We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Top 5”

Restaurante O Gaveto
Ranked #38 of 408 Restaurants in Matosinhos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $56
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed December 12, 2018

After the restauration works the soace is now more confortable...
The cooking continues to be one of the best in the old traditional portuguese restaurants of first class.
The service continues to be very professional...
The list is fantastic in portugueses traficional food but special in everything related with the sea!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank albusquerqus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 474 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2018 via mobile

We had been turned away from the restaurant that had been recommended to us because of a private function. We saw O Gavete on the side of the road and stopped by with low expectations. It turned out to be one of the best meals we had in Portugal. Our waiter, who I think is also the proprietor, recommended either the pork or beef, but said that everything on the menu was good. All of us ordered a salad. Three of us had the pork; one the beef. Our waiter brought delicious bread, and the big, crisp delicious salads arrived very promptly. Then our main dishes appeared and they were all magnificent. The meat was cooked perfectly as were the accompanying vegetables.

We can’t say enough about this very fine restaurant. We recommend it whole-heartedly. The service was pleasant without being obsequious, and the food and the wine were just great.

Very very impressive place.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Culture68499026716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2018 via mobile

This is a restaurant full of tradition. Usually the food is very good. However, sometimes the side dishes are a bit inferior to the fish (which is great). The owner (who frequently shows up to greet the patrons) is very courteous and charming. However, some of the waiters over do it in their quest to be cute. Participation in the customers conversation, making offbeat remarks regarding the patrons, their jewelry or their anecdotes.... is rather nosy and somewhat of an intrusion. Moreover, this lack of respect is clearly abusive. They would do well to keep quieter and not meddle in other people's (clients) conversations. That said, yes, it can be confirmed that the fish is indeed tasty.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Antonio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2018 via mobile

This trendy seafood restaurant is situated in the seafood side of Porto. Clearly having varieties of live crabs, and lobster in tanks, I expected some kind of epic experience. No...the portions were small and not as tasty as I’d expected with the rather smallish “local” shrimp and calamari. The beef steak was nothing to really rave about as were the desserts. Somewhat disappointing. Topping it off with a rather curt and unfriendly waitstaff. They were efficient in providing the service but seems to want to rush out our party of 5 out of of towners. Most of the customers seemed locals and all recognized by the waitstaff.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018

Pros:
Really nice experience, the food is good and the service... I was impressed.. it's really a step above the other ones that I've been at Matosinhos.
The concern of the waiter was... a 5 star experience. The recommendations were also 5 stars. Defensively this is a place to come back the next time that I pass by Matosinhos.

Cons:
Nothing to say, the all experience was 5 starts.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bruno N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante O Gaveto also viewed

Matosinhos, Porto District
Matosinhos, Porto District
 
Matosinhos, Porto District
Matosinhos, Porto District
 
 

Been to Restaurante O Gaveto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing