We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I shall start this review by telling you...”
Review of Hotel Conilsol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Conilsol
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I shall start this review by telling you...”
Reviewed October 8, 2010

I shall start this review by telling you that we are a 30 something couple who have stayed in a lot of hotels throughout Europe and although we like nice things we don't have endless money to spend on fancy hotels.

In our opinion this is an absolute gem of a hotel and a real find.

For those of you who aren't familiar with the area, Conil is a lovely quiet little town facing onto the beach. We went there so my partner could go surfing (El Palmar beach 2-3 miles up the road is better than the Conil beach for this) and I enoyed the sunshine on the beach.

The hotel is not right in the very centre of town, but instead a 10 minute stroll up the hill- be warned, this is not a particularly steep hill (it was fine for us) but if you were a little older or less able it is worth considering. In my opinion it is actually nicer up the hill as you are away from the restaurants and beach so it is super quiet and peaceful.

We arrived with no reservation at 10pm at night and they were fantastic- we were offered a room for €60 per night, which went down to €55 on the 1st October. For this breakfast was included, but we chose to pay an additional €4.85 per day to put our car in the secure underground car park.

The room was delightful, with a nice little balcony which got the sun all day. The decor is fresh and modern and the bathroom was lovely and clean and again modern and fresh with a great shower and nice soft towels.

Breakfast was simple but lovely- a nice selection of bread for toast, fresh fruit, meat and cheeses. Also fresh fruit juices and a really nice coffee machine. There's a really pretty little terrace where you can sit outside to eat breakfast.

The maid service is brilliant- the room was immaculate every day with even the balcony being mopped.

The biggest asset to this hotel is its staff- be warned there is very little English spoken and I don't think we even saw another English couple staying, but the staff are absolutely delightful, nothing is too much trouble and they really do go out of their way to make you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairemarsh2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    74
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
47
90
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur Traveller
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Stayed here for almost 4 weeks in July and August, through the fantastic Spanish summer months.

The Conilsol was a great home base for me as I was there on business. The rooms were very well appointed and contemporary. It is truly a hidden gem for the moment. The location is away from the beaches, more towards the city centre. It is located mid-way down the hilly terrain of Conil so some might find it troublesome to walk up the hill on the way back from the beaches and restaurants. The walk was OK for me and I thought it was great that I had a chance to burn off the wonderful Spanish tapas right after dinner.

The front desk receptionists, cafeteria and management staff are very helpful and they always tried to cater to my needs as much as possible. Its a family owned hotel and an owner is always on hand during working hours to handle any problems should they arise.

There is basement parking in the hotel that is chargeable but I tried to park outside on the streets as much a possible (watch out for the yellow curbed lines, do not park there as it risk being towed). Once outside had no parking I finally decided to park in the basement and they were kind enough not to charge me for it.

The bed was a little hard for me but I got used to it after the 2nd week there.

Broadband internet is readily available in the hotel via WiFi and is free of charge and fast as well I might add.

Breakfast in the morning was more than sufficient with enough variety.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolladrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

This is a new hotel, just over a year old in 2009, and it looks it.
Rooms are clean, comfortable, a good size, with a balcony. As per the hotel website photos. The main thing about this hotel is that its location is more in the town than on the beach, and so your balcony view is not an interesting one. I am happy to walk when on holiday but the beach was a 15 minute push, and coming back it's uphill, so the location would not be for everyone.
Other than that I cannot fault the hotel, and the breakfast in particular was great - you can sit outside in the courtyard (coffee machine makes good coffee). And off-peak rates are excellent.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apollo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2008

I can see why I'm the first english speaker to review this hotel, Conil is very Spanish and better for it.
This new hotel is a refreshing change from those huge expensive places on the edge of town. This is right in the centre of town, and consequently has no pool, but it's about half the price of those other places.
We were booked in a standard room, but as we had friends staying over who hadn't booked, and as the hotel was full, they happily put us all in an apartment. These were large, with modern furniture, TV, DVD air con, and kitchenette with large fridge freezer oven etc
You get free breakfast in the modern glass fronted bar area - essentially coffee orange juice and bread rolls.
Conil itself is wonderful, a mainly Spanish lovely little seaside town, but with loads of bars and places to eat. The real draw here though is the superb long sandy beach that stretches for miles.
All in a all a great choice, especially for the price.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bacononthebeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Conil de la Frontera hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz
Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz
#2 of 26 in Conil de la Frontera
1,526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Conil Park Hotel
Conil Park Hotel
#9 of 26 in Conil de la Frontera
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Andalussia
Hotel Andalussia
#3 of 26 in Conil de la Frontera
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pradillo Conil
Hotel Pradillo Conil
#8 of 26 in Conil de la Frontera
223 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hipotels Gran Conil & Spa
Hipotels Gran Conil & Spa
#1 of 26 in Conil de la Frontera
773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Loto Conil
Hotel Apartamentos Loto Conil
#11 of 26 in Conil de la Frontera
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Conilsol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Conilsol

Property: Hotel Conilsol
Address: Calle Jerez 9, 11140 Conil de la Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Conil de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Conil de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Conilsol 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in addition has 18 apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Conilsol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Conilsol Conil De La Frontera, Costa De La Luz, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing