We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"unsatisfactory experience"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Senhor de Matosinhos
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Matosinhos
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“"unsatisfactory experience"”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband, 6 year old child and I stayed at this hotel in July for 1 night to catch an early flight back to Canada, we chose this hotel based on proximity to the airport, reviews on TripAdvisor and that it had parking. We did not have a good experience at this place. The price was cheap, so that should have risen an alarm, the person at the reception did not speak a word of English, so it was very hard to communicate with them, the floor in our room was not clean and the room was very dusty. The bathroom was very small, and when we took a shower, the water was not being drained. In the morning, we got a stale, inedible muffin for breakfast and a terrible orange drink. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaunaottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_srm_pn, Owner at Hotel Senhor de Matosinhos, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for the comment. In fact, not all staff speak English, but we try to compensate with friendliness in attendance. About the conditions of the bathroom we are not aware of any malfunction, but we are going to inspect the shower, thank you for the alert. For the breakfast you could have told us that you preferred something else. As you can see from other guests, our breakfast has several itens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    41
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
20
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

An old house completely renovated and clean. The room and bath are small but functional, with cable TV and free wireless internet. Private parking is also free. The price includes a very simple continental breakfast. Is excellent for business travelers.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nini_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel Senhor de Matosinhos, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for your review and highlighting of our good attributes! You made a very accurate description of our establishment. And yes it is true that business travellers are a great part of our guests. Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2012

"Impecavél" also. The room was very clean, the service was very good and the residence is ideal for a quiet stay as there is little noise or disturbance. Also you can park your car without any bother.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert Hilton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel Senhor de Matosinhos, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for your review and highlighting of our good attributes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matosinhos
1.4 mi away
TRYP Porto Expo Hotel
TRYP Porto Expo Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matosinhos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Porto Mar
Hotel Porto Mar
#4 of 6 in Matosinhos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Urban Hotel Amadeos
Urban Hotel Amadeos
#5 of 6 in Matosinhos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
#14 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Porto-Exponor
Holiday Inn Express Porto-Expono...
#1 of 1 in Leca da Palmeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
3.3 mi away
Portofino Motel
Portofino Motel
#3 of 6 in Matosinhos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Senhor de Matosinhos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Senhor de Matosinhos

Property: Hotel Senhor de Matosinhos
Address: Rua do Godinho 634, Matosinhos 4450-147, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Matosinhos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Matosinhos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Senhor de Matosinhos 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL SENHOR DE MATOSINHOS is located right in the centre of Matosinhos city, near the ocean front. We stand out for our familiar environment, excellent rooms and private parking facilities, all on your behalf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Senhor de Matosinhos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing