We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well It Was An Experience!....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Globales Cortijo Blanco
Kent UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well It Was An Experience!....”
Reviewed April 11, 2006

Myself and my daughter (16) went for a week in the sun fully inclusive.

The hotel was fine, fairly clean, maids did our rooms on a daily basis - but did not pay attention to the dust on the floor! But hey we were on holiday who minds a bit of dust.

Not alot to do during the day - did see some avtivites going on but they were more for younger kids. You are issued with an 'all inclusive' wrist band... these are a bit annoying as they play havoc with your tan!

One of the pools was not open and the pool bar was not operational. We were told by our rep that they had had drainaige problems but advised it would open in a couple of days...... never did whilst we were there.

So only one bar open.... not a major problem but were a few queues in the evenings.

Food was OK, was fairly repetitive and not alot of meat, more pasta, salad and rice for main meals bonus though - unlimited wine with any meal other than breakfast!

There were quite a few 'older' holiday makers in this hotel - not that that was a problem as they mostly seemed friendly but not really anyone for my daughter to spend recreational time with.

The staff were very friendly especially the bar staff. Although I was kept waiting standing at reception for about 5-10 minutes whilst a couple of staff had a chat!

San Pedro and Peuto Benus was lovely. Really enjoyed our days there especially watching the million pound boats in and out of the harbour.

The evening entertainment...... well what can I say... Bingo everynight and believe me quite entertaining in three or four languages and the 'older' guests seemed to enjoy. We were also treated to a Westlife tribute band called 'Westlives'. They neither looked or sounded like Westlife but when you have alcohol on tap do we care! We also had Disco's..... never knew you could waltz to the latest hits! On our last night we were in for a treat...... a duo that could only compare as the Spanish version of Peters and Lea!!

Overall we had a good time...... I had to write this review as we thought we should share our enjoyable week

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoozF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    938
    389
    156
    106
See reviews for
795
837
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 9, 2006

Take my review as being fair and neutral, like the resort itself.

Cleanliness= Couldn't fault it at all 100%

Food= Good for first 4/5 days, then repeats or you notice things left over from breakfast in the main meal menu with add species/sauces 70%

Things to do Hotel, Didn't hear of any activities being played, you would have to ask etc 80%

No Lilos/Inflateables aloud in pool, and reserving of towels, so the Germans are nowhere to be seen in a morning

Full of old people, pleasant people, but woe betide you get in there way, they have right of way!!!remember

San Pedro, lovewly little town for pizza restaurants, lovely back street shops etc 100%

Porto Banus, Very expensive for what it is 50%

We got it cheap the holiday, so have no problems with it, overall reating from me and the Mrs !75!%

G

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 21, 2006

what do people expect?especially the english.the hotel is clean,the staff are nice,the food is average.we were there for new year 2005.the gala meal (for teh money )was alright.yes,the bar was smokey,and i think a fight broke out at about midnight.surprisgingly it was belgiuns not english.!
the heating could have been left on longer,some nights it was blody cold.could also do with decent tv in the rooms.
the room was cleaned every day,and the sheets changed every 2-3 days.
the pool wa too cold to go in,except for the very foolhardy...a lot of english used to get up in the morning and lie on the sunbeds!!!they obviously dont know that there are seasons in spain too..
tea and coffe was always availible.as was endless amounts of alcohol(if you were all inc).
most of the people we met didnt expect it to get cold at night..you cant blame the spanish for that.
i think 75% of english people abroad think that they have bought the ritz for £200 holiday.
to sum up--i think it is excellent value for money..you get what you pay for,..
we have just retuned from a crusie with royal carribiean..now that is somthing else..s*+t all the way,and a fortune too.!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 17, 2006

Great Hotel good food bit noisy from road traffic and people over endulging in free booze at times (why oh why do they spoil it ) Best rooms are in the Garden Rooms quieter and away from the outside entertainment and Bars which are ok if you like that sort of thing
Pool was freezing !!!! beware I mean freezing . No real what you could call a Beach closeby you needed to be brave.
Entertainment was a bit lacking for choice but OK
Trips dont do the rep ones look around outside there more informative and cheaper.Suggest VIVA trips can be booked at The Olive Tree Pub or The small Supermarket along the road directly opposite the barrier entrance ciggies can be bought here too?in single packs
Go to Gib for Fags £8.50 per 200 but beware you can only buy 200 there hot on it be warned but the Rock was excellent Cable Car was Fun 13.5 euros to the Top
Other places to visit
Puerto Benus 6 euro taxi
Rhonda wonderful senerie and leather goods good shopping Car Hire good and cheap Beware dont rely on the road map we ended up on a dirt track !!!! Cross country ride
Loads of other trips some free if you want to sit through a demonstration on Mattresses made in Birmingham then there worth it for nuthin hahaha
Market in St Pedro was excellent on Thursday bit of a hike though 5 euros taxi ride
Excellent value Hotel Basic and friendly staff

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2006

Having read some rather negative reviews after booking our holiday we were very pleasantly surprised. We'd decided to go for some winter sunshine and invited another couple of friends to join us. Arriving rather late our first impression was one of amazement as the ever helpful Anita in reception told us leave all our luggage and go straight to the restaurant as it was about to close, we all expected a plate of picked over chips and not much else but were staggered to find a selection which only included chips if you wanted. That set the tone for the rest of our week.The food is not Michelin star quality, but it's varied tasty and plentiful. I did not eat a single chip all week and felt all the better for it.
The rooms were spotlessly clean and a very high standard of cleaning was maintained all week. The staff were cheerful and friendly and the entertainment was an absolute hoot!
I was very reluctant to go along to the evening Bingo session and had to have a fortifying G&T before my first trip, but it was something I don't think any of our party willever forget. The ladies laughed until they cried and several of the calls will be etched in our memories forever.
There were lots of activities provided each day although we used the hotel as a base for exploring the area so didn't take part in any.Anita heard us talking about a visit to a market and instantly produced a list of all the local markets and bus timetables to get us there and back.
The bus service into Marbella is easy to use and the only slight drawback was the return trip when the busy road had to be crossed; fortunately a passing local cyclist stopped and told us where the "steps" to the underpass near the neighbouring hotel were so we didn't have to walk too far.
San Pedro town is a pleasant little place and the Thursday market at the top of the town is a must, my wife enjoyed several haggling sessions and came away with some good bargains.Spices are very, very cheap compared to the UK.
We had a hire car and drove up into the mountains to visit Ronda which was a lovely little town with lots of fascinating buildings. we also drove down to Gibraltar as the gentlemen of the party wanted to see the historical sights; a dreadful waste of time. Car Parking is almost non-existant and signage in general is poor, the locals were very unhelpful and we drove back without ever getting chance to set foot outside the car.
I'm not sure if my review of the hotel would be the same during the summer months when all the pools and courts are in operation, but for two mature couples fed up with the English winter a week in the Cortijo Blanco was a real tonic.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChrisGG1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2006

Just got back from a week at the Cortijo Blanco and all I can say is that I had a fabulous time! We stayed in a superior room, which I would recommend as they are very spacious and clean! The hotel is lovely and well maintained. There are 4 pools in total and lots of activities to do onsite with the entertainment staff, especially Will. All of the bar staff and reception staff are friendly and very welcoming, especially Lewis and Antonio.The hotel public areas are non-smoking, but there is a huge smoking lounge, which always had a lively atmosphere! I would definately recommend Buddies Bar for a fab nite out with Karaokie! the lady who runs the bar is Norah and she is a complete star! Ask her to sing anything by Tina Turner and you will be wowed! :) It is €4 to get a taxi to Puerto Banus, to see all the yatchs and explore 'Millionaires Playground' and €4 to get to San Pedro for a typical Spanish town. Be warned though- If you go out drinking in Puerto Banus in the night- it is very expensive!!! €10 for Vodka and Redbull! Worth the experience though :)
This hotel is suitable for everyone-singles, couples and families.
Overall, I had an amazing time and would definately go again! I cannot understand the bad reviews as I had no problems whatso ever!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Penelope H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 19, 2006

found the location to be great.far enough out of the port to relax but close enough to make it accessable. there are excellent local facilities and we found ourselves in the emerald sports bar every night which is just next door an offers the best all round night out for everyone. They show all sporting events, have betting facilities and even have pool tables and roulette to keep everyone amused. The friendly bar staff in particular dave made us feel welcome from day one and we felt like a local from the moment we came in.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro de Alcantara
0.1 mi away
Globales Pueblo Andaluz
Globales Pueblo Andaluz
#1 of 6 in San Pedro de Alcantara
552 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel NH San Pedro de Alcantara
Hotel NH San Pedro de Alcantara
#2 of 6 in San Pedro de Alcantara
576 reviews
1.6 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Globales Playa Estepona
Globales Playa Estepona
#8 of 35 in Estepona
917 reviews
0.9 mi away
H10 Andalucia Plaza
H10 Andalucia Plaza
#1 of 1 in Nueva Andalucia
2,233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 70 in Marbella
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Cortijo Blanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Cortijo Blanco

Property: Globales Cortijo Blanco
Address: Avda Jose Luis Carrillo Benitez s/n, 29760 San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > San Pedro de Alcantara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in San Pedro de Alcantara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Globales Cortijo Blanco 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globales Cortijo Blanco is situated in San Pedro de Alcantara, Marbella, in the Costa del Sol, in a tourist area that still preserves traces of its colonial past. The area has many luxury residential areas, golf courses and magnificent beaches. Just 3km from the hotel is one of the most glamorous sport ports in the world, Puerto Banus. It was built in 1962 and over the years has undergone many renovations over the years the last of which was in 2014, however it still retains its pure Andalusian style with white walls decorated with forged iron, typical balconies, grassy areas shaded by trees - the perfect place for a relaxing and unforgettable holiday. Enjoy the cosmopolitan and fun ambience of the hotel, with the best value for money hotel offer in the Costa del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Globales Cortijo Blanco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortijo Blanco Hotel
Hotel Cortijo Blanco
Cortijo Blanco Marbella
Blanco Cortijo Hotel
Globales Cortijo Blanco San Pedro De Alcantara, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing