We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You should go to Deva just to eat there!”
Review of La Baiatu

La Baiatu
Ranked #11 of 37 Restaurants in Deva
Cuisines: Romanian
Restaurant details
Reviewed March 6, 2016

We found the place through Trip Advisor and drove there with Waze, otherwise the place is not easy to reach.

We were 2 children with 4 adults, travelling towards Timisoara. First impression was not even close to "Wow" as we expected after reading the reviews, but the food and service was beyond "Wow"!

We highly recommend "papanasi", totally different from any other "papanasi" available in romanian restaurants, and stuffed pepper soup, a local traditional dish hard to find even in household, not to mention public restaurants. Actually the original receipe came from North of Transylvania as one of the friendly employees mentioned.

The conclusion of one of our group members, a French gourmet that traveled all the world, was that a trip to Deva is mandatory if only to eat there.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Pompiliu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 12 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2015 via mobile

This is a nice place. The food is good. But nothing special. You feel like you are home. The tastiest thing was "gulas". "Papanasii" didn't impress me.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank sebastiand266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2015

After we've been disappointed with our first option for a place to eat in Deva, we came across this listing and we decided to give it a try. La Baiatu' is a small family run restaurant with tasty meals and good portions that will give you a hint about the food locals have at home.
The lady that served us was very nice and concerned like a mother and made us a few recommendations which had been really delicious indeed.
I'll highly recommend this to anyone who want's to have a local like meal experience.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 2Highway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2015

Deva was not rich with dining choices, unless they are not published

It got 3* not because it is not good but because I cannot compare this small family place with the 4* location

We went there based on an advise and ate very good

Large portions, tasty food with a good service
Place is not big and don't expect something special in regards to design, its a homey place on a small residential street

But if you are hungry and want some Romanian food you will get it at 'La Baiatu'

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank AlexKayv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2015 via mobile

I was here several time just to eat Papanasi..they are the best in town and every time I visit Romania I invite all my friends and visit this place!the place is very clean and the stuff really nice!

2  Thank Adela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Baiatu also viewed

 
Deva, Hunedoara County
Deva, Hunedoara County
 
Deva, Hunedoara County
Deva, Hunedoara County
 

Been to La Baiatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing