We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in San Antonio”
Review of Hotel Gran Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gran Sol
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best hotel in San Antonio”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

So happy with this hotel. Away from the main hustle and bustle, but close to cafe mambo I loved our stay in this hotel. Friendly service from bar/restaurant staff, maids cleaned rooms to a high standard. Relaxed atmosphere, you can't ask any more from a hotel. 10 out of 10. I look forward to my next stay with you :D

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlozthewaiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    360
    48
    13
    4
See reviews for
144
629
62
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Clean modern rooms
Large breakfast selection but not great quality
Pool and games (pool and pimg pomg table) area plus bar were fantastic
Good wifi
Good location walking distance to water, restaueants, shops and sunset
Staff were very helpful
Gym and laundromat nearby

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mellya87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just back from my third visit.

This is my favourite hotel in the world for value and the friendliness of all the staff and they did not disappoint this year.

New flat screen TV's in the room, a funky new reception area and the whole hotel rewired. Every year they spend money on upgrading the hotel and I believe this year they are upgrading the boilers.

This is not a hotel for big groups and stags etc, but perfect for couples or small groups who want to chill beside the pool during the day after a night out clubbing. Also great cocktails and good food for a snack at lunch.

Thanks to all the staff again for looking after us, especially Jose and Pepe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DirkBigler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Me and my 7 hens stayed her for a longweekend. Unfortunately I became ill on our last night with gastroenteritis (caught at another place). The staff couldn't of helped us anymore. After a short stay in hospital, I went back and they had saved my room at no extra cost, let me get ready in my room and told me I was welcome to stay around the grounds as long as I needed to whilst we booked new flights to get home. They made an awful situation a lot easier for me, truly very grateful for their compassion and kindness.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

When I was told my partner "we're going to Ibiza", part of me dreaded it. When I was further told, it was all booked I had visions of one of those rubbish hotels you see on TV with kids screaming all night and loud thumping music from the bar beneath. When I checked out what he'd booked on here I was relieved as it was in the top two. I'm going to recommend this place stay in the top two, if not get to number 1.

The hotel is clean, well run and is exactly what the non-clubbing scene needs. That said, we did go clubbing and it's an easy walk to the main clubbing area but far enough away from the kids and idiots. Rooms are comfortable and the bar prices reasonable. ish.

A glass (330ml) of coke cost 3 Euros. A can of coke, from the same bar, with the same glass and ice (also 330ml) costs 2.20 Euros... I know it's only a matter of pence but it got to me that there was this inconsistency, for no apparent reason. And therein lies the point - I have nothing else to write about this place. It was such a good 7 day stay, I can only moan about a glass of coke costing 80 cents more... :-D GOOD SHOW HOTEL GRAN SOL!

Breakfast is served from 7.45 until 10.30 and dinner from 7.30 until 10pm. Check out time is midday, but an extension until 3pm cost us 20 Euros.

I'd stay here again. Without a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atc_brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed at the Gran Sol, Ibiza for the second time in two years. The facilities are perfect, fantastic location, good snack facilities, great value! I went with a group of girls both times for a hen. I was pleased that the hotel was nice & quiet during the day, pool was lovely, real mixture of ages older to the odd family. I noticed the décor had been updated & new chairs since I stayed last year in reception area & we also picked up the free wifi from our bedrooms- really love the improvements. Staff were very friendly- no complaints at all!

I would also like to thank the Gran Sol for being very accommodating with my friend who sadly on the last day of our trip was really poorly from gastroenteritis (caused by a dodgy KFC) she was taken to hospital etc, but the whole time the staff at the hotel were very thoughtful, empathised & were very supportive. I think this hotel is a fantastic find, would not hesitate to recommend to others & can see another visit booked in, in a year or two. I would even take my 3yr old as feel very comfortable & safe.

Its walking distance to the nightlife, yet a nice enough distance too! :-)

Last year we had bed & breakfast which was delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great service, rooms cleaned everyday, breakfast was amazing, staff are very friendly, fantastic location - right beside the sunset strip, quiet but still plenty of people about. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Antoni de Portmany
1.0 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
#3 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Puchet
Hotel Puchet
#6 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bellamar Hotel
Bellamar Hotel
#5 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Marina Playa Hotel & Apartments
Marina Playa Hotel & Apartments
#2 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#2 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ses Savines Hotel
Ses Savines Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Sol

Property: Hotel Gran Sol
Address: Calle Soledat 49, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#1 Family Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#10 Best Value Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gran Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-managed Gran Sol Hotel is one of San Antonio's favourite, modestly priced hotels: it lies in a quieter corner of the resort just a short walk away from the town centre and beach of San Antonio.There is a fresh-water swimming-pool on a spacious sun-terrace complete with loungers and sun-shades. There is also a garden with lawn for more serious sunbathing.The small sandy beach of Caló d'es Moro is less than 100m from the hotel whilst the beaches of Cala Grassio and more sophisticated Cala Grassioneta are a stroll down the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Gran Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Sol Hotel
Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing