We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Ibiza Rocks Hostal

Ibiza Rocks Hostal
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ibiza Rocks Hostal
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here with 2 others and we didn't know what to expect since it is called a 'hostal' but we were very pleasantly surprised. The room was very clean when we arrived and was cleaned every 2 days with fresh towels left for us which was very good. We also had a good balcony which was brilliant for drinking on before going out! There was a lovely receptionist on at night, I can't remember his name but he was a local from Ibiza and he was helpful if we ever needed anything.
There is noise from other people staying at the hostal but thats got to be expected at an Ibiza Rocks hotel! The location was also fine, once you know your way its easy!
Would definitely stay there again, the pool was nice for a relaxing day or you could go to the main Ibiza Rocks pool if you wanted a more upbeat atmosphere.

Room Tip: We had a corner room which meant it was bigger than the others and our balcony was much bigger than...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 20, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review Ibiza Rocks Hostal.

I am happy to hear you had a great time during your stay. we appreciate all the feedback we receive from guests, particularly for the Hostal as this is a relatively new product for us.

We will hope to see you again in Summer 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Ibiza Rocks Hostal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 53 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just got back from a 3 night stay here and would stay here again. You get all the privileges of the ibiza rocks hotel too, which is just around the corner. The rooms are basic but clean. The location is ok, just be prepared for a little bit of walking. The staff are really helpful. The only downfall was the noise in the mornings from other holiday makers banging on doors/shouting, but I appreciate this is not the hostels fault.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan H, Overseas Delivery Manager at Ibiza Rocks Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Hi Janine,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your comments on our Ibiza Rocks Hostal.

It's good to hear you had a great time at Ibiza Rocks, we value all of our customers feedback and hope that you will join us again in 2014 so that next time we can make your stay even better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just returned from Together opening trip and the hostal isn't great to be honest but the rooms are ideally located for events in Ibiza Rocks Hotel and for the bars in 'west end'. We paid 500 for 5 days including events in Space, Amnesia, Sankeys and Zoo so definitely feel it was well worth our money. Staying at the hostal allows you entry to all of the events in Ibiza Rocks which are epic and cost around 35/45 euros for those not staying in the hotel or hostal. Staff are extremely lovely and go out of their way to help. Kier and Georgie were fabulous! Georgie gave us an honest guide about where we should go and which days and Kier carried our bags for us! Such lovely staff all round. Although the room was only cleaned once and only after we requested it. If you're not planning on spending all day cooped up in the room then this place is more than fine but I'd suggest bringing some cleaning products as the bathroom isn't particularly clean. Has a lovely, quiet and relaxing pool too!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsJames_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan H, Overseas Delivery Manager at Ibiza Rocks Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Hi

Thanks for your comments - we are always looking to improve the Ibiza Rocks product and the views of our guests are very important to help us move forward.

Hopefully you'll stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Me and 9 others stayed here, as we thought we were going to ibiza to party and enjoy ourselfs this was not the plac to stay, we were told to turn off our music during the day in out rooms, the staff is terrible not one bit help full, one person works every thing in the hostel they jump from recption to bar to pool staff, we paid around 600 for 10 days here and we were decusted, the rooms are really basic and small, no one comes around to tidy, change sheets or replace toilet roll, you have to fight with staff to get these things and do it yourself. and another thing you have to chance a running into people and bringing them back with you cos staff does not let anybody in, they give you a warning for playing music and the next one your out, i witnessd a feela brecking a door when i was there but he was straight down the next day a owned up they said if he pays 600 euro he can stay and they will replace door withen the hour the lad paid them the money and after the recieved the money they told him to leave the hostel or the police will be rung, staff is very corript..... Avoiddddd this place at all costs !!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blaine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan H, Overseas Delivery Manager at Ibiza Rocks Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Hi Blaine

Thanks for reviewing Ibiza Rocks Hostal though I'm sorry to hear you didn't seem to enjoy your stay.

Ibiza Rocks Hostal is a budget alternative to the Ibiza Rocks Hotel, giving you full access to the Hotel from 9am - midnight whilst sleeping at the Hostal.

Unfortunately we cannot allow each room to be playing loud music 24 hours a day as we are on a residential road. Of course, we're happy for our guests to play music in their rooms but when noise levels become excessive we will ask you to turn it down. If we have to return to the same room on several occasions in a short space of time then the room will be issued with a warning. This is clearly explained in the Welcome Pack you receive upon check-in.

Our cleaners visit between 3-4 times a week but will only empty the bins if there are people sleeping inside the room at the time they call as we don't want to disturb your sleep!

You refer to an incident where someone broke down a door and it was in fact myself that dealt with this at the time. The client was charged for the door as it was no longer safe and we needed to replace it. Unfortunately, if any of our guests cause considerable damage to our property then we will always ask them to leave the premises as was the case here.

Again, our key aim for all of our guests is to ensure that they enjoy their stay with Ibiza Rocks and I'm very sorry to hear that this was not the case for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I've stayed at the Ibiza Rocks Hostel (Las Huerdes) twice now - once last year, and I returned yesterday from a week's stay. Our room last year was spacious and comfortable and we had the room cleaned every day. You are eligible for all of the same privileges Ibiza Rocks Hotel offers you, and we felt that this cheap option would allow for more activities.
This year we stayed in a smaller room, which was dirty beyond belief (the toilet and bidet had yellow stains and rust all over them) and the bath was ingrained with dirt.

I believe the maids visited our room three times during our stay - the first, while I was asleep in the room, during which time they mopped the floor and left some new towels; the second while we were out when they appeared only to take away my pillow case (??? I had a bit of make up on it but it wasn't horrific - I had to sleep for the rest of the holiday without the pillow case!) and give make my bed (but leave everyone else's untouched?), and the last time they popped their heads in, saw I was sitting awake, and gave me towels then left. The room didn't have a proper clean at all other than during the first few days, and I had to go and ask in reception for more toilet paper rather than it being supplied by the maids even though they'd just "cleaned" the room.

In short - if you're looking to stay out all night and sleep very little then this is the place for you. Otherwise I would recommend the hotel itself, which is simple but 20 times more pleasant than the hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 29, 2012

Hi Nia

Thanks for your comments.

Regarding the cleaning, housekeeping will aim to visit your room five times over a seven day period. If they find that you are still sleeping in the room at the time, they will change the bin and the leave you to rest.

You mention about stains in the bathroom and this is obviously not acceptable - I will look into this over the next day or so.

We hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Basic, clean, affordable
stayed in a twin room - both bathroom and room were cleaned everyday.
You did have to pay for the aircon - although well worth it!
Staying a the hostel gets you into all the pool and events at Ibiza rocks hotel for free.
If your looking for a basic , reletively cheap hostel that's not to loud during the day or night Ibiza rocks hostal will suit you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan H, Overseas Delivery Manager at Ibiza Rocks Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Hi Emily

Thanks for your review of Ibiza Rocks Hostal - we appreciate as much feedback as possible.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The people we met when we stayed at the Hostal were brilliant. The receptionists were complete babes (mostly Alex) apart from one arrogant guy. It had a more fun feeling than the actual Hotel but the Hostal itself was a dive!
Three of us girls stayed from 30th july-6th august. FIRST OF ALL Ibiza Rocks didn't even give us proper directions to the Hostal, we arrived AT NIGHT and had to walk around for an hour until we asked another hotel where the hostal actually was!! We got there, got given a bit of paper to sign and then had to drag our 15kg suitcases up four flights of stairs to reach the second floor! No help offered. Thanks lads!

Our door wouldn't even open when we got up there. You had to pull it forward then back and shove it. Then you have to pay 6 EURO A NIGHT for air con which DOES NOT CIRCULATE WELL it only aims itself at one bed (which was mine and I FROZE when we had it on!) .
Our wardrobe door had several punch holes in it.
The beds were literally mattresses (if you can call them that) supported by metal poles.
The bath wouldn't drain when showering, it filled up so you had to be really speedy.
The bidet leaked whenever the taps were turned on.
The toilet was fine, just the seat looked yellow and minging.
The sink wobbled off the wall.
The balcony was tiny but did like the pool side view, that was nice :-)
The pictures on the walls had writing on from 1991 (guessing we stayed in the same room as someone who also wrote a review on here!)
And we only had our towels changed once in a WEEK stay. No bedding changed.

Only positive is that I saw a guy removing a toilet from next door so hoping this room has been refurbed since we left it!!

Location was VERY GOOD though. About a 10 minute walk from the west end strip (AMSTERDAM BAR!!!) so that was good. Hotel was about 5 mins away. Beaches all around and very close :) About 17 Euro taxi to Amnesia, 17 euro to Privilege, 25 to Ushaia or Space.

On our last nights we met some new lads that were staying. The arrogant receptionist told them off for having a police warning WHICH THEY DID NOT HAVE as we had met the people who said they'd had the police talking to them earlier in the day. He would not listen to us even though we were polite and reasonable so continued to accuse the WRONG people. Stupid police records in Spain.


Overall it was a GOOD stay but BECAUSE OF THE PEOPLE NOT THE PLACE.
Would so not say it's worth £485 for a week!

Room Tip: Rooms without a poolside view have way bigger balconies but then you overlook a grotty side road. Yo...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan H, Overseas Delivery Manager at Ibiza Rocks Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Hi Holly

Thanks for your comments and I'm sorry to hear you had mixed impressions of Ibiza Rocks Hostal.

As stated on all booking platforms, all check in, whether they be for Ibiza Rocks Hostal or Ibiza Rocks Hotel must take place at the Hotel. You would then have been given instructions on how to get there on a piece of paper. I apologise if you did not receive these instructions as the Hostal is just five minutes walk from the Hotel.

As you will find in many similar Hotels & Hostals in the area, air-con is an optional extra upon check in. The cost of €6 a night is very competitive in San Antonio and we regularly check other, similar units to remain on par or better in price.

I am sorry to hear of the problems you had in your room. Did you report any of these to reception or our Host Team? As you mentioned, you saw someone remove a toilet from the next room. Should we receive reports from any of our guests we take them very seriously and the likelihood is that someone had reported the toilet next door for it to be removed.

Again, I would like to apologise on behalf of Ibiza Rocks for the negative points of your stay and can assure you that this is not always the case. Our staff aim to give you the best possible Rocks experience and I would urge you to try us again next year given the chance.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Antoni de Portmany
0.0 mi away
Ibiza Rocks Hotel
Ibiza Rocks Hotel
#17 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
1,437 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sol House Ibiza Mixed by Ibiza Rocks
Sol House Ibiza Mixed by Ibiza R...
#1 of 7 in Port d'es Torrent
547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartahotel Central City
Apartahotel Central City
#45 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Pepe
Hotel Don Pepe
#50 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartahotel Del Mar
Apartahotel Del Mar
#59 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Jovial
Apartamentos Jovial
#16 of 45 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibiza Rocks Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibiza Rocks Hostal

Address: Check in At Ibiza Rocks Hotel Calle Cervantes 27, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although set away from the main Hotel complex the Ibiza Rocks Hostal is by no means your traditional ‘hostal’ accommodation.Based within 500m of the main Hotel, each Hostal room sleeps up to three people (two sofa beds and one pull out mattress) and features a private bathroom with a bath, shower and WC. However, the Hostal rooms do NOT have self catering facilities.Check-in takes place over at the main Ibiza Rocks Hotel (Check in 2pm - Check out 12pm) where safety deposit boxes and air conditioning can be organised for your Hostal room at an additional charge.Included in the price of your stay is an Ibiza Rocks wristband that permits you full daytime and evening access to all of the main Hotel’s public areas, pools and facilities and also includes the full 2012 entertainment programme. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ibiza Rocks Hostal Hotel Sant Antoni De Portmany
Ibiza Rocks Hostal Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing