We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
Review of Hotel Arenal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great stay”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

we stayed here from 28th sept to the 9th of oct ,hotel a bit dated but very clean & helpful staff ,food was good & plenty of choice .it was was in a perfect postion to go for nice walks along the beach front .theres a good choice of bars & resturants near by .we would definately go back but i would have a sea view

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    196
    63
    19
    16
See reviews for
110
221
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MID-WALES
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Booked with First Choice last minute and was very impressed. Read a few reviews but as always you get the bad ones which are usually silly people sounding off about something very petty! If you go in the summer then you have to expect a lot of noise at night outside with all the clubber, Your in San Antonio Ibiza! Party Capital of Ibiza, What do you expect?? If you want it quieter then go to another part of Ibiza or go early/late season.I went 20/10/12-27/10/12 and had no problems with noisy people, It Makes sense.

Hotel room itself didn't look much but was very comfortable, We were lucky to get a Sea View room free of charge. Was lush sat on the balcony watching the sun go down at the end of the day.

The buffet restaurant was laid out very well, You are allocated a table on your first day for the whole stay, The food i thought was very very good, I have stayed in 5 star hotels in Mexico and the Caribbean and the food was just as good as they were. For a small hotel they offered a good selection.

The hotel has 2 pools, Outdoor/Indoor. Outdoor pool was pretty cold, no one really went in it,Indoor pool was just at the right temperature with someone always in it,Also has pool table and table tennis at the indoor pool area.In the basement of the hotel there is also a TV room and gym.

The bar offered a great selection of beers/soft drinks at great prices,only downfall was they were running out of a lot of it towards the end of our week as they were closing for the winter on the 31/10/12 but still not that much of a problem.Plenty of seats to go around with Sky TV.Also you can get wifi in the lobbly/bar/outdoor terrace areas for a charge, We paid 15 Euro for the week.

The outdoor terrace was were the entertainment was held,Had some great nights there with some nice people. Try not to mix with people on holiday after a bad experience in the past, sometimes not worth it when they end up actually being someone different. But on the other hand really did meet some lovely people here.

The beach was very nice, straight from the hotel across a path and its there, a little rubbish but look at the UK beaches! Sometimes there weren't enough sun loungers to go around so we would take a towel and go lay on the beach, Was fine.

San Antonio itself is just a short stroll from the hotel, that's where you will find all the Restaurants/Bars/Clubs/Shops. I went the end of October so obviously the clubs and most of the other places were closing for the winter which i liked as it was very quit.You can also go the other way down to San Antonio Bay which is a lovely walk with more shops.

The Weather was very nice, First couple of days were cloudy with a bit of rain but the last 5 days were glorious scattered clouds and 26c, Came home with a lush tan.

We hired a car from Goldcar from Ibiza airport for the week, If your going to rent a car i would advise you stay away from these guys. We took about 20 minutes recording the damage to a brand new Ford Fiesta before we left.On the second day we had a car crash. Not our fault, A lady skidded in the wet into the side of us, She came with us to Goldcar and explained everything and accepted liability, filled out the forms and still i ended up having to pay 193.50 Euros excess towards the damage even thought it wasn't my fault.They did say that i would receive a refund when her insurance pays up but I've e-mailed them twice so far and had no reply.Will have to wait and see.

Any questions or suggestions please ask, Ibiza if lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank welshlad1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nth lincs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just returned from a weeks holiday. The Hotel Arenal is in a great location overlooking the beach, able to stroll either way along the promenade. Although near end of season ideal for people who don't do disco's. I thought the food was very good, rooms are spacious and clean, my only issue was water pressure in the showers. Staff friendly and helpful. Would stay there in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meandher8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

we have just returned from a weeks holiday, and had a lovely relaxing time.
when we arrived the first 2 days weather was awful , but did not stop us getting out and about, yes a lot of things were closed as it is the end of the season, but if you just want to chill out for a week its just the job.
after the initial rain/wind we had 5 glorious days and walked for miles, the hotel was very clean and friendly, the rooms have had some updating but could benefit from double glazing . especially on the sea-front, the gardend were well kept with plenty of sunbeds. we did not use the outdoor pool as it was in the shade, although the indoor pool was very popular.
there was entertainement every night and something for everyone. i am amazed at some reports of the food as it was excellent with a wide choice at breakfast and evenings , you sometimes wonder what people want on a 3 * holiday, i found it all very appetising and of good quality. the location of this hotel is the main advantage with lovely views if you have a beach front room. once again thanks to the staff for a lovely stay you all do a great job.

Room Tip: only three floors but obviously beach facing ones are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tart_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west lothian
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Holiday was great right next to the beach all though its not the best beach in Ibiza, Staff we really friendly the only bad part of the hotel and very disappointing i went half board 2 week holiday every morning was the same breakfast and easily got fed up with it and a lot of the nights the meat was uncooked also they do not cater for children. We went hear last week but since its the end of the session most thinks close by had shut down for 6 months so there was not a lot to do. Kids club was ok sara was lovely great with the kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpnWestLothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We found the Hotel noisy.next to Linnekers disco.We were over the pool,on the main road.worth your while paying for sea view.Disagree with one reviewer complaining about food.Plenty of choices our party liked the food,rooms well used but clean linen and bed.usual hotel entertainment.younger generation paying £80 for entrance to discos.£15 a pint.Ibiza old town worth a visit as is hippy market.

Room Tip: ask for 3rd floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eleanor398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just got back from having 5 nights at this hotel, was meant to be a relaxing holiday and felt like an indurance test! After reading the trip advisor reviews and on recommendation we decided to stay at the arenal, big mistake!! Was no way a 3 star hotel, the bedrooms with pool view are on a BUSY main road that you can hear 24/7 as the patio door did not shut properly and is only single glass! If the guests either side of you smoke when returning to your room all you can smell is stale smoke in the room from them smoking on the balcony, the rest of the so called pool view is looking at burger king,kfc and pizzahut! The food was stale and selection was very bad, also the system of having to queue for your food was like being back at school.We requested to move rooms to sea view which we had to pay for, the view was lovely but the standard of room was just the same. Although it was nice to look at the ocean when trying to sleep this side all you could hear was the clubbers walking past shouting and screaming! Where the entertainment was performed outside there were rats on the hotel grounds! The minute you stepped out the hotel you were offered drugs of all kinds!!! Ibiza was dirty and needed a complete revamp, all the resturants and bars including our hotels had sticky chairs and tables. The beaches aren't looked after glass and rubbish everywhere!! so overall a horrible experience of Ibiza and felt like we were staying in a hostel! Never again!!

Room Tip: Don't other going
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sant Antoni de Portmany hotels
0.2 mi away
Ses Savines Hotel
Ses Savines Hotel
#7 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellamar Hotel
Bellamar Hotel
#5 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tagomago
Hotel Tagomago
#33 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puchet
Hotel Puchet
#6 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.4 mi away
azuLine Hotel Pacific
azuLine Hotel Pacific
#53 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.3 mi away
azuLine Hotel Galfi
azuLine Hotel Galfi
#40 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal

Property: Hotel Arenal
Address: Avenida Doctor Fleming 16, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arenal 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hotel
Hotel Arenal Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing