We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Globales Cortijo Blanco Hotel
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good holiday”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Just returned 25th july 2012 from a one week all inclusive stay at Cortijos Blanco.
On arrival into a lovely spacious reception area at 11.30pm We were presented with keys to our room Number 50.As we approached entertainment was in full swing and we realized that room 50 is about 10 yards from the stage.We about turned and requested a change of room.The manager that evening was at first reluctant and suggested that the only room was a superior room and that it should have cost extra.Our specific requirements when booking were a quiet room overlooking the pool away from entertainment area.We showed this to him and were then issued with new keys.This room was fine, smallish but adequate,cleaned regularly and a balcony which held a table and 2 chairs,Overlooking the smaller family pool.During the day busy with families all enjoying quality time together which was lovely to see. The gardens in this area are lovely and we both preferred this area to the busier noisier larger pool with lots of couples and early 20,s/teenagers.The hotel has a very mixed clientele with lots of spanish and french holidaying there.Age ranges from babies to 80 year olds.The main courtyard where the entertainment happens and where the main bar is is also cleaned thouroughly every morning and the team of staff who look after the hotel I hope are held in high regard by the management team as they are quite fantastic,customer focused and polite.The main restaurant is busy at major meal times but is bright and very well laid out.Of course there are some basic foodstuffs available like chicken nuggets and chips/sausages but thats for children who dont know how to eat a more varied diet and for adults who need to try!.I found the food to be tasty,varied with lovely fish dishes every day.Breakfast was a variety and again all very good.Staff very attentive in the restaurant.The smaller snack bar does what it says on the can provides snacks ,but one day I had a lovely selection of sardines and salad.Fresh juices and wines are freely available in both areas.At the main courtyard tea and coffee is available all day and you are free to take drinks to your room.My tip if you are a coffee drinker would be to bring your own small jar /buy one at the little supermarket next to the hotel ( 5 minutes walk)as the coffee isnt up to much.

San Pedro is a smallish town,very spanish which is lovely.with plenty of small cafes and restaurants to eat, drink your hours away.It takes 15-20 minutes to walk possibly longer if you are a slower walker but definately worth a visit.

The beach area is not suitable for swimming really unless you are confident about climbing over sizeable rocks to get into the water but the promenade is lovely and worth the walk, again several cafe bars/restaurants dotted along.If you are into keep fit why not bring your runners and excercise.This areas was bust early morning noon and night with people doing just that again all ages.There are trim tracks installed at certain points along the way so no excuse for just lazing around.eating all day.

A bus to Port Banus leaves the hotel 3 times daily and is free.We just got the local transport however it doesnt cost much.It is also possible to walk into Banus and again its a lovely walk 3kms there and 3 back, this is where you would probably go to swim and take advantage of the water sports available and it was certainly very busy. The cars and boats are of course amazing and the selection of high end designer shops is good.I wasnt suitably dressed the day we visited so didnt go in to any of them!

Its possible to book tours to different places however we just did it ourselves by finding the bus station again 10 minutes walk from the hotel and booked seats on a bus to Rhonda which is the most beautiful mountain village you will ever see.the bus ticket cost 4 euros 16 each way and we chose to get the 0810 hrs bus.The hotel will pack you a breakfast and a lunch for you.You cannot just turn up to get on this type of bus,you must have a pre purchased ticket.

So over all we really enjoyed our stay.The weather was wonderful,the people were lovely and teh surrounding mountains awsome.

Room Tip: You would not want to be close to the entertainment block so rooms 47-55 definately a no no unless y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank akela3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATIAS M, Community Manager at Globales Cortijo Blanco Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had wonderful experiences during your stay at Globales Cortijo Blanco, your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of our service, we apreciate that you have given the task of dedicating part of your time to share you experiences with other travelers trough this media.

We are at your service for any future requirements as we expect you back at the hotel and trust to have the opportunity to overcome your expectations with the passion for service that is characteristic of the Hoteles Globales.

Best regards,
Matías Melo,
Commercial Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    889
    366
    144
    99
See reviews for
727
794
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Just got back last night after two weeks all inclusive with friends. What a lovely and friendly hotel and one I would highly recommend to friends and family.
The rooms were beautifully clean and the maid was in every day completely changing sheets and pillow cases and cleaning - she even sings in the bathroom which is a sign she enjoys her work!

There was a huge choice of food.....for breakfast you could choose a full english or continental including fruit, meats and cheese, cakes, fresh fruit, yogurts and more..lunch was a choice of salads, meats or fully cooked selections ( you could also book a picnic to take away if you were going out for the day), and dinner was a full three courses with selections of fresh fish, meats, casseroles, salads, carvery, and more.....and that was without the snack bar being open in between serving tuna, sausages, burgers, salads, toasted sandwiches.....something for everyone. The restaurant was very busy due to the numbers of holidaymakers but there were loads of tables and chairs for everyone and lots of high chairs with lots of babies enjoying family meals.

The bar area was busy but run very smoothly and plenty of soft drink availibility or alcohol between 10am - midnight. FREE Water and squash was available all day long and you could refill water bottles if you wanted to make drinks in your rooms. Various types of coffee and tea were also on tap all day long. You couldn't have asked for more. We certainly never went hungry. Food has to be eaten in the restaurants but this made for a really nice clean patio/bar area as there were no ants or wasps to interrupt your time.
Some holiday makers were inconsiderate in that they sat on the soft chairs in the second restaurant without drying themselves from the pool, therefore making the seats wet for everyone else. This was not the hotels fault and the restaurant staff were on permanent sentry duty asking people to refrain from walking in the restaurant without suitable clothing or shoes, or simply because they were carrying dripping wet children. Come on people......think about what you are doing!!!!
There were people from all walks of life at this resort. French, Spanish ( loads), English, Irish, Dutch and in the two weeks we were there, we didn't see any trouble, foul language, fighting or nastiness, although with a bar open so much there were always going to be some that took the free booze a little too seriously.....and they weren't all hen parties ( there were two of these in the first week - and very well behaved even when they were wearing their pink stripey pyjamas) and they didn't all have tattoos!!

The entertainment team worked like trojans with activities for both adults and children thorughout the day, and some hilarious entertainment in the evenings. The Cabaret night was far better than we all expected, and Bingo needed to be watched rather than played as it was so funny. A* to the Entertainments team!
What made the holiday less enjoyable were some of the over 50's who insisted on saving their seats by the pool and then disappearing off until later in the afternoon. Highly selfish behaviour which resulted in the only disagreement we saw between any holidaymakers.....and they didn't have tattoos, nor were they drunk!
There are three swimming pools. One shallow one for children ( and adults who only want to cool off), one for swimming and playing games in and one over the road which is never packed but had plenty of room and beds for everyone. There is also a seperate sun deck for bathing and a hugh patio area by the tennis courts for sunbathing.
All in all, a great hotel and environment for a relaxing holiday. There is plenty to see around the resort area with a nice beach at the bottom of the road, lots of bars, tapas bars and excellent fish restaurants by the sea. Puerto Banus is great for eyeing up the boats and flash cars and Marbella old town was stunning with its restaurants and boutique shops which stay open until midnight.
We booked a trip to see the Orca and Dolphins at Fariba direct and hired a car. This saved money on the rep bookings and the tanned Englishman standing outside the newspaper shop near the hotel did a great job with his bookings as we not only saved money on our trip to Gibralter, but the rep and the coach company used were fab.....so venture outside of the hotel and see a bit of the scenery. Trips to Ronda and Mijas for beautiful whitewashed villages is a must.
I can highly recommend this hotel. A holiday is what you make it.....but the staff couldn't do enough for us and were true professionals. We will definitely go back there again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel near the tennis court and quieter, however the rooms near the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Karina1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATIAS M, Community Manager at Globales Cortijo Blanco Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for take time sharing with us the sensations obtained during your stay in our hotel.

Many thanks for your kind comment and positive feedback on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future and thank you for your preference.

Kind regards,
Matías Melo,
Commercial Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This hotel caters solely for families with young children (under 10 years). The children's entertainment goes on until ten thirty in the evening whilst adults sit around looking
thoroughly bored! we where given a room next to the stage where you had to shout at each other to be heard!, needless to say we asked to be moved after the second night. The upside to this hotel is it's cleanliness, the downside is the location. You can't walk out of your hotel to go to bars and shops, hence the free shuttle bus three times a day. The location and the lack of entertainment for adults ensures a dull holiday. We where jumping for joy when the coach came to collect us to take us back home! We felt that if there had been more honest reviews we could have saved ourselves the time and expense and gone elsewhere! just to add the all inclusive food is of a poor quality and repetitive! we didn't appreciate smash, frozen veg and too much processed food. All in all a bad week never to be repeated.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with IKnowUK

Helpful?
5 Thank grime7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATIAS M, Community Manager at Globales Cortijo Blanco Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We apologize for all inconvenients you mentioned and we feel very sorry that the service recieved was not up to the standars you expected and deserved.

We sincerely thank you for your comments. Please be assured that we will take them all into consideration in order to improve our services and make Globales Cortijo Blanco a better choice for clientes.

Best regards,
Matías Melo,
Commercial department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

im am writing this from spain having booked a holiday through ola holidays. My family of three, including a 11 month old infant, checked out of the accommodation provided for us on after 2 days. The name of the hotel was the globales cortijo blanco hotel. There were multiple problems but the room being unsafe due to electric sockets hanging out being of extreme concern to us having a small child.  Here is a list of the problems we encountered
Room
Electrics unsafe hanging out of wall.
Wet bedding on all beds
Baby cot sheets not clean
Travel cot not proper a cot
Shower??? Faced outwards so impossible to wash with. It also drenched the whole bathroom every time we used it as it was positioned incorrectly on wall.
Everytime we switched bathroom sink taps on, water leaked through pipes on underneath flooding floor.
Balcony door broken( i took my baby outside on balcony while the maintenace people were in the room as it was late, we had been travelling since 3am, and he was frightened by the loud voices in the room & I actually got locked outside with my small baby, while the maintenance people were in the room, he vanished for 20 min, without any communication before he could let me back in)
Litter all around outside of balcony, which had been swept into bundles & left by the cleaners for the whole 36hrs we were there
Ants everywhere on floor( probably due to the litter outside our balcony)
Room was filthy, unacle to let our baby crawl on floor
Walls paper thin, baby woke all nite by noise

Food
Horrendous in edible. Unhealthy!
High chairs unsafe, straps broken & dirty
Not enough high chairs
No bottled water on all inclusive! Again unacceptable when I have to make my infants milk feeds up at night? I had to buy bottled water?! Water should be provided on an all inclusive??? Surely???

Having called reception to our room twice in an hour of being checked in, we found that the problems were not going to be resolved,so the next day (monday 9th july)I called a ola holidays & spoke to a lady called Sam, & explained the problems we were having and asked her to find us another accommodation. She said she would get back to me later that day, which she did. She said she had found alternative accommodation but we would have to pay a further £276!! This was not an upgrade, this was another 3 star hotel! I find this completely unacceptable when the hotel we had already payed alot of money for was unsafe. We also have no way of paying for that as financially I dont have an extra £276 lying around. I asked her to call me back in a few hours so i could at least try & find somewhere that had wifi to look up the hotel. She said she would call back at an arranged time of 2 hours later but failed to do so , so we had to find alternative accomodation ourselves. I am seeking a refund for the 6 nights out of the seven booked as we were unable to stay there & through very poor communication on the part of ola holidays we were not looked after & provided with an alternative solution . Aside from that we have had an extremely stressful holiday & we are hugely disappointed with the hotel & ola holidays that nobody was able to help us.
This is our first experience taking our baby abroad & we are extremely upset at how stressful our first holiday have been. When booking the holiday I spoke to a lady called dawn. I explicitly asked to find out if the hotel provided adequate high chairs. She rang them to check, which I am very grateful for, & informed me that they did. They didn't. On the 2 occasions we ate in the restaurant there were not enough high chairs to go around, resulting in us having to wait to feed a very hungry baby. When one finally became available it was broken & our baby could not be fastened in resulting in us having to hold him. Totally unacceptable that childrens safety is not regauarded as important at this hotel. It was filthy also, having not even been wiped over from the night before. Im sure you would agree with me that Cleanliness & safety should be a priority, regardless of whatever star rating a hotel is. I found these to things to be unacceptable at this hotel.
Think very carefully before you book this place!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

stayed here 5 times. Going back in september. fantastic value. great food and all inclusive deal is superb. staff relaxed and friendly. place is laid back but well organised and clean. rooms are old and basic but kept clean, this is a great base for Marbella, Banus and Gibraltar. great for kids, lovely to see kids from all over Europe playing together.cant really fault it. Bien Hecho!

Room Tip: you get what you are given but if not happy they really try to move you if needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATIAS M, Community Manager at Globales Cortijo Blanco Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for take time sharing with us your experience in Globales Cortijo Blanco Hotel. We are really glad to know that you will return to the hotel in the near future, we will pass on your kind words to the staff.

We look forward to see you back again!

Best regards,
Matías Melo,
Commercial department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

booked a late deal with thomson, anywhere all inclusive was the search - this hotel which was showing as 2T was the top of list as the cheapest, and I have to say we have paid a lot,and lot more money for a 4T.
the first impression of the hotel was a little after midnight, and I was impressed, by the reception staff, always friendly, smiling, good english, anxious to help, and gardens and flowers after a quick painless check in we were told the snack bar would open at 12,30 , and given a map I thought here we go again, but no, we were in the almeria part - which following directions to the tennis court was easy to find.
the hotel is only two stories, and is set around courtyards we were over looking the tennis courts - this is the quietest part, although I must say there were at least 3 stag/hen parties, in the hotel the same time as we were there I never heard any noise - and we were in the next room to some of the hen party.
there are three pools - one by the tennis courts, the main one in lady betty plaza, which gets really crowded, the one in the seville block, which despite being next to the road, was very quiet and no road noise.
the room - towels are changed daily, if required, was fine, not sure if we had an "old" or renovated one but it was fine, clean enough room, plenty of coat hangers
entertainment - the circus act was - well had to be seen to be believed - the positions the acrobats managed to get themselves into - was first class and although I didn't see the take that tribute - everyone we spoke to said how good they were
what surprised me was how many people had been before and I have to say all the first timers also said that yes, they too may come back
trip to Gibraltar - you can go from the bus station, in san pedro, for a lot cheaper than was being offer in and near the hotel
the food - well there was always something to eat and it is hot and plentiful
.
there were just a couple of silly niggles - although the hotel cleaners never seem to stop working in our corridor there were a couple of light bulbs which needing replacing, the tables and chairs, are so close together in the restaurant it can be a bit difficult to get around
and the queues in the restaurant, at times,were rather large as the kitchen staff seemed to wait until all the food had gone from a particular tray before filling it up again

but then again on the whole would I go again, yes, probably

Room Tip: ask for almeria building if you like quiet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kateshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATIAS M, Community Manager at Globales Cortijo Blanco Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear guest:

Dear guest:

First of all, thank you very much for take time sharing your experiences with us about the sensations obtained during your stay in Globales Cortijo Blanco Hotel. We are very glad to know that we can satisfy the requirements of our customers.

About the inconvenients you mentioned, we will take note of them because all the points are always checked by our staff in order to improve our service.

We hope to see you again in any of the hotels of the "Globales family".

Kind regards,

Matías Melo,

Commercial department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro de Alcantara
0.1 mi away
Globales Pueblo Andaluz
Globales Pueblo Andaluz
#3 of 5 in San Pedro de Alcantara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel NH San Pedro de Alcantara
Hotel NH San Pedro de Alcantara
#1 of 5 in San Pedro de Alcantara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 70 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#16 of 70 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
0.9 mi away
H10 Andalucia Plaza
H10 Andalucia Plaza
#1 of 1 in Nueva Andalucia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,143 reviews
2.5 mi away
Globales Playa Estepona
Globales Playa Estepona
#8 of 35 in Estepona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Cortijo Blanco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Cortijo Blanco Hotel

Property: Globales Cortijo Blanco Hotel
Address: Avda Jose Luis Carrillo Benitez s/n, 29760 San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > San Pedro de Alcantara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Pedro de Alcantara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Globales Cortijo Blanco Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globales Cortijo Blanco is situated in San Pedro de Alcantara, Marbella, in the Costa del Sol, in a tourist area that still preserves traces of its colonial past. The area has many luxury residential areas, golf courses and magnificent beaches. Just 3km from the hotel is one of the most glamorous sport ports in the world, Puerto Banus. It was built in 1962 and over the years has undergone many renovations over the years the last of which was in 2014, however it still retains its pure Andalusian style with white walls decorated with forged iron, typical balconies, grassy areas shaded by trees - the perfect place for a relaxing and unforgettable holiday. Enjoy the cosmopolitan and fun ambience of the hotel, with the best value for money hotel offer in the Costa del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Globales Cortijo Blanco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortijo Blanco Hotel
Hotel Cortijo Blanco
Cortijo Blanco Marbella
Blanco Cortijo Hotel
Globales Cortijo Blanco Hotel San Pedro De Alcantara, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing