We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing seafood ”

Esplanada Marisqueira Antiga
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 7/22
8:00 PM
Ranked #22 of 408 Restaurants in Matosinhos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed April 10, 2019 via mobile

Food is fresh and delicious, the service is just perfect, the design is a bit old school. Great place to visit.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Magdalena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 362 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2018 via mobile

Royal seafood platter, divine, 4 people to finish the platter for two is probably more like it otherwise you'll be high on protein. Seafood was fresh and delicious, very nice wine list. Restaurant deco is like in the 70/80s, old school. Price is quite high as well.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank mengrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2018 via mobile

Super traditional honest Fish flavours expertly delivered by restaurant pros.
Amazingness comes without pretentiousness!
Thank you all!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank RayKhadivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I went here for dinner on our last night in Porto. We ordered the Royal Seafood Tower for two; it was a huge amount of food. We loved almost everything we tasted, the only thing we did not love for was the barnacles, but that was mainly due to not knowing how to eat them and a texture thing. Everything else on the tower, including lobster, shrimp, langoustines, clams, mussels, crab, and probably a few other things was perfectly prepared. There were a few different accompanying sauces and dips, but we loved the spicy mayo the most. We also had a great bottle of white wine from the Douro valley which paired perfectly with our meal. At the end of our meal, we had quite a bit of crab and soft shell crab dip left, which they packaged up for us to take home. It was an expensive dinner, but in the end we were very happy we went.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank sunflowerdayzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2018

I just returned from 2 weeks in Portugal. Matosinhos was recommended to us by our hotel concierge as was Esplanada Marisqueira Antiga. I pictured Matosinhos as a quaint fishing village and the restaurant as a local place offering fresh seafood at reasonable prices. Wrong. Matosinhos, about 20 min from Porto, is a port town and the area where restaurants are located is nondescript. It is not quaint or "local" feeling at all. There is a street with many seafood restaurants. Esplanada Marisqueira Antiga looks like a throw back in time - circa 1970s. Now the menu is good and the seafood no doubt is very fresh. But the prices are absolutely insanely high. We traveled all over Portugal and Galicia were offered similar fare at at least half the price.
SO, if you don't mind spending and want a "throw back" restaurant - go. Personally I didn't feel it was worth my Uber trip.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NYCGal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esplanada Marisqueira Antiga also viewed

Matosinhos, Porto District
 
Matosinhos, Porto District
 
 

Been to Esplanada Marisqueira Antiga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing