We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in the centre of San Pedro. Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Plaza
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gem in the centre of San Pedro. Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We chose this hostal on the strength of internet reviews and were immediately happy with our choice upon checking in. More of a small hotel than hostel, the best (and majority) of the rooms are at the front of the building and have an excellent orientation; catching the sun for most of the day. Ours (room 203) had a large en-suite bathroom and a door leading out onto a small balcony which was a great place to sit in the afternoon. The room was simply furnished but nice and clean and full of daylight.
A simple complimentary breakfast was served daily on the roof terrace and we supplemented ours with a few items from the local supermarket. This was another reason why we chose to stay at Hostal Plaza, as other places in the area were charging the same room rate with no breakfast included. Personally I cannot bear waking up in a place and not being able to at least have a cup of coffee and a bowl of cereal before facing the day, so I do not take kindly to hotels which do not offer breakfast or charge extra as if it were some kind of optional extra.
Karen and sons Richard and Michael are welcoming and informal and for the week that we stayed it felt like home from home. Overall one of my best hotel experiences for the price paid and would recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front of the hotel on the middle floor, away from the roof terrace and receptio...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GuySands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    12
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
8
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We found this was a great place to stay if you want great value accommodation in a real spanish town. We haven't been to the Costa del Sol for 20 years and were now coming back with 2 teenage daughters but we were really pleased with this hostal. The rooms were clean, bright and sunny, the bedlinen crisp and white. Well placed for facilities, restaurants etc. in San Pedro. Safe, family friendly atmosphere. Roof terrace and bar are a big plus, we loved the funky artwork. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed in this hostel with my husband and 2 year old boy for a week and was very happy with the double room allocated to us. It was spacious, clean and bright, with a door leading onto a small balcony, which caught the sun nicely for most of the day.
The breakfast, which was served on the roof terrace, was very appreciated, because none of the other hostals in town included it in their price.
Karen and her sons, who run the hostal, couldn't have made us feel more welcome and relaxed, since we were travelling as a family, with a young child.Thanks for the wonderful hospitality! We will be back and definitely recommend it to friends.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank EsteeLauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

This place has got it just right! Friendly, fun and quirky, it is well-located in the centre of San Pedro. There are cheaper shared hostel-type rooms but I stayed in a good double room with an excellent shower room, for €30. Wifi is not available in the rooms, but is upstairs on the roof-terrace where breakfast is served and there's a late bar in the evenings. Shared breakfast tables make sure that people share experiences and recommendations for the locality. Nice funky place, will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamaraEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Spent a night at this hostel with five friends. We where greeted and treated really warm and nice. The people who run the hostel are so great. The place has a very positive energy with paintings done by visiting people here and there.
Would definitely recommend this hostel, even to people who have not experienced hostels before.

// "The Doctorstudents"

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chillingnshit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed at this establishment and only wished I could have spent more time there.I would highly recommend this establishment to others.had a very nice time there.the oweners and thier family are lovely people,they care about the poeople that stay there and are very very helpfull,nothing is to much for them.I have travelled for many years and it is hard to find an establishment like this one they are few and far between.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely and clean and every thing is brand new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very friendly and fun hostel! There's a really cool roof terrace and bar and a chill out/games room. We had a double room which was lovely. It is quite basic with no kitchen but it's clean and in a great location for exploring San Pedro and the rest of Marbella. The free breakfast and drink when you arrive was appreciated! The family that run it are such lovely people and very helpful. I will deffo be going back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlixRoseL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro de Alcantara
0.1 mi away
Hotel NH San Pedro de Alcantara
Hotel NH San Pedro de Alcantara
#1 of 5 in San Pedro de Alcantara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dona Catalina
Hotel Dona Catalina
#4 of 5 in San Pedro de Alcantara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Globales Pueblo Andaluz
Globales Pueblo Andaluz
#3 of 5 in San Pedro de Alcantara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Globales Cortijo Blanco Hotel
Globales Cortijo Blanco Hotel
#2 of 5 in San Pedro de Alcantara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Avenida 31
Hotel Avenida 31
#5 of 5 in San Pedro de Alcantara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Plaza

Property: Hostal Plaza
Address: Calle Juan Ramon Jimenez 21, 29670 San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > San Pedro de Alcantara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro de Alcantara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Plaza 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Plaza San Pedro is a family run business owned and run by Gary, Karen, Richard and Michael Wynn. We offer a home from home for backpackers and holiday makers alike in a beautiful typical Spanish town on the Costa Del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Plaza San Pedro De Alcantara, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing