We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok but not for us”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riviera
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ok but not for us”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just back after a weekend of July . We are 50 year olds so this hotel not really for our age group,lots of groups of young girls and boys who really not fussed about the noise they make.we were lucky we didn't get wakened every morning when they came back but most people did.our room was good maid every day very clean. Food was the usual fare for a/I .would say most staff were friendly and helpful although tony the batman bit stressed by young folk ordering to much drink.one minus was Albert the entertainment guy seemed to play music he liked ,meant to be half hour every day for requests but only did it once.overall ok hotel but very loud would we go back prob not

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank divster_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director H, Gerente at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing RIVIERA HOTEL for spending your holidays in Ibiza and for your comment as that is the right motivation for us to keep improving our services.

We keep working hardly day by day to reach the guest´s expectation because the main goal is right your satisfaction and we are really glad that in your case we were successful.

All the clients coming to Ibiza they need to understand that Ibiza is very touristic and noisy island which makes difficult for all hotel establishments to keep the quiet nights. We really try to do it so as the reception is open 24h / 7 days and all you need you can contact directly the receptionist. Moreover, we cooperate with an external security company which helps us to calm the noisy clients.


Anyway we take a note of all your observations and if there was any inconvenience caused to you during your stay in RIVIERA HOTEL, let me to apologize behalf of all staff.

Hopefully we see you again in our establishment.

Kind regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    376
    215
    85
    95
See reviews for
161
315
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel(as a couple) for 5 nights on the 14th July(ages 37 & 28) and can honestly that the hotel was good and the staff were superb!
On our first morning it became apparent that most of the guests were probably below the age of 25 and in large groups which I thought would be interesting in terms of rowdiness etc but to be fair it was pretty tame and everybody seemed really friendly!
We were all inclusive and there was so much choice considering how little we had paid! We particularly enjoyed eating different fish like swordfish and hake but for less discerning palates there were plenty of chips and pizza to keep you happy! Particular praise for the restaurant staff who were particularly friendly and were always happy to see us(especially the waitress with the glasses from Majorca!) One lunchtime we were chatting away and she asked us where we were from and couldn't believe it when we said England. Apparently we were too friendly to come from England! Not a great reflecton on my fellow countrymen and just goes to show that being friendly goes a long way.
The alcohol was decent enough and the bar man Toni is a laugh and likes his banter so always threw my loose change in the tips pot! He's been at that hotel for 42 years and was more than happy to share his experiences with us....some funny stories, some rude ha ha!
The hotel itself is basic but was always immaculate and the maids came into our room everyday(and cleared up my Fiancees mess ha ha!) The walls are incredibly thin so you can hear everything and when doors were shut the room would shake so earplugs are recommended . I caught up with my sleep the next day by the pool!
The location itself is approximately a 45 minute walk to the west end and about an an hour to Cafe Mambo and Cafe Del Mar.You can get a water taxi for 3 euros but we enjoyed regular pitstops at different bars during the walk with Bay Bar being our favourite!
The entertainment wasn't great but we left around 9pm most nights so it didn't affect us.
Overall I would recommend this hotel and we are most certainly going back next year...great value at £400 all inclusive for 5 days...get it booked but don't forget your earplugs!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Burnage-MCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director H, Gerente at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the PLAYA SOL HOTEL GROUP as your holiday accommodation to stay in Ibiza.

We are glad to hear you were satisfied in RIVIERA HOTEL. We try to improve our services day by day and this is a huge motivation for us to read the comments like yours.

Once again thank you for your time to write a comment and we hope we can see you again in our establishment.

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 3amish after being sent there from their sister hotel because there was a problem with our hotel room. We were booked on a self catering basis at our original accommodation but ended up at the Riviera on an all inclusive basis; result! Location is good, plenty of shops, bars, restaurants and very close to the beach too. Hotel food was good, plenty of variety and you'd never go hungry. Two large pools and a small splash pool for kiddies and they were all good too. Hotel was full of youngsters but they never bothered anyone though there were some families too with young kids so I wouldn't say it was for youngsters only.

Don't expect to sleep much tho as party goers would come in in the early hours and be quite rowdy tho having said that if the problem was reported to reception they would send up a control fella to warn them and soon put a stop to that.

The hotel staff were excellent and the cleaner came everyday. San Antonio is half an hours walk away and there's a beautiful beach in Port Des Torrent which we visited regularly. Local buses were cheap enough and there was a bus stop right outside the hotel which went to the airport door to door for 4 Euros each way.

Room Tip: Top floor pool or sea view. Don't book airport transfers as the no. 9 goes to the airport direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitavara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director H, Gerente at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our company PLAYASOL HOTEL GROUP for your holidays in Ibiza.

We are really glad that you enjoyed the stay at RIVIERAHOTEL and thank you for the great motivation you gave us with your positive commentary.

We hope that you visit us the next season; it will be a pleasure to see you again at our establishment.

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a 5 night stay at the hotel riviera with my 2 friends and we really enjoyed, the hotel is so clean and the cleaners where excellent could not fault them. Food was very nice to and always hot, staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool area was amazing plenty of sun beds and the pool form party on a Friday is a must had a good laugh, music played all day by the pool which was good. Taxi boat only 5 mins walk away and was only 3 euro, but found it very easy to get a taxi on the main road by the hotel. Bar by the hotel called peppers2 is an amazing bar good feeling in there and very happy friendly staff. Over all when I go to Ibiza again I would defo stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viki86_810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

stayed here from the 29th july-5th august we arrived late at night which that was a poor start. came with my boyfriend n 2others. when the transfer bus dropped us off for the hotel it was 10mins down the road, not front door service so we had to struggle walking up the street with our luggage which I didnt enjoy. we checked in n got our rooms straight away, they wernt rooms together but not that bothered. the other 2 that was in our group paid a 10euro deposit for aircon but cause I read reveiws I remembered all remotes work on aircon so me n boyfriend just used there remote for free. also we asked for the tele one night n got told there was no batterys which was a lie it was just to late for them to do anything so back in the room I tried tele without paying for it n it worked so got that without paying too. we stayed around big pool during day which had groups around but also families which were enjoying thrmselves. othrr pool is full with young people so couldnt comment on what they were like. activities on during day n pool foam party is a must.... was brilliant atmosphere. rooms cleaned daily but one day we can in and had no towels then next day we had double towels :/ food was ok. be adventurous n try new things. I was quite surprised with what I enjoyed. location nothing much going on at all. supermarkets dont sell fags u have to get them out of machine which is really annoying only on the last day did I find a tobacco shop. highly recommend peppers 2 bar was amazing. both nights I came out drunk at half5 for a fairly cheap amount. if o could I would of spent every night there. restaurants are ok. water taxi great... easier than a taxi. lucky lucky men must admit im not missing them at all. ive been to some places over the years but for hassle that was the worst. one after another. if your on a group go for it also I shouldnt say why familys cant go as there was a few family's and all making most of it. already looking to go back in October but room only

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelseyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Just got back from a 9 night stay here with my boyfriend (21 & 23).
When we checked in it was 11am so i was expecting the room not to be ready but it was. Stayed on 4th floor in hotel, 2 twin beds pushed together we paid for the aircon 4 euro per day and also the safe was the same, room was nice and clean and decent size balcony. maid service everyday...clean bedding and clean towells, only thing is they come far too early in the morning and loads of shouting in the corridors
We just stayed room only so didnt have any food at the hotel but my cousin who stayed all inclusive said the food wasnt the best but what do people want for a 3 star cheap hotel.
pool areas were decent, plenty music on through the day which got you in the mood for a night out and also other activities going on.
like everyone else is saying about the 'lucky lucky' men yes it is annoying but just ignore them they soon get the picture, also the taxis sometimes on a night we had to walk 15-20 minutes just to get a taxi as was a bit of a nightmare because the hotel wont ring them or get the water taxi but sometimes you end up sitting around for ages.
dont buy any tickets from the guys who come knocking on doors as heard a bad story about them if you stay here there is a bar outside the hotel which are an official place to buy tickets for all the events
the hotel is really strict on a night time for noise we got 2 warnings!! so beware
also our last night there was a lad begging us to help him as his friend got spiked and no one in the hotel would help him, it cost 80 euro to get a ambulance called out and when the ambulance finally come out the paramedic would only give the guy the injection if he had 450 euro which basically saved his life and is a disgrace that he was shouting on for money when the poor lad was near enough to dying
would definately come back and stay here though 5 minutes walk from taxi boat and 2 seconds too any supermarkets, restaurants, bars, shops, decent security at night times so never felt afraid to be around by my self

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I wouldn't say i'd stop here again as i'd like to be closer to sant antonio, but it was clean, the staff were friendly. Sheets and room were changed / cleaned everyday. Other things like the pool were good & the day time entertainment wasn't to bad.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Antoni de Portmany
0.6 mi away
Hotel Club San Remo
Hotel Club San Remo
#13 of 105 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Club S'Estanyol
Hotel Club S'Estanyol
#30 of 105 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartments Riviera
Apartments Riviera
#63 of 105 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Puchet
Hotel Puchet
#6 of 105 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nereida Aparthotel
Nereida Aparthotel
#1 of 1 in San Antonio Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.6 mi away
azuLine Hoteles Mar Amantis I & II
azuLine Hoteles Mar Amantis I & ...
#29 of 105 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Property: Hotel Riviera
Address: C/ Es Calo s/n, Xinxo | Cala Bou - Port des Torrent, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The three-star hotel is located at San Antonio Bay with a beautiful sea view. It is surrounded by restaurants, boutiques, souvenirs, chemist and many entertainment options for the whole family. The distance to San Antonio town is approximately. 3.5 Km and just a few meters from the hotel you will find Punta Xinxó Beach. So as to move around, and at your convenience, there is a bus stop a few meters away from the hotel connecting with the nearest beaches and San Antonio Town. Big solarium terraces with two swimming pools for adults and children. Dining room with buffet service is available for breakfast and dinner. Shared gardens. Bar on the terrace. Social halls equipped with air conditioning and Satellite TV. All rooms are fully equipped with bathroom, TV-SAT, telephone, air conditioning and terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Grupo Playa Sol, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riviera Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing