We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheaper tickets from Budapest - don't book online.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ginger Monkey Hostel
Ranked #2 of 44 Zdiar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cheaper tickets from Budapest - don't book online.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We left booking our train tickets til too late (the day before we wanted to go) and had to buy them from the station in Budapest. Online through Rail Europe the tickets are over $70 US each, buying from the station was almost exactly half that. Go to the green ticket and tourist information office in Keleti station in Budapest.
Be aware that the train leaves at 6:30 am or not again until the late afternoon and evening.
You need to take two trains to get to Poprad. The first train terminates at Kosice where you get off and find the Bratislava train which goes through Poprad. We found it on platform 2. It is only a 15 minute break between trains so you don't have much time to find your connection. Take food with you - I didn't see any for sale on the train.
Once you get to Poprad, exit the station down the stairs and turn right. Walk for about a hundred metres and you will see the bus terminal. The buses have signs on them and one will say 'Zdiar'. When you get to Zdiar you need to walk up the hill and then the church spire comes into view. Head for that and you'll get there without a problem. I hope!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    4
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
23
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you are young and looking for a social hostel, stay here!

It's got a great atmosphere and the staff are lovely. The best thing about it is you can meet people, go out and drink, but it's not a massive party hostel where you can't sleep.

One of the funnest places I have ever stayed, would definitely come back!

Also the location is gorgeous and there are some great walks to do right near the hostel. it's a bit more expensive than other places near it but still very cheap and unbelievably worth it

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We totally loved this place. The "staff", not that you can really call them that, they quickly become friends, are amazing.
They show you the best places to eat, the best places to sled and the best bottle of 2euro wine to buy.
The hostel itself is comfortable, the kitchen has everything you need and there is plenty of hot water.
The best part of the hostel is the friends you will make.
We stayed an extra night (so 5 in total) and would have loved to have stayed even longer!
If you go - say hi to Kev the cat and Wally the dog for me!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kylieg083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Sometimes when you're travelling backpacker fatigue sets in - you no longer wake up everyday excited to explore the city and meet new people. In that case, it's best to find a nice place to stay for about a week and just relax. The Ginger Monkey is that perfect place, perfectly located in the beautiful Tatras, in a tiny town. The people are fantastic - I stayed there by myself but it felt like renting a cabin with some friends because everybody is so relaxed and fun. Take some time to explore the mountains, walk around the town, play with the dog, read in the hammock and do the pizza challenge. I have only the fondest memories of the Ginger Monkey.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fukuoka, Japan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great place for solo travelers as it is so easy to meet people and cost but

The place has a problem with bed bugs and is not the cleanest. A few of us got bitten by bed bugs and it seems to be a common problem with this hostel. We were still charged for the night and given some anti itch cream.

Rooms were quite dusty and some with cobwebs in the corners. Bathrooms reminded me of college dorm bathrooms.

Very chilled vibe but it could be so much better if they gave the place a good cleaning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Totoro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brig, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

But as a cyclist I was looking for a good sleep and that was really difficult there as the bunk bed I slept in felt like a ship each time the other person is moving. And people party a lot there which is probably great fun if you want to hang out but not the best if you want to explore and utilize the day. Dan the owner is very nice and they help you with everything they can.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is by far one of the most incredible hostels I have ever stayed in. The setting is magical, atmosphere social, warm and inviting and the staff friendly, helpful and engaging. In particular, Sarah, a lovely Aussie backpacker working there at the time, was very friendly. She welcomed me on the verandah, introduced me to everyone and made sure I felt at home - what a legend! And all the other staff were awesome too... Any problem one might have had during the stay was dealt with in the most professional, efficient way. The place is so perfect for solo backpackers who want to meet others to trek with and party or just chill out. Free breakfast was amazing, as was Wally the dog, group dinners and absolutely everything else. This place is a must for anyone heading to Slovakia, or Europe in general!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicG89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zdiar
2.2 mi away
Hotel Bachledka Strachan
0.9 mi away
Penzion Viktoria
Penzion Viktoria
#2 of 2 in Zdiar
13 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Montfort
Hotel Montfort
#1 of 1 in Tatranska Javorina
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Kempinski High Tatras
1.2 mi away
Wellness Penzion Strachan
0.4 mi away
Pension Bayer
Pension Bayer
#19 of 44 in Zdiar
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginger Monkey Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger Monkey Hostel

Property: Ginger Monkey Hostel
Address: Zdiar 294, Zdiar, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Presov Region > Zdiar
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Zdiar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ginger Monkey Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing