical

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tropical
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Basic rooms, small balconies, horrible security guard! He came banging on our door nearly every night saying we were making too much noise. Fair enough, the first time he did it we did have our music blasting, but every time after then he'd come and tell us off for just talking! Seriously! There were four of us in two rooms containing three beds each. When he saw all four of us in 1 room with 3 beds he tried kicking 1 of us out, it took us ages to explain we also had the room next door because he wouldn't stop shouting at us! He squared up to me and yelled in my face to respect him. As if I'm going to respect him when he doesn't respect us! He then tried telling us there was a baby staying at the hotel...which we doubted very much. He also made a racist remark against the British in Spanish which I won't repeat. The maids were equally unhelpful and rude. The location is good, but the pool is across the street and is open to the public so it's hard to get a space if you don't get there before 10am. The barman at the pool was lovely on the first day then rude and horrible for the rest of the week!

The staff act like they don't need your custom, so for heaven's sake don't give it to them!

If you want to feel like you're 11 years old on a school trip again - choose this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Tropical, Manager at Hotel Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

We appreciate your feedback, always important to us in order to improve our service standards.
The aim of having a night guard after midnight is only to ensure what we consider essential in a hotel, let our guests have a good sleep and improve the hotel security to make our guests feel more confortable and secure. That is what we want our guests to expect when visiting our hotel, being aware that our main public are youngsters, groups and couples looking to take advantage of Ibiza´s night and daylife, but always having a civic behaviour inside the hotel facilities.
We are sorry you were not satisfied with our staff service, which is one of the main points our guests always value very positively. We are always open at reception to listen your comments and concerns in order to improve your experience at the hotel.
Regarding our lively public pool area we will increase our sitting chairs and loungers to match the high demand we have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 595 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Myself and a large group of friends stayed here from 25th September to 2nd October 2012 for an event called Atomik Weekender through Chic talent. The package we booked through Chic turned out to be a rip off in general, but this was not booked through hotel tropical directly.
As for the hotel the location was fairly good, rooms were basic but adequate, what was lacking was tea and coffee making facilities and you could only get a cup of tea at breakfast. You couldn't even get one at dinner time which I thought was a bit of a joke.
There was an elderly gentleman on reception some of the time who was extremely friendly and helpful however he was probably the only one.
What I was most disgusted with was their security guard who worked on a night time and during the day by the pool, I think he was called Segal.
There were notices up to tell guests to be quiet after midnight however it is Ibiza, the majority of the hotel was filled with young persons and most club nights don't open until midnight so they must expect some noise to be made in the early hours. On one occasion I was physically forced to leave my friends room at around 4am one morning because it was not my room and we were making too much noise. These friends were people who I haven't seen for years and we had all booked this holiday as a big reunion, so to be told I wasn't allowed to be with my friends and physically removed from the room is absolutely absurd and atrocious behaviour from the security guard in question.
On our final day by the pool we had brought bottles of water that we had just purchased from the shops into the pool area unaware we were not actually allowed to bring our own food or drink into the pool area. The same security guard mentioned above proceeded to march over to where we were sunbathing and without a word he picked up the water bottles and marched off. We were all a bit bewildered so I decided to go over and ask why he had taken our water and not said why. He explained why and I said ok can we take the water bottles back to our room and we will buy more from the pool bar. He said he had already poured our water away and if I had a problem to go to reception. I proceeded to make a formal complaint at reception, but the lady in question did not seem to care and said to take it up with my holiday rep who also seemed to be non existent or present once throughout our holiday. I went back over to the pool and proceeded to drink the rest of my water that the security guard had not taken. Once again he came marching over but I had finished the water once he got to us so I gave him the empty bottle, he called me a prostitute and walked away!!! I am thoroughly disgusted with this security guard and can I remind this hotel that we are in Ibiza and we are there to have fun. It felt like we were in a prison camp and that the staff did not appreciate our needs or even cared! Suffice to say doubtful will be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank D_doc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Tropical, Manager at Hotel Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you for your review.
We will consider for the future offering tea and coffee facilities as an upgrade for superior rooms. Tea, coffee and juices machines are available at our breakfast buffet, however drinks are not included in the rate at our dinner buffet, but there is a drinks menu available to let guests make their own choice served by the table.
We apologize for having the issues described by the pool area and also would like to inform to avoid misunderstandings that is not allowed to get into the pool area drinks or food not purchased inside the hotel facilities. That hotel policy is clearly displayed by the pool entry and we have a pool snack bar offering a wide range of drinks and food to be served in this area and a reasonable value for money.
Regarding night time issues by the hotel rooms, we want to inform that one of our main efforts are to let our guests who want to rest have a good night sleep. Even if we are in Ibiza and we know our main public are guests looking to enjoy Ibiza´s vibrant nightlife offer, we consider our obligation to ensure our guests can rest and relax inside the hotel facilities during the night time. Fortunately we have many bars, pubs and discos where our guests can enjoy and party as long as they want to and ask to respect these guests who want to enjoy a good night sleep and discover ibiza´s daytime attractives too. As long as there are no exceeding noises inside the hotel facilities there won´t be any incovenient, because what we only want is that all our guests have an enjoyable and satisfactory stay in Ibiza with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

a friend and I have just got back from 5 nights at hotelTropical in Ibiza...
What a fab holiday we had.
The hotel is great, it's in a good loacation, not far from the hustle and bustle at all.
The hotel was really clean and your room got cleaned every day. There is a sign which you put on your door saying do not disturb and on the other side it says free to clean my room, not a bad idea!!....
The rooms are pretty basic but we had a lovely balcony over looking the pool and this made up for it.
the hotel wasnt really noisy whilst we were there, thats down to Rambo, he really doesn't take any messing....the slightest noise coming from your room after midnight and he will be knocking asking you to turn off the music...hes a nice guy though!
The pool is lovely and getting a sunbed wasnt a problem, I can imagine this to be a nitemare in the height of the season. Not being able to take your own drinks in is a bit of a pain, when they charge 2 euros for a tiny bottle of water!
Breakfast wasnt bad at all either so worth getting up for....
I would definately recommend this hotel. .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne4006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Tropical, Manager at Hotel Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to know you enjoyed your overall stay at the Tropical.
We are happy to know you value our night staff efforts to let our guests have a good sleep. Thanks for your understanding in this matter.
We try to have in our snack bar menu by the pool a reasonable pricing list in comparison to other bars and terraces in the town, offering a friendly and experienced service.
For those who want to enjoy ibiza´s nightlife until the very last minute and have a bit of sleep we offer a long breakfast buffet opening times from 08.00 a.m. to 11.30 a.m.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

basic accomodation but very nice ... excellent location with free wifi.. big pool across the road
security guard doesnt allow you to take your own drinks in , tho the bar prices for food and drink is very good.. theres also a gym you can use . and table tennis and pool..

all in all a great hotel in an excellent area

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thevaledale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Tropical, Manager at Hotel Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Many thanks for your review. We are always willing to hear our guests comments, which are very helpful to know our guests thoughts and keep improving our standards.
We will pleased to welcome you next time you visit Ibiza.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Our Party of 10 Middle aged blokes enjoyed our 4 night stay at this hotel. Good welcoming staff and room cleaned every day with fresh towels. We were upgraded to rooms with Balconies, which was great. There was a good selection at breakfast with proper bacon and sausage. Location is great close to the westend and Cafe Mambo/ Del Mar. The security people are a must and provide assurance that some-kind of reasonable behaviour is maintained. . You still need to hire a safe because room doors are fragile, they are located in your room. We will back!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrickfoster21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Tropical, Manager at Hotel Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Many thanks for sending us your feedback. We are glad to know you had an enjoyable stay with us in Ibiza, we always try to do our best to match our guests needs whenever is possible.
Being preventive by hiring a safety deposit box is always a good idea. They are installed in your room´s wardrobe and can be hired at hotel reception at reasonable rates. We will be pleased to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The hotel is located very centrally in San Antonio to the West end, so the shops and bars are just round the corner. The Hotel itself is clean and well presented.

However the picture you see of the hotel with the pool out the front is a bit deceiving, the pool is actually across the road, with the world and it brother coming to use it. A grouchy bouncer polices the entrance and makes sure you can't bring in as much as a bottle of water with you unless you buy it from the bar.

The rooms were clean and air conditioned, and breakfast was included, which was sufficient.

The only let down about the hotel was the noise, Doors slamming, music blasting through the walls 24 hours a day, I thought I was back in my Uni Dorms.

If your on a package with others, and get your rooms together, this Hotel would be great, for a couple or those with children, I would avoid it at all costs, or you will be getting no sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nimo1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Tropical, Director General at Hotel Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thanks for sending us your feedback.

Regarding the pool location, reading our descriptions you can see that is opposite de hotel building separated by a narrow street. In our pool area you can find the following hotel facilities: snack bar, fitness gym, games room, 22m long swimming pool with loungers and gardens, loungers and crazy golf.
We would like to inform to avoid misunderstandings that is not allowed to get into the pool area drinks or food not purchased inside the hotel facilities. That hotel policy is clearly displayed by the pool entry and we have a pool snack bar offering a wide range of drinks and food to be served in this area with a reasonable value for money.
Our main public are youngsters and groups, together with couples ( we would not suggest it for families) ready to enjoy both Ibiza´s night & day attractives. However we are strict on night behaviour, with a night porter surveilling the hotel facilities to let our guests have a good sleep and have an enjoyable stay with us. We apologise for not being able to avoid some of these issues during your stay. We will keep working to improve this point, among others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We took over the hotel for 8 days in Sept - 200 of us in one hotel as part of Island Of Trance 2012, so either potential chaos or potential paradise.....

Very pleased to say it was the latter. The rooms were spot on, air con worked, tv worked (not that we were bothered on it), fridge spot on, spare keys for the rooms to so no key problems.

Security was strict as mentioned...though this i felt was a good thing as it means when i finally wanted sleep after 3 days with non, i didnt get kept awake by the finer points of Simon Patterson @ 5am in the morning. Rambo was a character...though i wouldnt recommend going to meet him worse for wear and not remembering which room you're in...he doesn't take too kindly to it!

Breakfast itself is spot on to - normally free breakfasts mean a little table in a corner of a room serving toast and special k that's older than Carl Cox. Here however it was a full on canteen buffet, and meant as a result you could in theory just live off breakfast during your time there - i know thats what i did for the first few days! One thing to highlight though - the little yellow things are chicken nuggets, not hash browns...which can be very confusing to the brain if you're not quite with it after a heavy few days!

If you're after a basic place with friendly staff and the ability to get sleep in the evening should you need it - then id recommend it! We'll be back next yr providing they have us ha.

Pete.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pete210_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Tropical, Director General at Hotel Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thanks for sending us your feedback from your stay.
We are pleased to listen your comments about our night porter tasks, as it is exactly what we want to achieve, let our guests enjoy a good night sleep in our facilities. We understand our main public comes to enjoy Ibiza´s nightlife but we think this must always be compatible with having a good rest for these guests who are looking for other daytime attractives Ibiza certainly has.
All your comments are more than welcome, as they are essential to know which things do we have to keep improving in order to give you a better service year by year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sant Antoni de Portmany hotels
0.1 mi away
Orosol Hotel
Orosol Hotel
#14 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Mari
Hostal Mari
#20 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
323 reviews
0 mi away
Florencio Hostal
Florencio Hostal
#41 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
azuLine Hotel Pacific
azuLine Hotel Pacific
#53 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
555 reviews
0.4 mi away
Invisa Hotel Es Pla
Invisa Hotel Es Pla
#17 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
716 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gran Sol
Hotel Gran Sol
#1 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropical

Address: Calle Cervantes 28, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 97 Hotels in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range: $41 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropical 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience, good value for money, as well as a professional and friendly customer service ensure that the Hotel Tropical is your best choice. We have been offering our services for more than 40 years, and benefit from a privileged location in the heart of San Antonio, only 5 minutes away from the main amenities. One of the most beautiful spectacles that nature can offer is also just a few steps away, our famous sunset. Check-in is after 12.00 o'clock midday and check-out is before 11.00 a.m. . All our guests will have access to a luggage room where they can leave their baggage up until the moment they leave, as well as two courtesy rooms with showers available 24 hours a day so you can enjoy your stay in Ibiza up until the very last minute. Our restaurant situated on the ground floor offers a buffet breakfast (English and continental) served from 08.00 o'clock to 11.30 in the morning and a buffet dinner (drinks not included in the price). Our thematic dinners offer you the chance to enjoy our cuisine and experience different menus such as Italian dinners or Mexican food depending on the day of the week. On the ground floor you can also find a large lounge with internet connection, free WIFI area, and satellite T.V. Opposite the hotel you will find our leisure area with, amongst other things, a large swimming-pool surrounded by gardens and terraces, as well as a games room, a gym and our pool snack bar with food service surrounded by a lively and friendly atmosphere where you can enjoy our wide range of cocktails and chilling your souls listening to the best tunes under the wonderful Ibiza sun. As well as all the above mentioned services, the Hotel Tropical is open to any type of requests to make you feel at home and ensure that you enjoy your stay with us. This hotel is specially recommended to young people, couples and groups. Not recommended for families ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel
Hotel Tropical Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing