We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value away from the tourists!”
Review of Hotel Porto Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Porto Mar
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Matosinhos
aillas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value away from the tourists!”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Just a 10 minute walk from a magnificent beach, but right on the tram line that leads into town. You can also get here by tram from the airport with just one change. The hotel staff are friendly and the room was clean (but no views at all!). Breakfast was basic but filling, avoid the orange-coloured"juice" and the urn of coffee! Great, authentic, restaurants just around the corner (especially if you like seafood)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dufreche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    26
    16
    9
    2
See reviews for
9
20
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

After business stay in Paris we decided to have several days off on the Atlantic and visit ed Porto area in Portugal.
By chance we found 'Hotel Porto Mar' situated centrally in ocean side suburb town Matosinhos well connected to Porto.
The hotel was absolute jewel for what we needed: charming with wonderful interior, big rooms, location is superb - in main pedestrian but quiet street (only modern trams) with access to public transportation and airport, nice short walk to the beach and many fish restaurants around, even green market ...and on top of everything discreet and extremely helpful personnel.. Cost of stay was a fraction of that in Paris.
On downside only minor things such as not fresh fruits for buffet breakfast and not international satellite channels, but they promised improvements in those areas for our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantanhede
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

I stayed here with my husband while waiting to see a medical specialist and for hospital appointments at what was a very stressful time . The staff were incredibly helpful, sympathetic but non intrusive. To complicate matters we had our dog with us.

We were given a balcony room, great for our dog, which was clean and comfortable. All the staff from the room maids to the manager were kindness itself, nothing was too much trouble and yet we were never hassled or felt that we were causing a problem. I hope that my next stay will be at a less stressful time.

I would certainly recommend it to anyone wanting value for money and a great location with easy access to Porto via the metro.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor front have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dorif1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2008

My husband and I booked the Hotel Porto Mar through a booking website and were a little apprehensive, we need not have been. The staff were immensely friendly and had no problem when we arrived earlier than the check-in time, having our room ready for us in a few minutes.

The hotel is clean and the bedrooms are a good size with plenty of storage and our room had an air-conditioning unit (although I don't think this is available in all rooms). We had a well-equipped en-suite bathroom and all linen and towels were provided. There was a television in our room also offering a range of English and Portugese channels (many of which have English subtitles). The room was cleaned daily and the whole hotel is spotless.

The breakfast is a self-service buffet which includes bread rolls, cheese, ham, yoghurt, cereals, croissants, and jams. There was orange juice, a range of teas available, and coffee. There is no hot breakfast option, but this certainly wasn't a problem for us.

Transport links to and from the hotel are excellent. You are within a couple of minutes walk to the local Metro stop which will take you to the city centre of Porto within 35 minutes. Matosinhos is on several bus routes and we found the public transport reliable, cheap and very clean. The hotel is only 10-15 minutes from the airport and it costs about 15 Euros in a taxi.

The hotel is also well located within the town of Matosinhos, which neighbours the City of Porto. The beach is only 10 minutes walk away and my husband surfed there everyday. There are a number of surf schools there and 3 or 4 beach bars. The street the hotel is on is a shopping street with numerous pharmacies, supermarkets, clothes shops, shoe shops, newsagents and cafes. Around 5 minutes walk away are numerous seafood restaurants which are outstanding. We ate in a different one every night and never had a bad meal.

I would recommend this hotel whole-heartedly to anyone who is looking for a holiday in an area which is unspoilt by tourism and which is still a community. Everyone we met was very friendly and helpful and we are already planning a return visit.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nada!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank RedhedWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2007

My Girlfriend and I landed in Porto Airport and got us a hotels-in-porto-list from the toursit info point. Called a couple and decided on the Porto Mar. Turned to be an excellent decision.

Getting there: Metro in Porto is a straightforward thing. So no hassles. One stop, change Metros and there you are.

Reception: A friendly young man who spoke english. Ask him to recommend you some restaurants in the neighbourhood. You won't regret it. The night manager is a friendly, very well spoken gentleman, who kept referring to me as "sir" (not very comfortable with that, yet).

Rooms: Excellent rooms for the price. Nice big bed, a big sofa that could have doubled up as a single bed, decent curtains, nice big terrace, rustic wooden furnitures, a 16" TV mounted on the wall, nice toilet with bath. Cost us € 50/night and it was worth every cent.

Food: Restaurant serves excellent breakfast (cost included in room price). Besides that, didn't do any eating there. BTW, woke up late next day (11:30 AM) and went downstairs to check if they still serve breakfast. We were told that it is usually only till 10 AM, but no problem, they'll open the restaurant for us. Nice.

Area: Location is in Senhor de Matosinhos, about 15-20 minutes by metro from downtown Porto. Matosinhos is a great place to get a feel of the portoguese way of life that has yet not given in to total tourist commercialism. People are very very friendly (all over Porto actually), and the restaurants were just great. Try the "O Valentim" (on the road to the beach from the hotel) for great seafood and wine with a very friendly english-speaking head waiter. On the same street as the hotel is the "Churrasquiera Inglesa". Great grilled food there. I recommend the spare ribs and the grilled calamares. They were mega Yummy.

Summary: Our stay there was so good that we decided to skip Lissabon and stay another day there before heading off to Barcelona. The atmosphere was so relaxing and authentic and the people so great that one can't help but fall in love with that place. I recommend this place to anyone who wants to really get to know the real people, place and oohh the food..the food of the the place you are visiting. Will go there again soon (I hope).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank dupjunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matosinhos
1.2 mi away
TRYP Porto Expo Hotel
TRYP Porto Expo Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matosinhos
309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Senhor de Matosinhos
Hotel Senhor de Matosinhos
#2 of 6 in Matosinhos
99 reviews
0.7 mi away
Urban Hotel Amadeos
Urban Hotel Amadeos
#5 of 6 in Matosinhos
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Porto-Exponor
Holiday Inn Express Porto-Expono...
#1 of 1 in Leca da Palmeira
233 reviews
2.1 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
#14 of 106 in Porto
505 reviews
2.4 mi away
Residencial Porto Foz
Residencial Porto Foz
#77 of 106 in Porto
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porto Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Mar

Property: Hotel Porto Mar
Address: Rua Brito Capelo 169, Matosinhos 4450-073, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Matosinhos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Matosinhos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porto Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Porto Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing