We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food, reasonable prices, fantastic service and.......did you know the owner is an ex bull fighter?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buddies Bar San Pedro de Alcantara

Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, Mediterranean, European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
houten
Level Contributor
157 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delicious food, reasonable prices, fantastic service and.......did you know the owner is an ex bull fighter?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by friends who live in San Pedro and we were told that the owner is an old bull fighter. His son is running the place, but Dad is still helping out.
You have to make an appointment because it is always crowded and most people are locals!
The reason? The food is very good, the service excellent and the whole atmosphere is what you expect in a real Spanish restaurant.
When we were there, a singer came with his guitar and sang Spanish songs.
We had real Spanish dishes and they were very tasty.
Whenever you are in Dan Pedro, do go there one night! It is open from 13.00 hrs to 01.00 hrs.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank linette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great bar !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a brilliant bar and restaurant ! We stayed at the Cortijo Blanco hotel right next door and visited Buddies many times.It has a lovely chilled atmosphere and although we didn't eat there the food looked delicious with massive helpings and the staff were SO nice! There were live singers or karaoke every night and it was a great way to end the day.We have already booked to go back next year and will definitely be visiting "Buddies" can't wait to see you again !

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladylaceholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 541 helpful votes
“Great Bar, Great Food & Drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

We visited Buddies on a number of occasions; a casual drink on an evening, an evening meal, great breakfast and lunch. The only time we were disappointed was the one time that we sat inside and found 3 people sitting at a table, smoking. No one made any attempt to stop them and I cannot understand why they were allowed to smoke inside, given Spain's draconian laws on smoking.

That said the rest of the times we went and sat outside, we had a really enjoyable time. A nice drop of the black stuff and an extensive menu to choose from. On one occasion we had pasta which was absolutely delicious. There are some massive steaks in a fridge at the back which are cooked on a large open barbecue style grill. They also do a mean English or Irish breakfast. The staff are really attentive and even if you are only having a drink, you are normally brought some complementary Tapas. It is certainly the best place in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaymanWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good service and ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Visited this restaurant one evening whilst staying at the Cortijo Blanco Hotel to get away from the poor standard of the all inclusive meals. We were given a free starter of garlic bread and a free taster dessert to share. For a main course I had Lasagne which was very good, my wife choose Pizza, she was less happy with this as it had been sprinkled with mixed herbs which she felt spoilt the taste. However the staff were very pleasant and the ambience was good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Empcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
362 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Good place to chill out.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

The restaurant is situated across from the cortijo blanco hotel and is well worth a visit. Access into the place is easy and you can either dinein or outside in the forecourt. Popular with all ages and nationalities. The food ranges from simple pizzas, pasta and to meat and fish dishes. We had the pizzas which were homemade and good. This was washed down with a few wines and beers. All reasonably priced. Some nights there's a live band or even karaoke if your up for it but for me a quiet chill out night with family was sufficient. Please try because you will enjoy I'm sure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddies Bar San Pedro de Alcantara also viewed

San Pedro de Alcantara, Costa del Sol
San Pedro de Alcantara, Costa del Sol
 
San Pedro de Alcantara, Costa del Sol
San Pedro de Alcantara, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Buddies Bar San Pedro de Alcantara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing