We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gourmet Food in San Pedro”
Review of Albert & Simon

Albert & Simon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $67
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the new part of san pedro de alcantara near the beach. Albert & Simon is ideal for spending a wonderful evening. Modern decoration and very cozy
New Ross, Ireland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Gourmet Food in San Pedro”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This family run restaurant has been wowing diners in San Pedro for a number of years. The latest addition to their offering is a list of Taps sized portions of many of the mains - a wonderful idea as you can try a number of different tastes. Run by two brothers and various other family members. Great food, friendly service and an excellent wine list (with expert advice to help you choose the best wine to accompany your food).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PJBWexford_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    51
    22
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You know what you are going to get”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

The high standards set by Albert & simon have never faltered. The menu rarely changes so you know before setting foot in the restaurant what will be on offer. This to
my mind is the only setback. I would like a little more innovation. That said you will be looked after by simon as soon as you enter. A welcome glass of fizz sets you off on the right track.
Albert's pickled herring starter is a must. Also the slow cooked lamb or pork is a star dish.
Over the years the portions have got smaller in order to maintain sensible prices. At least you have room for the delicious desserts. Lastly simon keeps a first class cellar with wines to suit all tastes and pockets and he is keen to assist when you are undecided on your tipple.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bowster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in San Pedro”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

When visiting San Pedro, the dinner in Albert&Simon was by far the best. Although the location is rather casual, it still is a romantic place. The food was excellent and service superb. Will visit again when back in San Pedro.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkusTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewood, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Some good, some not so good”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Cannot complain about the quality of the food, but too many other issues prevent a higher rating.
I sat outside looking at a row of rubbish bins and a busy main road which didn't exactly help any ambience. The service was polite but slow. The food was nice but barely enough to satisfy anyone with an appetite. For this price range I felt a little disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 352PeterE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I ate here twice on our recent holiday to San Pedro with our three children after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. We weren't disappointed! The food is definitely world class. It doesn't have the most perfect location, in a suburban street, it gets very busy so perhaps the service may lack at times....but the food is outstanding! I had the scallops with black truffle and Parmesan.....divine! For my main course I had the fillet steak with fois gras and calvados.....one of the nicest dishes I've ever tasted. The wine list has good local and international wines. This restaurant can be expensive, in my opinion worth every penny. There is however a set 3 course menu for a reasonable 29 euros with some excellent selections for those on a tight budget. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emilyaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albert & Simon also viewed

San Pedro de Alcantara, Costa del Sol
San Pedro de Alcantara, Costa del Sol
 
San Pedro de Alcantara, Costa del Sol
San Pedro de Alcantara, Costa del Sol
 
San Pedro de Alcantara, Costa del Sol
San Pedro de Alcantara, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Albert & Simon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing