We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice hostel, and driven by such nice people.”
Review of Hostal Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Plaza
1 review
“What a nice hostel, and driven by such nice people.”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Spent a night at this hostel with five friends. We where greeted and treated really warm and nice. The people who run the hostel are so great. The place has a very positive energy with paintings done by visiting people here and there.
Would definitely recommend this hostel, even to people who have not experienced hostels before.

// "The Doctorstudents"

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chillingnshit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    15
    5
    1
    6
See reviews for
9
11
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed at this establishment and only wished I could have spent more time there.I would highly recommend this establishment to others.had a very nice time there.the oweners and thier family are lovely people,they care about the poeople that stay there and are very very helpfull,nothing is to much for them.I have travelled for many years and it is hard to find an establishment like this one they are few and far between.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely and clean and every thing is brand new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very friendly and fun hostel! There's a really cool roof terrace and bar and a chill out/games room. We had a double room which was lovely. It is quite basic with no kitchen but it's clean and in a great location for exploring San Pedro and the rest of Marbella. The free breakfast and drink when you arrive was appreciated! The family that run it are such lovely people and very helpful. I will deffo be going back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlixRoseL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Just back from a fantastic week at Hostal Plaza, it's located in a lovely area - lots to see and do and no transport required. The rooms are spacious, clean and the en-suite bathroom really does make it a hotel rather than a hostal. The staff are really friendly and helpful pointing out areas of interest and with excellent recommendations for must see and do items. Then there is the roof terrace - amazing views and a fab relaxed atmosphere whatever time of day or night.The area has the usual smatter of typical british bars and eateries and lovely local bars and restaurants so you can really pick and choose what you fancy. The Irish breakfast at Hogans is a must as is the beautiful Spanish Eaterie Le Medievo. Looking forward to our next trip - many thanks Karen and the team.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We had a terrific stay at Hostal Plaza. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The roof terrace is a great place to meet and socialise with the other guests and enjoy a relaxed evening. The accommodation is first class, the ensuite bathroom makes it more like a Hotel then a Hostal. It is conviently close to the town centre where there are various resturantes and bars to suit all tastes. We would happily recommend the Hostal to all ages.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Fantastic place to stay, had a double room and to be quite honest you would be hard pushed to not believe you were stopping in a hotel the facilities were so good, really clean and with an en-suite bathroom but at a lot lower price than you would pay for a hotel. The Hostal has a large roof terrace to eat breakfast and lounge about on at the end of the day where everyone gathers to chill out, it was such fun and a great way to meet others if you are travelling alone..
San Pedro is within easy distance of some great places to visit, Rhonda on a motorbike is exciting, Gibraltar is within reach, worth doing the full touristy bit for the rock (25 euro s each for a mini bus tour including the caverns, military caves and apes) Some HUGE boats at Puerto Banus, all the bars and restaurants in the area seem to have escaped the "rowdy" element, just families, locals and tourists out and about having a good time.
Thanks to you all for making me so welcome!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claxtonhallcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed in the Dorm rooms and loved the air con for afternoon siestas. Also stayed in a double room which was a great 3 star room with ensuite.
The social roof top bar with table's and hammocks was great. Would recommend to everyone!
I did two different day trips while staying there. One hour bus away to Ronda and Gilbratar :-)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BryceR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro de Alcantara
0.2 mi away
Hotel NH San Pedro de Alcantara
Hotel NH San Pedro de Alcantara
#2 of 6 in San Pedro de Alcantara
576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dona Catalina
Hotel Dona Catalina
#4 of 6 in San Pedro de Alcantara
143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Globales Pueblo Andaluz
Globales Pueblo Andaluz
#1 of 6 in San Pedro de Alcantara
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Globales Cortijo Blanco
Globales Cortijo Blanco
#3 of 6 in San Pedro de Alcantara
2,323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Avenida 31
Hotel Avenida 31
#5 of 6 in San Pedro de Alcantara
46 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Plaza

Property: Hostal Plaza
Address: Calle Juan Ramon Jimenez 21, 29670 San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > San Pedro de Alcantara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro de Alcantara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Plaza 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Plaza San Pedro is a family run business owned and run by Gary, Karen, Richard and Michael Wynn. We offer a home from home for backpackers and holiday makers alike in a beautiful typical Spanish town on the Costa Del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Plaza San Pedro De Alcantara, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing